Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 148 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good furniture - challenging build
 from Washington, DC,  Dec 25, 2006

Very sturdy, good-looking furniture. Definitely a good value dresser that presents a lot of room for clothing, large blankets/quilts, and photo frames on top. However, it was difficult to build (and I have a great deal of experience building this type of furniture and following close attention to instructions). I question the NY reviewer who stated that it took her husband two hours to complete this build. First, this furniture assembly requires two people -- there is no way that one person can properly assemble this. You need an extra set of hands for certain parts of the build (e.g., flipping the furniture from its side after attaching the inner framework together). Second, there is no way this can be properly built in two hours. It took me a minimum of 20 minutes per drawer (assembling the drawers, rails, handle, etc.). Therefore, putting the drawers together (seven in all) took over two hours. Finally, take note of the following assembly tips -- do NOT mix up screws labelled 2 and 3 (they appear similar but are of different lengths). The shorter screws labelled '2' are for the interior rails. Second, be careful assembling the outer rails on sides B and C. The illustration on the instructions are not very clear, and it is easy to screw the outer rails in the wrong direction. Just remember that the front of side C is on the right and side B on the left. All in all, this furniture is a great deal, but do not buy this if you do not have the patience or room to put together a hefty piece of furniture (weighs approx. 150+lbs) that will take 3 to 6 hours to build.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 Jan 17, 2007

I would not have purchased this without all the other reviews, so here's my two cents... This is a somewhat heavy piece of furniture that is good looking once assembled. The color is a deep, rich brown like a dark walnut. It blends beautifully with some darker chocolate colored furniture I have. The dresser was shipped via UPS ground in 3 boxes which were packed well- no dings at all. There are many pieces (mostly drawer parts) and it IS time consuming to put together. The instructions are well written and all parts are labeled. If you take your time and approach it in an organized manner it should not be a problem. The only tools I used were a heavy-duty cordless screwdriver, a large flathead screwdriver (to tighten the camlocks), and a hammer (softened with a baseball as I didn't have a rubber mallet). As another reviewer pointed out, the inside of the drawers are particle board or something similar, as well as the back. Even so, I think this piece is well worth the price even considering the assembly time. I usually use fabric drawer liners anyway for sweaters and socks, so no big deal to me. This dresser is taller than any other I've had in the past, but that works in my favor. I like this piece so much that I plan to order another soon... it does not look like the typical do-it-yourself furniture.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice but impossible
 from Brooklyn NY,  Feb 4, 2011

We ordered two of these dressers and 2 nightstands about 3 months ago and still haven't put the last piece together yet. The first 3 took over 6 days to find the time to build. 3 hours here, 4 hours there, all day one Saturday. There are hundreds and hundreds of pieces. I don't know when we will find the time to finish the second dresser! It looks very nice. We used the wrong screws in some places and the drawers get stuck. It's our fault but it's VERY confusing. Especially the diagrams on which way the drawer sliders attach. Good luck!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Inferior Quality Wood
 from New York, NY,  Dec 17, 2007

The difficulty in assembling this chest of drawers was that some of the pieces were warped, some of the dowel posts were too big or too long for the pre-drilled holes, some of the pieces of wood actually had cracks in them. I really struggled to assemble them -- I bought two to put side by side -- and unfortunately there was no way I could make the pieces fit snuggly together, no matter how hard I pounded with a rubber mallet. As a result the top of the chest does not rest flat on on the rest of the chest. Fortunately the drawers still slide in. I was too exhausted to take it apart and send it back for a refund. It was a great looking chest in the picture, perfect size, but in reality a big disappointment.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shoddiest construction in the whole collection
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Jan 27, 2009

I have been a big fan of the Bello collection ever since I found it on Overstock. I've purchased several items in the collection over the years, including two nightstands and the tall 6-drawer chest. We needed more storage space and I looked to the 7-drawer dresser to round things out.The pieces are delivered in three separate boxes, with all items packed well. Assembly is much like the other pieces in the collection. Instructions are pretty good, although labeling of the drawer runners would make things easier. The sides and supports are thick, and the drawer bottoms and dresser back are sturdy, which makes for a solid-looking piece of furniture.Unfortunately, we had a lot of problems with assembling this particular piece of furniture. We ran out of screws to hold the drawer runners in place, something that has never happened with any item I've received from Overstock. The drawer handles aren't drilled deeply enough to accept the screws, so they are loose, and one of the handles isn't drilled at all, so we need a replacement.I could chalk it up to a lemon in the bunch; however, I also recently received another piece of very shoddy furniture to assemble, so my positive experience with Overstock is starting to sour. I hope that this trend does not continue.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bella Beautiful with a slight flaw
 from Cincinnati,  Jan 30, 2008

Yes, I must admit, while standing at a distance this Bella chest/dresser is a Beauty. Solid wood construction, predrilled holes (which one may have to reconsider... was an 1/8 " off on one drawer), precision assembling... if you read and follow directions step by step it may take up to 4 hours of your time. Take a break in between, have a cup of coffee, a cig, or a snack. Try bringing a friend over to help out. The sucker is heavy duty, but slides easily on hard wood floors. Deep drawers x4 and nice size smaller drawers x3 for linens, T's, etc. I am a plus size gal... so my plus size sweaters fit wonderfully in this generous sized chest of drawers. The width is a perfect fit in the sitting/dressing room. Yeppers, the guy who said it would work in a dinning room was right. It would look perfect in a dinning room. The style is just a conservative, traditional, basic style, which goes with a number of furnishings. I paid a friend of mine to put this together for me. He understood how to get the 1/8 off centered drawer to work. Now it slides wonderfully. I fold clothes in a militant fashion... very organized... and I was able to get 15 tanks, and 10 camisoles in one small drawer, then I was able to fold 7 plus size hooded acrylic sweaters in a larger drawer. The only reason I give this a 4 overall rating was because buying from overstock I find there products are flawed in almost everything I purchase. I expect it actually. This is the reason for discontinued items and mark downs. I have enjoyed my purchases tho. I like to save money and instead of buying a similiar product (chest) for almost 2000 dollars I opted for this one. GLAD I DID!! The same was when I purchased a bed and mattress set. A little flaw, no problem to solve. I love those pieces too. The camera tho... no flaw at all. If you love beauty with a small price tag, and have patience... GO FOR IT!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice dresser
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Nov 9, 2007

Looks great and well put together. It is a little taller than I imagined. I have read reviews saying this was very difficult to put together, but I had no problem. I did it by myself within 2 hrs. If I had no breaks I could have it done within 1 hr to 1.5 hrs.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hard build, but good solid piece
 from Massachusetts,  Apr 15, 2012

We bought a second bello walnut chest to match one bought 3 years ago. Still a tedious build, but with care and time, and two people at certain points, it is worth it. We would not have bought a second had the first not stood the test of time. Our first delivery had broken prices, but after some explanation, replacements were shipped. All we would say is that for some reason the drawers did not fit in th carcass well. Thankfully for us, moving drawers between our original and new pieces we were able to get both to work well. Beautiful and solid, and having already had one for 3+ years, we know they stand up to daily use. Glad we have our bedroom complete ( own 2 nightstands and bed as well as the 2 chests).

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good, but....
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Scratches super easily--drawer rollers not smooth.
 from Marshfield, WI,  Jan 24, 2013

Not very high quality. Item arrived in fair condition--top was scuffed and some finish blemished on facing pieces (like stain hadn't completely soaked in). Disappointing, since other reviews were very good. Piece is sizable and looks OK for a place-holder in a room, but I have a big feeling that the unit will not stand the test of time. Can store things--but probably not very much or very heavy--because the rollers are all crummy and the drawers are so thinly constructed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is darker. Site looked chestnut- while unit is more towards espresso.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Iffy. Very thin drawer components, nearly cardboard back, low quality handles, roller mechanisms for drawers crummy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? OK
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Matched other bedroom set oerfectly!
 from Reno, NV,  Aug 8, 2012

This isn't any easier to put together than any other furniture, but i can tell you that it is worth it! Its sturdy and beautiful. The assembly was.nt too bad. The directions are clear and concise. This product is like many others iI have purchased from O..co and I think it easily competes with regular furniture stores.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I have become a huge fan of the 'rubberwood' products I have purchased from Overstock.com, It is so strong and once assembeled, its sturdy enough to be moved multiple times without challenging its structural integrity, I have come tonlovecany and all rubberwood products!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dresser
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Mar 27, 2011

This was a *** to put together. It took two of us, five hours. I will never order another dresser that has to be put together. I have another negative comment is that the drawers will fall out, if pulled halfway out. I've never had any complaints about any other Overstock furniture that I've purchased. This, while it looks nice and is sturdy, is far from my favorite. I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Furniture
 from Washington DC,  Jul 21, 2010

We purchased the whole bedroom suite (2 dressers, 2 nightstands and headboard) over a year ago and LOVE IT! it is extremely durable, looks beautiful and we consistently get compliments that our bedroom looks like it is a spa or hotel suite. Would highly recommend!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
my kids dresser
 from bronx, new york,  Nov 15, 2008

I bought this dresser for my kids room two weeks ago, and its the best piece i've ever seen. Very time comsuming, but worth it. I love and would recommend this piece to anyone.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice piece
 from upstate, ny,  Jun 18, 2008

i bought this as a matching set to the high dresser and two side tables...once they are together they are impressive and look high quality. however, they are not 100% wood so be aware of that. the insides of the drawers and backs of piece(s) are all pressed board...which is really disappointing. Still a good value and they look great. there are way too many pieces when putting together which makes it a litte confusing ... and it take a while to put together.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice and sturdy
 Jun 9, 2008

This is a nice and sturdy piece of furniture. As others have noted, it takes a while to put together. A few better pictures on the instruction sheet would go a long way in avoiding any rail issues. Took about 5 hours overall with a good helper that brought me beer and food.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for the Spare Room
 from Central, Pa,  Dec 28, 2007

I felt the assembly Instructions were quite sufficient compared to some stuff I've assembled over the years. The quality of the assembly hardware was perfect for this product...even the anodized aluminum pulls. The only complaint I had was a lack of pre-drilling certain internal components, making a framing square or clamps a necessity for proper alignment of the drawers. Overall this is a very good, well packaged, well identified product...just not quite 5 stars.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
jason
 from santa barbara, ca,  Dec 23, 2007

Nice looking - but took 6 hours to put together. Not worth the time.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, We Love Our New Bedroom Set
 from Rancho Mirage, CA,  Oct 31, 2007

We purchased both the Queen Bed and 7 drawer chest. They both arrived without a scratch or dent. My husband put both together without assitance. The bed took him 3 hours and the chest of drawers 5 +. Would have taken less time if his battery operated screwdriver had not ran out. (Tip: have a 2nd one charged and ready to take over) The instructions were ok but could have been more detailed. After installing all the drawer slides and putting a drawer in place, he found they were all upside down. The walnut cherry color and contemporary style mixes well with a few antique bedroom pieces we have. Excellent value!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not So Hard, But it Takes Time
 from New York,  Oct 27, 2007

There's nothing really difficult about the assembly, particularly if you're not new to this sort of thing and you go slow. There are a *lot* of screws as other commentators have noticed. Obviously, read the directions. I did have help, but I think one man can put it together. I'd say 5-6 hours, but it depends on your experience and the equipment (like a cordless screwdriver).

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful dresser
 from Salt Lake City,  Oct 25, 2007

Love it! Loveit! Love it! Nice quality. Stunning contemporary design.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 148 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top