Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 150 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
lovely piece
 from SC,  Dec 10, 2006

I have been looking for a bed that will match some inherited teak pieces, and this is perfect. All three boxes came within a week. The bed itself is well made and very solid once assembled. Although the directions (which are clearly written and easy to follow) suggest two adults for assembly, I was able to put it together myself in about three hours. Do have a power drill on hand, though. You'll need it for the 24 screws without pilot holes for the slats... Be aware that, should you choose to use a box spring as well as a mattress, the surface will be about three feet off the ground. I am 5'6" and have to hurdle myself onto it! (The cats love this, however.) All in all, I am very pleased with this purchase, my first from overstock.com.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I ordered the bed along with one of the two dressers and received six boxes in total. I have to say that at first it looked increadibly daunting. Still, my friend and I took it step by step and found the instructions generally well written if a bit sparse. Onto the piece. I cannot speak highly enough of this bed. It transcends beautiful -- it is stunning. Clean, simple, elegant lines and wood that well exceeds the quality one would expect for this price range. The fixtures are made of solid brass and are easy to disassemble, in case of a needed move someday. The wood is supple to the touch and hefty in feel indicating a solid construction and not particleboard or pressed wood with laminate. One thing I would add, though, is that my piece came slightly darker than appears in its photo. As a photographer, my monitor is color calibrated so I know the photo was probably a bit light. For me this is great as I worried that it might actually be too light for my taste. In summation: Highly recommended.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed, NIGHTMARE To Assemble
 from Los Angeles,  Jul 26, 2012

This bed is beautiful and amazing quality. Well worth the price... Well worth far more than the price (and it looks like I paid far more for it). The wood is solid with a gorgeous grain, and the stain is very rich. Even the slats are very solid; I've had platform beds with supposedly solid wood slats where the wood was light and fragile. Never had any of them break but also never felt 100% secure sleeping on them. I have no such qualms about these slats. Appearance and quality-wise, I could not be happier with the bed. The assembly was a complete nightmare. I don't know what some of these other reviewers are talking about, but I cannot believe anyone was able to assemble this bed easily or alone. The headboard alone took myself and my boyfriend, who is very good at things like this, two hours to put together, and by the end of it my guy was practically sobbing with frustration. You have to screw the headboard together using an allen wrench in a tiny little space, and the angle is such that the wrench gets stuck... It's awful. AWFUL. The rest of the bed was easier, thank god, but I would not wish the headboard on my worst enemy. Also, the other reviewers are correct that a drill with a phillips bit to get the screws through the slats and into the supports is very necessary. Don't let my assessment of the assembly frighten you away from buying this bed. It was worth it given the beauty and quality we ended up with. But don't go into it expecting it to be easy, because it is just NOT.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The picture is a little lighter than the bed, as others have said.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, high quality bed.
 from Oklahoma City, OK,  Jul 9, 2007

In short, if you are still unsure about purchasing this bed, all I can say is BUY IT! I flip-flopped around for a few weeks uncertain if I should purchase a bed from Overstock. Well, I took the plunge and finally did. I ordered on a Sunday and it arrived that Friday, talk about fast! The pieces were well packed and nothing was missing or damaged. I must admit, despite the other reviews, I found this bed very easy to assemble alone, taking me about 1 hour. But I suppose depending on your skill level, the assembly experience will probably vary. Anyway, once assembled this bed becomes a very beautiful furniture piece. Solid wood of excellent quality and a very nice rich walnut finish. I have this bed in a Japanese themed room and it fits very well. If you are a fan of simple, clean design, you will not be disappointed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid wood
 from Chicago, IL,  Jun 3, 2007

Based on the awesome reviews I've been reading on this bed, I decided to go ahead and order it. Like most have said, it is a great really modern bed, a bit more of a dark reddish brown than pictured. The height where the mattress would be placed is 15" from the ground, so to place a box spring would not only be too high, but would block out a portion of the lovely head board. There are also 4 little legs in the center of the bed should there be a need for extra support. And as most people have complained about, the annoying part is putting the headboard together, but other than that, the rest was pretty straightforward, just need a electric screwdriver to screw in the slats of the platform (no pre-drilled holes). Besides carrying the 3 boxes up 2 flights of stairs (overstock left in lobby) it was an awesome first time buy!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good purchase!
 from Cleveland, OH,  Nov 30, 2010

We were looking for a reasonably priced bed for a guest room. I looked all over locally but could not find what I wanted at the right price point. Found this one, read the reviews and ordered. Very happy. Fast delivery - ordered on a Saturday, it arrived on Thursday. Good quality bed - took a bit of time to assemble but is very sturdy and very attractive. The mattress - oh wow - we ordered the 10 inch Bodipedic. For the price, under $400 for a queen size with cover, it was a great buy and it is wonderful. Our first guest slept on it this weekend and said it was super comfortable. Very pleased with service and product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed for the $$
 from Chicago, IL,  Dec 9, 2010

It was easy to assemble. I didnt think I could do this by myself... I have a hard time assembling colored blocks... let alone a bed. So if you are one of those people like me... this is the perfect bed to assemble. After it was all done... I jumped on top of the bed to test my assemby and nothing broke. Thank god. All the pieces were numbered. Leaving very little to think. I recommend this bed to anyone that hates reading directions, like me.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really good for the price
 from Canton, MI,  Oct 12, 2009

This bedframe has survived 5 moves in the past 2 years! It was made with very high quality material and construction. The wood finish is also very lovely. Don't forget to get matching night stands.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
like the look
 from Benicia, CA,  Aug 6, 2007

i like the look, it's a great value, just disappointed in the craftmanship. two of the supports weren't drilled right before I tried installing and so i don't know what to do or how long the bed will even last, since 2 of the main supports are not functional - really a bummer!! spent hours putting together but it does look beautiful. LOOK - not sure if worth the labor.. maybe mine was just faulty? I don't know..

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this bed!!!
 from Laurel, MD,  Jan 3, 2007

After I purchased this product I was really excited and even more excited when I saw the first box came two days later.. I didnt realize there were two other boxes and they all came one day after another which was fine. After reading some reviews I was alil worried about assembly but overall it wasnt that bad.. except when using the allen wrench. (VERY TEDIOUS!) once we moved past that it was great! The bed looks wonderful and I am very satisfied with the quality.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very nice looking and sturdy. Easy to assemble.
 from Queens, NY,  Sep 26, 2012

Manny reviewers have mentioned that the headboard is hard to assemble because the screw does not tighten with the hex key properly. I had somewhat different experience. I was able to tighten the screw with the key that came with it. Make sure that the area you are working in has comfortable temperature because there are several screws that need to be tighten and you do want sweaty palms to add to your work. I did use a drill for installing 12 slats and then finished tightening these screws by hand (to avoid danger of over-tightening by drill). Quality of the bed is excellent, as well as the looks. The packaging that came with it was the best I ever saw for a pc of furniture. Every parts was wrapped individually and packed tightly. The box that it came in was extremely sturdy. I used the larger ends of the box to lay over the slats as an added protection for the matteress.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly the same color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent. Very sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? highly accurate. Better looking than picture.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very very happy
 from Western MA,  Jul 25, 2012

I actually managed to put the whole thing together by myself in about 3 hours although I highly recommend 2 people working together like the directions suggest! It was a little tough balancing the sides on things while hooking them up to the head and end boards but I did it!! Also highly recommend a power screwdriver - I think doing it by hand would be painful. I'm sleeping happily on the bed - it is sturdy, beautiful and everything I needed and wanted.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
AHHH
 from Morro Bay, CA,  Jun 4, 2012

My husband put the bed together, it took four hours. My daughters helped hold the slats in place (he made a template so they would be totally accurately placed) We have a latex mattress and it required the most strength to get it onto the bed. Everybody came in to admire it. My youngest daughter asked what the grooves in the headboard were for. My husband answered "that allowed me to screw it together." He then got a very uncomfortable look when he realized that he had put the headboard on backward. It still looks GREAT and I don't mind the grooves at all.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ok
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed Frame 4/5
 from Boston, MA,  Apr 3, 2012

Bought this because I needed something that was both affordable, and that would last for a long time. I'd say that's exactly what this is. Now why 4 stars? Well there's a few minor things. The slats I got were sort of deformed, not badly to affect anything, but they were obviously made of cheap wood. Not an issue because I'm not going to be seeing them unless I'm looking for gremlins underneath my bed. Additionally, there's no pre-drill holes for the slat screws, so basically you have to measure out the width between each slat in order to get it right. As far as putting it together, it took me about 1 1/2 hours, but I'm extremely competent (didn't need instruction book). Pros: Looks great, and it's really sturdy when you tighten everything up. Cons: Slats are bit cheap, and no pre-drill holes to tell you where to put the slats.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fairly close, the color is a bit lighter than shown.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent! Actual wood!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely Frame
 from Maryland,  Dec 17, 2010

I have the high dresser (seems to be discontinued) that matches this bed frame. Living in a row house, I needed a frame that would fit up the stairs without a box spring. It was easy to put together; I propped up the side rails on little boxes while assembling the headboard to the footboard. It worked out well for me. Only problem is that the middle adjustable feet have short "feet" screws, and so even when fully unscrewed, they don't touch the floor. When I get into bed, I can hear them bounce on the hardwood floor beneath, which is somewhat unsettling. This probably won't be an issue for folks who have carpet or a thick rug, though. Still, it's lovely enough to get 5 stars from me!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid Choice
 Jun 27, 2007

We are very happy customers. The many positive reviews allowed us to order with confidence and the bed still exceeded expectations. Fast shipping, solid construction, and looks great. Assembly was pretty straightforward. We just followed the step by step instructions and it took about 1 1/2 hours to put together.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed
 from Vashon WA,  Aug 1, 2013

We love this bed, and especially the price. It's not particle board, no ordor at all. Didn't take that long to put together with two people and power tools.......but get yourself a long neck allen wrench or you'll go crazy putting in some of the screws, it can be done without one but will take a lot of time with the little one they give you. Very very solid, and the slates are not flimsy, which makes for a great platform for your bed. No movement once put together and no squeaks. We also bought the high chest of drawer and a night table.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Pretty much the same, surprisingly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid, well made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from Dallas, TX,  Jul 28, 2013

Quality wood and hardware components. Very well packed. End product is attractive, sturdy and functional. Assembly is straight forward overall. Many reviewers have issues with the assembly of the headboard using the provided allen wrench which wears out easily. My suggestion is to utilize a Phillip head screw driver (you may need to try different head sizes) to screw in the bolt as far as possible before using the allen wrench to tighten it. If the pieces are lined up properly, the screw driver can work the bolt in a long way without much resistance. I did not apply super glue to the wood pegs as mentioned In the instruction.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bed frame
 from Pensacola, FL,  Jun 20, 2013

I chose this frame for our guest bed because its shape echoes what we have in our master bedroom (which was dramatically more expensive). I'm happy with the frame. It's good quality, especially for the low cost. Wasn't too hard to put together, but did take my husband a couple hours of fiddling with parts and bolts (and difficulties getting an allen wrench into some tight spots). Easily holds up a pillow-top queen bed and boxspring, and so far has withstood the 4-year-old clambering up it and jumping on the bed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Favorably
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Decent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty good
 from Athens, GA,  May 7, 2013

Delivery - was relatively fast for being shipped in three separate boxes Assembly - I had no problems putting this together by myself. Due to a "I think I am smarter than I am" I put the headboard together incorrect and had to pry the glued pieces. My suggestion is be patient in laying out all the pieces and ensure that you avoid this. I had to dremmel out the old wooden dowels and insert new ones. After all that it went together easily. I have seen some comments about the running boards not having predrilled holes for the slats. I would suggest a power drill to put these in. Once the bed has been assembled it will be sturdy. Overall I am very pleased with the bed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color matched what I had anticipated
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 150 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Milton Chestnut Queen-size Bed
Sale $314.99
Was $349.99
(384)
Bello Walnut Cherry 7-drawer Chest
Sale $328.49
Was $364.99
(148)
Burke Queen-size Bed
Today $299.99
(3)
Boca Queen-size Bed
Today $331.99
(1)
Back to top