Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 157 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
lovely piece
 from SC,  Dec 10, 2006

I have been looking for a bed that will match some inherited teak pieces, and this is perfect. All three boxes came within a week. The bed itself is well made and very solid once assembled. Although the directions (which are clearly written and easy to follow) suggest two adults for assembly, I was able to put it together myself in about three hours. Do have a power drill on hand, though. You'll need it for the 24 screws without pilot holes for the slats... Be aware that, should you choose to use a box spring as well as a mattress, the surface will be about three feet off the ground. I am 5'6" and have to hurdle myself onto it! (The cats love this, however.) All in all, I am very pleased with this purchase, my first from overstock.com.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I ordered the bed along with one of the two dressers and received six boxes in total. I have to say that at first it looked increadibly daunting. Still, my friend and I took it step by step and found the instructions generally well written if a bit sparse. Onto the piece. I cannot speak highly enough of this bed. It transcends beautiful -- it is stunning. Clean, simple, elegant lines and wood that well exceeds the quality one would expect for this price range. The fixtures are made of solid brass and are easy to disassemble, in case of a needed move someday. The wood is supple to the touch and hefty in feel indicating a solid construction and not particleboard or pressed wood with laminate. One thing I would add, though, is that my piece came slightly darker than appears in its photo. As a photographer, my monitor is color calibrated so I know the photo was probably a bit light. For me this is great as I worried that it might actually be too light for my taste. In summation: Highly recommended.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed, NIGHTMARE To Assemble
 from Los Angeles,  Jul 26, 2012

This bed is beautiful and amazing quality. Well worth the price... Well worth far more than the price (and it looks like I paid far more for it). The wood is solid with a gorgeous grain, and the stain is very rich. Even the slats are very solid; I've had platform beds with supposedly solid wood slats where the wood was light and fragile. Never had any of them break but also never felt 100% secure sleeping on them. I have no such qualms about these slats. Appearance and quality-wise, I could not be happier with the bed. The assembly was a complete nightmare. I don't know what some of these other reviewers are talking about, but I cannot believe anyone was able to assemble this bed easily or alone. The headboard alone took myself and my boyfriend, who is very good at things like this, two hours to put together, and by the end of it my guy was practically sobbing with frustration. You have to screw the headboard together using an allen wrench in a tiny little space, and the angle is such that the wrench gets stuck... It's awful. AWFUL. The rest of the bed was easier, thank god, but I would not wish the headboard on my worst enemy. Also, the other reviewers are correct that a drill with a phillips bit to get the screws through the slats and into the supports is very necessary. Don't let my assessment of the assembly frighten you away from buying this bed. It was worth it given the beauty and quality we ended up with. But don't go into it expecting it to be easy, because it is just NOT.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The picture is a little lighter than the bed, as others have said.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, high quality bed.
 from Oklahoma City, OK,  Jul 9, 2007

In short, if you are still unsure about purchasing this bed, all I can say is BUY IT! I flip-flopped around for a few weeks uncertain if I should purchase a bed from Overstock. Well, I took the plunge and finally did. I ordered on a Sunday and it arrived that Friday, talk about fast! The pieces were well packed and nothing was missing or damaged. I must admit, despite the other reviews, I found this bed very easy to assemble alone, taking me about 1 hour. But I suppose depending on your skill level, the assembly experience will probably vary. Anyway, once assembled this bed becomes a very beautiful furniture piece. Solid wood of excellent quality and a very nice rich walnut finish. I have this bed in a Japanese themed room and it fits very well. If you are a fan of simple, clean design, you will not be disappointed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid wood
 from Chicago, IL,  Jun 3, 2007

Based on the awesome reviews I've been reading on this bed, I decided to go ahead and order it. Like most have said, it is a great really modern bed, a bit more of a dark reddish brown than pictured. The height where the mattress would be placed is 15" from the ground, so to place a box spring would not only be too high, but would block out a portion of the lovely head board. There are also 4 little legs in the center of the bed should there be a need for extra support. And as most people have complained about, the annoying part is putting the headboard together, but other than that, the rest was pretty straightforward, just need a electric screwdriver to screw in the slats of the platform (no pre-drilled holes). Besides carrying the 3 boxes up 2 flights of stairs (overstock left in lobby) it was an awesome first time buy!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good purchase!
 from Cleveland, OH,  Nov 30, 2010

We were looking for a reasonably priced bed for a guest room. I looked all over locally but could not find what I wanted at the right price point. Found this one, read the reviews and ordered. Very happy. Fast delivery - ordered on a Saturday, it arrived on Thursday. Good quality bed - took a bit of time to assemble but is very sturdy and very attractive. The mattress - oh wow - we ordered the 10 inch Bodipedic. For the price, under $400 for a queen size with cover, it was a great buy and it is wonderful. Our first guest slept on it this weekend and said it was super comfortable. Very pleased with service and product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed for the $$
 from Chicago, IL,  Dec 9, 2010

It was easy to assemble. I didnt think I could do this by myself... I have a hard time assembling colored blocks... let alone a bed. So if you are one of those people like me... this is the perfect bed to assemble. After it was all done... I jumped on top of the bed to test my assemby and nothing broke. Thank god. All the pieces were numbered. Leaving very little to think. I recommend this bed to anyone that hates reading directions, like me.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really good for the price
 from Canton, MI,  Oct 12, 2009

This bedframe has survived 5 moves in the past 2 years! It was made with very high quality material and construction. The wood finish is also very lovely. Don't forget to get matching night stands.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
like the look
 from Benicia, CA,  Aug 6, 2007

i like the look, it's a great value, just disappointed in the craftmanship. two of the supports weren't drilled right before I tried installing and so i don't know what to do or how long the bed will even last, since 2 of the main supports are not functional - really a bummer!! spent hours putting together but it does look beautiful. LOOK - not sure if worth the labor.. maybe mine was just faulty? I don't know..

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this bed!!!
 from Laurel, MD,  Jan 3, 2007

After I purchased this product I was really excited and even more excited when I saw the first box came two days later.. I didnt realize there were two other boxes and they all came one day after another which was fine. After reading some reviews I was alil worried about assembly but overall it wasnt that bad.. except when using the allen wrench. (VERY TEDIOUS!) once we moved past that it was great! The bed looks wonderful and I am very satisfied with the quality.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very nice looking and sturdy. Easy to assemble.
 from Queens, NY,  Sep 26, 2012

Manny reviewers have mentioned that the headboard is hard to assemble because the screw does not tighten with the hex key properly. I had somewhat different experience. I was able to tighten the screw with the key that came with it. Make sure that the area you are working in has comfortable temperature because there are several screws that need to be tighten and you do want sweaty palms to add to your work. I did use a drill for installing 12 slats and then finished tightening these screws by hand (to avoid danger of over-tightening by drill). Quality of the bed is excellent, as well as the looks. The packaging that came with it was the best I ever saw for a pc of furniture. Every parts was wrapped individually and packed tightly. The box that it came in was extremely sturdy. I used the larger ends of the box to lay over the slats as an added protection for the matteress.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly the same color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent. Very sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? highly accurate. Better looking than picture.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very very happy
 from Western MA,  Jul 25, 2012

I actually managed to put the whole thing together by myself in about 3 hours although I highly recommend 2 people working together like the directions suggest! It was a little tough balancing the sides on things while hooking them up to the head and end boards but I did it!! Also highly recommend a power screwdriver - I think doing it by hand would be painful. I'm sleeping happily on the bed - it is sturdy, beautiful and everything I needed and wanted.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
AHHH
 from Morro Bay, CA,  Jun 4, 2012

My husband put the bed together, it took four hours. My daughters helped hold the slats in place (he made a template so they would be totally accurately placed) We have a latex mattress and it required the most strength to get it onto the bed. Everybody came in to admire it. My youngest daughter asked what the grooves in the headboard were for. My husband answered "that allowed me to screw it together." He then got a very uncomfortable look when he realized that he had put the headboard on backward. It still looks GREAT and I don't mind the grooves at all.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ok
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed Frame 4/5
 from Boston, MA,  Apr 3, 2012

Bought this because I needed something that was both affordable, and that would last for a long time. I'd say that's exactly what this is. Now why 4 stars? Well there's a few minor things. The slats I got were sort of deformed, not badly to affect anything, but they were obviously made of cheap wood. Not an issue because I'm not going to be seeing them unless I'm looking for gremlins underneath my bed. Additionally, there's no pre-drill holes for the slat screws, so basically you have to measure out the width between each slat in order to get it right. As far as putting it together, it took me about 1 1/2 hours, but I'm extremely competent (didn't need instruction book). Pros: Looks great, and it's really sturdy when you tighten everything up. Cons: Slats are bit cheap, and no pre-drill holes to tell you where to put the slats.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fairly close, the color is a bit lighter than shown.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent! Actual wood!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely Frame
 from Maryland,  Dec 17, 2010

I have the high dresser (seems to be discontinued) that matches this bed frame. Living in a row house, I needed a frame that would fit up the stairs without a box spring. It was easy to put together; I propped up the side rails on little boxes while assembling the headboard to the footboard. It worked out well for me. Only problem is that the middle adjustable feet have short "feet" screws, and so even when fully unscrewed, they don't touch the floor. When I get into bed, I can hear them bounce on the hardwood floor beneath, which is somewhat unsettling. This probably won't be an issue for folks who have carpet or a thick rug, though. Still, it's lovely enough to get 5 stars from me!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid Choice
 Jun 27, 2007

We are very happy customers. The many positive reviews allowed us to order with confidence and the bed still exceeded expectations. Fast shipping, solid construction, and looks great. Assembly was pretty straightforward. We just followed the step by step instructions and it took about 1 1/2 hours to put together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

We were a little hesitant to buy a bed online, without being able to feel the finish and workmanship. However, this bed has exceeded our expectations! Assembly was a complex process but easily doable with two people. The wood is a beautiful dark reddish-brown and the finish is even from one piece to the next. We've been sleeping on it for almost a year and it feels rock solid.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Platform Bed
 Feb 24, 2015

As advertised. Solid and good quality. Great value for the money.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid and Stylish
 from Boston MA,  Oct 30, 2014

The bed is the perfect size for a smaller space - no wasted space with curving headboards or sticking-out footboards. The open pattern of the headboard also adds to the feeling of space. Easy to assemble, feels very solid and looks far more expensive than it is. Definitely a great buy!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks Nice at First
 from VA,  Aug 26, 2014

I used to love this bed, but after moving once with it, and having to disassemble and reassemble, I am not so sure. Some screws are hard to get in the second time around, and now there's a horrible screech when getting in and out of the bed. Originally, the middle leg never fit, it was never long enough. It looks nice, but I am now thinking something else may have been better. I have only had it a little over 2 years, and am already thinking about replacing it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 157 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought