Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
As reviewed
 from Albany NY,  Sep 25, 2010

Thanks to all the previous posters. I expected no instructions on the on/off switch so wasn't irritated when that was the case. Here is the web site that explains how to install the on/off switch: http://www.electrical-online.com/InstallanInlineSwitch.htm. Installing the plug isn't hard, just takes a little common sense. Also, the "cord cover" comes in three pieces, so if you want it to be 1/3 or 2/3 as long as advertised, no problem.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product but no "just plug in"!
 from Hudson Valley, NY,  May 8, 2013

As other reviewers mentioned, the assembly and installation takes some time and some skills. Instructions are inadequate, but you can google things like installing the switch and the plug for clarification. Cord fit very tightly inside metal housing- in fact I had to remove the little plastic sleeves in the ends of the pieces and thread it through them one at a time before connecting them.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lots of light, easy to install
 from Goleta, CA,  Feb 1, 2013

Putting this together was pretty painless, though there was a bit of a challenge fitting the wire down the wire guides (I popped out the little plastic rings and it was much easier. Assembly took about 15 minutes. The packaging could be nicer, it was a particularly brittle styrofoam, leaving little pills all over the place.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was accurately represented
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The build quality is OK, but about what I'd expect for a product costing this much
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice, once installed
 from Pasadena, CA,  Mar 27, 2012

This is a nice lamp, however, it's not so easy to install. ..and I'm a nasa engineer. The box that the lamp came in was especially misleading! The box boldly states "Just Plug In!" That is a total lie. The whole lamp came completely unassembled, and not even the plug is attached to the wire! But I knew some assembly was going to be required, so I laughed at that, and started assembly. The metal framework of the lamp (the part behind the glass shade that attaches to the wall) was out of shape, and it was apparent that it was from shipping. I had to do a little bending of the metal to get it so I could install it and the shade would fit. Bending metal is always scary because you can break things very easy that way, but it worked. The three rods that come with it are each only 12" long. And the lamp is 12" from the top to the first rod segment. That's a total of only 48", so if this is going up high, like a floor lamp would, the end of the rod is dangling in space a few feet off the ground, which to me didn't look right. I called the 800 # on the directions and was able to order two more rods (for $7 each plus $5 shipping) so that the rod extended low enough so the end was hidden. And then screwing one rod into the next is not so easy either. If the rods fully mate to each other, the seam almost disappears, but as hard as I tried, I couldn't always get the rods to fully mate, but it was close enough for me. And being an engineer, I am very picky. I suppose you could attach it to the wall like hanging a picture. There is one hole on each side. But I opted to use the included anchors and screwed it to the wall so it was more secure. (With Earthquakes being common, we screw everything down.) It comes with a strap to fasten the bottom of the rod to the wall, but... the strap is for a FLAT wall, not a corner situation! Unreal. Again more metal bending, and this one is more difficult. I actually bought two lamps, one for two corners of the same room. And in both lamp boxes, a switch was included. So the reviewers who were missing a switch should've called the 800 # and they would have sent them the switches. After all that... the finished lamp looks nice. It just takes a bit to get there!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matched well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the quality was so-so
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? once installed, the description matches the product
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great lighting option!
 from Ohio,  Mar 28, 2012

This corner lamp is the perfect solution for the dark corner where a sectional sofa prevents another type of lamp. I didn't want anything hanging from the ceiling so this was great! My husband handled the installation, but he said it was not difficult.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great lamp for rooms with ceiling fixtures.
 from Albany, NY,  Mar 2, 2011

This lamp is great for houses that have rooms that never had ceiling fixtures installed. Personally, for me that was the case and I couldn't use a stand up light either because of the way a piece of furniture was situated into the corner. This lamp was a perfect fit. The reason i took off a star was because I believe the quality of this lamp is good but not excellent.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Switch Issues
 from Washington DC,  Oct 20, 2010

This lamp fits perfectly in the corner behind my sectional. It is modern and was generally easy to put toegther. My main complaint is that I couldn't figure out how to attach and operate the on/off switch. It is a real pain becase I actually have to plug it in to turn it on. If I'd known that before I attached it to the wall, I would have sent it back and spent a little extra for a corner lamp with an actual switch. Its too bad because the lamp is otherwise perfect for my needs.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
somewhat good
 from San Diego, CA,  Oct 8, 2010

It gives good light, but putting it together was a pain!! It took me forever to figure out. It doesn't come with a plug so you need to make one. They give you a kit to do it, but that it something that you shouldn't have to do!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Horrible cheap and tacky
 from Los Angeles,  Sep 23, 2010

Hi, I ordered these based on the image on the webpage. They came in small boxes in about 30 parts that required an assembly that was totally beyond me and I am a smart person. They were also flimsy and the light guard was not circular as the image implied but only one-sided and would have left a bare bulb had I ever been able to figure out assembly. Overstock took FOREVER to ship them to me and now I have to pay $** to ship them back. This is the last time I order anything from Overstock as it clearly is a hit and miss process. Lesson learned. I am going to stick to websites that offer free shipping back and/or go to the store to see what I am getting.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Work fine
 from Lexington, KY,  Apr 26, 2010

OK, these corner lamps are....well....just as pictured in the photo. That's about it. The quality is fine, they work just fine, but I think the price was a bit high for what you get. No big complaints, just a bit disappointed because everything else I've purchased from Overstock (TONS OF STUFF) has exceeded expectation.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
returns resold
 from south florida,  Apr 17, 2010

I bought 2 of these lamps hoping they would work perfectly in a room. Unfortunately, both lamps were previous purchases that had been returned & reshipped. I know this because the instructions (and website) specify that the plug is not attached and requires doing so. One lamp had the plug attached and the second lamp was totally scratched and not re-packed correctly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works Well
 Nov 2, 2009

If you are looking for a corner sconce that does not need to be hardwired, this is probably the best option you will find. Though it does not require hardwiring (i.e., getting behind the wall), it is pretty difficult, and you need somebody who is very hand to figure it out. That said, for that corner behind an L-shaped couch where you need light but don't have room for a lamp, this works perfectly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just What I've Been Looking For!
 from Florida,  Aug 7, 2009

I have been looking for a corner light to put in my living room for quite some time. I have a sectional that goes against the wall and I can not fit a light with a base in the corner without pulling the couch way out. This light did the trick. It's perfect. Easy to install...except there were no instructions on how to install the on/off switch. Luckily I was able to find instructions online and it was easy. If you need to light up a dark corner & don't have room for a floor light, I highly reccomend this!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
And there was light!!
 from Atlanta, GA,  Mar 5, 2009

Great addition of light to a dark corner in a large master bedroom. Item came partially assembled, was exactly as shown in picture when ordered. However you will have to do some electrical put together for the plug attachments which are included in the bottom of the box. Intructions were not helpful on how to add the on/off switch so I had to skip over that and not add it. So if your not handy with electrical items have someone who is do it for your safety. Overall the item is very stylish

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top