Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 22 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Do NOT buy this!
 from Florida,  Apr 1, 2010

This is my first disappointment in years of ordering with overstock. I should have know that the price was too good to be true, but it fit the dimensions I needed so I ordered it. Huge mistake. In all my years of putting together furniture pieces, I have never seen a piece this flimsy. The pieces don't fit together well and the slightest bit of pressure (just hand, not hammer or rubber mallet) caused the whole thing to fall apart and chip. Not that another chip matters anyway because there were parts that had been chipped and simply painted over. There were also some parts that had not been painted at all. Tried to return the item but just found out that it is going to cost me a third of the price just to ship it. Save your money and opt for a different piece, I wish I had.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bookshelf
 from Tyler,  Aug 9, 2011

This piece was not at all what I expected. Would have preferred a more sturdy piece, but it just didn't work well. The wood itself is nice, but the finished product isn't structured to stay strong. Price vs. quality did not meet my expections.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Okay.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality of wood is fine. The structure, after assembling, was wobbly.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Dissapointing.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very pleased with this!
 from Virginia,  Jul 24, 2014

I am surprised by the negative comments as none were true for my purchase of this bookcase. it arrived very well packaged and was fairly easy for me to assemble alone. It looks and feels solid and sturdy, even heavier than what I expected. There are no flaws anywhere and all the pieces fit together perfectly. I ordered two and have yet to open the box containing the second one but am hoping for the same results.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not well made.
 from Cary, NC,  Jan 1, 2014

I didn't read the reviews before making this purchase and wish I had. Not worth what I paid. Serves my purpose well. May paint it and reinforce so it doesn't fall apart.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it...gonna get another
 from Kalamazoo, MI,  May 6, 2011

I had not trouble with building the thing...read the directions! Very sturdy! But all my travel albums are filling it up and I want another. Glad to see it is still available!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Recommended Conditionally
 from Kentucky,  Jan 3, 2010

This was a very inexpensive piece of furniture but extremely difficult to assemble. The instructions were basically nonexistent. It is not well made but is attractive and does look like the picture. Therefore, my conditional recommendation is that "you get what you pay for", and if you need such an item but can't spend much money, it is a good buy. If you can afford better quality of workmanship, I would encourage you not to purchase it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
don't buy this one
 from AZ,  Oct 9, 2009

I purchased this bookcase...it is similar to another one I bought last year...but this one is a piece of junk. It looks good but is very light weight. It wasn't hard to assemble but the middle shelf would not hold books properly. The angle of the shelf makes books lean backwards so the bottom of the book is suspended in the air. It's very weird. We took the case apart several times thinking we had assembled it wrong but there was only one way to put it together. Needless to say, we are sending it back and ordering Item#: 10340185 instead which is the same bookcase we bought last year. It's only a few dollars more but worth it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
X book case
 from San Antonio, Texas,  Aug 28, 2009

This bookcase looked great online but it was a great disappointment when I opened the box. It is flimsy and I wasn't sure it would even hold the phone book without falling apart. The color and form is right but the workmanship and qualilty are really lacking. I would not recommend this product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
X Cross Design Bookshelf
 from Maryland,  Jan 6, 2010

I was looking for something relatively inexpensive and low profile for my office and this bookshelf was perfect. And...the price was right. I looked around at many different places and compared but this was the best deal for a decent quality product. The bookshelf was easy to assemble and I am very pleased with how it compliments my other furniture.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just Right
 from baltimore, md,  Oct 15, 2009

I am really impressed with the quality of my bookshelf. I purchased 2 of them, and they were really easy to assemble.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bookshelf
 from Pequote Lakes, MN,  Aug 17, 2009

the machining was not good so my husband had to modify some of the holes. One of the screws was deformed. Worst of all, the directions had no number to call for replacement parts. Luckily we are not putting great weight on the top, which is just sitting on the part below because there is no way to screw it on with the screws provided. The screw is not a standard size so we don't have one in my husband's tools (and he has quite a workshop). When he has time my husband will drill a new hole and attach the top to the frame below.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great shelf!!!
 from Northern Virginia,  Aug 12, 2009

This was very simple to put together. I did it myself in less than an hour. All the pieces fit exactly as designed, and there were no flawas in the product. This is a very cheap bookshelf that looks great in my room.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good looking, easy to assemble
 from Boston, MA,  Apr 15, 2009

This bookshelf was delivered to me today and is already being put to use an hour later! The directions were easy to read. I put it together by myself in about an hour (a few interruptions from baby, too!) Normally I have to bug my husband to put things together for me. But after reading several other reviews about the ease of assembly, I tried it myself. I feel so liberated!That said, there were some minor issues. Two of the screw holes seem to be more shallow than the others, which makes the top shelf a tad bit lopsided. I would say that I made a mistake, but I screwed in the others just fine. There is a tiny scratch on the top shelf. I may use a magic marker to fill in or may just leave it alone. (I have the walnut case.) I also don't like that you can see the silver screws. Wish they had a covering for them.All in all, for the price it's a nice bookshelf. I really like the design. I was specifically looking for the "x-cross." Hopefully we'll be able to fix the 2 screws I mentioned.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Black bookshelf
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Mar 29, 2009

This product was perfect for a nightstand/bookshelf in my guest room. For the price, it looks nice and has a nice finish. It was easy to assemble and I put it together alone in my living room. (I usually don't have the patience and get my Dad to do it but this was easy enough even for me.)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Contemporary X-design bookcase walnut color
 from New Jersey,  Jan 24, 2009

Nice decorative bookshelf for a few display-quality books.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
disappointed!
 from ATL,  Jan 19, 2009

The finish on this bookshelf is streaky and rough. Top shelf was chipped. If workmanship was better, it would be a great product. As it is, no thanks.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
recommend
 from florida,  Jan 12, 2009

really easy to assemble by myself, (young, small female) it took me about 15 mins to get it together. looks nice, and holds what i thought it would. its on the small size, but perfect for what i wanted it for.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
x-cross bookcase
 from Auburn, WA,  Jan 10, 2009

All I can say is you get what you pay for - the photo looks much better than the product. The slanted library shelf does not create the correct angle for the books to rest properly and the wood it is constructed from is poorly finished. Not the strudiest. Fortunately, I ordered this for a utility type work space and I will make do with it. Had I ordered it for inside home space I would have sent it back. Not the usual quality of products I have received from Overstock. On the up side - it is easy to put together.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dont be deceived
 Jan 5, 2009

We purchased this bookshelf for our kitchen to hold all our cookbooks. Although it looks fine now, assembly was challenging because the pre-drilled holes were not accurate.In addition, the upper shelf doesnt hold books well. We have them arranged similar to how you would arrange books on a normal book shelf. The books will not lay flush due to the poor angle that the shelf is titled on.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
easy piece
 from houston,  Nov 30, 2008

simple piece to put together. took about 10min with just a screwdriver and mallet. the product came pretty quickly and exactly as described.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 22 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top