For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 25 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Sturdy and much better than expected!
 from Arizona,  May 31, 2013

Overall: I'm a discerning yet practical shopper and am quite pleased with this desk. I have purchased "assembly required" furniture in the past and have always been disappointed by some component of the construction - not so with this product! It's a solid-feeling piece, I have no doubts that this desk will last me for years. The wooden back panel would allow for this desk to be placed facing out into a room as opposed to against a wall. The drawers slide in and out smoothly, be aware that you may have to lie beneath the desk and manually assist with setting the guides the first time the drawers are put in (get someone to help set the drawer in the track). I was initially concerned there was a defect, however, it was simply that the track needed to be adjusted to properly accept the drawer rails. Assembly: I found this desk to be easy to assemble. Unpack and organized pieces as you go to minimize confusion/errors. Lay out and count the hardware, pre-assemble screw/washer sets, and move methodically through the instruction diagrams and you should have a fantastic looking piece within 90 minutes or less. Assembly took me approximately 1 hour, with about 10 mins of drawer rail troubleshooting afterwards. Side note: My one word of caution would be to carefully inspect and re-inspect all pieces prior to assembly - I did so and still missed a ding on the front edge of the desk, I was able to touch it up with a permanent marker and will not be going through the trouble of obtaining a replacement item.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Black finish is consistent on all exterior surfaces, the internal drawer components are white, don't be concerned when you unpack - the white does not show.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid and well made, assembly was not difficult. Much higher quality than expected.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Product description was completely accurate, as mentioned, the product I received was better than what I expected.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks good.
 from Beaufort,SC,  Jul 31, 2014

It looks good. The wood is very thin. I hated all the styrofome packing. What a mess!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Very upset that I made this purchase…. desk looks nice but hasn't held up and drawers have never opened and closed correctly!

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Table for Basement Family Room Work Space
 from Storm Lake, IA,  Jun 11, 2014

Received table 4 days after ordering it! I unpacked it in the garage, as the foam packing strips were in pieces with hundreds of tiny foam dots. There were small nicks on most pieces, as mentioned in other reviews, so I have just filled them in with black marker. I believe these were caused by poor packing, and the pieces hit each other during shipping. The large top of the desk had major nicks across the front. Since this piece was packed well, I can only assume the nicks were on the top before packaging. Again, I chose to just cover these. Assembly was fairly routine, even without written instructions, and took about a couple hours. As I sorted the assembly pieces, I thought I was missing 4 screws, only to discover they were packaged with the drawer pulls. I also thought I was missing a drawer side, so called Customer Care and was pleasantly surprised by the courteous, prompt, and thorough attention. I did find the "missing" piece the next day (under my car) and notified Customer Care immediately. Again, they were very courteous and prompt in their replies. The desk is solid and the drawers work fine. I think this is a good purchase for the price.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy assembly, good quality
 from Winter Garden, Florida,  Jun 7, 2014

Sturdy, well made desk easy to assemble. Fits nicely in our home office. Enough room to keep a lap top and a couple files on either side. We needed another desk for our printer. Overall great quality for the price.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Generally good
 from Estero, Florida,  Apr 29, 2014

I have found the desk to pretty much meet my needs. However I would have preferred 2 small side drawers and a big one, or 4 small side drawers.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good smaller desk for the money....
 from New Port Richey, Florida,  Mar 24, 2014

This is a really nice desk, but arrived with paint missing, although it is difficult to see, a couple minor nicks on the side panel as well. It was a project to put together but was done in a couple hours. The size is perfect for a smaller room. All said and done this is a good value and I would not have a problem recommending it to a friend.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
would NOT recommend
 from massachusetts,  Jan 25, 2014

I purchased this desk for office area. The box came damaged. They styrofoam it was packed in was a disaster. Small pieces EVERYWHERE. No written instructions for assembly. Small chip on front drawer. Took 2 hours to assemble. Quality is fair. I would have rather spent more $$$ and received a much better quality piece. I would not recommend purchasing this desk.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice desk, but....
 from Ft. Myers, Florida,  Dec 31, 2013

Liked the desk, however be sure to reserve several hours to put it together. Also, look it over prior to putting it together, mine came with some scratches,etc. It was all put together when I noticed, so I kept it.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't waste your time or money!
 from Watertown, NY,  Dec 14, 2013

I purchased this desk and received the FIRST desk riddled with scratches. As a matter of fact, someone tried to cover the scratches with a marker. Yet, Overstock tried to convince me that it was damaged in shipping. So I returned the first, only to receive the SECOND - just as damaged! I contacted Overstock AGAIN and they offered a $** credit. A $** credit?! Really? The issue continues to be unresolved as of today. 'I'm waiting for a specialist to contact me' If you get the opportunity to purchase this piece of garbage... just pass. Move onto something worth the time and money invested. Thanks Overstock!

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is a great buy
 from Ashland, OR,  Oct 5, 2013

Nnot only does this look really good but it was well designed for assembly by a normal person we did not an engineer. This was a great value and looks great in our home.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 from Boston,  Oct 5, 2013

Super easy to assemble (my bf and I did it together in 15 minutes... Easy with 2 people) and looks great! The front drawer did come with a chip in it, but Customer Service was very nice and shipped a new drawer front and I had it, chip-free, within 3 days! I bought silver hardware to make it even more stylish!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
directions are terrible
 from Florida,  Sep 27, 2013

Directions on this product are terrible. I now have incredible appreciation or IKEA furniture. The side drawers are not interchangeable so if you put them in the wrong side you have to figure out how to get them out, since they are now locked but they won't close. There is no indication on the instructions that this is the case. The finish has been placed over a white undercoat. The white finish shows through in some cases especially on edges and in some cases and tiny scratches in other areas. In my case it was the top. There was also one imperfection on the corner of a drawer caused by rubbing on the packing. This cracked the finish and caused the white to show through. There was also a package of chrome screws that were not for use on this product. This created additional confusion. Good luck if you get one!

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
perfect size
 from West Palm Beach, FL,  Aug 6, 2013

I was looking for a desk for a spare bedroom. This product is perfect. It is very sturdy, easy to put together and a very good value. I would absolutely recommend this desk to any of my friends.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice desk, hysterical install of drawers!
 from Webster, NY,  Jul 22, 2013

This desk was the perfect size for a small home office. The construction is solid and the drawers are great for small office items. I decided to put the desk together while my husband was out. No problem, I had my electric screwdriver and rubber mallet, I was ready to go. I laid out all the parts in order; assembled the screws and washers prior to installing. I made sure all the drawer tracks were correctly facing the front of the desk and started my adventure of getting this desk together. All went great! I had to use the mallet to carefully get the thin slide in backboards into the drawers evenly, little by little. This did take time. To get the drawers on the tracks to fully go into their spacing could've been a hysterical youtube video on the other hand. Picture this: I had to get flat on my back, facing the backside of the desk from underneath the desk after setting the center drawer about an inch on the track. While both my hands kept the tracks forward, with my foot I pushed the drawer towards me keeping those darn tracks frontwards until the drawer was fully drawn in. All I could do was laugh and pat myself on the back after a job well done. It's beautiful. Suggestion: have a partner help with the drawers (or better yet have someone get this on youtube!) LOL!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from St. Charles, IL,  Jun 12, 2013

Looks like a gorgeous piece of expensive furniture. We are extremely pleased with the purchase; exactly what we were looking for to fit into the alcove in our son's room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same - black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
the quality is good, and easy to assembly
 from santa clara,  May 30, 2013

I am very happy for this first purchase at overstock, the quality is good and delivery is fast!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exactly
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mysteriously opening drawers
 from Boynton Beach, FL,  Mar 12, 2013

This desk was not all that easy to assemble. The rear panel of the center drawer was warped, and could only be attached by eliminating the center support. Two of the drawers consistently open themselves about 3 inches, the third drawer is fine.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? it matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. overall, the actual parts are of decent quality, but there is a problem with the drawers.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk but damaged from shipping
 from Chandler, AZ,  Jan 30, 2013

This desk was the cheapest I could find in that style. I wasn't expecting anything grand because I was saving money, but to my surprise I was very impressed. The one bad thing had to happen during shipping. I noticed a puncture mark in the box and sure enough it actually gouged through the foam and actually bent and cracked the back panel but it did not break it in half. It also left a hole the size of a pea. It would have been 5 stars if it were not for tje damage. I chose to continue with assembly because it was on the back, I have lots of homework and didn't want to wait for another one. With that said, the desk arrived very quickly and was fairly easy for one person to put together. You have to be careful at the end to not put the two drawers on the wrong side! I loved that the color was a very rich black (not that old antique black). It is very sturdy and solid. I would recommend to others.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect luxurious black. Not antique black at all.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality. Thoroughly impressed.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Writing Desk
 from Gambrills, MD,  Jan 26, 2013

I love this desk, and it is a beautiful piece of furniture. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This piece is of excellent quality and style.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It was very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 25 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Highland Black 2-drawer Desk
Sale $179.99
Was $199.99
(167)
Olsen Black Writing Desk
Today $300.99
Back to top