Your coupon has been activated.
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 92 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Tennessee Polar-Bear
 from Antioch, TN 37013,  May 29, 2008

Perfect! I will say, however, that watching my wife put the chest, (and matching 1-drawer nightstand), together near wore me out, (but not her...as she's the 'mechanic' in our house). The 5-drawer chest took 90-minutes to put together, (with an electric screw-driver); the nightstand took an hour. We gave these two COVENTRY brand items a 5-star 'thumbs up', because of the overall inherent quality. No 'fiber-board', here...these units are constructed of solid rubber wood and the goods shipped to us by Overstock.Com...as is usally the case... were far better than advertised; beautiful fit & finish & attention to detail, (drawer dimensional stability, heavy duty rollers and coordinating hard-ware, etc., etc.), just an outstanding overall value, (at roughly half the price posted in Nashville, TN, area furniture stores for comparable goods). The only real problem we ever experience with Overstock.Com is that we spend entirely too much money with them! Their quick-response delivery and legendary service ought to be properly considered 'the benchmark' of all on-line consumer direct business entities.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best furniture deal around
 from Chicago, IL,  May 5, 2008

I just finished assembling this piece and it looks just finished assembling this piece and it looks exactly like the picture online. This is comparable to much more expensive pieces I considered purchasing from a retail furniture store just a week ago. Fortunately, I decided to do some comparison shopping online before dropping thousands of dollars more to buy from a showroom. I purchased this 5-drawer chest along with the matching 6-drawer chest and 2 nightstands. The total for all 4 pieces, including shipping, was less than a single dresser at the showroom. The quality has more than exceeded my expectations. Each piece is constructed of thick, solid wood. Even the drawer bottoms are sturdy, ¼ inch thick material (possibly particle board) and fit into deep channels in the drawer for a solid fit. As far as assembly¿ if you have ever put together any other ¿assemble it yourself¿ piece of furniture, you won't find this assembly challenging at all. All you need is a hammer, Philips and a flat-head screwdriver (though a cordless drill with screwdriver bits will make your job a lot easier). I assembled one nightstand and this 5 drawer chest in just about 3 hours while watching TV. There were plenty of extra pieces of hardware, so even if you lose some, you'll still have enough. You can¿t go wrong with any of the Coventry pieces listed on Overstock.com.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointing
 from New York,  Sep 7, 2010

Took longer than expected to put together. Unfortunately, the bottom drawer does not fit in properly and will have to completely undo the whole dresser to hope that my re-doing it, that the drawer will actually fit.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Piece of garbage
 from Chicago, IL,  Jan 18, 2014

This is a nice looking dresser, but it is basically sub-IKEA quality for 3x the cost. Very very cheap construction. The heavy top piece on mine gradually has becoming more and more bowed which is pulling it off the frame. It looks very stupid and there is no solution as it is not a single slab of wood, it's basically plywood .. and it's coming apart. Since this happened over a few months, I cannot return it .. so I'm stuck with a $XXX crappy dresser. My only option would be to try and screw it down to the frame myself, but since the wood is such poor quality this could potentially make the whole dresser unusable. Stay away from this product. You'll really regret it in a few months.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely 5 drawer chest.
 from Arverne ,NY,  Sep 21, 2011

I loved this modern furniture, great show piece, but please don't put any heavy mirrors on the dresser, it might crack....

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is ok , I placed a heavy mirror on it and it craked. Not sure if it was made cheaply or if the mirror was just to heavy for the furniture.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate in size, and color
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chich storage
 from RTP, NC,  Aug 2, 2011

I purchased this dresser because I like the contempory look and rich color. The drawers are quite deep and the wood is very solid. It does require a decent amount of assembly because there are lots of screws, but one you get the first drawer together, the others are quite easy. I am really happy with the purchase and it is a nice addition to my Master suite.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was a rich, brown which looked luxurious
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality. I did notice a few minor scratches on a few areas, but nothing too noticeable.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description is a true representation of the product.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

We received this Chest in a little over a week. The product was very well packed and had no shipping damage at all. The parts fit perfectly and the color was exactly what we expected. Most of it is solid wood, except for the drawer sides and back which are some sort of composite. That is the only weakness of this product. When assembling the drawers, drill a tiny pilot hole before screwing in the drawer rails to avoid splitting the composite. Also, use a small amount of wood glue in the dowel holes. It will greatly improve the strength. I would highly recommend this product.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed.
 from Tennessee,  Aug 31, 2013

Bought this for a room my mom will be using, who will be moving in with us shortly for medical reasons. The size and look is good, that is were it stops. The directions were AWFUL - in particular regarding the slides. There is no indication of left or right orientation or of up or down application. Had to redo them several times. Took hours to put it together, and there were two of us. The heads of small screws that go into the back kept breaking. (Like six out of 30 broke.) The cam locks would act like they were locked and then pull apart when starting to move the piece. After finally completing assembly the whole thing has a slight wobble. Don't know how it got any positive feedback. This is the first purchase I have made from Overstock that has been really bad. Note that I also bought two end tables with this order that were also similar assembly required. They went together quickly with clear instructions, and once assembled were solid. Very happy with those. They were not the same manufacturer as this chest of drawers.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good, but a bit pricey for the quality
 from Livermore, CA,  Feb 27, 2013

Let me start by staying I LOVE Overstock.com. I have purchased about every type of item you can from here...shelving, futon mattresses, decor, bedding, and the occasional furniture. This particular item, which I like, I'm not sure is worth the money. Although it sturdy with a good looking finish, you literally have to put every single thing together, including the rails. Now, previous reviews which I read prior to purchasing, said you need two people to put together. Absolutely not true. I'm not handy by any means, but as able to navigate it with ease putting it together solo. Here is where my critique comes in. Because I'm not handy, when it came to putting the rails together, the instructions and corresponding photos were BAD, therefore I had a hard time figuring out which way the rails went. And although I eventually figured it out., the photos should have done a better job with this. All in all it's a fine piece of furniture if you want to spend the time putting it together (about 2.5-3 hours total for me by myself). I have found comparable items for the same amount of money or less and doesn't require the same effort. Overall happy with my purchase and would recommend, with the above exceptions!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Could have been better
 from Seattle, WA,  Sep 10, 2008

After reading all the reviews on this item, I decided to buy the chest and 2 nightstands....well, the nightstands were mismarked on the website, they are not 17"w x 21" d - they are 21" w x 17" d - and in a tiny room that makes a difference - unfortunately I had already disposed of the packaging and decided to make it work. I was not as impressed as others were with the furniture. I may have purchased something more expensive and already assembled if I would have known the quality - which is only fair to moderate - but maybe rubberwood is a cousin of pressboard. It was packed well, the shipping boxes sustained damage, the items were good. The instructions were fairly easy to understand - tools that are needed is a hex wrench (aka an allen wrench), screw driver and rubber mallot. Overall, the experience could have been better.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really beautiful!
 Jan 29, 2015

The quality of this 5-drawer chest is impressive. Beautiful wood. Beware: all parts need to be assembled, including the five drawers. Two persons required. I have no regrets: the result is fantastic.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nicely made
 from North Idaho,  Jan 18, 2015

This chest was a bit time consuming to put together (but not bad for a 5-drawer chest) and all the parts were included as well as clear and easy-to-follow instructions. The end result is a nice looking, solid, and quite functional piece of furniture. Good value.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE IT!!!
 Jan 14, 2015

I love this dresser. I have the matching night stands. All the pieces are strong and sturdy. There's a lot to put together so allow yourself time for that. I'm a 55 year old female and I put mine together myself just fine. I couldn't lift the boxes, they were too heavy! I learned from my night stands to glue the wood dowels in when you're putting it together, the ones on one of my night stands works it's way out now and then, but it's no biggie. These are strong and sturdy and will serve me well for many years!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this 5-drawer chest!
 from North Carolina,  Jul 31, 2014

It took my mother (81) and I (somewhat younger than 81) two hours to put this chest together, no power tools involved. It was basically a breeze to assemble, the instructions didn't leave much guess-work, and it currently stands proudly in a guest bedroom. It's a solid piece of furniture and I love it enough to be ordering another for my daughter's new home.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Coventry 5-drawer Chest
 from NC,  Jun 18, 2014

Love this furniture line. Great deal as long as you can put furniture together. We bought the bed tables first and liked them so much we also bought the dresser. Experience helped, after putting the bed tables together, the dresser was even easier. The color is a rich, deep brown. Wood is sturdy. Style is sleek and simple.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
gorgeous
 from colorado,  May 3, 2014

Received this immediately and my husband put it together and commented on the quality and beauty of the wood. He reinforced it with wood glue along with the screws. He also said that the instructions were a little difficult buf not too hard to figure out. I love it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love this chest!
 from Columbus, GA,  Apr 13, 2014

I love this chest so much that this is the second one I have purchased. I got the first one in December 2012. The color is perfect, I love the wood and the style, and the size meets my needs. It does come in many pieces and requires a couple of people a couple of hours to get it ready to use, but it's fun to watch it take shape. I also bought two of the three drawer night stands with my first chest. The quality of this furniture is excellent and the price is more than reasonable, making this an excellent value. I will go back to this furniture to meet my needs as long as it is available.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mixed feelings
 from Washington, DC,  Mar 23, 2014

I really love the look of this dresser, and despite being particle board, it looks like it might actually be real wood. Now that it's assembled, I expect it to last for quite a few years. But whew, was this difficult to assemble. In all it took nearly four hours to put it together myself. The instructions are hard to follow, even more so than Ikea instructions. The pieces for the dresser drawer don't really fit too well together, so I really had to push down on the pieces in order for them to snap together, and even then they didn't always. When it came to assembling the main body of the dresser, the pieces are only held together by wood dowels, and the top, so the whole thing, especially at the bottom, is a little wobbly. I think next time I might just spend the extra money to get a pre-assembled dresser.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great piece
 from Midlothian, IL,  Mar 23, 2014

fairly easy to put together, definitely helps to have a power screw driver. The job is tedious though (the repetition doing 5 drawers)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, high quality chest
 from Cincinnati, Ohio,  Feb 19, 2014

I bought this chest and two other side cabinets in this line and they are all beautiful. You have to be willing to spend some time putting them together though. I am a female and it took me a couple hours to put this chest together. Just organize all your pieces before you start and the instructions are clear. I will give a couple pointers though on building the chest. First you can use an electric screw driver but be careful because you can easily twist the heads off the screws, even the cam lock screws, so go slow and twist the last couple turns by hand. The other tip is on the cam lock system, the directions say to use a 4mm hex wrench (I think that is what they call it)....well that doesn't work very well, use a flat head screw driver instead - much easier and you will get them tightly closed with that. If you want a high end look without the high end price, this is a great dresser!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 92 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought