Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 32 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Love them!
 from Texas,  May 17, 2010

We searched nearly every store within a 60 mile radius looking for some black parson chairs. They are not too difficult to find, but the quality of most is lacking! The various problems with the ones in stores were: (1) If you leaned back in the seat, the chair would flex, (2) We could feel the frame of the seat when we sat down, (3) The seat had no support (just material suspended), (4) The material was thin, (5) The chairs were "dainty"...we wanted something more substantial to match our rustic table. Every single chair we found had something wrong with it. As you can imagine, I was terrified of ordering chairs online, but I did not want to have to drive 2.5 hours to Dallas/Ft. Worth to scour their stores!!! The reviews here were awesome, so I took a chance and ordered all 6 chairs. It took about a week for them to arrive. I put one together with no issues. I was expecting it to be difficult after reading some of the reviews, but it really was no big deal. I was immediately giddy with excitement after the chair was together and I checked them out. They are exactly what we were looking for!!!!!! We would have purchased these in the store if we had found them. They are sturdy, and more cushioned than any chair we found locally. They are fairly substantial and match our table very well. I was concerned about the cherry wood not matching the finish of our table, but it was a near perfect match. (You can do a internet search for xxx dining table to see what we put these with.) My only semi-complaint is that the chairs are not leather. They are "leatherette" according to the instruction manual and looking up the model number of the chairs. (They are made by Coaster.) The material IS nice and thick, though. From what I read about leatherette, it is more durable, easier to care for, and will not get the worn look that leather does. If that is the case, it is a plus as we have two dogs and two young boys! My husband put together the other 5 chairs as he loves to put stuff together (and uses any excuse to use his tools.) He had to re-drill or re-thread a couple of the holes. (He has some special tool for doing this on metal. I'll update this review when I get the info from him.) Overall, I am very happy with our purchase. I am also EXTREMELY impressed with the customer service department of Overstock. Buy with confidence. :)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beware bicast leather
 from Dana Point, CA,  Jun 7, 2011

Bought the chairs in Oct 08, and when they arrived one chair's seat upholstery had several folds along the front radius. Through time they eventually cracked and separated, and now the chair is ready for the scrap yard.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? fair
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice & Comfy
 from Georgia,  Aug 13, 2010

I have sat on many a chair and these are stylish AND comfy! I wanted a contemporary look in black which is much more difficult than you would imagine. I wanted my guest to enjoy their meal in comfort and not feel like they had to get up because the chairs were hard. These chairs are perfect and highly recommend them.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Chairs
 from GA,  May 19, 2010

We have been shopping for chairs for months and were skeptical about ordering them online due to concerns with comfort. Well let me tell you, these chairs are AMAZING. They were relatively easy to assemble (note: bags of skrews marked wrong so check the inventory sheet and match up sizes). Order with confidence, they are really great chairs and the price is great too. I've sat on many a chair twice this price and not nearly as comfy. They look great in our dining room. Worth it, trust me!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The best chair at any price
 from DFW, TX,  Jan 1, 2009

This chair was EXACTLY what I was looking for: Black leather, solid construction, and very comfy. The assembly was much easier once I purchased a hex nut driver for my power drill (set clutch low though so you dont over tighten). The chairs only had a slight "new" smell, nothing unpleasant at all. They are very roomy, and substainial looking, and went perfect with our new back rubthrough table and buffets. The picture here does not do them justice at all.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value
 from Virginia,  Apr 22, 2013

You cannot beat these chairs for the price. I bought six. They are very comfortable and the seat cushion is quite thick. They have completely changed the look of our dining room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good - not flimsy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Attractive but almost impossible to put together
 from Philadelphia,  Dec 29, 2012

The instructions are absolutely useless, to the point of almost making the product unusable. But more so than that, the hardware and holes are so bad that it is nearly impossible to get all bolts in straight, correctly and fully. If you want to save yourself some headaches don't buy these chairs.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very satisfied with purchas
 from IN,  May 28, 2012

Purchased these chairs to go with a Cherry table with a black pedestal. I couldn't be happier with how these chairs matched our table. The legs match the table almost identically. Very happy with the overall quality for the price. The assembly was straight forward with no issues. The chairs are very comfortable and the seat is very cushiony.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect color match to our cherry table with a black pedestal.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very happy with the quality of the chairs.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description of chairs is accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice not perfect
 from Santa Barbara,  Jan 7, 2011

I agree with the other reviewers who commented on the "puffy" seats making the chairs look more casual and less formal. I also think that the reddish color of the wooden legs takes away for a formal look. They look more red in person than in the photos. But they are solid sturdy chairs and I've decided to cover them with a tailored slipcover and hopefully that will make them seem more formal.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chairs
 from Sunnyvale,CA,  Dec 30, 2010

The chairs were OK. I did not like the buttoms at the bottom of the chairs. They are too hard and they were marking my newly refinished hardwood floors. I had to replace with softer buttons. DS

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent!!
 from Ohio,  Mar 27, 2010

Like others, I was hesitant to order chairs like this online without actually seeing them. But, the prices here in comparison to the stores were not even comparable and I was not really impressed with the expensive ones at the furniture stores. These chairs are awesome. They do take a little time to get put together, but after you do the first one the rest are a breeze. They are very comfortable without being overly big. The seats have plenty of cushion to them. The legs have casters that can be screwed in/out to adjust height and make them to not wobble. So far we have not detected any flaws in the leather/stitching. Very pleased :)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
elegant chairs
 from Portland OR,  Feb 25, 2010

We love these chairs!!!! They are just what we where looking for!... If you are looking for black parson chairs these are definitely the way to go, The chairs are sturdy and very well made, we got 8 chairs and we have them for 8 mounts now and they are holding up like new, the back is curved and the seat is a firm plush cushion so it is very comfortable to sit on for long dinners, the legs are a warm charry finish, we get complements on them all the time, everyone that sees the chairs cant believe the price we paid for them, these are priced in the stores for $250 each. They look very classy and rich, I definitely recommend these to any one looking for a nice elegant comfortable parson chair, I'm telling you you will be very happy you got them! Thank you Overstock I will be back!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
They are not leather!
 from Mississippi,  Jan 23, 2010

I priced and ordered these chairs under the impression they were real genuine authentic "leather." The last time I checked, the material on these chairs was called "vinyl." Beware of the word "bicast" in front of the word. leather. I guess it means "man made?" Otherwise the chairs are nice looking and comfortable. They take about 45 minutes to assemble from the time you open the box to the time you get to sit in them. All assembly is via hex screws and the hex wrench is included in each box. I could have purchased vinyl chairs at a lower price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Bought these chairs to complement a new dining room table and they look great. Lots of complements on quality, comfort and style!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
comfortable parson chairs
 from San Ramon CA,  Jan 1, 2010

I have been looking for nice comfortable parson chairs for our dining room for some time. these chairs are everything I was looking for. the quality of the leather is very good, it is well-made, and easy to assemble. I couldn't be happier. I receive compliments on it from all of my friends. I could have spent two or three times as much to buy these same chairs at a local store, Thank you Overstock you came through with shining colors!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Chairs!!
 from Illinois,  Dec 29, 2009

i was leary about buying these kinds of chairs online, but couldn't have been any better!!These chairs are SO nice. Hard to believe they cost as little as the do! I bought 6 chairs to go with a cherry table I have in my kitchen and they match perfectly.Very impressed with the quality.Had one chair come with a scratch in the leather and Overstock sent another part out to replace within a week.This has to be the best experience I have had with purchasing furniture online!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect!
 from Sedona AZ,  Dec 20, 2009

These chairs are absolutely beautiful, I ordered 8 of them, they came very quick and were very easy to put together, after reading other reviews the key is to screw the legs in but not to tighten them until you stand the chair up on all 4 legs and hold the chair down to make sure the legs are even and not wobbly, then go around and tighten them all. The leather is soft and very comfortable, the seats are a nice size and have a plush cushiony feel, the back is curved for comfortability, and the legs are a beautiful warm cherry finish. You will not be disappointed with these, I saw the same chairs at a local store for more then twice the price! Once again, Overstock.com delivered a great product, If you're looking for comfort, value and beautiful parsons chairs, these are perfect!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bad Feet
 Dec 13, 2009

The chairs were a bit larger than we expected, but that isn't the manufacturer's problem. The legs/feet are a problem. The legs don't sit equally on the floor, so the chairs rock a bit. To solve this, the manufacturer has put adjustable glides on the bottom, but the adjustments don't stay put. They loosen up and rattle and have to be re-set all the time. My husband has bought some Lock-Tite to secure the glides, but we haven't done it yet, so we don't know if that will solve the problem.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Satisfied
 from Glenview, IL.,  Dec 12, 2009

We are very happy with these chairs. We had a bad experience with similar chairs at a retail establishment and waited 3 months without success. I ordered these chairs on a wednesday night and the following tuesday ( before Thanksgiving ) UPS arrived wtih them! They are just what we were looking for; black leather with cherry legs. Assembling them took a while but once assembled they look great in our living room. The cushions are a little stiff but with use they ought to soften up.We recommend these chairs and are very happy with the entire transaction. We say, " Go for it" !

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful black leather chairs
 from Levisville, North Carolina,  Oct 30, 2009

I love these chairs! I ordered two sets and they are perfect in my new kitchen with my black granite table. The chairs are a good value and very comfortable. They were a bit difficult to put together. My husband is very handy and they even gave him a moment of frustration. My suggestion is to persevere, you won't be disappointed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 32 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top