For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 37 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Very Good Bed and Easy to Build
 from Tarzana, CA,  Aug 13, 2012

I was a little hesitant ordering this bed based on the reviews I'd read because some complained that bed arrived in poor condition and/or with missing pieces, and many complained that the instructions were difficult to interpret. I am pleased to say that my experience with this product was excellent in all respects. The bed arrived in two boxes with no missing pieces. There was a small defect in one of the end pieces due to damage during shipping, but it was hardly noticeable. The instructions were very easy to understand and the bed was quite easy to put together. I took about two hours to build the bed frame, and next night I spent about another two hours putting the drawers together. The drawers fit perfectly and stay closed when pushed in. Overall, I am thrilled with this bed. While it's just constructed pressed board with a black finish (pretty cheap material), it looks great, offers a lot of extra storage, is sturdy, and it's a very good price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect...black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Pretty good for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Substantial
 from Phila., PA,  Jan 25, 2010

I was a little hesitant to buy this bed, but I am so glad I took the chance on it. The quality is superior to what I thought it would be. It took a considerable time to assemble, but it is most substantial and we are thrilled with the result!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
it works for what it is
 from Seattle, Wa,  Aug 19, 2011

This is a nice bed except that the drawers don't seem to want to stay together. Followed the instructions but they still have some issues of popping out. My carpenter skills came into play to get them fixed. Glue the suckers together then nail them!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the drawers don't stay together once clothes are in them
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value
 from CA,  Jun 8, 2011

This bed was easy to assemble, and sturdy once assembled. There were no missing parts, no defects, no damaged surfaces. The finished product exactly matched the picture and description on the site. There were no surprises. The drawers are large, and if assembled properly, sturdy. The shipping was fast. I'm happy with the purchase and would recommend it as a good value.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? The color matched the site picture.
  • How is the quality of the product? The quality is good for the price.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? The description accurately described the product.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Captain's Bed
 from Columbus, OH,  Aug 14, 2013

I read mixed reviews about this bed. It was not hard to follow the directions and put together at all, if you have ever put together a piece of Sauder Furniture or anything. The quality is very good for the price. It is obviously not fantastic wood, but it is sturdy and well-built. The drawers slide very easily, that was my main concern. There were a few minor gouges/scratches on the wood, but nothing too noticeable. Overall, we were happy with the bed, for the price. We got the slanted bookcase headboard with it and found it pretty good quality also. Very sturdy pieces, nothing will fall apart soon.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Pleased
 from Germantown, TN,  Jun 30, 2013

We bought the bed for our teenage son who wanted to downgrade from a queensize bed to have more "room" in his bedroom for projects, etc. We were very pleased with the quality of the product. It was surprisingly easy to put together, and it is very sturdy. The only thing we would change is one section (the side of the bed w/o drawers). There was a long strip of thin particle board between the two stable boards, and we thought that if that one piece had been more firm, or if cubby holes were there instead of the thin board, the bed would have been perfect. Overall we are very pleased.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Actual
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My preschooler's first big boy bed
 from Chapel Hill, NC,  Jun 14, 2013

This bed is my almost 4 year old's first bed. It is on the taller side for him, so we use a little step stool for him to get on. The instructions were easy to follow and my son loves that he can reach all his clothes and other items so easily. I love this bed and still rate it excellent, though you should know, it is HEAVY and if you need to move it, it will take two people as I've discovered when books and toys have gone "missing." Recommend this bed!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color as seen on website
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Pretty solid piece
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from Howell, MI,  Mar 19, 2013

I looked high and low for this type of bed in the black color. The directions were very easy to follow and all the pieces went together perfectly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Value
 from indiana,  May 23, 2012

Item arrived as pictured. Takes a little time to put together but seems sturdy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to assemble and great space saver!
 from Watertown, WI,  Feb 22, 2012

My husband and I were able to fully assemble this bed in about 2-3 hours. The drawers glide very nicely and the bed seems sturdy. Good value for the price. I'm happy with this bed and my 4 year old loves to fill up the drawers with his toys!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Happy
 from Inglewood, CA,  Feb 22, 2012

Needed the bed for the spare bedroom and it had to have drawers for my clothes that I kept in big plastic containers. When the boxes arrived I knew there was going to be lots and lots of parts to put together. The instructions didn't show the entire picture, but once I started working on it, I was able to put the bed together and it is wonderful. There is enough drawer space and the bed turned out to be really great. Love it....It looks just like the picture. Just have patience, it's worth the work. I would recommend the bed to anyone who needs a bed with storage.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Assembly Instructions?
 from Ventura County, CA,  Jan 29, 2012

The only issue we had was the lack of instructions. I read the other reviews stating it was difficult to assemble so we planned ahead with plenty of time. Unfortunately we waited until the weekend and customer service was not available - so make sure the directions are included when the boxes arrive! The company e-mailed the assembly instructions the first business day after the long weekend but we had already figured it out. Great product for the price. Nice sized drawers but they do not go all the way back of the bed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. no issues
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful bed but needed a carpenter to assemble
 from Oneonta New York,  Aug 19, 2011

This bed had HUNDREDS of pieces and would have taken me to put together probably a month. It took my carpenter about 2 and a half hours. SO if you have a carpenter brain and well organized, you can do it yourself. When he took all the pieces out of the box I took one look and said boy am I glad you are here. Looked like a mountain of screws and boards and bits and pieces. It is ery nice, my son is pleased with it and the drawers are perfect. My son had an extra long mattress so make sure your mattress will fit as it is for a regular twinn size. Yes the bed is great but putting it together if you are an average person like me you will take a lot of time. The machines pieces were not done right and he had to redrill holes where it was broken off. Looks great. I could not find anything like thisin local stores and for the money for a bed like this is a good deal. I guess the mass production is what lowers the cost. It probably would have cost at least twice this in a store. SO if you are good with wood go for it. If you are not and have a good carpenter or husband that is good with putting things together then go for it. If not plan to spend a long time with this. Great looking when done and very sturdy,

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent but scratches easily
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. well put together machined pieces as per my carpenter were broken off. He had to fix some things
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bed!
 from El Paso, TX,  May 25, 2011

Love my new downsized bed and am waiting on the headboard!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well built, solid.
 from Ironton, OH,  Apr 30, 2011

The bed is well constructed and uses reasonably good hardware. Construction is a bit of a chore but worth the effort. The top slats that support the mattress are fragile and I replaced mine with plywood from the local home improvement store. I would have given it five stars if I hadn't had to replace the slats.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good bed and great for anyone
 from Columbia, MO,  Apr 27, 2011

This bed was very great and it took about 3 hours for us to put together. It was very easy to assemble and the bed is exactly the same as the picture when finished. The only negative part would be to be careful putting together the pieces because the black wood comes off easily. The drawers are great if you need more room to put stuff in. Overall I think this bed is wonderful and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE IT
 from Southern Maryland,  Aug 17, 2010

We ordered this bed for my 11 year old daughter's redecorated new room. She went from a full to a twin and we have no regrets. The drawers pull out smoothly. Easy assembly. The bed sits up high which makes it look very nice in the room. We will be ordering another in the future for our 2nd daugher! Wish it came in white though.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Pleased
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Jun 23, 2010

I was a little skeptical about buying this bed, until I read some of the reviews. I bought it for my grandson. Once, my husband started putting it together he was very impressed on how the pieces fit together and how sturdy it was. I love the the way it looks and yes I would recommend it to a friend.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bed -- very happy!
 from Dallas, TX,  Jul 18, 2014

My son's room is small and we needed to transition from "big boy room" to pre-teen/teen room, but wanted to maximize space. We where able to get rid of the 3 drawer dresser and move into these six drawers with space to spare. It's heavy and sturdy and looks great. We just ordered the slant headboard and think this will pull the room all together.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great at 1st...then fell apart-disappointed
 from New York, NY,  Feb 19, 2014

Looked for a reasonable priced captains bed, with six drawers specifically for my just turned a teenager son. It was actually going to be temporary, in anticipation of a larger home next year....so I was looking for something inexpensive that had great style. I thought it may not last for years (you get what you pay for concept) but truly did not think this bed would fall apart so quickly. The bed was not smooth to put together but overall I thought the construction was fine...until we got to the drawers. The sides were strong but the bottom was flimsy, less flimsy than an Ikea drawer bottom, which surprised me since the sole purpose of a drawer is to...put things in it! I feel it is a little nuts that after a few months, the drawers that my son used the most....his sock and underwear drawers, just fell apart. How much can that truly weigh? We have pj's and shots and tees in the other drawers which seemed to fair well. Really surprised and disappointed. The style looks great, the bed itself is terrific, but I have to give it one star for the fact that it is a captains bed...meant for a dual purpose-to sleep and use the drawers for clothing. Had they spent just a little more effort into a better quality drawer that could hold socks well etc., then this bed would be 5 stars. I would have paid $100 more for better drawers. So now we are going out to HD ourselves to buy material to make our own sturdy drawers. We shouldn't have to though since we bought this as a full product. I didn't mind putting together the bed for this price, but I do mind a lack of common sense in the design of the drawers.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 37 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top