Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 38 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous chairs
 from Holiday, Florida,  Jan 22, 2010

I received two Bloomington leather chairs in the cognac color today - a quick delivery and very well packaged with no damage whatsoever. The leather is really soft and buttery, and the rusty color is absolutely gorgeous. I don't think they're actually aniline dyed leather, though, because the backing is a different color than the surface, and they'd be the same color if they were dyed that way. Curiously, none of the "tags" or packaging states that they are genuine leather, but I'm sure they are. They're full sized, deep seated chairs, and actually larger than expected. I'm 5' 8" and my feet don't quite touch when I sit all the way back, so I'll need a throw pillow behind my back. .The seats are firm and quite wide but comfortable. Be advised that the arm bolts that came with DO NOT FIT, on either chair.(hence the 4 stars) My husband went to two hardware stores and finally spent $6.50 for great big screws to attach the arms. Nevertheless, the directions are clear and in English. Assembly took forever only because he had to hunt down the arm bolts and they were hard to find. The arms and feet are very dark brown wood with the grain showing through, very nice. I am completely satisfied with the look and comfort factor of these chairs, and they are a terrific bargain. Real leather chairs in a similar style are at least $600 locally. Don't hesitate if you want sleek, unique modern seating, And don't be intimidated by the meager measurements, they're more than big enough for tall or wide people!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value, but.
 from Jersey Shore,  Jun 26, 2012

This chair is working well for us, in a teen's room for watching movies and playing video games. However, there are some issues with attaching the arms to the chair. Either the screws are too short, or the hole is not routed deep enough. In any case, we drilled the hole thing out deeper so the screw would catch and secure the arm to the chair properly. This could be a problem for some people, maybe finding the same size screws in a slightly longer length would be an easier fix.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? a little more brownish than reddish like the photo
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems sturdy enough for our purposes, a teen son's room
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate, but does not mention that the seat cushion only has leather on one side
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this Chair
 from Anaheim, CA,  Oct 21, 2011

Needed an additional chair for my living room but didn't want to spend alot of money. Wow I sure got a deal and a half with this comfy and attractive chair. Love the bowed arms, the leather is very good quality and the cognac color is a warm spicy brown. Wish I had the room for an additional chair. I also ordered the ottomon, a little confusing because it isn't the same name as the chair. If you search for "cognac leather ottomon" you'll find it. It matches perfectly, a pleasant surprise. It took my husband and I about 10 minutes to put this together, couldn't have been easier. I guess you can tell I'm impressed with this chair. As always speedy shipping from Overstock, think I got this chair within 3 days of ordering.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Looks Lighter
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Real Winner!
 from Richmond, VA,  Apr 12, 2013

Do not hesitate to buy this chair! I needed an additional chair for our living/family room seating area and this one is perfect! The reddish/brownish color blends perfectly with our other furniture and the back of the chair is nicely finished so that it can "float" in the room where the back is visible. On our chair, the leather appears to be of good quality and has a fairly matte finish (definitely not shiny and cheap looking as another reviewer has commented). The wood arms are of good quality and are at just the right height to make comfortable armrests. The curves of the arms are at a comfortable angle. Some reviewers have commented that the chair is comfortable but not for extended periods of time. I disagree and find it very comfy to settle in for a long chat with a guest, to read by the fire, or to watch a movie. I am 5'2" and need a lumbar support pillow as the seat is quite deep, but then when you add the matching ottoman (just search for "Cognac Leather Ottoman") it becomes even more comfortable. A very tall person would find that the back is not high enough to provide a headrest, but for me, it is perfect. The back being fairly low keeps the chair from blocking the view to the garden if you are sitting elsewhere in the room. My husband was able to assemble the chair in about 30 minutes with the assistance of one person (his 70+ year old aunt) to hold the arms in place as he attached them. About the only thing I would change about this chair would be to make the seat cushion reversible (It has a black "liner" fabric on one side), but for the money, I am quite pleased!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Just as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very well made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bloomington Leather Chair Cognac
 from Sarasota, FL,  Feb 12, 2013

The chair arrived with some small scratches on the bottom cushion (not related to the grain of the leather). A call to customer service (Julie) quickly resolved the matter with a new cushion arriving within the week. Others have noted two of the screws being too short to reach the threaded, recessed nut in chair bottom when attaching arms to this piece, and I too thought that was the case until I realized I had used two of the longer screws needed here to attach the arms at the back of the chair instead of the shorter ones provided for this part of the assembly. Once I figured this out, assembly was a snap. It just goes to show, READ THE INSTRUCTIONS! (Admittedly, not easy for a middle aged male like myself!). Anyway, very happy with the chair. Fits nicely with a slight 1950s vibe that works well with the rest of our decor.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is a bit more brown than the red (as shown online)
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Product appears to be well made.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Descrptiion was accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better than expected
 from FL,  Sep 3, 2011

Verry, very nice for the cost. Simple to put together. The chairs sit firm and are deep. The color is more toward the brown side than red. Nice, rich color. I am very happy with my purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was a little more to the brown side..rich.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Chairs
 from Ellsworth, KS,  May 15, 2012

This is a great chair and I have received many positive comments about the chairs.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close to same color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very similar
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Chair
 from Portland, Or,  Oct 14, 2011

This chair, for the price, is a five star. The color and style are very transitional. Can blend with modern and add some spice to a more traditional setting. I am 5'8 and it is comfortable to sit and read. It is not a "cozy, sleeping chair" as the back is low and there is no way to really curl up, at least not for my height. I am using it in my bedroom and love it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was very close to what my monitor displayed
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality. Chair is not flimsy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? No leather mentioned on any of the tags, but for the price, no problem if it is not.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Chair
 from KY,  Oct 12, 2011

Terrific chair and quality, particularly for the price. Leather is supple and seems high quality. Wood was well-finished and sturdy. Hardware was substantial. Assembly was a bit tricky - the hardware listed on the directions was not the hardware I received - but upon assembly, I discovered that the hardware I got was correct. Took a bit of effort to get it together, but you just have to remember to NOT tighten all the bolts and screws until they're all in - so that the chair comes together correctly. The chair is not insanely comfortable though - it's more a "sitting" chair than a "lounging" chair. But overall, it's great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? A bit browner - slightly less red
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice large chair
 from sycamore,il,  Sep 22, 2011

liked the chair alot,good construction,easily put together would buy another

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy leather,solid constuction
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Outstanding piece of quality furniture
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Aug 16, 2011

This is my first time reviewing a product for ANY shopping site, but I had to because this is a great chair! I've been remodeling my entire house to a mid century modern feel and I have been looking/shopping for various pieces or months. You could easily pay $800+ for this chair at other stores. Beautiful construction, great stitching, easy assembly and very comfortable. (i'm 6'2", 230.) I had this chair together in about 20 minutes although I did use a socket wrench to "speed" thinks up.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color leans more towards cinnimon than red
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As expected
 from Georgia,  Jul 25, 2013

Prompt shipping. Good quality. Not difficult to assemble. Chair itself is a bit deep for a short-legged person. Perfect for long legs.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. matches price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chair
 from Austin, TX,  Mar 17, 2013

Beautiful chair. Comfortable. Took a little finess to assemble because of aligning the long, curved arm/front legs, however, if a 68 year old grandma can do it (that's me), I think anyone can.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Slightly redder on site, browner in person.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE my chairs!
 from Spokane, WA,  Aug 8, 2011

I LOVE my new chairs! I wanted something simple and somewhat contemporary, but I also needed them to go with my more traditional-looking pieces. I have lots of brown and red in my living room, along with dark brown hardwood floors, so I wanted a different color. This cognac color is perfect - it is gorgeous and unique! The chairs have a deep and roomy seat cushion, but the chairs themselves are not too big in overall size. The arms are heavy and beautiful. For the price, I am amazed at the quality - plus no tax and $3 shipping! I read one review where a purchaser said they couldn't find anything nearly as nice for the price in their local furniture stores. As far as I can tell, the seat cushions themselves are covered in 100% leather - you can unzip the seat cover and feel the back of the leather. I am not sure about the back and bottom part of the chairs, because I cannot see the backside of any of that material - but, even if they are bonded leather they still look fantastic, particularly for the price. I put a decorative pillow with brown, red and the same cognac color on each one - beautiful!! I had no trouble assembling - I know some reviewers have complained about the hardware. The only thing I noticed was that the instructions use the term 'screw' when referring to the bolts used to attached the arms to the top of the chair. They are not screws, they are actually the shorter bolts. I assembled the chairs myself (too impatient to wait for my husband!) with no problems.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality, sturdy, rich-looking.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good value for price
 from Indianapolis, IN,  Feb 19, 2011

I received the chair in less than 10 days. However the stitching had come loose on a small portion of the back part, so I called Overstock, and they shipped out a replacement back piece promptly. that is the only reason I am giving this chair a 4 instead of a 5. It is very nice, good value for money. the color is not as bright red as the picture shows, more brownish red, which I like. The seat is firm but not too hard or soft. I am 5'2'' tall and if I sit all the way back, my feet do not touch the floor, so it is a good chair for taller people too, a pillow will fix that for shorter people. I am considering buying another one of these. It didn't take long to assemble. I am pleased with this purchase. I cannot comment on longevity yet as I have only had the chair a few weeks.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Delightful Chair
 from NE Washington,  Feb 18, 2011

Almost without exception very piece of furniture I have order from OS has been outstanding and much better than expected. The Bloomington Leather Chair was not an exception. It arrived quickly, was very easy to assemble and looks great. The color is a little less orange than the photos but that's just fine. The bent wood arms are quite stylish and adds a modern touch to my living room. The price was perfect, just what I was looking to pay. I highly recommend this chair. Also, it is quite comfortable.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice chairs for the $$$'s
 from Southern Maryland,  Dec 20, 2010

These fit the bill for my living room. I bought a pair and had no problem assembling. The leather is rather slick and semi-shiny, which I'm not crazy about, but otherwise, I think they are fine for chairs that we will rarely sit in. The color is a rusty red and it went perfectly with my decor.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Terrific chair
 from CA,  Jun 3, 2010

This chair more than lives up to my expectations! It is a sleek piece of furniture that fits perfectly in my living room. The on-line picture intrigued me - liked the clean, simple lines and curved wooden arm, and the real deal does not disappoint. It's very comfortable, and construction and quality of materials is just fine - great value for the cost. Assembly was somewhat time-consuming (took awhile to align things properly), but all all the necessary hardware was included.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chair
 Mar 21, 2010

The chair itself is beautiful. Putting the chair together was another story. There were not enough bolts that were sent. I had to go to a specialty bolt store in town to find the right size. Some of the predrilled holes were not in the correct alignment.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Satisfied
 from Colorado,  Aug 5, 2014

I like this chair a lot but there were some issues with the assembly. The holes for the bolts on the arms did not line up properly. It took two of us to vice-grip the chair in order to align them. Also, the picture of the chair on the website makes it look more red when the color is actually rust. Once we got past the bolt issue the assembly went fast. All in all, the silhouette of the chair is contemporary and clean and it looks great in my living room.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 38 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Bloomington Leather Chair Dark Brown
Sale $260.99
Was $289.99
(50)
Furniture of America Double Padded Club Chair
Sale $197.09
Was $218.99
Compare $279.99
Save 30%
(9)
Back to top