For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 32 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Sturdy, sleek chest but very difficult to assemble
 from Chandler, AZ,  Aug 6, 2014

This chest is solid and looks very nice once assembled. It is a beast to put together. There are countless bags of hardware and it comes in many pieces. It takes days to assemble and I would not suggest attempting it yourself unless you are an experienced handyman. I'm a single lady and have easily assembled almost everything I've ever ordered on Overstock myself, but this was impossible. Now that it's assembled, I love it.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
5 drawer chest
 from McHenry, IL,  Jul 28, 2014

Very pleased with quality for the price. Nice contemporary look just makes the bedroom. Matching nightstand perfect!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy and went together well
 from Colorado,  Mar 6, 2014

This piece went together easy and looks good finished. I had no problems as the fit of parts was accurate. There were enough screws and other parts with a few extras so I recommend this dresser. Pay close attention to the orientation of the drawer slides when you install them because the instructions and drawings are nor the best"

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This Dresser is a peice of Crap!
 from New Orleans, LA,  Mar 1, 2014

Save your money. The drawer guides are of poor quality and are very hard to line up. Drawers drop down and do not look centered in the dresser. It took me over 3 hour to assemble with good hand tools, do not use power tools because of the potential to damage the wood. Assembly instructions are terrible. I have put several pieces of furniture together in the past, this one took entirely too much time. Overstock is refunding my purchase price and paying for return shipping. However it is costing me ** for ** pickup service (it is a large package weighing over 130 lbs.). It has also cost me over ** in packaging materials required to return it to Overstock.com. Bottom line, I am out ** and 5 to 6 hours of time I will never get back! Do yourself a favor, AVOID THIS ITEM!

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
so far so good
 from Portland, OR,  Feb 18, 2014

although we have only had it for a couple of days, we are impressed with this dresser. it has a nice modern look to it, the drawers glide smoothly on their tracks, it has lots of room for clothes, and feels pretty solid for the inexpensive price. We initially purchased a smaller 5 drawer dresser that cost less than half as much, and not only did it arrive cracked, it was poorly constructed, flimsy, and pretty much garbage. I would recommend spending the extra **** to get a higher quality piece of furniture, which the Catalina is.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Insane amount of time to put together!
 from Chicago,  Feb 9, 2014

I would bet, although I did not actually count, there are over 100 parts to put together. It took 4 HOURS of non-stop work to put this together. Add in a flimsy cardboard type backing and handles that make it just about impossible to open and I would not recommend this to anyone, aside from a person that wants to spend hours and hours and hours of time to make it work. This makes an XXXX product seem like a childs game

Average
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Sleek!!
 from Pennsylvania,  Jun 6, 2013

We bought the dresser, night stand and 5 drawer chest for out teenage son. Great quality, easy to put together although a little time consuming. This furniture is of great quality and looks perfect in his room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
solid and sturdy
 from San Francisco, CA,  May 11, 2013

This is a nice, well-built piece of furniture. It took a few hours, but if you have ever assembled anything like this (from IKEA, for ex) you'll be fine. The only issue I have is that when you are screwing in the rails into the main body, you have to make sure the screws are completely flat and flush with the surface. If it sticks out a little, it'll catch the little wheel from the drawer (Assembly Step #2). It looks great and I'm glad I bought it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great chest
 from Washington D.C.,  Apr 4, 2013

Love this piece of furniture. I also have the matching dresser. The color is black and it's very modern and simple but you can do a lot with it. It took a couple hours to put it together but I have no regrets!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Long assembly time
 from Lancaster, PA,  Feb 25, 2013

Expect to take several house of hard work assembling this item. I am handy, but without an electric screwdriver, and working on the floor, it was ten hours for me from start to finish. I find it hard to believe anyone could finish this in less than 2-3 hours even if one had put it together before. It is a nice piece of furniture, solid, kind of heavy, but not exceptionally so, after all, it is an internet item you are assembling. It does not wobble but it is not rock solid either. Plus I have been spoiled by the chest this one is replacing which was solid wood through and through, with higher grade shelving and rails and back panel and such. The guide rails for the drawers are adequate but not high grade, and the back panel suffers from what even some high end furniture suffers from, it is made of thin plywood (at least it is not cardboard). Instructions are adequate and as long as one takes one's time to study them and follow them closely, there should be no problem. The wood is more a flat black than glossy black, imo, which is fine with me. The wood and finsih seem adequate and has a nice tone and feel to it. My only real complaint, and not sure it makes that much of a difference overall, is that the areas of wood that the rail guides attach to at the bottom of each drawer tend to split when being attached. I tried to predrill holes to minimize this, and though it helped, the rails still tened to split a bit. I believe whoever manufactures this product should consider both using real wood in this particular area of the product instead of the MDI used, and also consider predrilling the holes (one has to make the holes, and is the only part of the product that does not have predrilled holes). Bottom line is, for the money, you get a nice mostly solid wood piece of furniture that looks good and seems functional and stylish.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good to excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SHipping needs help
 from Washington DC,  Jan 30, 2013

I had one of these already and really liked it, so I ordered a second one. This one arrived damaged, the box was torn apart and pieces were broken. I contacted overstock and they said they would send replacements right out. Well they sent the wrong parts that did not even go to my dresser. So I called again and they appologized and resent some parts but they never arrived so they resent them again well after a month I finally got the correct parts and was able to finish the assembly. Love the dresser but it was not an easy transaction.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exclellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product looks very nice
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Buy it, you won't regret it!
 from Somers, CT,  Nov 28, 2012

I purchased the 6 drawer dresser, 5 drawer dresser and 2 night stands from the Catalina collection. At first I was overwhelmed as it came in 7 boxes. All parts were included, well marked and well packaged. It took what I would think to be an average amount of time to put the items together. It's not difficult at all and the directions are very clear. I'm 46 years old and never had a matching bedroom set. This is my first and I absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it! My floor is a dark charcoal laminate and walls are gray. At first I thought the black furniture would be too dark, but it looks really nice. The furniture is very well made for a put it together yourself product and very reasonably priced. It's not heirloom furniture by any means but it looks as though it will last a long time. I am not disappointed in the slightest with this purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color described and shown on the web-site was perfect.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the Catalina collection is very good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description on the web-site was accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
quality modern chest
 from Orange, CA,  Sep 29, 2012

This is a stong chest that will last for decades. The wood and hardware are top of the line and the instuctions were easy to follow. The drawers open smoothly. It took over an hour to put together. We liked it so much that we ordered the matching night stands. It looks sharp in our modern bedroom!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. top of the line wood and hardware
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very happy with these
 from Western New York,  Sep 26, 2012

I was very impressed with the quality of the item, including the way it was packed for shipping. No damage was incurred in shipping, even though the boxes had the normal dents and dings that come with something of this size and UPS. Good solid hard wood, at a good price. The sides of the drawers are MDF instead of regular wood, but they are study. The drawer bottoms and chest backing are lightweight (real!) wood. I put together 3 of these things and 2 side tables... even with practice you can expect to spend 2.5-3 hours per dresser if you do it by yourself with a cordless screw driver. (You might never finish if you do it with a manual screwdriver as the screws fit tightly!) Instructions were clear, parts were all there (including a few extra in case you strip a head or bend a cam). Very pleased!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
true black furniture
 from Missouri,  May 16, 2012

We are still in the process of constructing it. It has taken 1 person 3 hours...so far. I don't think it is worth $XXX.00 Definitly a $250-$300 dollar item.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? spot on.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The back panel of the dresser is 2 pieces held together with duck tape.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? OK
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice piece
 from Freehold, NJ,  Aug 24, 2011

Very happy with this purchase. I put it together myself in a few hours (though I'm sure I would have had an easier time with help), the directions were easy to follow, and the finished product is exactly what I was hoping for. It's a very nice addition to the room. There were no defects in it, which you almost expect ordering furniture that requires assembly. All in all, very happy with it, and it was very reasonably priced.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color appeared the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality...seemingly sturdy construction to this point.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous
 from Raleigh, NC,  Aug 18, 2011

I love this line. I also bought the matching dresser and nightstand. It took forever for my handyman to put it together because there were no instructions in any of the boxes. Once put together it was worth the wait. I absolutely love this set. It has such a clean look to it. Very pleased with Overstock and these items as well as how fast they arrived.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Comparable
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wish they had more styles in this line.
 from Texas,  Aug 4, 2011

Have had two of these for a while now. Easy to put together. Look good - like a much more expensive piece than what they cost. Drawers slide smoothly. This piece of furniture seems to be one that I will have around for years.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good; has held up well
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well Engineered
 from Southwest, Ohio,  Jul 21, 2011

It took 4 hrs and one trip to **** for more metal drawer glide screws before I got it completely assembled. I did it by myself. A helping hand putting the last side on the cabinet spreader rails would have helped but I was able to do it alone. It is a little wobbly on hardwood floors but carpet is on the way and it should sit well on it. I am not fond of KD fittings but if they ever start getting loose, I can take it apart and put glue on all the dowels and reassemble it. Hind sight being 20/20, I should have glued the dowels in.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Black, what can I say!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It was very good guality and was well engineered down to pilot holes for drawer glides.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this dresser
 from Washington, DC,  Jun 9, 2011

This is a nice heavy piece of furniture. It is exactly how it is described. It's very high quality. It's easy to assemble, but will take a few hours.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Great quality
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 32 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Sonax Willow 5-drawer Tall Dresser
Today $299.00
Compare $303.99
Save 2%
(12)
Wavelength 6-drawer Chest
Today $414.99
Compare $502.33
Save 17%
(72)
Broadway Black 5-drawer Chest
Today $215.99
Compare $220.00
Save 2%
(92)
Back to top