Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 67 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Yikes - did I get the same lamp??!!
 from San Diego,  Sep 18, 2006

I loved the look of this lamp in the photo, the price was great, and the outstanding reviews had me convinced this was the greatest bargain. Oh, no! When I unpacked it, the glass shade was covered in a greasy film of oil that left black marks on my hands; there was black stuff on a lot of the glass pieces that you could chip off with a fingernail, and the whole top of the lamp was not stained glass at all, but about 12" diameter of black wire mesh. BUT.... WORST of all, when I assembled it (very easy, and the lamp base was BEAUTIFUL) and lit it up, there were only about 3 truly blue pieces of glass; the rest were mottled grey!! The "green" leaves were an awful, anti-freeze neon green color. Several of the greyish glass pieces actually had what looked like blue marker on them, which was easily rubbed off, leaving it...grey! SO DISAPPOINTED!!! Returned it at once - and I rarely return anything!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bargain
 from nys,  Sep 10, 2006

the size and color are spectacular, but the glass soldering on the edge is soft allowing the glass pieces to BEND, so be extra careful when assembling

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive/negative
 from GARDNER, MA,  Feb 8, 2012

Quality of workmanship was excellent, it is a beautiful lamp overall, except for the terrible BROWN/GREY, GREY/BROWN colors of the shade. Leaf colors is a nice green. The return policy states that I will be charged $$$ dollars. As far as I was concerned it is a defective lamp because of the ugly colors. I will return it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? colors in the pic were blue, purple, white, with green leaves. the lamp I received was grey/brown, brown/grey with green leaves
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the lamp base and shade was excellent.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was right on except for the colors of the shade.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Welcome to Wisteria Lane!
 from Albany,NY,  Jul 8, 2007

These lamps are fantastic! VERY large, so check the size/dimensions if space is a challenge. I bought 4 of these for 2 different rooms and they are such an incredible plus to our decor. The colors are beautiful, true to the picture. Had a slight challenge with 1 of the lamps as the stem of the shade (where you attach the finial) was off center. Took a little manuevering, but worked out by simply adjusting the nut at the base of the stem. The lamp shades are oily coming out of the packing. We decided to use soap and water, taking the shades outside and putting a softly pressured hose to them while washing off the oil. Worked out terrific, no clean up either! Great lamp for the price!! This is not glass, but instead high quality plastic panes. Still, unless you are tapping it, or trying to break it, you would never know it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Blue!!!!
 from Halifax, Nova Scotia,  Apr 4, 2013

The lamp was well packaged. The quality of the soldering was poor and was as if the manufacturer was trying to save solder or had a novice soldering the shades. Professional soldering is smooth, slightly raised and rounder which gives the lamp a better texture when dusting. When I dust my lamp, the cloth catches on the rough soldering and jagged edges of the foil. The glass is 80% green (dark to light) 10 % yellow and 10 % blue. The ratio of colours should be swapped if it were to match the description as being a "blue wisteria" as mine in my mind is a "green wisteria". It is decorative. The lamp works, It was not expensive. However, the soldering is poor which makes dusting tricky and less attractive to view when in daylight and the colour is not as described.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just a green bush
 from Gainesville, GA,  Mar 13, 2013

Just down right ugly. That is all I can say about this lamp. The colors are nothing like the photo dispayed. It is just all greens - ugly shades of green. It will make a great donation to a white elephant sale. Or I could give it to someone I want to hate me. I have brought several lamps from Overstock and have been totally satisfied. This one is the just hedious.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I bought this same lamp from overstock in 2007 (approx). At that time the lamp pictured in the website matched the actual lamp1:1 to one. I bought another one on Dec 2012/ Right now the 2012 ver lamp shade barely has any traces of blue (they are still showing the 2007 version on the website) and the lamp shade shows different shade of green. It is still beautiful in its own right but it is no longer a replica of Tiffany's Wisteria lamp. Overstock should have been upfront and recalled the 2011-2012 line or at least they should have been upfront and altered the item description. I can certainly see that some people will be severely disappointed with this item. The second change that I noticed: the base used to be solid metal and heavy. Right now the base weighs much lighter- I wonder why?? Did they use plastics to cut costs?? Overstock please maintain consistent quality.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the actual lamp is almost entirely green
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good but not as great as 2007 version
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? color is not accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Blue
 from Charleston, WV,  Nov 27, 2012

Maybe art glass products need to be seen forst hand - but the picture could not possibly be one of the product I received. It says "Blue Wisteria Tiffany Style Lamp w/ Tree Trunk Base" - but it's not at all blue. The picture shows multiple colors - but there aren't - there are only two: light and dark green. The shape and size are what I was expecting - but not the color - which is, after all, the whole point of tiffany lamps. If you're picking it based on the picture and description: DON"T!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Not at all like the picture - there are only two colors of glass - light green and dark green.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality seems fine, and it was very well packed for shipment
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not accurate, since the first word in the description was "Blue"
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
wisteria lamp
 from Melbourne, FL.,  Nov 27, 2011

Before I made my decision to order the Wisteria lamp, I read the reviews and from what I read it seemed to be a hit or miss. When I received the ordered it was packaged very well. Even before I ordered it I measured the dimensions of the lamp, I underestimated when people said large they meant LARGE, and is heavy (if you are older and/or have trouble lifting I recommend have someone help you.) When Holcat mentioned in their review that the green stained glass of the leaves are antifreeze green, my were too, and they definitely show when the lamp is off, and they are several areas where it is grey (a mixture of blue, green and purple) there are lavenders and blues, but there is some green in areas. I understand that no two Tiffany style lamps are the same, and they are unique in there own way. I have experimented with different types of bulbs (certain types of light bulbs alter the color of the shade) I tried soft white incandscent bulbs which gave off a yellowish light and produces a lot of heat it also made the areas that were greyish looking appear as grey. As of now, I have CFL bulbs 65k daylight bulbs in, they don't give off as much heat and help tone down the grey areas. Some people may not prefer CFL bulbs (every one has different personal taste so its just an idea.) My lamp had oil on it but not dripping wet, I understand the lamp shades are oiled to help protect the lead soldering and the patina finish. The lamp I received has three sockets, I read where someone said theirs was only two sockets. So just be aware of your lamp being two to three sockets. As for the glass it seems no different from the Meyda Tiffany lamp I have, it seems to be of the same quality and the glass sounds the same when tapped, actually the craftsmanship of this lamp is better inside and out with soldering and the patina, than my Meyda. All in all I am happy with my order, and I feel comfortable. I find myself looking at and admiring it, and for the price I believe it to be a good price compared to others for the same design of lamp.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? close, understands no two are the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality is very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
More like a Green Wisteria Lamp
 from London UK,  Sep 9, 2010

I've been wanting one of these lamps for some time but couldn't seem to find anyone who would ship to the UK, except now for Overstock. Of course this cost extra. Yes, it is a very BIG lamp and lovely to look at when lit however I am a bit disappointed with the overall colour shading. It isn't as nice as the picture and my particular lamp has way more green glass shades in it than blue and there are definitely no mauve colours at all. There are many pieces that are green with a blue tinge but it still looks green when lit. They must have run out of blue glass when making it. So all in all, I would probably re-label mine a green wisteria lamp....luckily I happen to like this colour !

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tiffany wisteria lamp
 from Albany New York,  Jan 7, 2008

Although this lamp is nicely crafted, well made, I was a little disappointed with the colors when I received it. The blues and greens of the glass are not as bright and nice as they look in the photo online.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
pretty lamp
 from Minnesota,  Jan 7, 2008

The lamp is very pretty but not nearly as bright and colorful as the example photo. I wish it could take more than a 60 watt bulb

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing
 from Sun Valley, ID,  Nov 25, 2007

I bought these for nightstands, luckily I have large furniture because these lamps are huge. I love them though, you can use one light for setting the mood or all three to brighten the room or read. I would buy them again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
just like the original Tiffany
 from Minneapolis,  Apr 29, 2006

this is just like the one in my book on Tiffany Lamps amde in the early 1900's that is now in a museum for 200k.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Large Lamp
 from Ada, OK,  Feb 22, 2011

This table lamp is very large and fits perfect in the place where I wanted it. I was dissapointed in the fact that the blue and purple colors are very faint. The green leaves are really bold. I was hoping that the blue would be darker in color as shown.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I was a bit hesitant to buy this product after reading some of the reviews, but I was looking for a large lamp with blue and green tones so thought I'd give it a try. The photo of the lamp is very accurate as to the colors when it is lit. Assembly was a snap and took me all of 5 minutes -- I recommend you be careful removing the shade from the box as it bends easily. There is a layer of oil on the shade but I understand that this is typical for Tiffany lamps and one website actually recommended cleaning it with lemon oil. All in all a good deal and exactly what I was looking for.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brilliant colors, an heirloom
 from Pocono Mtns, PA,  Dec 9, 2006

Upon reading previous reviews I was hesitant about ordering this lamp in fear of a dull coloring to the shade; however the lamp I received has colors that match the pictures, the blues are true blue and vibrant. As has been stated in other reviews, the lamp shade is huge- and very heavy! The lamp was too prominent to go where I intended to put it, but since I purchased another less imposing Tiffany Style lamp with it, I switched locations; this lamp ended up in the bay window in my kitchen- and it looks absolutely in place, it's a welcomed addition. This lamp, if given the right spot, would fit well in any room! Just a note, even with 3 light bulbs, due to the deflective nature of a low hanging shade, the light is very subtle- don't expect to primarily light a room with this lamp, it's better as a secondary lighting source. It would work well bedside for late night readers that didn't want to disturb their partner, or as a window, hallway, or TV light. This lamp is heirloom quality- it would make an excellent bridal gift, sure to be a family treasure- and it would surely be just as breathtaking in a nursery with the low, unimposing light and the brilliant colors.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Drop Dead Georgous!!!!
 from san antonio tx,  Sep 16, 2006

Ordered this lamp as a table lamp for a writing desk...and how absolutely BEAUTIFUL it is!!!! Love it ! Colors are very rich, 3 bulb lamp gave me the opportunity to use two as reading bulbs and the 3rd as a soft night light bulb to enjoy. HIGHLY recommend!!! I have gotten so many complements on it already!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tiffany Wisteria Lamp
 from Ohio,  Sep 9, 2006

I received my lamp yesterday and was most pleased. I set it in my front window and it is spectacular. Not only do I enjoy looking at it, but people passing by our home can also enjoy it. The colors are are lovely shades of blues and greens. The shade is very large and impressive with many pieces of glass. This is truly a great deal. This is my first purchase from Overstock and I will definitely be a repeat customer.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It is not what I've expected
 from california,  Apr 12, 2014

It wabbles too much. Finish is poor. It isn't just what I have expected. I hated it. wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 67 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top