Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 74 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Best memory foam I have ever tried!
 from SF, California,  Sep 3, 2010

I have bought a few memory mattresses in the past and I like this one the best. I had a hard time deciding on the firmness level, but after reading the reviews we bought the soft one and feel we made a great choice, as my boyfriend and I really love the way it feels and the firmness level. We wanted support but a soft feel at the same time, and that's what we got; hard to explain the firmness level without actually laying on it, but it's soft at the top while you feel the support underneath, so you don't sink too deep, just a little bit to relieve the pressure points and then you feel the firmer support below which I think is perfect. We had the biopedic before (also sold on overstock) and really liked it but wished for something just a little softer and this one is exactly it, as it's just a tad softer then biopedic, and thinner which we also wanted as it's easier to move and put the sheets on; the biopedic was heavier and more difficult to lift the corners to put the sheets on. We have a platform bed and feel that the extra height doesn't improve the comfort level only makes it heavier. I like that it's only 9" or actually a little less, what really matters is what's on top, and 3" of 4 pound memory foam are great and hard to find in the cheaper mattresses which this one is, most other ones are either only 2" or less denser foam. We are both rather slim people so maybe if someone is much heavier, they may sink deeper but can't imagine even then sinking to more then comfortable level of a few inches. The soft is not hard at all, it's only slightly firm underneath which is good, but the surface is nice and soft, of course like with all memory foam, you have to lay down on it to appreciate it, when you first touch it it may seem firmer then regular pillow top mattress, but it's actually as soft just in a different way, feels like a cloud with a nice support below, love it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A++ from a Real Person
 from Bangor, Maine,  Mar 17, 2011

I had my reservations about buying a bed from a website. I own a full size (real) tempurpedic, but my dog likes to take up half the bed, so we wanted to get a queen. I had many questions about the bed before I bought it. I questioned the quality-- I didnít know if it would feel like a tempurpedic, and there would be no way to be sure without spending the $300 dollars to see. Like you are doing right now, I read the reviews. To me, reviews can be so confusing because you have no idea who is REALLY writing them. For all I knew... it could have been the company saying all these great things about the bed so I would buy it. Well, I am a real person. I owned a tempurpedic, and I have to sayÖ THIS IS BETTER. I got a soft firmness because the classic tempurpedic I had was too hard. THE SOFT IS PERFECT! It came to my house within a week. It was shipped rolled up and vacuum sealed. Many people said there was a weird chemical smell t it, but I didnít get that at all. I cracked a window just to be sure, but I didnít really smell anything. I really love this bed, and I HAVE suggested to all of my friends that this is the BEST deal around. Take it from me, a real person who bought this bedÖ A+++

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wanna wake up in a pool of drool?
 from New York, NY,  Apr 16, 2011

Having just recently moved out of my old place and spent 5 weeks sleeping on an air mattress that I would need to inflate multiple times in the night I can honestly say that sleeping on a flower bed would've been more comfortable and is something I would have considered if it weren't so cold out. Instead I hopped on O.co and did a TON of research, read all sorts of reviews, and went with the Comfort Dreams Select-A-Firmness 9-inch Queen-size Memory Foam Mattress....and I'm THRILLED that I did. I went with the "soft" level of firmness because I heard that the hard was like steel, the medium was hard, and the soft was medium. It worked out great for me because I like sinking right in, but it was definitely softer then I expected from reading the other reviews. I can't say for sure because I don't have one but I'm assuming the medium is probably true to it's name and a good balance between soft and hard. As for the bed itself, it came delivered in a massive package that I needed to clear a space to open. I let it lay flat and air out for about 12 hours before I threw it on my bed and crashed. It recommends letting it sit for 48 hours, but, c'mon...who wants to not use an awesome mattress like this for that long. Also, some of the reviews mention a funny smell. I didn't have this problem at all. Overall, this is by far the best mattress I've ever own. I find myself having a hard time getting out of the bed at all because it's so comfy. And just like the title of this review...if you don't want to wake up in a pool of drool because you were sleeping so well then maybe this isn't the mattress for you. Highly recommended though. Good luck!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Read This
 Feb 26, 2011

I don't know where these reviews are coming from. Based on them, I ordered 3 mattresses, and not all the same, One was a Serta 8", the others Comfort Dreams 9" and 11". Three mattress for 3 separate people Two were received and installed and both people told me they couldn't sleep and they were "hard"; one described it as sleeping on "a rock". 1 of the mattress was a Medium firmness, the other I ordered Soft. Both individuals told me separately how hard the mattress was and they couldn't sleep sound, they don't even know each other. They both told me the first night was pretty good, thought they may like the mattress, but after that first night, the mattress felt hard. They were too uncomfortable from that point. So I thought I would take the soft one and try it myself. I'm here to tell you that my back is killing me. At first when I lay upon it, feels nice, I felt a little wrapped in softness, spongy and under firmness, however the firmness did feel quite hard. After only a few minutes and as time went on, that firmness under the soft layer felt harder and harder...till it felt like I was laying on slab of concrete. Horrible. I stuck it out the night. My back is killing me as I write this. These mattresses are only a week old in use, I can only imagine after a month. Do not be seduced into buying one out of convenience, (so ez to get up the stairs), or savings, which I don't think these mattress are that cheap compared to spring, or laziness (comes to the door in a box). Buyer beware, I warned you; wish I had same info. You have three reviews in one here, I don't know where the rave ones are coming from. I should've thought out the principal more, I believe the main (slab) piece is probably common in each mattress, the top layers are the "soft, medium, firm". Sooner (or later) those thin top layers that dictate the firmness wear thin. Overstock is so good for so many things, they should get out of the Memory Foam mattress biz. I'm returning the third one when it gets here, and licking my wounds over the first 2, I had to replace with conventional type mattresses. Ouch.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dreamy
 from Wyckoff, NJ,  Jul 16, 2011

This mattress arrives in a big tight roll and weighs around 60 lbs. You take the wrapping off and it begins expanding into this big thick cushy mattress. No odor and it has a soft cover on it. We got the queen in the soft firmness and used it with a platform bed from Ikea. My friend has a Tempurpedic that she paid a fortune for and this is more comfortable or at least the same. What a great deal this is and I will be getting 2 more in the twin size for our vacation home.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

well i can honestly say, i DO NOT like this mattress! i've waited to write this in hopes that it would get better, but it hasnt. delivery was quick, not a lot of smell. i was so excited to get this bed because i've waited over a year to purchase one, and i have a really hard time sleeping, so everything i read and researched said this was the mattress for me. i love a soft bed and i can say that i might as well sleep on the floor. no info came with the mattress so i dont know what firmness they sent me!?! i have no idea if i got the right one. i wake up more often then i use to, maybe averaging 3 to 4 hour sleep, i wake up in pain which i've never had before. it doesnt seem to have any 'give' to it. i put a memory foam topper on it, and it still did not make a difference. i dont know what to do to make this better, i'd return it if i could, and its not like i have the money to buy another mattress. so......... sorry for the bad review, but this really sucks for me.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Heaven Sent Sleep
 Apr 6, 2010

I purchased the firm mattress, because I already had a 3" Serta memory foam mattress topper and the down topper cover (also purchased from Overstock). Now I have phenomenal support with no pressure points. It's like sleeping on a firm cloud. I get a great night's rest and wake up with no stiffness or soreness. Highly recommend this phenomenal bedding bargain.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
4 years later and I still like it.
 from Kent, OH,  Feb 16, 2014

I have held out for 4 years to see how well it held up and I must say I am very satisfied. I will say that for being rated as a medium it is on the firm side, but I like that so it was a good fit. For a less than $XXX mattress I'd say it is a really good buy. Someday when this one wears out I will get another.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Value for the money
 from Jamison, PA,  May 19, 2013

We purchased the Comfort Dreams Select-A-Firmness 9" Queen Size Mattress for our spare bedroom (actually my 2nd bedroom - my Man Cave). We selected the Medium one, which is a little more on the firm side. I've slept on it may 10 times since we purchased it. It's more comfortable when you lay on your back....but I tend to sleep more on my side and stomach. It's a little too firm for stomach sleeping, but it is very good for my lower back. All in all, I think it was a good value for the price and we were very satisfied with our first purchasse from Overstock.com. The was delivered by UPS in a medium sized box. There was some smell - as expected - when we opened it, but it went away within a day or two. We also liked that it was Made in the USA - which was a factor in our decision to purchase it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it
 from Albany, NY,  May 15, 2013

love this mattress, got it for my daughter, will definitely get one for myself

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? similar
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I ordered the soft for my daughter and its very soft and comfy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? acurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I really like this matterss
 from Massachusetts,  Mar 22, 2013

Before ordering I read many of the reviews and decided to order this mattress. I had a Stearns but it was over 6 years old and I wanted a new mattress. I opted for the medium and it doe not disapoint. Just enough softness and give without sinking into it! If I did not read the reviews I would have been skeptical when I got the rather small box. I dragged it upstairs and opened it and the matress exploded out of it. I am glad I positioned it accordingly since I have a rather small bedroom and if I didn't the matress would have taken out my bedside table! It poofed up quickly and although many said it smelled for a few days, I only noticed the smell for a few hours. It does take a few days to totally poof up entirely and I get a great night sleep! Completely satisfied!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Mattress
 from Roy, Utah,  Feb 21, 2013

I was very hesitant to purchase a mattress online, but after receiving it and waiting the 2 days for it to get into shape it's wonderful!!!! love sleeping on it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? N/A
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Love the mattress very comfortable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Select-A-Firmness 9-inch Queen-size
 from Fremont, CA,  Jan 8, 2013

The mattress is very comfortable. My in-laws slept on it for more than a month, they loved it and preferred it over their own expensive mattress back home. It is firm but not too firm like other reviews described. You can also sit at the edge without sinking in as most memory foam mattresses would. It did have a little chemical smell upon arrival, but after three days, completely odorless. Highly recommend this mattress, and what a bargain!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Acurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I love firm beds. This was excellent, firm enough, but also provided a great quality sleep. The cover that comes with the mattress is quite nice as well, and helps prevents stains, and could be taken off to wash if stains do occur. Best sleep I've ever had, even in comparison to the high quality beds found at high end hotels like Meriton, Sofitel, Renaissance and the like. I've since sold this mattress (including the bed frame that I got from Overstock) because I moved. Now I'm looking for another bed, and am thinking of buying the same mattress and frame.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The mattress is great. Just as I expected.
 from CLarksville, MD,  Nov 30, 2012

The medium firmness is just as I expected. Both my husband and I are very happy with our purchase. This is our second Comfort Dreams Select and would not hesitate to make another purchase.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The mattress is excellent quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sound Sleeper
 from Portland, OR,  Nov 16, 2012

I own two Comfort Dream complete mattresses, and they are worth every penny. Last year, I purchased a twin Comfort Dream mattress for my son. I was totally hesitant as there are tons of conflicting reviews, and we have allergies and sensitive respiratory tracts in our home, so the chemical smell that some report could've been a huge problem. The chemical smell is present when you open the packaging, but upon delivery and set up I open the windows (close the room off in winter months, and allow it to air out and rise for 24 hrs. Believe me, it's worth not sleeping in your own bed for a night. The twin mattress felt medium firm and I at first thought a little too hard for my taste, but my 11 yr old loves it and sleeps so soundly that I don't hear him get up at night, he pretty much stays in the same position, and I often have to wake him in the morning - gives new meaning to kids scientifically needing 9-12 hours of sleep a night. His body is a natural little heater when he sleeps, so I do notice that he sometimes kicks off the covers. The mattress has held its form beautifully. I finally broke down and purchased the queen sized select-a-firmness for the grown ups. I selected soft because I am very petite and want to feel the slight sinking/hugging of my pressure points. While my mattress aired out, my son was away for the night so I slept in his bed. I couldn't believe how great his mattress was! I've been sleeping in my bed now and here's the kicker: I have battled with onset and sleep insomnia for years, and know every trick in the book to try to get to sleep and stay asleep. I sometimes take melatonin, ambien, clonazepam, or combinations of them to sleep. Not only have I slept soundly without meds, I am excited to go sleep in my amazing bed, I sleep a solid 6-7 hrs with very little movement, I wake just before my alarm clock, and now I've kicked coffee for nearly 4 weeks. Sound too good to be true? I would've told someone they're nuts if they had told me all this, but I feel so good when I go to work and I have energy after work too! Maybe these mattresses aren't for some, but I think getting the right firmness, height, and brand for your particular body makes all the difference. I am hooked on memory foam now. I've shopped Overstock for years, and they offer free shipping and online or mail coupons that can take a nice chunk out of big purchases ($30 off this last mattress). It can be risky but I'm glad I did it because good sleep is life changing.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice mattress
 from Upstate NY,  Sep 7, 2012

I've had the mattress for about 3 weeks now. I like the fact that I got to choose a firmness, but the Medium was a tad more firm than I expected. I went back and forth a few times between soft and medium and I wish I had chosen soft, but the mattress is very comfortable and supportive regardless. I hardly toss and turn at all, and if I do it is because of my pillows, not the mattress. I had been sleeping on very crappy mattress for a few weeks prior to receiving this mattress, and the first morning I woke up after sleeping on it I had no aches and pains and felt great. I noticed a very slight smell that dissipated in one day, and I was able to sleep in the same room with it without any trouble. (And I am very chemically sensitive.) I have no problems with the thickness, even when I sit on the edge of the bed it is very supportive and I don't sink down into the floor at all. I am a medium build and average weight, so I can't speak to if you are larger or heavier how it might be. Standard depth sheets will slip around a little on this mattress since it is thinner than most, but I bought some elastics for an ironing board to cinch up the excess fabric under the mattress and it seems to be working well. I think it will also slip less once I add a nice thick cotton mattress pad as well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? There is a subtle tan pattern on the mattress cover that shows through white sheets. I will be putting a mattress pad on the mattress.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Foam feels very nice, good quality density
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? I am pleased with the accuracy
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lasted a year.
 from Keller, Texas,  Apr 24, 2012

After approximately 14 months of nightly use, the memory foam lost its memory. Had to go out and buy a real mattress like I should have done in the first place. Expensive lesson learned.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic Mattress!
 from Hector, New York,  Mar 10, 2012

I bought this mattress a year and a half ago to replace the traditional spring mattress I've been sleeping on for the past 10 years. The mattress came all rolled up in a long box. It was very small when I unrolled it but quickly expanded to full size. It has a little bit of funky smell but it was gone in an hour of the mattress being unrolled. I sleep better and more soundly on this mattress than anywhere else. It's fantastic and i highly recommend it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. phenomenal
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
For a Great Night's sleep
 from Easthampton, MA,  Dec 23, 2011

Are you having trouble sleeping at night? Is your sleep interrupted because of back pain or movement of your spouse at night? Then you should invest in Comfort Dream memory foam mattress. This mattress is extreme comfortable. I would high recommend this mattress to anyone looking to replace their coil mattress. I have had pain issues for many years and this mattress is just a dream to sleep on. I have recommend this mattress to others, even daughter and son-in-law have tried it are considering purchasing one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality was excellent, as I have given it 5 stars
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exactly as described!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 74 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top