Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 91 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
HappyBuyer
 from San Francisco, CA,  Oct 14, 2010

Great sturdy product. The assembly was a hassle and took a bit longer than I expected. One of the slats on the shelf was loose and I had to use a nail to secure it. Other than that its a great sturdy piece. It has helped me tremendously in my cramped kitchen and provided me with more counter space. I have my cookbooks on the outer shelf as well as my mixing bowls and it looks looks very cute. I love that I have a drawer to put on all my cooking utensils in, and I still haven't found a use for the cabinets yet but I will definitely be filling them up. Great price, cheap shipping, quality product, fast delivery. What more can I say?

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Useful Design
 from Sodus NY 14551,  Jun 23, 2011

It's true that the white shelf slats are precariously stapled onto the underlying white wood grid. Forewarned by other reviewers, I handled the shelves very gingerly while unpacking them. Even so, had to use Goop on just one slat. In position, i.e. in use, the chintzy stapling is not a problem. Note that the upper and lower shelves are not interchangeable. The hardwood top and base have 4 dowel holes pre-drilled. Only 2 dowels are supplied, as indicated in the Parts List. So what, do they profit an extra 9 cents from each unit as a result? Seems also chintzy. The most challenging assembly problem was that the 4 metal tabs that screw into the underside of the hardwood top were not formed at anywhere near a sufficient angle to allow just rotating them into the linear grooves in the left and right sides of the cabinet. Just rotating them would have left them about an inch below the grooves. Those tabs are all that hold the top onto the cabinet, with the two dowels only aligning the top to the base (unless you were to glue them). The tabs are very difficult to bend. The solution I applied was to screw the 4 metal tabs firmly onto the underside of the inverted top, and then use the claw of a hammer to bend them up sufficiently to match the level of the grooves. This was done gingerly, in about 4 partial bends each, setting the top on the base each time to check progress, and then takling it off to bend the tabs further. While the angles are now not ideal, the top is quite snug, and the only time a potential problem could ensue woulf be if sharply lifting the whole unit by the top edges. But because of my outstanding artistry in the bending, even this is unlikely. Further, the particular drawing for that assembly step was almost useless, with the relative sizes and locations of those two interlocking parts rendered completely inaccurately, except for the 90-degree angle involved. The second most challenging problem was tapping some of the metal pins into a few slightly undersized holes (Other holes were fine --just snug enough). Even hammering the pins through a block of wood, the lower right rear cabinet wood splintered apart. Clear Household Goop (not the yellow "Plumbers Goop"), two clamps, overnight dry--and I won't tell any of the females around here if you don't. Beyond that, I will say that all the predrilled holes were in excellent alignment. Note that the handle on the right side adds length to the advertised dimension. In the tight corner next to my stove, I had to just leave it off. Trying to think of something else to do with the beautifully-finished handle offers hours of contemplative fun, particularly if you keep it near the toilet. The answer so far: Nothing. The height of the unit is at least an inch and a half lower that the standard stovetop next to it. No big deal, but I did subsequently acquire a 30-inch wide, 1 and 1/2 inch-thick heavy hardwood top to set atop the unit, to make it more nearly contiguous with the level of the stovetop. *** or so, thus made the whole purchase significantly more $$$. But I like the look--more of an actual butcher block, and two inches deeper than the top of the original piece. Looks great, and doesn't detract from ease of opening the drawer. You actually cannot see the original top, without bending way down. I left out the upper shelf, and set a white plastic "tall kitchen bag" trash receptacle on the lower shelf. When in use, the receptacle may be pulled out and set against the unit's door, snugged to the stove. It barely sticks out past the front of the stove, if at all. (My unit is to the right of the stove.) There is still room on the shelf for a couple of large cutting boards set on end. If you found this review useful, please send a large amount of money to Bob, P.O. Box ***, **** NY ****.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes.Wood top rendered accurately, and bright 'Appliance White' matches stove and refrigerator.
  • How is the quality of the product? Good but not great.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cottage Collection Preston Hollow Kitchen Island
 from Massachusetts,  Feb 8, 2008

Very nice once put together. that's always a pain. some of the holes don't line up, so have your drill in hand. once done, it's lovely, and having the extra counter space makes life easier if you don't have a lot in your kitchen. nice to be able to roll the cart out of the way if you have to, and ample storage space for something this small. enjoy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great kitchen cart!
 from Boston, MA,  Dec 8, 2011

My boyfriend and I ordered this kitchen cart to add a little more space to our small kitchen. We love it! We haven't fully decided what will go in it, but right now we use the top to store my KitchenAid mixer. And on the exposed shelves I have a teakettle on the top and several cookbooks on the bottom. It is a great size, plenty of storage space. I was hesitant to order the cart because of some of the reviews, but I am glad I did. I would recommend putting the cart together with someone, though. It could be a little tricky if you are the only one assembling it. With two sets of hands, it probably took us an hour. We did need to file down one of the blocks for the drawer, but otherwise we had no issues. I highly recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a small kitchen cart.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Pretty close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy and well made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wheel Broke (split apart) Immediately
 from Martinez, CA,  Jan 6, 2012

Will not purchase again from this company. Product went together easy enough but cheap plastic wheel broke immediately - still trying to find replacement.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? No problem.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fair quality. Looks very nice.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect size for us
 from Texas,  Nov 9, 2011

It took a while to assemble, the directions were a little confusing. There are about 25 pieces, but once together, it's a really nice item to add counter space in our small kitchen next to our stove and it looks really nice also. I was having a hard time finding a cabinet like this with the towel rack on the right hand side when you're facing the front door - which was odd, but I needed it because it was to go on the left side of the stove against the wall. It fits perfectly!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Just like picture
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly as you'd expect from the picture and description.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheap
 from Wisconsin,  Nov 18, 2010

Ordered and recieved it in about 3 days. That's the positive. When I opened the box, the first item on top was a slatted shelf. I removed it and discovered that one of the slats was not attached any longer. Very short staples holding it together. I fugured I couild just go ahead and glue it so I continued to unpack. The next itnm was shelf 2. This one had one slat completely off. I decided it wasn't worth going any further, repacked it and returned it. If the rest of the material were similarly 'chincy' it would not have been worth it. I would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kitchen Island
 from Long Island , NY,  Feb 18, 2008

The kitchen island is very attractive and well made. There is plenty of storage. It is a great value for the money. The only reason I would give it four stars instead of 5 stars was that there was some scratches and nicks in the wood. It is still a very nice piece.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value
 from Knoxville TN,  Feb 7, 2008

This isn't top of the line, but it is good piece for the money. Attractive, not difficult to put together. Looks good in my kitchen.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value
 from Miami, Fl,  Jan 17, 2008

The island is a beautiful piece for the money. The top is a beautiful wood. There's a nice big drawer, and I like the combination of a closed cabinet and some open shelves. It is just what I was looking for to fit in a spot in my kitchen.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Sturdy Cart!
 from New Jersey,  Jun 18, 2013

This cart was easy to assemble, directions were very clear and everything lined up perfectly! It was shipped protected and no chips or imperfections. I would definitely recommend this cart to anyone looking for a smaller cart/island for their kitchen...great for the money! A word of caution is that I have found on Overstock.com is that the prices change from day to day...but the customer service is helpful.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy, and nicely made for the money.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate description on site
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great addition!
 from Milwaukee, WI,  Sep 27, 2014

There have been some obvious improvements to this piece. The side shelves are now screwed together, not stapled, so no worries of any slats not being attached. We found the directions to be fairly easy and put the cabinet together in less than an hour. The storage is wonderful and the locking wheels keep it securely in place on our 115 year old (sloping) floors. Great buy for the price - and I did a LOT of shopping around. Was amazed at how fast we got this piece!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very well made
 from Midlothian, TX,  Aug 28, 2014

The main board for this item came in and it was cracked at the worst possible place. We called the Company and they sent a new one in 3 days. My husband calls this his, he has honestly used it more than I have so far. He loves it. And so do I.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kitchen island looked good when assembled.
 from Manistee, Michigan,  Aug 5, 2014

The assembly was straight forward. The butcher block top had two small gouges in it. At first I considered sending it back, but after it was together, the damaged areas did not show. The screws for fastening the top are too long, they would have poked through. I had shorter screws on hand. Overall the kitchen island looks pretty good and was reasonably priced.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Microwave Cart
 from Lynchburg, Va.,  Jul 7, 2014

This cart is easy to assemble and quite sturdy. I bought it to use as a microwave cart and mine is large. The only issue with this item is 8 metal dowels that fit end to end, sharing the same holes to sustain interior and exterior shelves. They fit loosely, so you must have glue to put on the ends of the dowels to make them stationary. Very good cart for the price!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from New Bern, NC,  Jan 1, 2014

I was looking for a movable island with specific dimensions to fit in my kitchen. On the negative side...The cupboard shelf never fit correctly and the door doesn't stay shut all the time. I bought wire shelving and use them instead. Otherwise, the unit is exactly what I needed. I'm handicapped. I needed a moveable unit so I could move my mixer and bread maker out when I needed to then roll the cart back out of the way when I was finished with them. I am very pleased with that function. The wheels roll easily and can lock in place. It really works well for me.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
All things good!
 from SLC, UT,  Dec 28, 2013

This is so cute and exactly what I was expecting. I found similar products of similar quality for more than twice as much. When it showed up with a broken part, Overstock contacted the manufacturer and I had a new one shipped ASAP. Great product, great service!!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great buy
 from LA,  Dec 25, 2013

very good product that once you get it put tgthr, you ail love; lots of too, for all your books, appliances and knife block

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice for the price.
 from Indiana,  Nov 27, 2013

This was the perfect size for a microwave stand for out kitchen. It was not difficult to put together, but do as the instructions say and do not tighten up anything until assembled. You need a lot of wiggle room.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Incorrect Description
 from Chicago,  Oct 5, 2013

The was nothing wrong with the product that I could see. The description at Overstock is incorrect, this product is white. Bright white and not at all Antique white. I opened up the box and essentially had to close it right back up and send it back.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 91 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
White Base Kitchen Cart with Natural Top
Add to cart to see special price
(39)
Kitchen Storage Trolley
Add to cart to see special price
(94)
Denver White Modern Kitchen Cart
Today $247.99
Compare $384.95
Save 36%
(59)
Heart-of-the-Kitchen Island with Drop Leaf
Add to cart to see special price
(9)
Back to top