Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 47 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 

This dresser is nice. Heavy and really sturdy. The drawer glides are smooth and there's a lot of room in the dresser drawers.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Well made
 from Nashville,  Dec 29, 2014

If you are looking for a well made heavy contemporary chest of drawers, this is your best bet. It comes in several boxes and requires an army to put together (or just one strong dude) but otherwise it is so well made you will love it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

These is not a review, but rather a "how-to" document focussed on assembly. My initial problem was that I could not find the "Assembly Instruction". It was in box 3, in the middle, inside the box for screws. Who could have guessed that? The assembly took 4+ hours... with a drill bit. It also required a lot of floor space. Getting the orientation of the drawer slides was a bit challenging, but was able to do it without too much rework. Steps 5 & 6, where the whole thing comes together, required two people. It was challenging even then. In step 6, screwing screw type 4 into the support leg was challenging. I had to drill in a hole to get the screw in. I had trouble screwing the drawer slides into the drawers. I kept cracking the wood. In hindsight, I should have drilled a hole first. Inexplicably there were not enough screws of type 3. However, the screws of type 2 are not used anywhere else, so I used those in place of 3. Screw of type of 2 is slightly smaller than type 3. The dresser looks pretty good once assembled. We have just started using it and have not had any problems. One of the handles sticks a little bit, but it might have been an installation mistake.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from New Rochelle, NY,  Dec 16, 2014

I took a gamble to buy the entire set (2 drawers, 5-chest, 6 chest) from catalina, based on reviews and so far the best set of furnitures in my new home. Keep up the great work.. Just wondering if you guys have shoe holders as well as end tables and coffee tables

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Catalina Dresser
 from Chicagoland,  Oct 17, 2014

IT takes time, but it goes together nicely. Our 15y/o son did all the assembly. Very pleased with this purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Six large drawer chest
 from michigan,  Aug 31, 2014

Exhaustive search resulted in the perfect dresser for my daughter's room. This black dresser is sleek and modern looking. It is very heavy and well made with large spacious drawers. Assembly by my husband was straightforward and without complication. Price was far less than other sites I visited and delivered quickly by Overstock (as usual).

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome dresser but difficult to assemble
 from Chandler, AZ,  Aug 6, 2014

This dresser is solid and looks very nice once assembled. It is a beast to put together. There are countless bags of hardware and it comes in many pieces. It takes days to assemble and I would not suggest attempting it yourself unless you are an experienced handyman. I'm a single lady and have easily assembled almost everything I've ever ordered on Overstock myself, but this was impossible. Now that it's assembled, I love it. It is big enough and sturdy enough to display a large flat screen TV.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous piece of furniture
 from CT,  Aug 4, 2014

High quality product. Came very neatly packed. Instructions for assembly are very clear, but you need to pay close attention to how to position drawer hardware. Very heavy, since it is real wood, and not MDF. I am a woman, and I assembled it all by myself in about 4.5 hours on a Sunday morning. For two people it should take no more than 2. I absolutely LOVE this dresser, will be ordering a 5 drawer chest from the same collection this week. Thank you!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Difficult to Build!
 from Colorado,  Mar 6, 2014

Nice style, attractive for contemporary and modern looks. This dresser is somewhat difficult to put together. As with most build it yourself furniture the instructions are not very detailed and that can lead to big problems. A lot of these types of furniture are manufactured in Asia and they have a different way of doing things. Watch out when assembling this particularly when doing the center piece "E". Also I discovered at the finishing steps that there were not enough of the No. 3 and No. 7 screws!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful quality
 from Massachusetts,  Mar 4, 2014

This dresser is beautiful, and very heavy once assembled. (I recommend moving without the drawers in it to its final home.) Set up was time consuming (several hours), but everything is labeled correctly. (Pay careful attention to the direction of your drawer glides, or you will be taking them off and adjusting several like I did!) But everything lined up correctly once assembled, and it looks great in our master bedroom!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice piece of furniture
 from Texas,  Mar 1, 2014

I bought this chest along with two end tables and I am very happy with them. This chest is made of heavy wood and the color/design is perfect! Some assembly required is an understatement....you will need to assemble the entire piece. Just make sure you have the proper tools and lots of time. We purchased two end tables along with this chest. Thankfully, we decided to assemble the end tables first so putting the chest together wasn't too bad.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice
 from ohio,  Feb 18, 2014

was nice style and good quality. was not difficult to assemble

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
disappointed
 from Florida,  Jan 29, 2014

I am a veteran in putting together furniture and without this experience putting this piece together would be impossible. I have the end tables and and other cabinet in this style and was pleased with the construction and instructions. I found the drawer hardware did not line up well and again no instructions. I haven't reviewed any other products but my disappointment in this piece drove me to write a review. I would consider returning it, but I will read other reviews and heed them before buying again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Purchased 3 years agao and still very pleased!
 from St. Louis, MO,  Nov 16, 2013

I have had this entire set including two nightstands for three years now and it is great quality! It still is as beautiful and nice as when I put it together. I only have one piece of feedback that could be a deterrent...the handles on all pieces can be kind of sharp. I did not have a child when I bought this so it didn't really bother me, but now I have a little one and I am constantly worried he is going to get hurt on them when he is in my room. I have even hurt myself on them. But that is my only issue and I still love the set.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
3 hours, sore hands and a lot of sweat later...
 from Chula Vista, CA,  Nov 12, 2013

Great piece of furniture! My boyfriend and I split it up and assembled it together. I did all the drawers while he put the frame together. The handles and the tracks on the drawers don't have predrilled holes, but all in all, a great looking drawer. Sturdy, big, heavy, good quality...definitely not he cheap *** kind. Ordering the other accompanying pieces!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
somewhat disappointing
 from Las Vegas NV,  Sep 28, 2013

This dresser was a bear to put together (my husband and I are hands on people whom put together quite a bit of stuff) - it came with a million screws and the drawers weren't pre-drilled therefore making it VERY difficult to put the runners on; on three of the drawers the wood split where the runners were put in -very disappointing. The dresser is exactly how it looks in the picture, the black is more of a brownish/black rather than a stark black. The biggest disappointment though is that the drawers don't open and close easily and smoothly; to me this is almost as important as "the look" of the piece. If I would have read reviews of people stating about the low quality of the opening and closing of the drawers I wouldn't have purchased this item - and that is why I'm not recommending it. It is usable but I wonder for how long. If you do get it, I would recommend having a drill and manual screw driver, setting aside a day to put it together, lay out all the packaged items so you can clearly see the letters/numbers, and always look/read ahead a step or two on the instructions.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Catalina
 from Springfield MA,  Jul 26, 2013

Very nice quality indeed. A little difficult and time consuming to put together but it's nicely made.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cute and clean
 from San jose, CA,  Jul 12, 2013

It took a while to assemble, but totally worth it. love the clean style. Very heavy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I had ordered the catalina nightstand and love it. So I decided to match it with the 6 drawer chest. However, I had the worst luck with shipping. I missed shipping twice, had to wait a weekend to finally get all the boxes. Once I got them, one box was falling apart and as a result, 4 pieces inside were damaged. I only noticed 3 were damaged and asked overstock to replace them. The next day, I noticed the 4th damaged piece and immediately contacted them to add that on the replacement order. I waited 10 days, finally got the replacement order, but the 4th piece was missing. Even though they said my 4th piece was in their notes, it did not get processed. So now I am waiting for the 4th piece which will take another 10 days. As a result, I've had a partially assembled chest taking up valuable space for almost a month now. I am usually a very big fan of overstock shipping and their customer service, but this item has not been worth the trouble. As for the dresser itself, the style is nice, but the side drawer pieces split when you screw in the rails. I'm hoping this doesn't fail me in the long run. I added a screw in the middle because the wood doesn't seem to split there, but ran out of spare screws to do all the drawers. Otherwise, if I ever get this finished, I can tell it will look nice and the large drawers will be able to fit quite a lot.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rubberwood exterior, MDF drawer construction
 from Colorado,  Apr 29, 2013

The dresser is OK, but for the price (plus 10-12 hours assembly time) it is not a terrific value. The top and sides are rubberwood, but the drawer sides etc are MDF. It's the MDF that makes the piece heavy. The drawer glides rattle. You could probably buy a similar dresser at a big box furniture store the same price or less.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Mediocre
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Only Partially
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 47 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought