Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 37 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
schoolhouse chairs
 from Corpus Christi Texas.,  May 26, 2013

I bought 6 chairs, (boxes of 2) for my sons family which includes 2 very active and rough kids. I've waited a year to write the review as I am here a year later now and can tell you that they are very sturdy and worth the price and probably more. I asked my daughter in law to write the review by the site didn't allow it so I had to wait and see for myself before giving my stamp of approval. I would recommend them to everyone. Since they are black you can add any color of tablecloth, placemats or anything else with them. I can't emphasize how sturdy they are. Great buy, super value. Thanks Overstock for carrying this product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It's black just like the description
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? On the spot
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value, very sturdy, easy assembly
 from Bay Area, CA,  Mar 27, 2010

I ordered 4 of these chairs (2 sets of 2 chairs) in December 2009 for my casual dining room. They arrived very quickly and well packaged with no damage. Assembly was very easy. I was able to assmble all four chairs by myself and each chair took about 25 minutes to assemble. All the pre-drilled holes were drilled exactly and all the pieces fit together perfectly on all four chairs. I was missing 2 of the necessary bolts from one of the chairs, but it was easy to run down to the hardware store and get the same bolts for under $1. Missing bolts were preferable to me than holes that do not match up, as I have had that issue before on ready to assemble furniture and it can be a real mess. The black finish on these chairs is nice, smooth, and durable. These chairs are very heavy and sturdy. They are not at all wobbly or creaky. I added glides to the feet since those are not included. I am very happy with these chairs. They are a wonderful value and look much more expensive than they are. I believe they are sturdy enough to last as long as any furniture store chair. I have been using them for several months without chair pads and they are very comfortable, too.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Black schoolhouse chairs
 from MS,  Jun 5, 2014

I bought these chairs to match the now discontinued black schoolhouse chairs from ********. They are very study and look great and I could not be more pleased.I had to put them together, but it was relatively easy. I added wood glue to all the wooden peg pieces for added durability.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Heavy, traditional chair
 from Boston,  Jan 30, 2014

The weight of these chairs is a definite plus, especially if your kid is prone to tipping back in dining chairs! They are sturdy and will surely last a very long time. One chair appears to have a slightly shorter leg than the others, but I am sure this could be managed with a. Felt pad or something similar. The seat base is extra large and comfortable. All in all a great value. I only wish more were available in black.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sturdy
 from Hephzibah,  Dec 31, 2013

These chairs are sturdy low profile chairs that are good for small eat in kitchens.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy Chairs!
 from Oto, Iowa,  Dec 25, 2013

Very nice chairs, but can be a pain to put together....It took me a couple of hours to put both of them together. The instructions are not easily discernible. I feel that if the instructions were a little more clearly illustrated, it would reduce the amount of time and frustration I experienced....

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chairs fit our needs!
 from Southeastern NC,  Nov 21, 2013

These chairs matched our dining table and china cabinet perfectly. They are very sturdy and were easy to assemble. We bought two sets and may buy a third!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Chairs - WISH THEY WERE IN STOCK
 from New York,  Nov 10, 2013

These chairs are sturdy and attractive. I wish they were in stock. I bought two and need two more.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent chairs
 from Pittsburgh, Pa,  Oct 8, 2013

These chairs are exactly what I wanted! The instructions to assemble them left something to be desired, but my husband was able to figure it out on his own. They are nice, sturdy and heavy wooden chairs.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice chairs.
 from Jackson, MI,  Jul 9, 2013

Solid and easy to assemble. They are not small as some have stated. I guess it depends on what you are looking for. They really do look like old school type school chairs. I used four of them with a coordinating 40"x40" table that I bought elsewhere and they are perfect. Two of the seats were chipped/scratched and Overstock replaced them very quickly without a fuss. I like these chairs and recommend them.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
kitchen chairs
 from Delaware,  Jun 24, 2013

Love these chairs. Putting them together was well worth the savings in price. The first chair took me about 45 minutes, but the 4th chair only took me 20 minutes. The black chairs look great with my natural oak table.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
new chairs for an old table
 from Alexandria, VA,  Mar 12, 2013

Very easy to assemble, these chairs look awesome against our oak dining table. They are well built, sturdy and comfortable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Strong and sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Buy
 from Indianapolis, IN,  Mar 8, 2013

We bought four of these chairs to match with a kitchen table from another company whose matching chairs were too expensive. The schoolhouse chairs we bought from Overstock match perfectly (people don't know that it's not a table & chairs set until we tell them). The chair legs are a little uneven so they rock slightly when you sit in them. However, we put felt on the bottom so they slide better on the wood floor & that solved the issue. And for wood chairs they're comfortable enough.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color matched
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great chair but needs a handyman
 from Chicago area,  Mar 5, 2013

This is a well made sturdy chair that is comfortable to sit in and looks great. Luckily I have a husband who is very handy though because the chairs came in several pieces. I would not have been able to get everything to fit together tightly by myself. That being said, we love the chairs and the price was the best we found. If you are trying to match existing chairs check the height and width measurements as the chairs vary from site to site. We had a vintage chair we were trying to match and couldn't find an exact match online.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy well made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great chairs
 from Tennessee,  Jan 25, 2013

I've had these for 2 years and the paint still looks new and they are very sturdy. No repairs or adjustments needed. Fantastic chairs for our kitchen table. Would highly recommend.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. After 2 years still look great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great, Long Lasting Chairs
 from New York, NY,  Jan 2, 2013

These are amazing chairs. Once you assemble them, they will last a long time and still look good after many years of use. I bought two chairs several years ago and two chairs recently. The old and the new chairs look identical. I will be buying more in the future.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid, sturdy charis!
 from Chicago, IL,  Dec 21, 2012

The chairs were far more sturdy than I expected. I was also pleasantly surprised by the weight of the chairs. The quality is very evident. I ordered one set to try them out and was so impressed,I bought two more sets.The only downside was they sent two sets of the wrong chairs! Overstocks impeccable customer service took care of everything and now I have six matching,beautiful chairs.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rock solid chair for the price
 from Dallas, TX,  Nov 29, 2012

This is a very solid chair, excellent for kids to sit at to do homework or any other place where you need a simple, quality item. Assembly is easy and the construction is excellent. It came well packaged with no damage whatsoever.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very high
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great chairs.
 from Amarillo, TX,  Nov 17, 2012

Great value for these chairs. They are very study, easy to put together and look great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great chairs. Very sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Missing or bad parts
 from Louisville, GA 30434,  Apr 7, 2012

There are assembly nuts embedded in the back for attachment of the seat base. One chair had no nuts at all and the other chair had one nut with no threads. They are sending me nuts but I am not sure the unthreaded nut can be removed without damage to the wood. I will try to use a thread tap to make the treads. Not a good experience!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. ok
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ok
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 37 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Savannah Hardwood Chair
Sale $62.98
Was $69.98
Compare $120.45
Save 48%
(63)
Library Wooden Side Chairs (Set of 2)
Sale $188.99
Was $209.99
Back to top