Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Have realistic expectations...
 from Saint Petersburg, Florida,  Mar 20, 2011

As a woodworker and furniture restorer, I’m no stranger to fine furniture – which this is not. Knowing what to expect when purchasing this furniture and having the right application in mind will be key to your overall satisfaction with this purchase. Given the cost and prior familiarity with furniture of this sort, my expectations were low and my application well suited, being that this piece was intended for temporary, light use. This particular piece exceeded my expectations in terms of the sturdiness of the overall structure. It also exceeded expectations in terms of attractiveness. In other areas it left a bit to be desired. Packaging was more than adequate to prevent damage in transit. Instructions for the build are clear and concise, but with so much assembly to be done, you’ll want to have a power driver on hand. As one who works with high quality furniture, I did not expect to find any solid hard woods to be part of this piece…and there were not. I did expect ‘particle’ board and some soft woods, which is what was supplied. However, the quality and thickness of the laminate was a disappointment. While attractive and realistic looking, it is only .005” thick – about the same as shelf paper. It is very easily damaged, particularly on the corners and edges where the most minor abrasions will instantly scuff it off. (By comparison, we use laminates that range from .02” to .1” in our shop.) The soft ‘pith’ wood used for the drawer walls is incredibly light and splits very easily. For example, the rear wall of a drawer (25” x 4.5” x 7/16”) weights in at only 8 oz. For comparison, the same piece in typical plywood-constructed drawers is 2 to 4 times the weight. Although of very dense composite, I felt that the drawer bottoms were too thin at 1/8th” given the expanse they bridged between the drawer walls. They deflected considerably with only a pound or two of pressure, to the point where I was worried that they’d pull out of the routed groves that they slide into along the bottom edges of the drawer walls…particularly if loaded with too many clothes as is apt to happen. I therefore reinforced the bottoms of each of the 12 drawers with brace made of 3/8” plywood which solved the problem. The metal slides and other hardware are of reasonable quality and the drawers all fit properly and worked smoothly in the slides. I am adding low profile handles to each drawer because it is very awkward to open these drawers without them. Considering my application, the changes I’ve made to the furniture, and most importantly the price paid, I am satisfied overall with this purchase. I even subsequently bought more matching furniture of the same type. But again, you have to set you expectations properly. While I would not recommend this furniture for everyday / heavy use, it looks good and is functional - great in a guest room or as starter furniture.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good
 from TX,  Feb 5, 2013

Product as pictured and description lots of storage.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I hope you're tall . . .
 from Laguna Hills, CA,  Sep 10, 2012

We bought this for our vacation desert house in Joshua Tree, CA. The house has only one small 10’ x 10’ bedroom, and with a queen bed there isn’t much room for our cloths. My wife wanted as many drawers that she could get thus we bought the 12 drawer model. Beware it is tall; when you add just a mattress to the bed stand it is 8 inches taller than our normal bed, no way to use box springs. I am 5’11” and my wife is 5’9” and we both think it is a little too tall. Our dogs are going to need some doggy stairs to get onto the bed. If I had it to do over again I would buy the 6 drawer model and be happier. Anyway, height aside, the product exceeded my expectations and I would recommend it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was perfect and all the pieces matched.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Pretty good quality. I knew some pieces were made of particle board from ready others reviews but I took a chance and was happy with the quality. The drawers are made from real wood however a little thin, but they seem to be strong enough.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chelsea Cherry Queen 12-drawer Platform Bed
 from Chester, VT,  Apr 4, 2012

I'm unimpressed with the quality. We had the bed for a week and a half an the head and foot boards have cracked at the attachment points. Not just one, all 4 corners of each piece. The drawer bottoms are flimsy, as noted in another review. I have learned my lesson and will be reading reviews BEFORE I purchase a product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was a bit lighter in color than the photo but not drastically so.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not the greatest quality product out there.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the look and solidity of the bed frame
 from Columbus, Ohio,  Jul 6, 2013

I am very happy with the purchase and i love the look, it is solidly made. The assembly requires some time and could use an extra pair of hands.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice Follow instructions
 from Taylorsville, Utah,  Feb 15, 2013

This is perfect for our needs. If you follow instructions its not to hard but does take some time to finish. Without drawers and mattress; its not to hard to move around short distance. I recommend using T-handle Allen wrench for said screws. Hard to tighten but with the right wrench for leverage they go in with a little work. Insures they are secure. My spouse and I made a day of it and were careful to FOLLOW instructions to avoid troubles. Drawers we reinforced with cross brace; not convinced this step is required, as long as drawers are not over loaded with heavy items. I am journeymen heavy equipment mechanic but anyone who is willing to take time and follow instructions should be able to do this project in less then a day. We are very happy and recommend this item if you have patience and time to assemble. We dressed drawers up with nice handles to pull open. Made in CANADA was big plus.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
12 Drawer Bed
 from Gulfcoast of Florida,  Aug 11, 2012

The bed and drawer storage is excellent. There is no provision for attaching the "Bookcase" Headboard to the bed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Quite
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good idea, mediocre quality
 from Knoxville, TN,  Jan 31, 2011

Assembly was lengthy but easy enough, all the parts were properly included and damage was minimal and consistent with shipping. But not all the parts fit together well - one of the metal braces didn't reach and two of the screws ripped right through the particle board. The drawers have held up well, no bottoms have fallen out or fronts have fallen off after nearly a year, and the action is still smooth on all of them. All in all, a decent purchase but could definitely have been of higher quality.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pleased with Purchase. Good value for the cost!
 from Bellevue, Washington,  May 15, 2014

I would, as long as they are not looking for high end quality. We don't have any issues with it, but the wood is not solid cherry. My son and husband put it together and appeared they had no problems, as instructions were well laid out. Bed frame looks nice. Drawers have a good amount of room for storage (six drawers on each side). For paying less than $XXX for brand new, I feel we got a good deal. No complaints thus far.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Probably best only for a guest room
 from Massachusetts,  Mar 15, 2011

I wish I never wasted my money on this bed. I thought it would be great for storage, but the drawers fall apart when filled - the bottoms of all the drawers keep falling off. I'll have to try wood glue in hopes it works or cram a dresser into my room too. Assembly for the entire bed was long, but not hard. Although some of the pieces on the platform part don't fit together well. The fully assembled bed is extremely heavy & can't be moved without the bed feeling like it will come apart. You need to assemble the bed exactly where you want it otherwise your are either stuck with it where you assembled it or you need to take it apart and start where you want it in the room. All I want to move the bed is about a foot back towards the wall but it won't budge & if I try to push or pull the bed it feels like it will come apart. I have a memory foam mattress, but it feels so hard on this bed. I used to sleep so comfortably, but now I can't because the bed makes this mattress feel hard. My advice is to keep looking for another bed or use this for a guest room.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Queen-size Platform Storage Bed
Today $794.99
Compare $1092.76
Save 27%
(2)
Mayline Brighton Series 3-shelf Bookcase
Today $217.34
Compare $331.00
Save 34%
(2)
Austin 3' Bookcase with 3 Shelves
Today $184.99
Compare $259.99
Save 29%
(6)
Back to top