Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 36 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 

We love the range hood. We saved a lot of money by buying through Overstock. The only thing that we would like to see changed are the instalation instructions. They were not very clear on how to adjust the chimney lenght properly and we had to do it over a couple of times before getting it right. Not Fun. Now that it is installed, it is beautiful as well as functional. And with so many exhaust levels it's excellent. We also love the dimmer light adgustment. We have gotten so many compliments. It really is beautiful. We would highly recommend this item to anyone.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OK . . .ready for the REAL review now - read this
 from Gainesville, Fl,  Apr 16, 2011

Well, I have to say that after reading all the reviews of this range hood I was a little worried about the installation. My worries were later confirmed. I received the order quickly, about less than a week. I began the installation at 5:30AM when my attic was nice and cool. I did all of the duct work first in the roof and attic so it would be ready for the range hood. You will need to buy a vent tube and and other pieces if you don't already have them. I would say the hardest and most stressful part was trying to measure where the center of the hole in the ceiling would go. I had to use a plum level with string. Then you have to determine if the wood studs in your ceiling will match up, or if you need to add 2x4 support. Of course mine did not match up, so I had to measure the distance between the studs and cut 2x4's to install (the instructions do not explain this at all). Then my wife and 10 year old son (after much thought) came up with the idea that we should make a template out of cardboard from the top of the "upper support frame". This will help you determine where the size and where to drill the holes in the ceiling when up in the attic. This was very helpful! I had to do some creative carpentry to make the 2x4's fit as my attic had a lot of things in the way. The instructions are very confusing as they don't really make clear what order to do things. You need to determine the height of your range hood first. However the instructions don't tell you to add 3" to allow for the range hood itself. I called technical support about this and they told me, "our installers have I variety of different skill sets, so they would be able to figure that out". Obviously, I am not one of their installers . .go figure?? Anyway ,the guy from technical support seemed clueless as to what to do, and was very unhelpful. You are better off trying to figure it out yourself! Lastly, a few good tips for the install, make sure you install the lower support frame to the support frame extensions using the LAST TWO HOLES or the motor housing will not fit when you raise it up to install. Also, use BLUE PAINTERS TAPE to hold the lower chimney cover to the upper chimney cover when installing the motor housing. This will make it much easier. Consider taping the electrical cord to the flexible duct tube when you install the motor housing that way you can avoid losing a person to go up in the attic. Also, we used a little step latter with a piece of styrofoam from the box it shipped in to hold the motor housing up so our ARMS WOULD NOT GIVE OUT from holding the heavy motor housing!! I am glad to write this review in hopes of helping anyone else who will be installing this range hood. I wish I would have known all this before I started :-) Overall, it looks beautiful!! It was a great deal using our coupon code from Overstock, and waiting for it to go on sale! It completes your kitchen. The cobalt blue lights are very bright, and make the fixture really stand out! Good luck to all my future Cavaliere Range Hood brother and sisters!!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? awsome
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
after 3 years of service it is falling apart
 from Newton, MA,  Sep 12, 2012

I have had this hanging over my range for about 3 years now. It looks great. I love the glass and stainless steel. But over the last year all the parts have been falling apart. First it was the latches that hold the vent covers to the hood. The entire mechanisms fell apart. This includes the plastic handle, the springs that keep it in place, the screws that hold it on and the latching mechanism. This happened on both covers and now there is a gaping hole in the range which exposes all the wires and the path to the exhaust vent. Next to go was the control panel on one side. The control panel, the LED display and the 4 buttons used to turn the lights and fan on and off, is no longer anchored to the hood. On one side of the panel the connection to the screw anchor broke so now when I press the buttons on one side, they whole panel moves back into the inside of the hood. I will probably try swapping the control panel from the other side of the hood that I never use but that's a big job. Each has its own set of electrical wires that control every function of the hood. I used to be quite happy with this unit but in its third year it has fallen apart. The fan still works but all the parts that I need to touch are crumbling.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Take your measurements first!
 from WA,  Jul 7, 2008

This is a lovely vent hood, and it seems to work well. Be aware that it does sit lower than perhaps expected - one must be careful not to hit their head while working at the back of the stove! (And this is with it at it's highest possible height.) Our contractors had a bit of a difficult time installing it, as the instructions were not particulary clear. It is very quiet and looks nice. The one drawback I have is that there is no trim kit included, nor is there any indication that you may need one. Plan on purchasing a trim kit or make one yourself for where the vent goes through the ceiling.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great
 from Colorado,  May 11, 2008

It looks great in my kitchen. I was worried it would stand out or look out of place because of course it is an island. No need to worry, it is stream-line in appearance and looks great with my notty pine cabinets and granite counter tops. The only thing you will need to do is get the special pipe needed to vent it outside. It comes with everything else, but we did not realize this and had to wait a couple of days to get the parts and get the contractor back in to finish the job. But I really love the appliance.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it...sleek and functions well.
 from LA,CA,  Nov 8, 2013

As other reviewers noted...you will need 2-3 people for install, but it is worth it!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice once up-mounting was harder than it should be
 from Indianapolis, IN,  Oct 29, 2013

The look of this hood is great. Slick and modern and a great fit for our home. This is for the island installation style hood, which seems to automatically add about $300-400 to the price of a decent quality wall mount hood. It is super quiet on low, which I'm really happy about since our old hood on low was louder that this one is on max airflow. Now that it is up, it looks great, is quiet, has multiple light and fan levels, and should help keep the kitchen cleaner! Delivery: The hood came in 3 well padded boxes - one had a few dents from shipping but no visible damage on unboxing. It arrived surprisingly quickly - only about 4 days after I placed the order. Installation: The installation instructions were so-so at best, so it helped that both of us are fairly handy and experienced at reading the diagrams. Installation went OK, but there are a few points where you will have to have at least two people (and one place where a 3rd would be nice, though we used tape to hold up the piece). We ended up doing the installation twice (see below), and the second time went way smoother. They provide extra nuts and bolts which turned out to be handy since we stripped a couple while putting it up. The vent flaps provided were completely mis-sized for the unit so we ended up tossing them and purchasing a separate part at a major internet retailer. Warranty: We ended up having to call about 3 days after the boxes arrived since the unit stopped working between the initial "plug it in" test and the install. We called tech support the next day (hours are pacific) and were fairly easily able to get them to send us a new board after going through a few troubleshooting steps. I'm hoping that the board was just a lemon that arced at the power in and its not a systemic issue. Customer service was great though and provided me a pretty nice set of diagrams for swapping out the boards via e-mail.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great hood!
 from Oregon,  Jun 22, 2013

Very impressed with the safe packaging. Love having controls on both sides of the hood. The fan is a bit noisier than expected, but functions well. The lights are bright.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality, better than expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

It is quite and efficient. would recommend it. looks very stylist.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hood
 from MA,  Jul 17, 2012

Get's lots and lots of compliments. Very sturdy. Very sleek. Lights are a bit warm, but light up range nicely. Very difficult to install--took three people, including my contractor.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Impressive contemporary range hood
 from Decatur, IL,  Sep 16, 2011

We are building a new home and have chosen modern decor throughout. This beautiful range hood will be the showpiece of my new kitchen.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality stainless steel
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very complicated to install
 from Bellflower CA,  Jul 9, 2011

Wow, my husband has been working on this all day and we still cannot figure out how to install. We just called our contractor, to get an estimate, on installation. The instructions are very unclear. If you are going to purchase this product, be sure you are a very well advance fix it person, with the correct tools. It takes 3 people to install. I will write another review, after I have used the product. I only gave it three stars because of the installation problems.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Houston, TX,  Jun 11, 2011

Bought this item after looking at several online. This one had great reviews. It came quicker than I expected so that was great. Unit looks and works great. Recommend to others to buy.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good deal
 from Oakland, Ca,  May 25, 2011

Great value. Product is high end at an affordable price. Thank goodness I used installers (two handymen) as it was more than a one person job.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Very good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
PERFECT
 from Seattle, WA,  May 13, 2011

Love the hood - it "completes" our newly remodeled kitchen. love the lights and the sleek look of the hood. pain to install - definitely need 3 people or 2 very skilled (and strong) ones!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE , LOVE , LOVE, IT
 from NE,  Apr 14, 2011

All I can say is that you will love this hood!! It's very quiet, very stylish, the lights on it are bright. The quality is fantastic!! it's the first thing people comment on in my new kitchen. It's worth every penny.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Wonderful
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Clears the air.
 from Hunt. Beach, CA,  Mar 27, 2011

Love this Cavaliere-Euro 30-inch Island Mount Range Hood. On/off switches on two opposite sides; includes 6 speed fan is tolerable at highest speed with 4 down lights with dimmer, Includes oil catcher. Excellent construction with great quality SS.. Shipping was fast; with cash off coupon, the price was less than anywhere else. If you need a stylish and functional island range hood, this is the one to get.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hard to install
 from Tampa Bay, FL,  Jan 6, 2011

But totally with it! Excellent power with low noise level. I was intrigued by the ability to dim the lights! Nice that the controls are on both sides too.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
AWESOME!
 from Houston, TX,  Dec 1, 2010

Unbelievably stylish! The range hood came very quickly. It wasn't installed until recently so I worried that it may be missing parts or have broken glass during my garage storing. I was plesantly surprised everthing was in tact and my contractor had no problems installing. I've already used and it works great. Exactly what I wanted. The numerous fan speeds fit every situation.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Good
 from Indianapolis, IN,  Sep 20, 2010

Item came with all parts necessary for assembly. Fan and lights work great. It looks amazing! The glass did steam up on me and I had to wipe it off on the bottom so it did not drip all over my cooktop and counter. Only negative was I had to file the edges of the vent baffles, as it was hard to open them, then they would stay open. I filed down the plastic and now they open and close easily.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 36 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top