Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 77 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

Normally I don't have time to write reviews...BUT...as I considered the purchase of these chairs (AFTER MUCH BROWSING ONLINE) I noted negative reviews about a nasty smell and etc. However, I liked the style so much I took a chance based on my previous purchases at Overstock which have all been very favorable. AND I am SO glad I did. These are high-end chairs at a bargain basement price. Wow are they cool and sturdy and give my antique oak table just the modern twist I hoped. (FULL DISCLOSURE: I did add modern chrome casters to the table legs which added to the "updated vintage" vibe.) As to an odor: ppl are beyond negative to mention this as it is merely a very faint, and very temporary, issue that is hardly noticeable unless you spend your time sniffing up close to the fabric. Amazing that anyone could find anything wrong with these chairs. Buy them and enjoy and....let your friends and family think you paid far far more for them than you did. Thanks, Overstock, for the coolest chairs on the block. Please keep these cool pieces coming...

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. solid sturdy well crafted great materials
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Noxious Smell, Dangerous Side Effects
 from Minnesota,  Jan 7, 2012

It is such a shame that these lovely chairs, designed and manufactured well, are also manufactured dangerously irresponsibly. The "new" petroleum/chemical smell is overpowering coming out of the packaging; we cannot have them in the house. They have been in the garage or out on the deck until we have guests, then after dinner they are right back out there again. We have had headaches, burning eyes, runny noses, and coughing when the chairs have been inside too long. We are so very disappointed. We thought the smell would dissipate over a month outside, but it is as if they just came out of the box still. It is hard to understand how it makes sense to ruin such a well done product with such irresponsible manufacturing. Please, if you want to actually use your chairs, find another set in which there is care for human health in the manufacturing process.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good for the price.
 from San Francisco, CA,  Aug 8, 2012

We bought two sets of these chairs (8 total) and are pleased with them. Very sturdy and comfortable. One complaint -- the design is odd (or you can say "cheap"); the leather (or you can say "vinyl") that wraps around the backing of the chair to the leg was cut-off midway below the seat -- one can totally see the leather overlap one another from the back of the chair. If they wrap it with 1 piece of leather, this chair would've been excellent in design. Yes, the vinyl does smell (it's plastic, you can't expect much), but once you air them out for about a week, you can barely notice the smell. The chair is on the small size, the seat is only about 17-3/4" in width. This is my first time buying furniture from a website. I was very worried -- not knowing what I am getting (quality wise), not able to feel/touch the chair and very concern with customer service (what happens if I don't like them or if something is wrong with them). Out of the 8 chairs, we only had problem with 1 of them (there was a silver marking on the back of the chair and the stitching on the leg was falling apart, leather wrapped around the leg started to split open). But Overstock.com was very good in taking care of these issues. We got our replacement chair in less than 4 days after I called. I love their attention and service; and will definitely buy from Overstock.com again. Class "A" customer service!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is exactly as shown on the website
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. As expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Low Price, decent value
 from Maryland,  Aug 6, 2012

We purchased two sets of these chairs (8 total) to go with the modern glass top table we purchased from Room & Board. These chairs look very close to the chairs sold by R&B. However, the R&B chairs are genuine leather and a single chair is as much as a set of 4 of these chairs. Despite what others have written, we did not find the vinyl smell of these chairs overwhelming at all. Actually, after the chairs were assembled we did not detect any odor. The chairs are fairly simple to assemble, but it would be nice if the screws were 2 - 3 millimeters longer. I ran into a problem with 2 of the 8 chairs where I was not able to thread a couple of the screws into the back of the chair. I sent an email to Overstock CS and they sent me 2 replacement chairs in a little over a week. Once assembled, the chairs are sturdy and comfortable. The seat does not have a lot of padding, but it is comfortable. The chairs have a modern look, and could probably sell for more than O.co is asking. One of our guest could not believe that we paid as little as we did. Nice chair.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Black. Hard to get that wrong.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really nice!
 from BRONX, NY,  Jul 22, 2012

very nice chairs. really have a quality appearance. disregard all the comments about odor. easy to assemble and will match and upgrade the look of any ensemble.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent durable quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
chairs
 from los angeles,  Jul 16, 2012

Black Vinyl Dining Chairs (Set of 4) This is very nice chairs. good quality and for my surprise they are very soft. would recommend them

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great For the Price
 from Baltimore, MD,  Jun 18, 2012

For the price of these four chairs, you would be hard pressed to find a better deal. They are very easy to put together (5 or 6 screws per chair) and feel sturdy once assembled. Please remember that you are not getting leather chairs for this price. Once you open the box, you will be reminded anyway, as the smell of the vinyl will tell you!!! After reading about the smell in other reviews, I was hesitant to buy them, but gave it a chance. The smell is very strong for a day or so, but does dissipate rather quickly after that. I opened the box and left it outside for a day, which helped a lot. After opening the box, I also noticed that three of the chair backs had small holed in them (all in same spot). After I contacted Overstock, they promptly shipped out three replacements (again, left them outside to minimize the smell)!!! Overall, these chairs are a great deal for the price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color as listed on the website matched well with the actual product
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the chairs is rather good (for the price). Remember that you are getting vinyl, not leather!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description on site was accutae
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive
 from Redding CA,  Jun 4, 2012

I searched the many chairs that you had and was very happy with the product when they arrived. I love the 2.95 shipping. It will keep me coming back. Thank you

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not the quality I thought it would be
 from Airmont, NY,  May 23, 2012

Chairs look great from really far but as soon as you look at them you can tell that this will not last longer than a year or two. We have no small children and are only 3 adults and after day two one of the chairs has already ripped because someone placed a hand on the corner.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Chairs are easily coming apart at the corner seams and already have a tear in 2 if them
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate in the description and imaging
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Black Vinyl Dining chairs.
 from Hernando Beach Florida,  May 14, 2012

For the price, the chairs are great. Easy to assemble and they look great in our dining room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellant
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellant
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellant
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful chirs
 from Chicago,  May 10, 2012

For the price... Couldn't of asked for anything better!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Awesome
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Save your money
 from New York, NY,  Sep 14, 2013

If these were given to me for free, I'd be angry at the person that gave them to me. They were thrown out a few months after purchase. They're pretty bad when functioning, once they start to fall apart, they are simply awful.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nicer than I expected
 from Olive Branch, MS,  Apr 24, 2013

I put these together myself, and was not really a problem. They really look a lot nicer than I expected and more durable. These are extras, but look nice enough to keep out on a permanent basis. There was some smell to them, as others noted, but it didnt really bother me. The smell faded after a few days inside the house.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice for the price
 from Canton, MI,  Apr 4, 2013

Took a while to assemble. They are very comfortable. There is a smell from he vinyl that does go away within a week.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very comfy
 from Colonial Heights, VA,  Mar 21, 2013

I love these chairs! So easy to put together. They are sleek and very comfortable. I get lots of compliments on them. I did not detect ANY odor as other reviewers noted. I highly recommend these chairs. I am only sorry I didn't order 2 sets because now they are out of stock!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true to picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking chairs
 from NY,  Feb 20, 2013

Nice looking chairs. Very good value. The assembilg was a little awkward because of the depth of the seat cushion and the short length of the bolts. It took me, a seasoned veteran of *** type furniture, about an hour to put together four chairs. The finished product is strudy and looks very sleek . My one complaint is that there is not enough cushioning on the seat bottom. It feels like you are sitting directly on a wood plank. The price is great but this is not for you if you want a comfortable dining chair.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy but lacking enough cushion.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
They are sturdy, stylish durable, great price
 from Florida/ Massachesetts,  Feb 1, 2013

These chairs were the prefect match for a dark wooden table. They are not huge so I was able o use all 8 of them. When you see them in the box you may be concerned. Put them together and you wont be disappointed. We love them!!! Our friends have no idea what a great deal they were!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color is black,
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy durable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Get what you paid for plus more
 from Maine,  Jan 26, 2013

I love these chairs! Light assembly, I am a 20 year old girl and it took me about a half hour for all four. They look great and like I spent a lot of money on them. They are sturdy and comfortable. Mine had no smell at all.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Heavy chairs with a bit of a cushion. Looks great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fabulous!!
 from Knoxville, TN,  Jan 24, 2013

I love these chairs. They arrived quickly; were simple to put together; are extremely comfortable and look so chic! I am soooo happy with them! Great purchase :)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
luvfash
 from detroit mi,  Jan 19, 2013

I love these chairs. They are nice and sturdy and look more expensive than they cost!!!. Perfect for a nook area. Brings out ant table. The smell wasnt as bed as other reviews said. Overstock cant go wrong!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 77 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Malibu Indoor/ outdoor Woven Grey Rug (3'x5')
Sale $50.99
Was $59.99
Compare $95.25
Save 46%
Malibu Indoor/ outdoor Woven Grey Rug (2'x3')
Sale $20.82
Was $24.49
Compare $42.01
Save 50%
(1)
Back to top