Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 35 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Wish they had more styles in this line.
 from Texas,  Aug 4, 2011

Have had two of these for a while now. Easy to put together. Look good - like a much more expensive piece than what they cost. Drawers slide smoothly. This piece of furniture seems to be one that I will have around for years.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good; has held up well
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good description
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
No handyman here
 from Houston, TX,  Mar 6, 2010

Beautiful piece of furniture, but at what price! Not a handyman, so this took my daughter and me several hours to put together. For novices, we needed more specific directions. For example, after attaching a drawer rail, had to re-do because I'd placed it backwards. Sounds silly, doesn't it? But for one with little experience putting furniture together, this was an easy error. We had all the required tools, but I was a little wary about attaching the drawer side to the base since there were no pre-drilled holes and improper installation might split the narrow wood sides. I would recommend this to those who are 1) good with their hands/handyman; 2) want an adventure; 3) don't mind putting in a few hours' work for a good piece of furniture. For me, I've learned more about myself in working on this project: purchase furniture that's all ready put together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Insane amount of time to put together!
 from Chicago,  Feb 9, 2014

I would bet, although I did not actually count, there are over 100 parts to put together. It took 4 HOURS of non-stop work to put this together. Add in a flimsy cardboard type backing and handles that make it just about impossible to open and I would not recommend this to anyone, aside from a person that wants to spend hours and hours and hours of time to make it work. This makes an XXXX product seem like a childs game

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very happy with these
 from Western New York,  Sep 26, 2012

I was very impressed with the quality of the item, including the way it was packed for shipping. No damage was incurred in shipping, even though the boxes had the normal dents and dings that come with something of this size and UPS. Good solid hard wood, at a good price. The sides of the drawers are MDF instead of regular wood, but they are study. The drawer bottoms and chest backing are lightweight (real!) wood. I put together 3 of these things and 2 side tables... even with practice you can expect to spend 2.5-3 hours per dresser if you do it by yourself with a cordless screw driver. (You might never finish if you do it with a manual screwdriver as the screws fit tightly!) Instructions were clear, parts were all there (including a few extra in case you strip a head or bend a cam). Very pleased!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
chest of drawers
 Apr 21, 2015

beautiful! great quality and price!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

A pretty solid dresser for the price, though I would say that assembly is quite involved and labor intensive. I would recommend having a power tool to out the screws in. I couldn't get them far in enough by hand so that the drawers would slide in and out smoothly. I had to get a drill and put some elbow grease in before I could get the drawers to operate properly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from New Rochelle, NY,  Dec 16, 2014

I took a gamble to buy the entire set (2 drawers, 5-chest, 6 chest) from catalina, based on reviews and so far the best set of furnitures in my new home. Keep up the great work.. Just wondering if you guys have shoe holders as well as end tables and coffee tables

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy, sleek chest but very difficult to assemble
 from Chandler, AZ,  Aug 6, 2014

This chest is solid and looks very nice once assembled. It is a beast to put together. There are countless bags of hardware and it comes in many pieces. It takes days to assemble and I would not suggest attempting it yourself unless you are an experienced handyman. I'm a single lady and have easily assembled almost everything I've ever ordered on Overstock myself, but this was impossible. Now that it's assembled, I love it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
5 drawer chest
 from McHenry, IL,  Jul 28, 2014

Very pleased with quality for the price. Nice contemporary look just makes the bedroom. Matching nightstand perfect!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
solid and sturdy
 from San Francisco, CA,  May 11, 2013

This is a nice, well-built piece of furniture. It took a few hours, but if you have ever assembled anything like this (from IKEA, for ex) you'll be fine. The only issue I have is that when you are screwing in the rails into the main body, you have to make sure the screws are completely flat and flush with the surface. If it sticks out a little, it'll catch the little wheel from the drawer (Assembly Step #2). It looks great and I'm glad I bought it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Long assembly time
 from Lancaster, PA,  Feb 25, 2013

Expect to take several house of hard work assembling this item. I am handy, but without an electric screwdriver, and working on the floor, it was ten hours for me from start to finish. I find it hard to believe anyone could finish this in less than 2-3 hours even if one had put it together before. It is a nice piece of furniture, solid, kind of heavy, but not exceptionally so, after all, it is an internet item you are assembling. It does not wobble but it is not rock solid either. Plus I have been spoiled by the chest this one is replacing which was solid wood through and through, with higher grade shelving and rails and back panel and such. The guide rails for the drawers are adequate but not high grade, and the back panel suffers from what even some high end furniture suffers from, it is made of thin plywood (at least it is not cardboard). Instructions are adequate and as long as one takes one's time to study them and follow them closely, there should be no problem. The wood is more a flat black than glossy black, imo, which is fine with me. The wood and finsih seem adequate and has a nice tone and feel to it. My only real complaint, and not sure it makes that much of a difference overall, is that the areas of wood that the rail guides attach to at the bottom of each drawer tend to split when being attached. I tried to predrill holes to minimize this, and though it helped, the rails still tened to split a bit. I believe whoever manufactures this product should consider both using real wood in this particular area of the product instead of the MDI used, and also consider predrilling the holes (one has to make the holes, and is the only part of the product that does not have predrilled holes). Bottom line is, for the money, you get a nice mostly solid wood piece of furniture that looks good and seems functional and stylish.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good to excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
true black furniture
 from Missouri,  May 16, 2012

We are still in the process of constructing it. It has taken 1 person 3 hours...so far. I don't think it is worth $XXX.00 Definitly a $250-$300 dollar item.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? spot on.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The back panel of the dresser is 2 pieces held together with duck tape.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? OK
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice piece
 from Freehold, NJ,  Aug 24, 2011

Very happy with this purchase. I put it together myself in a few hours (though I'm sure I would have had an easier time with help), the directions were easy to follow, and the finished product is exactly what I was hoping for. It's a very nice addition to the room. There were no defects in it, which you almost expect ordering furniture that requires assembly. All in all, very happy with it, and it was very reasonably priced.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color appeared the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality...seemingly sturdy construction to this point.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous
 from Raleigh, NC,  Aug 18, 2011

I love this line. I also bought the matching dresser and nightstand. It took forever for my handyman to put it together because there were no instructions in any of the boxes. Once put together it was worth the wait. I absolutely love this set. It has such a clean look to it. Very pleased with Overstock and these items as well as how fast they arrived.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Comparable
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well Engineered
 from Southwest, Ohio,  Jul 21, 2011

It took 4 hrs and one trip to **** for more metal drawer glide screws before I got it completely assembled. I did it by myself. A helping hand putting the last side on the cabinet spreader rails would have helped but I was able to do it alone. It is a little wobbly on hardwood floors but carpet is on the way and it should sit well on it. I am not fond of KD fittings but if they ever start getting loose, I can take it apart and put glue on all the dowels and reassemble it. Hind sight being 20/20, I should have glued the dowels in.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Black, what can I say!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It was very good guality and was well engineered down to pilot holes for drawer glides.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this dresser
 from Washington, DC,  Jun 9, 2011

This is a nice heavy piece of furniture. It is exactly how it is described. It's very high quality. It's easy to assemble, but will take a few hours.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Great quality
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A great piece of furniture
 from Cambridge, MA,  Feb 7, 2009

I bought this dresser to replace my Prepac piece which was the worst piece of furniture ever. This one however is excellent. The look of it is great, it's extremely sturdy, and very easy to put together. It was a bit deeper than I expect but I have the space for it so that actually worked out fine. My only complaint is that the dresser drawers are pressed wood. The installation instructions direct you to screw the tracks into these pieces through the bottom - basically inbetween the pressed layers. This caused the boards to begin to split. The installation completed without issue and if the tracks end up coming off because of this issue, I may just screw them into the side instead which will not damage the drawer. Just a word of caution. But otherwise this dresser is great and very much worth the money.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy and went together well
 from Colorado,  Mar 6, 2014

This piece went together easy and looks good finished. I had no problems as the fit of parts was accurate. There were enough screws and other parts with a few extras so I recommend this dresser. Pay close attention to the orientation of the drawer slides when you install them because the instructions and drawings are nor the best"

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This Dresser is a peice of Crap!
 from New Orleans, LA,  Mar 1, 2014

Save your money. The drawer guides are of poor quality and are very hard to line up. Drawers drop down and do not look centered in the dresser. It took me over 3 hour to assemble with good hand tools, do not use power tools because of the potential to damage the wood. Assembly instructions are terrible. I have put several pieces of furniture together in the past, this one took entirely too much time. Overstock is refunding my purchase price and paying for return shipping. However it is costing me ** for ** pickup service (it is a large package weighing over 130 lbs.). It has also cost me over ** in packaging materials required to return it to Overstock.com. Bottom line, I am out ** and 5 to 6 hours of time I will never get back! Do yourself a favor, AVOID THIS ITEM!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
so far so good
 from Portland, OR,  Feb 18, 2014

although we have only had it for a couple of days, we are impressed with this dresser. it has a nice modern look to it, the drawers glide smoothly on their tracks, it has lots of room for clothes, and feels pretty solid for the inexpensive price. We initially purchased a smaller 5 drawer dresser that cost less than half as much, and not only did it arrive cracked, it was poorly constructed, flimsy, and pretty much garbage. I would recommend spending the extra **** to get a higher quality piece of furniture, which the Catalina is.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 35 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought