For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 112 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Very nice
 from Oregon,  Apr 24, 2010

I've been looking for some time for a computer desk whose design I enjoy, AND that would work in my small apartment AND has the full length keyboard drawer. This fits the bill nicely. It arrived beautifully packed in two boxes. Looks nice and is substantial. Once you open the assembly instructions, which are well written and clearly diagramed, you see that the recommendation is that two adults assemble this and that you need a mallet. I managed without the mallet (used a cork coaster under my hammer) but the assembly for me would definitely been faster and easier with a second person. I am older, but even with the substantial weight of the pieces and arthritis in my hands, I was able to assemble on my own with some patience and lots of breaks. All parts are numbered with stickers that stay on until you're done. One tip: the finish is a nice dark varnish, that at the very end, when you're aligning the last pieces of the top shelf into the entire frame, can get easily scratched around the cam bolts. Place some tape around the cam holes at that point, and remove after you've tightened the bolts, to keep from scratching. Wish I'd thought of that before! It only was a problem right at the end. It is a pleasure to run my hand over the surface. It's nice and satiny. Minor irritation and only reason I'm downgrading to a 4 instead of a 5 (I would have rated 4 1/2 if that was an option) is that the pullout key drawer has some rattle and movement up and down. I'm very happy. It's a nice contemporary desk, I enjoy the way it looks, its medium sized (not too small, not too big) for an apartment and substantially and well built--and while there were less expensive desks out there, none were as well built or packed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My Beautiful Desk!
 from Falls Church, VA,  Jun 2, 2011

I am currently re-decorating my living room and wanted a computer desk to replace an old table I had been using. As soon as I saw the Compass desk, I knew that was the one I wanted. The sleek design really attracted me and the fact it didn't look like a "traditional" desk. I kept looking and looking to see if I could find something similar for less money but had no luck, so I decided to bite the bullet and purchase the desk. Delivery did not take long and everything came intact. The instructions said it would take two people to assemble, but I was able to do the majority of it by myself. The instructions were pretty straighforward and I liked that everything was labeled. The only thing that really gave me trouble was the keyboard tray. It took quite a few attempts, and I began to get worried after reading other people had trouble installing it too. I found that walking away for a while then coming back to it helped. I also looked at how the rollers worked on my kitchen drawers and was FINALLY able to figure it out!!! I am extremely happy with my purchase and it looks just like the picture. The quality and color of the wood is beautiful and it is HEAVY (which is a good thing!!) Several of my friends have commented on how beautiful and "rich" it looks so it was definitely woth the money, although the week after I bought it, it finally went down! Fortunately though, Overstock did give me a credit for the difference in price, so I really can't complain. I am definitely a fan of Overstock and will definitely use them again!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk!
 from Texas,  Sep 2, 2010

I purchased this desk to downsize from an executive desk. It was easy to assemble and is very well made. It's a great size for a smaller room and the color is very attractive. Good design and wouldn't hesitate to purchase another produce in this line.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great desk, good investment
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Dec 23, 2012

I have to start out by saying how quickly I got my order after I placed it online. That was a pleasant surprise. There were some previous reviews that stated it was better if you had two people to set up the desk and they are mostly correct. I was able to set up the majority of the desk by myself but when it came to putting the legs on that's when I needed some help. I tried by myself at first but getting one leg on meant putting the other out of place. If you are going to work alone you will need to figure out how to keep one of the legs from shifting while getting the other into place so you can bolt everything together. Except for the hard work of assembling it all I am happy with my purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. well constructed and seems durable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? quite accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this desk!!
 from Chicago, IL,  Dec 4, 2012

My partner and I just moved in together and we needed a nice-looking, new desk (nothing worse than bachelor furniture... lol!). I've been waiting to find the right one and as soon as I saw this on the website, I knew I was going to buy it. I wanted a desk that would be sturdy as it will be used for work we bring home, but also one that fit in with the rest of the apartment. Our desk is in our 'dining room' so I specifically didn't want a desk that looked like a desk. I wanted something that would be functional but also stylish and looked more like furniture than a plain old desk. I was happy with the color (the website is accurate). It's sturdy as well and that was a deciding factor in making the purchase. I don't want a desk that is going to shake every time I'm writing on it. I put this together in about an hour by myself. I'd highly recommend having 2 people do the assembly if you can. It would have take me about half an hour if I had help. Directions are pretty good. Much better compared to other furniture I've put together. Be careful when putting it together that you don't scratch the parts. I laid everything out on a padded moving blanket and put it together that way. If you have wood floors, I'd recommend putting a non-scratch glide on the bottom of each leg. I moved it a couple of inches when putting it together and scratched my floor. All that sturdiness comes with added weight. Overall, great desk. I'm extremely happy with the finished product and it looks great next to my high-gloss red shelving units! Would recommend this to friends but don't want them copying me! LOL!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Pretty close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very sturdy, heavy wood--great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful desk
 from Pearl, MS,  May 22, 2012

I love this desk. I wanted a "different" desk....something eye catching and trendy. This fit the script perfectly. I just love this desk with it's sleek, clean lines. It's not a traditional looking desk and I think I love that the most. It has so many spaces to put items though. I bought the cute little boxes that allow you to label the front of the box with its contents....and that's what I've put out on this desk to keep it really clean looking. I have two printers on this desk though.....one laser printer on the very bottom shelf and a flatbed scanner on the main desk shelf. My boyfriend and I put it together in a couple of hours. It's solid wood and the quality is superb!!! Love it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. top quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WONDERFUL DESK
 from Chicago,  Apr 11, 2012

I've had this desk for 4 years, it's survived 3 moves....and these types of assembled items don't usually survive moves unless you can take them apart and reassemble, and you're lucky. This one was disassembled once and the other 2 times they moved it intact. It's very sturdy, expensive looking, the finish is very resistant to scratching, etc. The desk still looks brand new. I'll probably cry when I have to get rid of it, I'm very attached. I hope it comes back in stock.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True to picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality, worth more than what I paid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk~!
 from Canton, OH,  Apr 26, 2013

For the money its a good investment. Solid softer wood instead of pressed composite board with veneer wood. It took a while to assemble but some of the pieces were mislabeled. That's when you say "thank goodness for drawings to refer to during assembly". I would give it an excellent except there was a chip with splinter out of wood. The positive aspect is the chipped area is on the under side so its not seen. Plenty of room for your CPU, sound system, screen and keyboard. The design is solid in that the A frame is stabilized quite well. Aside from that splintered edge on wood piece its worth the purchase. You may want to invest in a plate glass desk protector. The wood is softer and the glass will protect your surface if writing or setting a beverage on the surface. I'm happy with the desk.. Its a little tall or high in regards to keyboard tray. Once I buy a higher seated chair that will solve my issue. If you're a tall person or a man, it would work fabulously for you.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was on for this item. Actually woodgrain shows up more in person than online.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very solid.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good description.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great furniture
 from Jersey City, NJ,  Apr 13, 2013

A great piece of furniture. Solid wood and very comfortable. Quality is better West Elm!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Smart and stylish
 from Appleton, WI,  Jan 3, 2013

Beautiful and sturdy, well made and easy to put together. Only complaint is the support below the bottom shelf of the desk, a bit flimsy compared to the rest of the construction.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Bang on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Eye-catching desk but scratches easily
 from Los Angeles,  Dec 26, 2012

What I like about this desk is that it's different than so many standard, cheap-looking computer desks available today. It's got a nice, modern look and feels very solid. I definitely recommend having two people to assemble it, as some of the pieces are a bit heavy. But I'd rather have that than something that feels flimsy and would fall apart within a year. The only negative about this desk is that it scratches easily, but I think that's just the type of wood used which gives it a high-quality look. Probably best to put some kind of pad down if that's a concern.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A great purchase!
 from Tennessee,  Dec 3, 2012

I bought this for my daughter's small apartment. It fits nicely in the corner of her bedroom. Seems to be durable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the desk
 from indianapolis, indiana,  Dec 1, 2012

The desk looks beautiful! It took some time to put together, the assembly instructions could be more helpful.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? EXACT.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. GOOD
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ACCURATE
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing
 from Queens, NY,  Nov 30, 2012

What an incredible product! Wood is of excellent quality, desk is very easy to put together and for the small amount of space this desk takes up, you get a whole lot of storage space.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True to description
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100%
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
fabulous desk
 from bergen county NJ,  Nov 25, 2012

Desk is 100% BETTER than what I was expecting. I can't swear that it is real wood but I can tell you this is as close to wood as you are going to get without paying a lot more. Very sturdy. the writing area of the desk is much larger than expected. The best thing about the desk is the quality of the material. I was expecting the usual compressed wood but was very surprised the material is very nice. Looks great in the roof. Highly recommended. I had my husband put it together took him about one hour. Only trick was putting on the slide out part of the desk. He put it on backwards twice LOL. Highly recommended you will not be disappointed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? little lighter than expected. I was expecting black and it is more of a mohagany
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality. It appears to be wood as opposed to those compressed paper desk. very sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice desk, but....
 from Tampa, FL,  Nov 20, 2012

The desk met all of my requirements and the color and size were exactly how it was on the website. My only problem is that two of the pieces were cracked! One was the desk top and the other was the side panel for the computer. Needles to say I have a 10 inch crach running left to right across the top of the desk. If it were an easier process to return the item I would have. But I did not notice it unitve I had already begun assembling the desk. Be careful buying this desk!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this desk
 from Columbia SC,  Nov 17, 2012

This desk was a splurge but it was well worth it. Very sturdy and nice looking. Plent of space for a home office. Love the top shelves and use the little nook on the bottm for my mail basket since I have an all in one computer.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Wonderful quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? verry accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good desk
 from Connecticut,  Oct 30, 2012

This is a very nice desk. I am not handy so I had a little problem putting it together. However, everything was labeled perfectly . If you are a little handy this would be very easy to put together. Nice product

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact color as shown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ver very nice
 from Bronx, NY,  Aug 14, 2012

I only had the desk a few weeks but I am happy with the purchase. My husband and I put it together. The directions were very clear just follow the steps in order.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It is very sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worth the price
 Jun 30, 2014

This desk is worth the timeto put it together. I had to predrill some of the holes that were not done. But this desk makes my office look bigger.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 112 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Innovex Clear Glass Computer Workstation
Today $106.18
Compare $303.74
Save 65%
(1)
Holly & Martin Haeloen Wall Mount Desk
Today $179.99
Compare $195.98
Save 8%
Back to top