Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 37 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great bed -- very happy!
 from Dallas, TX,  Jul 18, 2014

My son's room is small and we needed to transition from "big boy room" to pre-teen/teen room, but wanted to maximize space. We where able to get rid of the 3 drawer dresser and move into these six drawers with space to spare. It's heavy and sturdy and looks great. We just ordered the slant headboard and think this will pull the room all together.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great at 1st...then fell apart-disappointed
 from New York, NY,  Feb 19, 2014

Looked for a reasonable priced captains bed, with six drawers specifically for my just turned a teenager son. It was actually going to be temporary, in anticipation of a larger home next year....so I was looking for something inexpensive that had great style. I thought it may not last for years (you get what you pay for concept) but truly did not think this bed would fall apart so quickly. The bed was not smooth to put together but overall I thought the construction was fine...until we got to the drawers. The sides were strong but the bottom was flimsy, less flimsy than an Ikea drawer bottom, which surprised me since the sole purpose of a drawer is to...put things in it! I feel it is a little nuts that after a few months, the drawers that my son used the most....his sock and underwear drawers, just fell apart. How much can that truly weigh? We have pj's and shots and tees in the other drawers which seemed to fair well. Really surprised and disappointed. The style looks great, the bed itself is terrific, but I have to give it one star for the fact that it is a captains bed...meant for a dual purpose-to sleep and use the drawers for clothing. Had they spent just a little more effort into a better quality drawer that could hold socks well etc., then this bed would be 5 stars. I would have paid $100 more for better drawers. So now we are going out to HD ourselves to buy material to make our own sturdy drawers. We shouldn't have to though since we bought this as a full product. I didn't mind putting together the bed for this price, but I do mind a lack of common sense in the design of the drawers.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great looking beds when completed.
 from Orlando, FL,  Feb 8, 2014

We ordered two of these beds....when my husband saw the pieces...he almost fainted. Took him a couple days working on and off when he had time to complete them. There was a little damage to the foot boards but he glued them. I must say the packaging was horrendous. How they arrive with the little damage they do is amazing to us. One box weighs almost a hundred pounds and the pieces are just loosely thrown in the box. If I could grade the packaging, I would give it a "2" because at least all the pieces were still inside the boxes. We do have a few items that were defective and will have to call customer service to have them replaced. But all in all, we do love the beds for our grandsons. PS - I would love to talk to the customer who said it took him 30 minutes to assemble one bed!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Inexpensive, basic kid's bed
 from WA,  Sep 27, 2013

This bed is so flimsy that if you try to move it, it knocks the drawers out of alignment. It will do in a pinch for a few years and we hope we don't move in the meantime. Box it was shipped in was ridiculously heavy and very beat up. Ok for the price.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Captain's Bed
 from Columbus, OH,  Aug 14, 2013

I read mixed reviews about this bed. It was not hard to follow the directions and put together at all, if you have ever put together a piece of Sauder Furniture or anything. The quality is very good for the price. It is obviously not fantastic wood, but it is sturdy and well-built. The drawers slide very easily, that was my main concern. There were a few minor gouges/scratches on the wood, but nothing too noticeable. Overall, we were happy with the bed, for the price. We got the slanted bookcase headboard with it and found it pretty good quality also. Very sturdy pieces, nothing will fall apart soon.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Pleased
 from Germantown, TN,  Jun 30, 2013

We bought the bed for our teenage son who wanted to downgrade from a queensize bed to have more "room" in his bedroom for projects, etc. We were very pleased with the quality of the product. It was surprisingly easy to put together, and it is very sturdy. The only thing we would change is one section (the side of the bed w/o drawers). There was a long strip of thin particle board between the two stable boards, and we thought that if that one piece had been more firm, or if cubby holes were there instead of the thin board, the bed would have been perfect. Overall we are very pleased.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Actual
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My preschooler's first big boy bed
 from Chapel Hill, NC,  Jun 14, 2013

This bed is my almost 4 year old's first bed. It is on the taller side for him, so we use a little step stool for him to get on. The instructions were easy to follow and my son loves that he can reach all his clothes and other items so easily. I love this bed and still rate it excellent, though you should know, it is HEAVY and if you need to move it, it will take two people as I've discovered when books and toys have gone "missing." Recommend this bed!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color as seen on website
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Pretty solid piece
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Product came without assembly instructions and required two phone calls before I received them via email. They were long but precise & pretty easy to follow. WOuld have saved a lot of time if the pieces had been marked as to what they were because there are A LOT of different parts to the bed. Assembly went fairly well, but had some problem getting the end panels to line up well and the bolts to go in all the way, but with some help was finally able to do it. All in all is was ok & I'm happy with the finished product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color matched as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is what I expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Product was just as received
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from Howell, MI,  Mar 19, 2013

I looked high and low for this type of bed in the black color. The directions were very easy to follow and all the pieces went together perfectly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good product for the price
 from San Jose, CA,  Dec 30, 2012

It was great for a small room where the extra drawers are really needed. Makes the guest room look great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Quality.
 from San Francisco,  Dec 26, 2012

We are very pleased with this bed. It is good construction, has ample storage and doesn't take up a lot of room. It did take quite a while to assemble, but worth the effort.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid construction
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Black Twin 6 drawer Captains Platform Storage Bed
 from Columbus Ohio,  Dec 6, 2012

I have seldom bought online but I had heard so much about overstock I thought I would go ahead.So glad I did. I hired a handyman to put the bed together and he and his helper did it in 3 hours. I bought this bed based on other reviews and I am quite happy with it as is my 5 year old. He can reach the drawers and put away his own laundry,which is the whole point of this bed.LOVE IT !!!!!!!!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great,it's black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great,accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Seems like a good bed
 from Southeastern US,  Nov 27, 2012

Assembly was fairly easy--done in one afternoon. One drawer board had the holes drilled on the wrong end, but was easily fixed. One drawer face arrived with minor damage. Seems to be sturdy so far.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was the same.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. So far so good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not as good as expected
 from JC, KS,  Sep 15, 2012

The quality of this bed is OK. It's all composite wood, nothing solid. The drawers are very flemsy. When putting the drawers together, I cracked the wood very easily by barely tightening the twist screws. But once the whole bed was together, it seemed pretty sturdy. I will have to glue drawer cracks later on so they don't crack more due to use & weight in them.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality wasn't as good as I wanted
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? site description wasn't as accurate as I wanted
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pleasantly surprised
 from Alpharetta, GA,  Aug 23, 2012

I decided to purchase this bed despite multiple reviews that said it was hard to put together. The bed came in multiple, oversized boxes (that weigh over 70 lbs each) and had some dings & scratches on the pieces from transport, but were easy to cover with Sharpie. The instructions are straight-forward and the bed was easy to assemble. There are a lot of pieces, but I sorted them out on the floor and was able to put the bed together by myself in about 30 minutes. The drawers are deep and glide open & close very easily. It's obviously not made of real wood, but it doesn't look cheap & fragile. It turned out to be everything I wanted & my daughter loves her bed!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color as it appears on the site is the same as the actual product. It's indeed true black.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is surprisingly good. It's a sturdy, well designed bed with drawers that glide open & close
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The site product description is very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Good Bed and Easy to Build
 from Tarzana, CA,  Aug 13, 2012

I was a little hesitant ordering this bed based on the reviews I'd read because some complained that bed arrived in poor condition and/or with missing pieces, and many complained that the instructions were difficult to interpret. I am pleased to say that my experience with this product was excellent in all respects. The bed arrived in two boxes with no missing pieces. There was a small defect in one of the end pieces due to damage during shipping, but it was hardly noticeable. The instructions were very easy to understand and the bed was quite easy to put together. I took about two hours to build the bed frame, and next night I spent about another two hours putting the drawers together. The drawers fit perfectly and stay closed when pushed in. Overall, I am thrilled with this bed. While it's just constructed pressed board with a black finish (pretty cheap material), it looks great, offers a lot of extra storage, is sturdy, and it's a very good price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect...black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Pretty good for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Value
 from indiana,  May 23, 2012

Item arrived as pictured. Takes a little time to put together but seems sturdy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to assemble and great space saver!
 from Watertown, WI,  Feb 22, 2012

My husband and I were able to fully assemble this bed in about 2-3 hours. The drawers glide very nicely and the bed seems sturdy. Good value for the price. I'm happy with this bed and my 4 year old loves to fill up the drawers with his toys!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Happy
 from Inglewood, CA,  Feb 22, 2012

Needed the bed for the spare bedroom and it had to have drawers for my clothes that I kept in big plastic containers. When the boxes arrived I knew there was going to be lots and lots of parts to put together. The instructions didn't show the entire picture, but once I started working on it, I was able to put the bed together and it is wonderful. There is enough drawer space and the bed turned out to be really great. Love it....It looks just like the picture. Just have patience, it's worth the work. I would recommend the bed to anyone who needs a bed with storage.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Assembly Instructions?
 from Ventura County, CA,  Jan 29, 2012

The only issue we had was the lack of instructions. I read the other reviews stating it was difficult to assemble so we planned ahead with plenty of time. Unfortunately we waited until the weekend and customer service was not available - so make sure the directions are included when the boxes arrive! The company e-mailed the assembly instructions the first business day after the long weekend but we had already figured it out. Great product for the price. Nice sized drawers but they do not go all the way back of the bed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. no issues
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 37 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top