Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 41-60 of 88 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Kitchen island
 from Kissimmee, FL,  Jun 29, 2011

I really like this island. It is a great help in my kitchen. I am still deciding what to put on the shelves.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? very good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Useful Design
 from Sodus NY 14551,  Jun 23, 2011

It's true that the white shelf slats are precariously stapled onto the underlying white wood grid. Forewarned by other reviewers, I handled the shelves very gingerly while unpacking them. Even so, had to use Goop on just one slat. In position, i.e. in use, the chintzy stapling is not a problem. Note that the upper and lower shelves are not interchangeable. The hardwood top and base have 4 dowel holes pre-drilled. Only 2 dowels are supplied, as indicated in the Parts List. So what, do they profit an extra 9 cents from each unit as a result? Seems also chintzy. The most challenging assembly problem was that the 4 metal tabs that screw into the underside of the hardwood top were not formed at anywhere near a sufficient angle to allow just rotating them into the linear grooves in the left and right sides of the cabinet. Just rotating them would have left them about an inch below the grooves. Those tabs are all that hold the top onto the cabinet, with the two dowels only aligning the top to the base (unless you were to glue them). The tabs are very difficult to bend. The solution I applied was to screw the 4 metal tabs firmly onto the underside of the inverted top, and then use the claw of a hammer to bend them up sufficiently to match the level of the grooves. This was done gingerly, in about 4 partial bends each, setting the top on the base each time to check progress, and then takling it off to bend the tabs further. While the angles are now not ideal, the top is quite snug, and the only time a potential problem could ensue woulf be if sharply lifting the whole unit by the top edges. But because of my outstanding artistry in the bending, even this is unlikely. Further, the particular drawing for that assembly step was almost useless, with the relative sizes and locations of those two interlocking parts rendered completely inaccurately, except for the 90-degree angle involved. The second most challenging problem was tapping some of the metal pins into a few slightly undersized holes (Other holes were fine --just snug enough). Even hammering the pins through a block of wood, the lower right rear cabinet wood splintered apart. Clear Household Goop (not the yellow "Plumbers Goop"), two clamps, overnight dry--and I won't tell any of the females around here if you don't. Beyond that, I will say that all the predrilled holes were in excellent alignment. Note that the handle on the right side adds length to the advertised dimension. In the tight corner next to my stove, I had to just leave it off. Trying to think of something else to do with the beautifully-finished handle offers hours of contemplative fun, particularly if you keep it near the toilet. The answer so far: Nothing. The height of the unit is at least an inch and a half lower that the standard stovetop next to it. No big deal, but I did subsequently acquire a 30-inch wide, 1 and 1/2 inch-thick heavy hardwood top to set atop the unit, to make it more nearly contiguous with the level of the stovetop. *** or so, thus made the whole purchase significantly more $$$. But I like the look--more of an actual butcher block, and two inches deeper than the top of the original piece. Looks great, and doesn't detract from ease of opening the drawer. You actually cannot see the original top, without bending way down. I left out the upper shelf, and set a white plastic "tall kitchen bag" trash receptacle on the lower shelf. When in use, the receptacle may be pulled out and set against the unit's door, snugged to the stove. It barely sticks out past the front of the stove, if at all. (My unit is to the right of the stove.) There is still room on the shelf for a couple of large cutting boards set on end. If you found this review useful, please send a large amount of money to Bob, P.O. Box ***, **** NY ****.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes.Wood top rendered accurately, and bright 'Appliance White' matches stove and refrigerator.
  • How is the quality of the product? Good but not great.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT PRODUCT
 from WATERBURY, CT,  May 2, 2011

I DID A LOT OF RESEARCHING AROUND FOR THE BEST DEAL FOR AN ISLAND KITCHEN CART AND I AM VERY PLEASED WITH MY PURCHASE. ASSEMBLY WAS SIMPLE AND EASY, AND IT IS JUST GREAT LOOKING AND VERY USEFUL IN THE KITCHEN!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Product
 from Detroit Michigan,  Mar 23, 2011

This product was easy to put together, it took my man 2 hours. It is very sturdy and It came with all the pieces. The holes and screws lined up correctly. The only problem I had was one of the shelves had 2 loose pieces that I had to eventually glue togetther. It makes the kitchen look great and gives us alot more room.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rolling Island
 from New Hampshire,  Mar 22, 2011

I love this thing, it was easy to assemble,looks great and is handy as all get out!!!!! I have limited space in my kitchen so it is pretty cool to be able to use this Anywhere I want & have more storage space. Would Highly recomend!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice cabinet
 from Browns Mills, NJ,  Mar 3, 2011

Let me start out saying that this is a nicely designed cabinet. Well packaged. All parts were included. Just had a couple of Minor issues. 1: One of the shelves, A couple of slats fell off. Fixed that with a screw from underneath. When they stapled it, They missed the wood. 2: Dowls were really tight. I cracked one of the plastic mounts on the magnetic door catch. All in all, Its a Very good unit. With a Sturdy wood top. Drawer is big enough to hold boxes of Foil wrap, Plastic wrap, Etc.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy
 from Saratoga Springs, NY,  Feb 17, 2011

This was surprisingly sturdy! I would recommend - especially for those who want something easy to move and clean. Having put together many on-line furntiure pruchases I will say - have a glass of wine and about 2 hours of free time to put it together.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cottage cart
 Feb 2, 2011

Very pleased with product. Was easy to assemble, and looks great.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect
 from Ca,  Dec 24, 2010

I wanted a kitchen island for more counter space, but could not do a kitchen remodel. My kitchen was very small and this fit perfectly! I had read earlier reviews about damaged parts, but mine came completely intact and my husband put it together in about 2 1/2 hrs. All my family and friends, who knew what I wanted, have said , " that's perfect"

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Value
 from Dallas, TX,  Nov 29, 2010

Easy to put together and met my expectations. Would recommend.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheap
 from Wisconsin,  Nov 18, 2010

Ordered and recieved it in about 3 days. That's the positive. When I opened the box, the first item on top was a slatted shelf. I removed it and discovered that one of the slats was not attached any longer. Very short staples holding it together. I fugured I couild just go ahead and glue it so I continued to unpack. The next itnm was shelf 2. This one had one slat completely off. I decided it wasn't worth going any further, repacked it and returned it. If the rest of the material were similarly 'chincy' it would not have been worth it. I would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good product for the price
 from Tawas City, MI,  Oct 28, 2010

Wasn't expecting to have to assemble the entire thing. My husband got frustrated a couple times but he got the job done. A little flimsier than expected also, but overall the island looks great in our kitchen and serves the purpose we bought it for.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
HappyBuyer
 from San Francisco, CA,  Oct 14, 2010

Great sturdy product. The assembly was a hassle and took a bit longer than I expected. One of the slats on the shelf was loose and I had to use a nail to secure it. Other than that its a great sturdy piece. It has helped me tremendously in my cramped kitchen and provided me with more counter space. I have my cookbooks on the outer shelf as well as my mixing bowls and it looks looks very cute. I love that I have a drawer to put on all my cooking utensils in, and I still haven't found a use for the cabinets yet but I will definitely be filling them up. Great price, cheap shipping, quality product, fast delivery. What more can I say?

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
loved it
 from utah,  Oct 9, 2010

we bought this for my mom and she loves it she has it in her house in california she would recomend this product to everyone thanks so much for a great product

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Goldilocks
 Oct 8, 2010

This movable island was "just right" as Goldilocks would say. Not too big and not too small. It went together in a fairly short amount of time and is a durable piece. The directions could have been better but common sense is all it takes. The drawer isn't sturdy enough for anything heavy but works well for potholders. I use the open shelving for onions and potatoes so they don't become "science projects". I got what I wanted and needed for a reasonable price. - Thanks Overstock !!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value
 from Maryland,  Oct 1, 2010

Attractive. Sturdy. The top is very nice. Having casters is helpful for moving to clean. The drawer is a little flimsy. Easy to assemble if you make sure you have all the parts and identify them from the instruction sheet first. Two holes were drilled too big, but filling them with wood glue and then screwing the pieces together worked fine. For the money and the extra storage space I now have in my tiny apartment kitchen, this was well worth the assembly time.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
perfect fit
 from NJ,  Apr 19, 2010

This island is wonderful in my kitchen. Its a bit complicated to put together (thank *** for handy brothers-in-law!) But it looks great when its finished and easy to move around if need be. Ample small storage places - I have cookbooks on one shelf and pretty display bowl on the other. Highly recommend this item. Overstock never disappoints,

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good deal
 from Maine,  Apr 16, 2010

I received this last night - it took me about an hour to put together by myself, but it was very straight forward. The quality is very good and the cart is very sturdy. It even comes with white bungs to cover the larger fasteners. My only question is whether the magnet on the door is strong enough - I had to install it twice to get the door to stay closed. This sounds like what other people have said. Regardless, I would buy the cart again if I needed a second one.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice, but hard to put together
 from Washington, DC,  Apr 2, 2010

This kitchen cart is beautiful and so far it's pretty sturdy. However, the pieces are heavy and it took a very, very long time to put together. I also found the instructions to be confusing. Finally, some of the pieces don't fit together quite perfectly, particularly the shelving. If you live alone like I do, you may want to find someone to help you with this one.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy
 from Atlanta, GA,  Feb 18, 2010

I love the kitchen island cart it is as nice in person as it is on the pictures. It 's very sturdy and looks great in our kitchen! I am not sure how long it took my husband to put it together but he had no complaints.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 41-60 of 88 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
White Base Kitchen Cart with Natural Top
Add to cart to see special price
(36)
Kitchen Storage Trolley
Add to cart to see special price
(92)
The Big Island with Double Side Doors
Add to cart to see special price
(11)
Meryland White Modern Kitchen Island Cart
Today $246.83
Compare $774.95
Save 68%
(88)
Back to top