Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
futon
 from Connecticut,  Dec 6, 2011

Comfortable unit. I thought it came with a mattress, but should have read the description better. I've added a 10 mattress and this futon is very comfortable to sit and sleep on. Delivered in three boxes and took less than an hour to put together. Instructions were clear and eay to follow.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. ok
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hard as hell to put together....but worth it!
 from San Antonio, TX,  Sep 7, 2011

As the title states, this thing is a pain to put together. Mostly because the instructions are vague, smudged, or just plain suck. However, google Cottonwood Futon in Youtube and you'll find a video that will help you put the whole thing together in about an hour. Before finding this video we were working on the thing for two days. Once all of the assembly hassle is out of the way, the futon is great, beautiful, and roomy. Good deal.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very sturdy
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy!
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Jan 23, 2014

I purchased this futon frame as a couch & sleeper for guests. The wood looks great & the frame is very sturdy. I combined this with the Premier 8" microfiber futon mattress. Together they are a perfect fit. I originally ordered a 12" mattress pad & it was way to thick for this futon to sit on. Assembly was more challenging then I expected. You will need a power drill with an extension bit to securely assemble this futon. I am very happy with this purchase!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good frame for the money
 from San Clemente, CA,  Aug 31, 2013

This frame was the same EXACT frame I was going to purchase out in town, and this is at a way better price! The store out in town would have put it together (for a charge), but I and a friend of mine (we are both female) put it together with minimal issues. The only downfall was when the frame arrived the box must have been dropped because the arm rest was separated at the joints. Luckily that wasn't anything a mallet couldn't fix, so I didn't have to return anything. The directions were a bit confusing, but I was prepared for that as i had read the other reviews voicing this exact issue. It helps to have some regular sized tools instead of the tiny ones that come in the package, but other than that it all came together very nice and is very sturdy. I bought a 10 inch thick futon to go on it and it stays in place very nicely. The only thing I might recommend is buying the additional front rolling drawers. The black metal front bar and stabilizing leg is a bit of an eye sore, but I would still buy this over again. I got the walnut and it is a beautiful color. The arm rest storage is small, but there is a cut away to fit a glass. I really like this feature as the futon is in my office/guest room, and there isn't any other table where guests can place a glass. I am very happy with this purchase!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy piece of furniture
 from Baton Rouge, LA,  Jul 4, 2013

This is a well made piece. Very sturdy. I do like having the hidden compartments in the arm rests. Perfect for storing a remote or two. The extra storage from the magazine racks is also a plus. It is a little difficult converting it back to a sofa from the bed position, but that may be partly because I have such a thick futon mattress on it. So far, it's been a good investment.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice, but some minor problems
 from Pennsylvania,  May 25, 2011

The good: An attractive, sturdy futon frame. The mechanism for switching between bed and couch are two metal hinges and springs. This seems to be a much, much better design than the runners-carved-into-the-side like other futons that I've seen. I really like the cubby in the arm, which is just the right size for a TV remote. The bad: The instructions are pretty standard -- the written text doesn't exactly make sense, or match the drawings. And you will have extra parts when you are finished, on purpose. With my futon, one of the welds in the metal part of the frame bubbled into where a bolt was supposed to go. After fighting with the thing, I ended up just not putting that bolt in. So, I will need to always keep an eye on that section when moving the futon to make sure that it doesn't shift too much. But, even with missing bolts, the frame feels sturdy, so I'm not worried. Also, the storage arms are smaller than I thought from the photos. The arm dimensions are listed as 6" wide, but when you look at the thickness of the wood, you probably only have 4" wide storage. They are big enough for a few magazines OR the Sunday newspaper OR a book, if it isn't too thick.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy!!
 from Peoria, IL,  Mar 3, 2011

Very happy with the frame. We purchased 5-6 weeks ago and have considered it a great buy and at a steal at the current price. We had purchased a futon before this one from another company (and different website) and it was broken within two weeks due to how much we use it. This futon is used in our living room and is used daily and I would definitely say this one feels much more "built to last". Out as a bed, it can support two full grown adults with a total weight of 390 pounds. My only complaint keeping it from 4 stars is that it was extremely difficult to assemble and the instructions aren't very clear. So make sure you put aside a couple hours and have some extra tools handy (and a creative mind). All in all - very happy with my purchase and very happy I found overstock.com!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Failing Futon
 from Nevada,  Nov 4, 2010

I was very disappointed when the instructions to assemble the futon were severly torn and half the torn pieces missing. There was a support number listed with limited hours of operation and the hours were Eastern Standard Time and I live in the Pacific Standard Time zone so pretty much is was a mute point. We keep experiencing problems with the futon frame and have to keep "tweaking" it or else it slants down on one side to the point you can't sleep on it. So overall the futon has been a big disappointment.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon-Full Storage Arm
 from Northern NJ,  Mar 25, 2010

I didn't quite know what to expect when placing my order for this futon. I couldn't be more pleased. The piece is an excellent addition to our family room. The solid wood arms make it very attractive and comfortable. Although we faced a few challanges in putting to together, we did so in just a couple of hours. All the pieces were there, everything fit as it should have and the end result is great! We put a 10" mattress on the futon - it's extremely comfortable and makes a very convenient extra bed for company.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought