Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 22 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Nice Media Unit!
 from North Miami Beach, FL,  Dec 3, 2011

Unlike other reviewers, I received all the hardware and all the shelving as illustrated, nothing was missing. I even had one long shelf and a few screws left over after full assembly. No scratches or dents. Instructions were easy to read, although attaching the doors was a bit of a challenge. Took me about 2 hours to put together. All my CD's, DVD's and BluRay's fit with plenty of room to spare to grow my collection. The black finish matched perfectly with that of my entertainment center. I am very satisfied with the unit and it fit perfectly for the spot I intended it to go.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was perfect.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks nice, but assembly instructions are poor...
 May 29, 2016

Once together, the cabinet looks really nice. However, I am going to suggest alterations to the directions so everyone has an easier time putting it together. A) Vacuum all parts, and wipe down before beginning assembly. B) When assembling the frame and doors, and deciding where to put the permanent shelves, measure using the actual items you are going to place inside. For example, if putting DVDs in, starting at the bottom, place DVDs along a side and make sure you won't be making one (or two) too short. I almost did this.... Also, to save yourself a lot of grief later, put the pins in at this point for the shelves, too. It's much easier while they're laying flat than trying to get them into the holes at a 90° angle. C) When you put the frame of the case together, before adding top and bottom, tack the back on. (It is almost impossible to do so when the instructions advise - I wound up just stapling it on temporarily, and nailing it in when I could turn it onto the front.) Related: Try to draw a line center to the top, bottom, and sides onto the back, and nail into the center. If you're off by too much, you wind up damaging the exterior or interior when the nail punches through, or is too close to the surface and warps it. D) When assembling the doors. put the lock on the right, before adding to door frame, and the push to the left after adding to the door frame, before putting door on the unit. (Also of note, the screws for the left push lock weren't long enough - they wouldn't hold the piece in, so I had to use other screws that I happened to have. However, WITHOUT this in place, the door is likely to swing open of its own accord.) Related: Use a drill to make pilot holes - you'll save yourself a lot of grief. E) Before standing upright after attaching the doors, close them and ensure they close properly. Then try tightening the hinge screws again as they may not have been 100% tight and the closing shifted them. (Not much, but just enough...) Loose screws will make the hinge wobble and wear out the material much faster. And lastly E) When standing in permanent position, remember that the doors open further back than the back due to the width of the door fronts. Keep this in mind when placing it, as your door won't open all the way - and the handles don't help much in this matter either. (You wind up with it standing about 2" from the wall if you want the doors to be able to open fully. Either that, or the handles hit the wall and will either end up damaging the handles or the wall.) Hopefully this makes it easier for the next person to assemble it easier, with less mess, less fuss, and position it better. Now all that being said: It's a nice case, but it doesn't allow for cases that are wider than normal - for example, DVD sets in a case - due to the way the doors close. You also need to leave room at the top to be able to access the left-door locking mechanism at the top. (This means either leaving a gap, or putting CDs in instead of DVDs.) Other than those minor things - and some would say I'm being too picky - it looks really nice, and everything went into it that I was hoping for. If my collection continues to grow, I may need to obtain a second one! Happy building!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cabinet
 Dec 27, 2015

If you need a place to store your movies, this cabinet is the what you want, it has lots of room. It is easy to assemble and the instructions are easy to follow, take it from me, I am 70 year old grandma.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CD/DVD storage
 May 18, 2016

Love it! Required more time assembling, but worth it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Media Storage
 Mar 15, 2016

Takes a long time to assemble. Lots of pieces to put together. Study though.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Retail Manager
 Mar 9, 2016

Qas easy to put together but you'll need a 2nd person to help you out. Quality is good and it's stable once you start putting in your movies. Highly recommended.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE THIS-however
 Feb 25, 2016

This is a great piece of furniture-my nephew put it together for me and did it by himself-he said it was easy and he actually enjoyed it-be careful of the lock-it can be put on wrong-the however is it needs to be larger so I ordered a barrister shelf for the overflow-very easy to categorize and find stuff

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Movies movies
 Dec 29, 2015

I love it, it's not bulky but holds a lot of dvds and bluerays.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 Dec 3, 2015

Easily put together. Looks very nice.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Almost 5 stars, it came very close :(
 Apr 26, 2015

This cabinet was very easy for me a 63 f to put together all by myself. I first read the directions and followed them exactly. If i don't count the time I stopped to do other things I believe it took me about 2 1/2 hours to complete using only the screw drivers and hammer. Here is the problem and why I cannot give this 5 stars. It was because there were no starter holes for the lock or the slide bolt. I have not done either because this is where I either need someone with more strength or a power tool to start it. Did not want to use a small nail because in my experience it tends to move. But all things considered I really like the cabinet, it will serve my purpose well.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Broadway,black, large
 from Michigan,  Jun 15, 2014

If you order this cabinet I recommend you open and clean all parts before taking into your house. Our cabinet came in two boxes ...both were loaded with sawdust. It took longer t clean up the sawdust than it took to assemble.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Broadway Black Large Deluxe DC/DVD Storage Unit
 from Montgomery, Al,  Jan 24, 2013

This is good for storage but not very sturdy. The locks to help hold the door in place do not latch which is inconvenient if you want to tidy up and close the doors. They are on thick carpet and tend to lean a little forward?

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not very sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fair
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheap material - but looks great!
 from Edinburg,TX,  Sep 13, 2012

Instructions list all parts and indicate which of the 2 boxes that arrived have each part, the quantity, and picture of parts...but parts are not labeled. I had to sort all pieces and label them so as not use wrong piece/or set backwards because this is composite board and is not as good as solid wood. It took me almost 5 hours to put it together. It looks great! It has a stylish/modern look to it. I was aware I was purchasing composite board, hence the price of cabinet. My only complaint would be that there are two locks with no pre-drilled holes. One in the inside to lock left door, the other is the key lock on the right door. I finally got the key lock on the right door on, but the indention inside the top cabinet is not deep enough and the door does not lock. I have not put on the inside latch-type lock on the left door yet as there is no pre-drilled holes.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? black = black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Composite board and mdf (not real wood, but painted nicely)
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate - as described.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Like the customization of the shelves
 from Durham NC,  Sep 7, 2012

Perfect for holding all of our video game collection including NES, SNES, 64, PS2, PS3, Wii, DS and PSP. Just what we needed, and I love the way you can change the depth of most of the shelves. Recommendations: 1. Don't buy this if you want to actually lock your storage center, it doesn't do a great job and none of the holes are predrilled for any of the locking hardware making it a hassle. Thankfully this wasn't a necessity for us. 2. Use the kit included to attach the storage center to the wall, I highly recommend this as it is very top heavy and moves a lot when it is filled especially on our bulky carpet. 3. Make sure you nail the back on the correct way or it will take you another hour to assemble : )

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? it's black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality, a little unstable on carpet
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate except it doesn't lock well, won't keep anyone out
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good choice for a large movie collection!
 from Kennewick, WA,  Mar 23, 2012

The unit was well packed, no missing pieces, no damage. It was only a little complicated to put together, took about 2 1/2 hours. My recommended deviation from the instructions: hammer the tack glides into the unfinished side of the bottom (step 5) BEFORE you attach the bottom to the sides and security divider (step 4). You will have a much easier time hammering those glides in with the bottom laying on the floor. This was one of the best put-it-together-yourself products I've purchased. Very sturdy - and the doors close evenly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color looked as good as it did on the website
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality. A nice looking piece of furniture!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Move along - not worth it
 from Alexandria, VA,  Oct 1, 2011

Did you purchase this item? I'm sorry. Notice how the directions are wrong at step nine? Notice how, if you didn't read them twice you would end up rebuilding it again? Because of the directions and not reading ahead, I spent two weeks waiting for the company to send me extra parts which I thought weren't included. There is some hope, if you've purchased this and have to assemble, follow these easy steps: Use only four green dowels on step nine, the wording makes it seem as if you need more, but you don't; Paint the top part first, otherwise you'll be unhappy painting it later (if your top part is already painted, lucky you); Make sure the hole, designed for the lock, is in the correct position (see step 15) before beginning step 13; Prior to finishing step 15, measure where the screw holes should be and drill - if you have starter holes, ignore this. I personally found step 13 easier to do by setting two paint cans below the inside door shelving units prior to screwing them in. It may be easier to just send this back.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Bad quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking storage takes at least 2 hrs assembly
 from Oneonta New York,  Sep 25, 2011

The first unit I received had so many parts missing. I called the manufacturer as there was a paper in the box that said "Call if parts are missing" they sent me the hardware package that was COMPLETELY missing BUT there were screws missing from that pack age too!!, I had my carpenter to put it together and found out that there were NO Shelves and the sides were missing. I called the manufacturer and was told to call Overstock. I did and said because I was missing so many parts they would send a new one, IF I shipped the other one back. I HAD thrown the box away, BUT I did manage to wrap up and make a "FrankenBox" and used up mostof the tape I had and wrapped the whole thing up in paper..Was quite a workout and a lesson in innovation as it weihs SEVENTY SEVEN POUNDS!!! UPS had the order to pu and took Overstock 2 calls to get them to take it. (It weighs 77 pounds) This was originally ordered on July 3. My carpenter came today and put it together. It took him about 2and a half hours to put it together. TODAY is September 25! Overstock was VERY helpful. I asked them why they had papers in the box to call the manufacturer when they are responsible for the product. They s aid "Sorry for the confusion" I will say The cabinet looks good. My son likes it and it looks like it will be good storage for his cds games and dvds. You definitely need skill to put this together, MAKE SURE when you get it that you have all the parts there should be TWO shipped boxes.If you dont get the both boxes and have all the parts on the parts list CALL OVERSTOCK immediately NOT the number on the paper in the box for the manufacturer. Or you could be at it 3 months (like me) to get everything to put it together, Remember LOTS of pieces. Must be able to follow the directions and organize the parts, The unit looks pretty classy all finished. Looks nice in my sons room and matches his bed that I got in Overstock as well. Happy with it. Glad its done and I hope it performs as good asit looks, Very sleek and modern.Great buy none of the stores have anything this nice or with so much storage space. I DO recommend it with the previous mentioned cautions . I will continue to shop with Overstock for quality and convenience.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. niceforpressed wood. A lot of dust
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Black Media Storage Cabinent
 from Tallmadge, Ohio,  Aug 21, 2011

The description of this storage unit is very accurate. You will nee a good 2 hours to put together.When you are finished you will have a nice looking storage unit.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Love this cabinent.Great quality for the money
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Item as described
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks good, easy to build
 from Washington, DC,  Aug 10, 2011

We got exactly what we expected with this media storage cabinet. It is decent quality, about what you'd expect for the price. There were many steps involved in putting it together, and it's definitely a job for two people, but the instructions were pretty clear and no pieces were missing. The touch-up marker was helpful, because there were a few (very minor) scratches. We ended up using extra nails for the backboard, and our two minor gripes are that (1) it was unclear which screws to use for the bolt on the left door (the longer ones remaining when you get to that step - in our case, the screws were black), and (2) there are no pre-drilled holes for either the bolt or for the lock on the right door. Also, the other reviews are correct: the bolt on the left door means you need to remove a couple of DVDs from the top shelf, but we put a bookend there to keep the others from falling, and it's fine. Overall, we're very pleased with how the cabinet turned out.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Decent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
media storage
 from santa fe nm,  Jun 17, 2011

I like it but it took a long time to put together. It only locks one door not both. That's what I don't like.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes and no
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 22 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought