Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-18 of 18 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
The good the bad and the not so ugly
 from Northern Virginia/DC,  Mar 1, 2012

This is a great piece for a small entry way or as a nightstand next to a bed. One of the large popular specialty decor chain stores sells this exact same piece, absolutely identical to this, in three finishes (black, red and green) but it's $599!! I wanted the one from the specialty store but couldn't afford it so when I saw this I snapped it up. APPEARANCE: When I received the piece it was darker in color than expected. It was not as light as a chestnut brown, as the picture appeared to me. It might have just been my browser/computer settings. Nonetheless, when it arrived it was what I would describe as a mahogany brown. Not as deep as a blackish espresso brown... just a nice rich medium-dark brown. The finish was even and clean. QUALITY: It's made in China so temper your expectations. The piece is petite and light. When handling it, handle with care. Don't use in a space where it will be bumped around a lot. It's decorative. In my house it's in an entry way holding keys and driving gloves...and a house plant. When I received it, there were lots of loose small pieces of splintered wood inside with the packaging from the inside structure of the piece including the corner blocks for the legs and the back block intended to stabilize the drawer track. Rather than return it (ugh!), I fixed the issue with the drawer track with a small l bracket. None of the damage affected the appearance. It did affect the function but I was able to fix the issue myself with a screw and a drill. VALUE: Well, I'm glad I didn't pay $600 dollars for this exact same piece from the expense chain interior decor store. I'll keep it and enjoy it. I might recommend it as a great for now piece if you're not a budget but definitely not a long-term investment piece. If you're someone who likes to change your decor around a lot and you swap things in and out all the time, I say go for it. If you're expecting this to last 15 years...save your money and buy something that might cost more but last you longer.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was darker than the picture, more like a dark mahogany brown than a medium chestnut brown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The wood blocking on the inside was splintered in many places; the supporting inside structure seems very flimsy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? dimensions were accurate but I expected the piece to come in one piece without assembly required and the color is darker in real life (but that's a good thing)
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty, but flawed
 from NC,  Sep 7, 2011

I am returning this product because the top drawer sticks and requires a major tug to get back out.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Average, but top drawer sticks
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty Piece Overall
 from Houston, TX,  Aug 10, 2012

I do love this piece of furniture and had it not been for the damage condition it arrived in (which sounds like a common problem) I would have give this 5 stars. The gaps in the drawer openings do not bother me as much and the size of the drawers were small but not an issue as I was using this as a decorative piece. Overstock customer service was top notch and gave me a small adjustment since I still wanted to keep it. My damage was on the back and side and can easily be hidden. I would overall recommend this piece of furniture since it is comparatively cheaper than the similar piece at pottery barn and crate and barrel.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was true to the color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The chest itself looks like it could potentially be top quality; however, my chest along with a lot of other reviewers, came damaged.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was accurate, except the drawers have a little gap in the openings.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Chest!
 from Syracuse, NY,  Jul 29, 2011

I love this chest and so does everyone who has come to see it! It is a true espresso color, elegant style, and has nice pulls. Definitely worth the money!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Looks very close to the picture- is a true espresso color.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality even though the drawers aren't real wood.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description provided on website
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bombe Antiqued Espresso Chest
 from West Palm Beach, FL,  Aug 27, 2012

I like the looks of this chest - the drawers have wide spaces around them so that you can see light around them. I use it for my TV and it serves its purpose. I will say that it was packed very well although I had some mars on the top.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color on site was perfect.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is rather flimsy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed.
 from plymouth, michigan,  Jun 20, 2012

Overstock easily accepted a full return (free shipping) of this item due to the scratch. The piece was packaged extremely well, so it was not a matter of shipping error. If the top would not have been noticeably, I may have considered keeping it. Once looking at the overall piece, I was not happy with the quality of the drawers and the gaps around them. Although similar chests are twice as much from high end furniture stores, I would rather pay more and receive a better quality product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was similar to site view. Dark with texture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This arrived damaged, there was a scratch on the top left front corner. The drawers had large gaps around them which I thought looked unattractive.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Site description was ok but the quality is not there.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
decent quallity and nice looking
 from NJ,  Apr 23, 2012

This is a nice looking chest. Some parts are solid wood. We were disappointed by the small size of the drawers. This chest looks good, but it doesn't store a lot. It is good as a decorative piece.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same as picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the quality was decent for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
this chest is perfect as my bedside table
 from moscow, ohio,  Mar 5, 2012

very happy with the bombe chest. when i received the chest, i loved it so much i ordered a 2nd one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
just perfect
 from Arlington, VA,  Mar 2, 2012

Having bought furniture before at other sites with disastrous results, I was holding my breath when I ordered the Bombay chest from Overstock. I was therefore very pleasantly surprised when the chest arrived in perfect condition due to the careful way it had been packed. The chest itself rivals an almost - if not - identical Bombay chest which I saw on Pottery Barn's site (which I passed on due to the price - double O's). The chest arrived when they said it would and only the legs had to be attached. So easy! Great quality! I would not hesitate to order from Overstock again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great FInd
 from Johns Creek, GA,  Jan 30, 2012

This is a beautiful chest and a great value. I found almost an exact match of this chest at another site for double the price. The drawers don't glide but it adds to the design. The only assembly required are the legs and the drawer handles.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Nice
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great nighstand
 from Dallas, TX,  Nov 29, 2011

I got this nightstand in quite quickly and my husband was able to assemble it within about a 1/2 hour. It's not a heavy wood and the creation of the piece isn't the most fantastic quality - HOWEVER the look of it is just fantastic. If you want a nice end table, entrance table, or oversized nighstand - this is perfect. It's got a great color and the curves are very very elegant. The drawers are slim, so you can't fit much, but the piece looks just fantastic with an nice lamp on it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Drawer fronts did not line up with chest.
 from rochester ny,  Oct 7, 2011

the cuts were off on the top of the chest and the drawer faces were short and therefore you could see the wall behind the chest. not happy at all. Too bad, becauae I love ordering from O.com. It is put together and to disassemble it and pack it and pay to have it returned is not happening. it will make me think long and hard before i order furniture like this again. so sad :(

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? nice
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. not so good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Customer Service Saves the Day
 from Los Angeles,  Aug 9, 2011

I purchased two of these chests in June since they were priced so much lower than ***. I recently noticed that the top of one of the chests was starting to crack across the top and there is nothing heavy on top. I was pretty upset, but I chatted with customer service (Stacy M.) and she was great. She is sending me a new one and made the return process very easy. This could have been a disaster, but Stacy M. saved the day. Thanks Stacy M.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The top cracked in a month
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bombe chest
 from St Louis MO,  Aug 4, 2011

Simple lines but a little different shape than every other chest makes this a great piece of furniture. It is big enough to be noticed but small enough to fit in a variety of settings. I actually had one place in mind when I purchased this piece but now that it is in my home I have found a few different rooms and locations that it could find a home. I am glad I purchased this chest and highly recommend it to others.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was a little darker in person than the picture but I preferred it darker so that was good.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality was what I expected, sturdy yet easy enough to manage and assemble by myself.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description of this item was very true to the actual product. Simple lines but a little different shape than every other chest makes this a
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
perfect fit for small entry hall
 from Kansas city,  Jun 10, 2013

The chest was packed well and arrived in good conditions. It did not take long to assemble, helps to have 2 people to do the leg installation.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matches
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the drawers are not a tight fit .
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pleasant surprise!
 from Dallas,  Jun 7, 2013

After reading some of the reviews and looking at the online pic, I bought paint and stencils before my 2 nightstands arrived because I thought the finish was not going to be high quality. While not the densest wood, I am very happy with the quality based upon the $236 that I paid (they were on sale for 10% plus I had a 10% coupon). The drawers do not glide very easily and I had to balance one of the nightstands with an extra leg pad. But, I don't see this being an issue based upon the price that I paid for them. I paid twice this amount for a nightstand from a high end store 5 years ago and had the same problems. And, I'm not even going to have to paint them because the finish is actually pretty nice. It is mildly distressed with a glossy, mahogany finish. If I were rating the quality along, I'd give it 4 stars. But, I give it 5 stars based upon the quality at the price I paid. I would have rated it 4 stars if I'd pay over $300. I've been shopping for nightstands for over a year and you won't find this style at this price and quality.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color and texture are much richer than the way it appears on the screen.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. SO much better than I anticipated for the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Loved the chest
 from Chicago, IL.,  Nov 30, 2012

the chest was grate for the six hours that I hade it . Latrer that evening my house burned and we lost everything

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? pperfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. wonderful
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
its nice.
 from houston,  Oct 20, 2011

i think its great. i put it together before my husband came home from work. took me about 45 minutes because i have two small kids that wanted to help! only complaint is the handle broke and i dont know where to get another one. :o/

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? its the color i thought it would be.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. everything is great, but one handle broke right away, so i have it placed to look like its not broken.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-18 of 18 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top