Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 25 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Get a small mattress
 from DC Area,  Sep 1, 2009

The frame assembles reasonably well and seems very sturdy, The bolts were coated with some type of black oily film, so be sure to use something protective when sorting the parts, not the carpet. Appearance is OK, although the wood end pieces have cut-outs and holes that seemed to have been designed for a different model. I purchased a 9" mattress but the single mattress catch on the bottom frame is less than 2* high and the mattress slides right over it, making it virtual useless as a sofa. It might work better with a thinner mattress but I would consider going up a few grades to get something more versatile.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
For once, a comfortable futon!
 from Leavenworth, Ks,  Nov 16, 2011

We ordered the walnut finish futon in order to create some room in our spare bedroom. I wanted to get a queen but since those are so much more expensive than full, I opted for smaller. My draw to this futon was the armless in order to accommodate taller people's feet hanging off. My husband put it together fairly quickly and I heard no complaints from him (Opposite from others complaining about holes not lining up, etc). The wire support actually helps in comfort by adding some bounce (since most are wooden slats-ouch).

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? I received cherry and not walnut like ordered but too much trouble to replace
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Make SURE you have a power tool!
 from Wilmington, NC,  Apr 26, 2011

The frame is nice. The instructions included to build said frame are horrible. I've put together many furniture pieces over the years and the instructions included were basically worthless. The set came in two boxes. The wooden ends pictured in the main instructions don't look anything like the ones I got. The box containing the arms contained a package of bolts and other things that were mentioned no where in the instructions. You WILL NEED a hammer and a power drill/screwdriver - if you try to put this together with the enclosed rinky dinky toy tools included you will not succeed, unless you love pain! :-) You will need a second set of hands also, you will not be able to do this alone unless you are an octopus. All said, is worth the monies paid and shipping was free, can't beat OverStock deals.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't bother
 from Boston, MA,  Jun 10, 2013

I purchased this frame less than a year ago and already need a new one. It completely fell apart - folding section broke, followed by a total collapse of the left side. Before this catastrophe occured, we had a reoccuring issue with the center leg frequently folding under the weight of the mattress, which was annoying but not a huge deal. You'd think it was over-used and/or had heavy people constantly sitting on it (neither one are the case). For the *** that I paid it should have lasted longer than 6 months. I'm so disappointed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good overview review
 from Keyport, NewJersey,  Mar 25, 2014

I was quit impress with the product and overall with overstock .com

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Low Profile Comfort Defeats Ultimate Purpose
 from Houston, TX,  Nov 7, 2013

The easy assembly translates into less stability than other futon/bed frames we've had - perhaps the lack of arms? In any case, while fully extended into a bed it's a stable and comfortable place to lay, it's just virtually impossible to erect it into the seated/sofa position and the bar running between the arms/legs isn't sound enough to support weight in maneuvering it. A little disappointed in the overall product for that reason - I mean, if you can't convert it easily from bed to sofa, it's entire purpose is defeated!

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ZZzzzxz
 from Central Illinois,  Sep 26, 2013

Poor assembly instructions. A little difficult to put together. A good value for the money

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
poorly designed
 from baltimore, md,  Dec 27, 2012

hinges broke after 1st use; the frame is poorly designed, side panels keep falling apart; hinges are too tight, and do not work as expected. very difficult to contact the manufacturer and get replacement parts. the thing is too bulky to send back; poor customer service.. so i am stock with a broken futon frame...

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor quality; the screws and hinges are very tight
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon Frame
 from Miami, FL,  Dec 18, 2012

Futon was better than expected for the price paid. I needed an inexpensive futon to use as extra sleeping space and this does the trick. It is a full size so it can be used for up to 2 people.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Better than expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon Frame
 from cape vincent, NY,  Sep 24, 2012

The nice thing about this futon frame is no armrest, so for sleeping you can extend your feet without pusing against an armrest. Works well for a spare bed for quests.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't do it!
 from who cares!,  Sep 5, 2012

3 hours to put together as the instructions were very small and you couldn't understand them!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? na
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. na
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? na
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon
 from Matawan, NJ,  Aug 17, 2012

Its a futon. It servers its purpose. Pretty comfortable but just a little smaller then we thought.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It is ok so far. This has a medal frame unlike our last one which was wood and broke.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

do not buy this product. when it arrived i took all pieces out of the box, and reviewed the directions, the directions are still partially in chinese (yes the english directions have chinese characters in there). Directions were impossible to decipher and the diagrams are of such poor quality they look like a copy of a copy of a copy. you could not make out where any of the bolts needed to go. in the end it took me over 4 hours to try to assemble, after which when i thought i was complete and the futon looked ready to go when i went to put it down flat the frame buckled. Do not buy this

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. horrible quality, frame easily bends
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The worst puchase I have ever made - my first and last purchase from Overstock. At the outset, the directions sent with the product were unreadable (like they had been faxed and photocopied 100 times. Once we were emailed a new set on set one we discovered a manufacturing defect - one of the four key sets of threads to attach the arm was set too deep and the screws couldnot engage the threads to attach the hinge to the arm.(the defect is visible). Now we are stuck - there appears to be no one to call and hinges cannot be attached to the frame. I am simply outraged.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Defective -
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not very -
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The futon frame is very sturdy and comfortable.
 from Surprise, Arizona,  Mar 3, 2012

This futon frame is the perfect addition for the futon we bought to use in our spare bedroom as a guest bed. We now are enjoying it ourselves as a very comfortable extra couch when not being used as a spare bed for company.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? A perfect match!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality but a bit difficult to put together...the instructions are not very good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
at least i THOUGHT this was simple...
 from philly, pa,  Jan 6, 2012

i wanted the most inexpensive/simplest foldover kind of frame for my new futon. it took til 4:30 in the afternoon and a LOT of cursing to get this puppy ready to use. two of the hollow pcs were slightly bent in, so it was not so easy to get those to fit, but with my trusty wooden meat tenderizer as my only weapon, i kinda banged them back into shape enuf to make the fit. though futon is very comfortable, the frame? not as much. it would have been easier to put it together with 2 ppl, but i did it. and i only wanted this for sleeping, not sitting, so when i unfolded it, the seat back 1/2 is not as comfortable as the seat bottom 1/2. had to put extra cushioning between the frame, the futon & me. still, the instructions were pretty accurate, they had even attempted to make them clearer. all things considered, i might have gotten a wooden frame instead, but it's not bad.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it's ok
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fairly accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not quality
 from Spring Valley, CA,  Dec 3, 2011

A few of the metal pieces were bent. They sent waaaay too many washers and bolts. Wood is nice and solid. metal seems a little weak. difficult to unfold and fold up. perfect fit with Ikea futon mattress.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was correct as stated, however lighter than pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor quality but not the worst.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Boston Armless Full Futon Frame
 from Terre Haute, Indiana,  Aug 7, 2011

The quality is fine. I have a futon mattress that has the springs in it. So the mattress has to be removed from the frame OR I need someone on the other end to help sit it back up because the mattress is so heavy. If it were a regular futon mattress I believe it would be easy for 1 person o put back in a upright position. It goes right back up w/ 2 people or w/ out the mattress laying on the frame.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality seems to be fine so far.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Just fine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product- difficult to assemble
 from St. Louis, MO,  Jul 13, 2011

This item arrived very quickly, but after having read the reviews about assembling it, I procrastinated for about a month before opening the box and attacking it. It took about 2-3 hours for me to assemble on my own. There are a lot of parts and pretty ambiguous instructions. Once assembled, though, it turned out exactly as it shows online and it was exactly what I was looking for. I'm happy with the product, just wish it didn't take so much time to put together.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just put it together....
 from San Luis Obispo, CA,  Jun 5, 2011

Well, we just got it yesterday and put it together. There were several areas where the screws didn't match up to the holes, so that made it a bit more difficult (had to hammer things in place). The color on the wood arms was NOT the color it shows online, ordered dark walnut and got cherry wood, other then those issues seems to be okay thus far. Have not slept on it yet as we are still waiting for the mattress to arrive.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? NO
  • How is the quality of the product? Not sure yet as we have not used it yet
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? NO
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 25 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Full 6-inch Futon Mattress
Sale $116.10
Was $129.00
Compare $139.99
Save 17%
(143)
Back to top