Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 26 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Futon Set
 from Mississippi,  Jun 11, 2010

It was delivered in a timely manner. Bed was a better quality than we expected. Good solid wood not cheap stuff. The mattress is so firm. Should last a long time no way could you feel the wire foundation with this mattress.My 200 lb husband layed on it and said it was very comfortable. We got This futon for when our grandchildren visit so wanted good quality and feel we have gotten it. Grandchildren come in 2 wks... Was a little more difficult to put together than we thought it would be ,but it Looks GREAT.....

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon Set
 from Edgerton, Wi,  Jul 9, 2012

Once put together it's a decent futon but putting it together was quite a battle. The screws were very hard to get in and the directions weren't the best. It's hard to get back into the sit position when the mattress is on it. Maybe just needs to be broken in more.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Mattress not as comfortable as I thought it should be.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Futon!
 from Rockford, IL,  Dec 8, 2010

I like this futon a lot! Especially since my dad put it together! ahahh! But seriously, it came really quick. But the boxes were really heavy. And some pieces were missing. So we had to go to the hardware store to get something to subsitute for it. Other than that it wasn't too bad to put together! It's a good quality futon!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Disappointed
 from Chapel Hill, NC,  Sep 26, 2010

This arrived very quickly in three boxes. We were hoping to use it as a guest bed. I put it together yesterday which was somewhat difficult due to a few holes which did not appear to be drilled correctly. It looked good once it was put together, but the mattress simply won't stay up on the frame. Also the mattress looks/feels comparable to a walmart standard college dorm $99 special. I think we might try replacing the mattress. This is the first disappointing experience I had had with overstock. I am simply very discouraged and disappointed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shoddy construction, difficult to put together
 from Chicago, IL,  Aug 4, 2013

There seemed to be something wrong during every step of putting this futon together. The arms were mislabeled in terms of "left" and "right", there were holes that we actually had to drill ourselves, there were not enough screws in the package, and there weren't even instructions for one part of the project. After a frustrating 4 hours it looks nice enough and seems comfortable, but I am not sure it was worth the hassle.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? All of the colors were mislabeled so we had to exchange the one we originally received.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor - we had to drill some holes where the manufacturer forgot to drill them.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Average
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great deal. Extremely pleased.
 from Chicago, IL,  Apr 3, 2012

I bought this futon for my 15 year old son and it arrived in less than two days. My 18 year old daughter put it together with no problems. It is great quality for the price and I love the storage in the arms. My son is also very happy with the mattress.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality fuinctional
 from Duluth, MN,  Apr 3, 2012

Sturdy a little timely to put together- as i suspected after helping put another one together for my son's dorm. Attractive, sturdy and my neice loves sleeping in it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good to very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality, functional futon set
 from Matawan, NJ,  Mar 22, 2012

I went with this model after reading reviews of the less expensive brands and others in this category. I was not disappointed. The wood is good quality, the metal is strong and every fits together nicely. I would purchase other products by this manufacturer. The only criticism I would have is the instructions could be a little clearer. However, based on all of the reviews I'd read, I was expecting this. You should have two people to put it together.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is very good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon Set
 from Houston, TX,  Dec 4, 2010

I purchased futon to have an extra bed in our home. The futon is of very high quality. I was a little reserved regarding the problems encountered by others when trying to put this piece of furniture together. We put it together without any problems at all. The hardest part is just holding the pieces in place to screw. I purchased another cover to ensure the mattress is protected, but is not needed. I can say this is the best purchase so far from Overstock. It exceeded my expectations. I would recommend this set for anyone looking for an inexpensive high quality piece of furniture.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT FUTON FOR MONEY
 from WISCONSIN,  Jan 5, 2014

JUST GOT THIS SET UP FOR MY DAUGHTER AND SHE LOVES IT! SAYS IT IS VERY COMFORTABLE AND NICE DESIGN WITH A PLACE FOR MAGAZINES OR BOOKS OR WHATEVER AND A PLACE FOR TV REMOTES AND OTHER THINGS BUILT INTO ARMS. COLOR MATCHES HER OTHER FURNITURE TO A TEA. VERY HAPPY!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointing Quality and Packaging
 from Cary, NC,  Sep 4, 2013

The quality of this product is rather low overall. From reading several other reviews here I thought it would be adequate as a contingency guest bed for our spare room. If I had been able to examine it more closely before buying I would have looked for something better. I had to make several repairs to this product just to get it assembled. 1. The mattress is sewn through in several places with tough twists of nylon plastic to help stabilize the stuffing. These look very uncomfortable. Better apholstery uses cloth covered buttons. It looks cheaply made, and will need a padded cover to be used as a bed. 2. The heavy wood end pieces of the frame are attractively made, but were not well packaged. They were separating at multiple joints where the glue had cracked through. I used large clamps and wood glue to repair this damage, but not everyone does amateur carpentry as a hobby. I hate returning large heavy stuff so this was the best option. 3. One of the metal bolt heads snapped off when I tightened it using the small hex wrench provided. This is very cheap hardware! The flat washers are so thin they easily deform. You wind up with a LOT of extra hardware from this product, but the extra parts do not stand in as spares, for the most part. I had to find a replacement for the hinge bolt that snapped. 4. Several other minor issues. The decorative wood hole plugs for the end pieces were one size too large to fit. So I have eight plugs that I can't use. One of the metal frame pieces was dented inside its protective box, which was undamaged. Pre-dented? 5. This item is really, really heavy. It's heavier than you think. I am in decent shape but moving the mattress/cushion is just barely possible. Get help, and watch those back muscles. Summary: An attractive price for what it is, but you will definitely have to perform unexpected work just to assemble this item. Be prepared to order replacement parts, or go to the hardware store and foot the bill.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very nice futon
 from brinkhaven, oh,  Jul 11, 2013

Very nice and comfy futon. Putting it together wasn't too bad. Only trouble I had was getting the longest hex screws that attach the cross bars to the outside wooden frames, to thread. The rest was easy. And if you're not that savvy at putting things together, the directions give you an URL to watch step by step directions on YouTube. I'm overall satisfied with this futon :)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
For an Extra Bed Room
 from Des Moines, Iowa,  May 2, 2013

The futon is assembled and ready for our first guests. Right now we have it open to air out the mattress, as recommended. We did have several issues with the pieces for putting it all together, but were able to work through the issues. The futon did not come with any assembly instructions and also did not come with the top pieces for the arms, where you can place the remotes, etc. I chatted with O to ask for assistance in having the instructions emailed, as with any part, even just the instructions, they had to contact the parts service area and advised it would be 1-2 business days to have the instructions emailed. Then I saw on the site that there were video assembly instructions and I called a spoke with a representative. He searched throughout the site under various keywords and could not find the instructions online and again, had to request through the parts area. Since I really want to assemble the bed, I continued to search online and finally found a site created my the manufacturer, Epic Furniture, and by watching about 4 different videos I was able to assemble the futon. I have ordered the missing pieces for the arms with the instructions and parts. I hope to receive these within the next week. Two of us worked on this together, I've learned from previous experience that one person has a difficult (but not impossible) time putting together larger pieces. There were a few issues where the bolts inside the wood did not exactly match up with the screws. We know that during the assembly that we force stripped a few of the screws, but we also were able to get the frame together so that it is secure and tight. Hopefully we won't have to dis-assemble and move it for a long, long time.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Average - Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Problems with setup but great at the end!
 from New Yo rk, N.Y.,  Jan 24, 2013

The product was delivered quickly but with defective screws. Despite repeated phone calls to the manufacturer, it took eleven days for the replacement screws to arrive while the parts of the futon and its packing materials cluttered up our living room. Also, the arm rests were missing screws with which to connect them to the furniture and there were no drilled holes. The instructions were not always accurate. The manufacturer was very hard to reach and did not always answer the phone. However, Overstock was most helpful in assisting us to resolve the problem. Now that we have the futon assembled and are using it, we must say that it is great!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very accurate match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good, solid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful furniture with a but...
 from Hayward, California,  Dec 28, 2012

The reason I am not giving this a 5 is that the mattress is rather thin, and so when you use it as a couch there are areas where you feel the metal underneath. Other than that, the wooden futon itself is wonderful; the arms that open to put in remote control units or whatever else you want, and that allow the storage of magazines are an excellent idea. If it came with a better mattress (thicker, perhaps) I would say it is perfect.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Columbus Futon Review
 from Texas,  Oct 29, 2012

This is a very good mid price futon that is well made and sturdy. Assembly took about one hour - the only confusing thing was there were two sets of hardware ( different ) depending on the model I guess. Once you have what set to use figured out then it goes quickly with minimal tools ( most are provided ) The wood is good quality and it fold up and down easily.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High Quality, easy to assemble
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The main support leg broke after 6 months
 from Orange County, CA,  Sep 18, 2012

The futon does infact look nice, however the first and biggest problem is the dinky support leg in the front came off (a soddered metal piece that just broke) leaving the futon to basically concave toward the front/middle of the futon. So now, after 6 months, it is basically useless. Also, the mattress was never comfortable to begin with and I thought I was getting a better mattress per the description and some of the reviews. You can get a mattress topper that helps alot.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Mostly Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks Great and Pretty Comfortable
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Sep 2, 2012

Serves its purpose in our house as a spare room futon. Comfortable to sit/lay on, looks great, and magazine racks and arm compartments are very nice. The futon does slip down and doesn't stay in place, which is very annoying, but I've yet to see one that doesn't do that. That is the only complaint I have along with, where the stitching is to hold the cotton in the mattress in place, seems like it is tearing at the material a bit and you can see the a little bit of the white stuffing through the holes its creating. I'm hoping it doesn't get worse, I suppose a cover would be a good investment when purchasing any futon. Oh and DIRECTIONS....be sure to use the newer copy they send you with the futon. I suppose it would have been easier to put together if we had realized there were two sets of directions (one labeled USE THIS COPY) before we built the futon. Why the first set of messed up directions is still being sent out, I'm not quite sure.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same as expected
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product, complicated directions
 from Ames, Iowa,  Aug 23, 2012

It was shipped in two huge boxes, so try to be home when it arrives so that the delivery person can help you bring it into the house. The first of the two boxes, with the frame, arrived the day after I made the purchase online! I have never had anything delivered so quickly! The second box, with the mattress, came two days later. I have never had such confusing instructions before: The pictures told you to do one thing and the text told you to do something else. Don't attempt to put this together unless you are mechanically minded enough to intuit what should go where. I also had an entire baggie of screws, washers, and other hardware left over, so do not expect to use everything that is included. As a 30-year-old, healthy female, I put the futon together by myself, but it is a heavy piece and the bolts are incredibly hard to get screwed in. It is do-able, but difficult. Now that it's all together, it is great. Two people have slept on it since I bought it, and they have both commented that it was very comfortable. I have not slept on it, but it is very comfortable to sit on. It is easy to move it to and from the reclined setting. The fabric seems like it will wear well. I think I will definitely get my money's worth out of it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very closely
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy and comfortable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really comfortable and great for a teenager
 from Jacksboro, TX,  Mar 21, 2012

This is a great futon and my son loves it. A little difficult to put together but well worth it

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 26 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought