Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Product damaged in shipping
 from Wichita ks,  Jun 12, 2013

Product damaged in shipping just the air cleaner cover called manufacture got replacement air cleaner next day for free otherwise happy with it

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Product damaged in shipping called manufacturer got replacement part next day
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The generator arrived from Overstock in a very timely fashion...within three days of the order. Just like the reviewer from Nov 21 ours arrived with a crushed air cleaner assembly. I am decently handy so I wound up contacting Champion's customer service number directly and told them the situation. I then told them the replacement parts I would need after reading them from the parts diagram list included with the manual. Champion sent the parts for free and I received them within 4 days. I fixed the crushed air cleaner myself and now the generator runs well. Except for that problem (which seemed to happen in shipping) the generator seems to be of good quality and I had a good experience with the Champion customer service. The tech there told me that the air cleaner assembly seems to get crushed often in shipping because Overstock and most other companies ship the generators with the original packaging and nothing else. This seems to increase the likelihood of the air cleaner getting crushed as the boxes aren't made for individual shipping. If I weren't of the mechanical level I am I wouldn't have been able to replace the assembly myself and would have asked for a new generator. On the product itself and the customer service I am giving four stars. On the fact that the generator arrived damaged due to their persistent problems in packaging the product correctly or due to Overstock's lack of adding more packaging when sending this unit out I would give one star. But because Overstock.com has the best price w/o charging shipping and because the Champion customer service was so good I will keep the overall rating at four stars.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Runs well...arrived with damage to air cleaner
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for the RV
 from Union Gap, WA,  Sep 20, 2013

I got this to run my RV for those places that have no power. I can run the air ,lights and the microwave. I loved the idea it came with the wheel package as well as the remote start. The remote start is cool for when you just don't feel like going out side to start it on that early morning. The noise is not Honda quiet but it is not to bad. This is a must have for the RV.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Champion is one of the best
 from Boston Mountains,  May 13, 2014

I have had nothing but a great experience with Champion generators. This purchase is no exception. I have two of the smaller 1200 watt models and have run them, and run them, and run them. They seem to never die as long as you keep the oil clean and full and a good spark plug installed. The most I've had to do is adjust the valves after many hours of use. This is a very easy thing to do if you are at all mechanically inclined. This model seems to meet my previous experience. It is well built, solid and looks good to boot! Arrived undamaged, put the wheels and handle on, filled with oil, connected the battery, turned fuel valve on, added some gas and started right up. Runs quieter than expected for its size. Has a nice big muffler. Is heavy so the wheels and handle are a must. The electric start is great. From my previous experience with Champion, I expect to get years of trouble free use from this one also. Highly recommended. Best bang for the buck and much better than the generic ones found everywhere. Note that Champion engines have a cast iron cylinder sleeve which most of the other don't. It is a must for long engine life. Highly recommend if you are looking for a reliable generator that won't break the bank.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good generator, great price!
 from Tucson, AZ,  Mar 11, 2014

We bought this generator for our camper and tested it out last week. The set up was easy. Note that the box says that oil was included, but in fact it was not. Just need to go pick up some 10W30. The remote start is great. Not a single problem turning on or off! For a first generator for us, this is perfect. The included wheel kit is a plus. The only con that I can say is that the generator is loud. If you're buying this for camping, expect your neighbors to hear your generator. The price was really good for the product that we received. If you want a good, QUIET generator, expect to pay $2000 - $2500.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does the trick!
 from Abbot, ME,  Dec 28, 2013

We lose our power fairly frequently up north in Maine. We bought this generator after we converted to propane heat from wood. We couldn't afford and didn't need anymore power than what this generator offered so we are quite pleased with getting our money's worth.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worst customer service ever
 from PA,  Aug 28, 2013

Thought it would be good because it had electric start and watts that I need..only ran it once a month to keep the battery charged ....wanted to have it after Sandy hit us.....well till I needed it it was fine...then notice not AC out put worked with Champion customer service and after 3 wrong parts shipped I told them i had it ..it was under warranty and they want me to fix it....yeah Right ...now looks like I'm getting the shaft and out 4** bucks.....buy American if you can....stay away from this product

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bang for the buck
 from ash grove, mo,  May 19, 2013

After research, turned out to be what we were expecting. Also seems to be unmatched for the number of features for the price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Couldn't ask for anything more.
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Mar 19, 2013

I bought this generator for bow fishing. I wanted a generator that was strong enough to run all my lights and converters and still have a bit of juice left over. This generator is perfect. When it is running you can still talk but the generator is of course noticeable. However if you put it around a corner or even place a hollow core door in front of it it drops the dbs a lot.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Everything was exactly how it appeared on the site.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Box was dinged up a bit, but the actual generator itself was flawless. Battery had a charge on it and it fired right up. Took about 20 min to assemble everything.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on so far. I have not put a full load on it yet but starts quick and runs well.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Generator works great for our cabin
 from Watkins Glen new york,  Feb 20, 2013

Bought this for our cabin. Keep it in cabin and when we want to use it roll it out on porch and go back into cabin hit the start button on remote and it starts right up..

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Right on!!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems to be built good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on!!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

simply a generator that is high quality, runs perfect, easy to understand, and fit the needs......

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. perfect......started right up and worked just fine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? completely accurate and had a lot of information.....I knew what I was getting.....Thank You....
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best Deal
 from Birmingham, AL,  Dec 26, 2012

I purchased this generator to use around the house and with our Popup camper. Excellent purchase, The wheel kit is simple to attach and I love the remote electric start. Shipping was super fast- Overstock.com customer service and support is super- You would not be disappointed with this item.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? just as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Best quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? As described
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice unit on wheels
 from Cleveland, Ohio,  Dec 11, 2012

Generator arrived in 3 days and was very easy to assemble the wheels,handle and battery. You will need 30W oil not included. Remote and electric or manual pull start. I ran the generator and it seems to work great.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good replacement for my 20 year old sick generator
 from Central New Jersey,  Dec 4, 2012

Delivered faster than promised. Worked right out of the box. Loaded it up with several space heaters and ran it for a while with no problems.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
3500 champion generator
 from Quaker City, OHIO,  Nov 21, 2012

1st generator came quickly. 2-day shipment. Product damaged. I asked for a replacement and one was sent within 4-days. The second unit had the same damage. The air cleaner was crushed. 5-star on getting product to home just need it so we can use it. no stars for UPS. Not a good start for the first time using Overstock.com however I will continue shopping here because of fast shipping and easy returns.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top