Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 32 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Nice futon and mattress set!
 from New Hampshire,  Jan 12, 2013

I'm very happy with the look and quality of this futon. I put it together mostly by myself; just needed help when it came time to put the decking into the frame. The mattress that comes with it seems to be good quality with a nice suede type covering. It seems a shame to cover it up with a futon cover, but I did that just to protect it. We use this futon as a couch/bed for the guest bedroom. Love the all wood construction and it converts easily from a couch to a bed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better than Ikea
 from Bradenton, Florida,  Jul 26, 2013

The unit is made of good quality materials, but the darker stain finish on the wood comes off easily/scatches easily, especially upon assembly, revealing a much lighter color wood underneath.. I tried to cover some of the scrathes with furniture wax of the same color and it actually removed some of the finish, so repair of damage or scrathes to the wood is not possbile to my knowledge. The unit is sturdy, comfortable, easy to pull out into a bed, but again, the durability of the finish make this a unit that should be just looked at rather than used. Also, if you are six feet or taller in height, this unit will be uncomfortable.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive review title
 from Brevard, North Carolina,  Jun 23, 2013

I cannot be more enthusiastic over an online order. This futon is even better than I had hoped for. It came in 3 large boxes which the UPS driver delivered to my home and I then spent about 5 hours totally in 2 days assembling it. The only tool needed was an allen wrench which was included in parts package.Following the wonderfully clear instructions, step by step, I put it together by myself. I only needed my wife to help me with mattress placement at the very end. Is comfortable in sitting, reclining and lying down positions and the wood finish and futon material and color excellent. I highly recommend this futon and we have received many compliments from those who have seen it in our cabin in the mountains. I would not hesitate to order from Overstock.com in the future.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. more than even expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice product!
 from Westford, VT,  Oct 31, 2012

This is a great addition to our house and is already living up to the standards and expectations we had for it. My husband put it together in about 2 hours with no problems. We bought a cover for it because we have pets and want to preserve the actual mattress. It has a full size mattress which I don't think is in the product description.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect match.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good, solid futon. Works as our main couch in the house.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Oak Futon Frame and mattress.
 from New Braunfels, TX,  Oct 26, 2012

Very nice futon frame. Sturdy and good quality. You need 2 people to put it all together. The mattress is comfortable, but I didn't care for the dark brown suede material. Bought the "Elegant Ribbed Futon Cover" from Overstock which fits perfectly and looks great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate. It is dark brown.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Frame is very heavy, solid wood. Great quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy, comfortable and attractive
 from La Crosse, WI,  Jul 17, 2014

This futon is the perfect fit for our front sunroom/guest bedroom. It makes a very comfortable couch when not folded out built out of a pretty solid wood and good quality futon. It also doesn't have the super clunky look of some futons. It did take me several hours to assemble, and a few of the steps were missing in the instructions (inserting wooden dowels at several junctures) but if you take your time, shouldn't be a problem. There weren't "literally thousands" of pieces like someone else mentioned, but there were quite a few--maybe 120-150? All in all, I recommend this futon.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

It took quite a while to get the frame together. Then when we put the mattress on it, we had a little trouble getting the mattress to stay in the upright position to sit on it. When we got up, the mattress would fall back into a sleeping position. We finally got the frame to stay in the groove to keep it upright.. It looks nice in our room, and our grandson, 13, gives it a thumbs up after a week sleeping on it!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This Futon is fabulous!
 from Lewes, DE,  Jun 4, 2014

I love my new futon. It looks great, excellent quality, rich looking. Eight inch spring filled mattress / seat is wonderful. Good sleeping and good seating as well. It was EASY to put together, I did it by myself until I needed help to put the slat pieces on the frame. I highly recommend this futon. Great piece for the price.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beli mont futon
 from Racine, WI,  Apr 5, 2014

Took my husband 2 1/2 hours to put together. Instructions were missing from the boxes. He had to go to the Kodiak website and download them in order to put the product together. Instructions were somewhat vague--definitely room for improvement. Very nice looking futon. Quality is good. Takes 2 people to lift from flat back up to seating position--mechanism works a little rough. Overall decent for our use. Would recommend.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome product.
 from Way up in the mountains, Montana,  Mar 28, 2014

Goes together easily. The holes line up and the wood is crafted beautifully. The futon is comfortable to sit on and sleep on. Goes from couch to bed in a snap. What else could you want in a futon!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect!
 from Upstate NY,  Feb 25, 2014

Easy to put together....well made....exactly what I was looking for!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice futon for a reasonable price
 from Indianapolis, IN,  Dec 24, 2013

Fairly easy to put together, although you will probably need two people for some steps.. Color coded dots helped match the parts. Looks very nice. The mattress is comfy--not too firm or too squishy. The "wood buttons" to cover some holes were missing, but they were promptly sent separately after I reported the problem.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this futon sofa!
 from Little Rock, AR,  Dec 3, 2013

The quality is better than I had anticipated. Lovely wood, and wood looks so much nicer than metal for a frame. Assembly was not difficult, either. Mechanically this easily flattens into a bed. The futon itself is thicker and more comfortable than I had expected. I don't like terribly soft sofas and beds, so this is just right. The high back gives my head and neck something to rest on. This is the first furniture purchase I have made online, and I am delighted. Nothing similar is available at retail stores in the area.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the futon!
 from West Virginia,  Nov 21, 2013

Wonderful, comfortable couch/bed. The only negative comment is the directions are difficult to follow. It took 2 of us to put together. Love the color and comfort!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Comfy and attractive!
 from Peoria, IL,  Jun 19, 2013

Very nice looking with an accurate description and photo. I put it together myself and you should know upfront, it has quite a lot of slats and screws! Besides prompting a fight with my husband, I persevered and completed the assembly myself with the assistance of an electric screwdriver. The fabric is on the thin side and somehow I inadvertently slit a teeny hole in it while manhandling the thing but a few stitches later, it was back in action. My stepson sleeps on it when he visits and if the hours he sleeps is any indication of its comfort, it is extremely comfortable!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is the same as in the photo.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Nice quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Assembly Instructions Need Spiffing Up
 from Ocala, Fl,  Jun 14, 2013

Had two issues. 1, The directions were not as clear as they should be. 2, One of slats on the "deck" was mounted backwards, this required me to remove the support straps and reverse the slat and reattach the straps. Other than that we are very happy with the product, the cushion is very comfortable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product get a 90% on quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon
 from Columbia, MD,  Jun 13, 2013

The product itself was excellent. The instructions were mind-numbingly awful. There were about 2 dozen wooden slats but only 2/3 of them had numbers to identify what they were and where they went. I had to assemble and disassemble the back and seat at least 3 times before I got everything in the right place.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes it did.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Futon.
 from Riverside, California,  May 7, 2013

Bought for my daughter when she moved out. needed a bed but didn't have a lot of room. Fuiton fits perfect in her nest and gives her the full sized bed she needs. Assembly required, but my daughter and I put it together within an hour. easy to follow instructions made the job simple. She loves her bed and that's all we needed to hear from her. The only down side is there is not a lot of room underneath for storage when the bed is in couch mode.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? right on the money
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. solid so far
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Most comfortable mattress on a futon ever
 from Reno, NV,  Apr 26, 2013

It weighs a ton (which is a good thing once it's put together). Assembly required plenty of floor space but the parts were carefully marked and directions were clear. I did it by myself, but help would have been nice. it's very comfortable in sitting position, as well as to sleep on.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. nice hardwoods and heavy cover. great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Superior Product At a Great Price
 from North Bellmore, NY,  Apr 17, 2013

Just purchased this futon for my son's bedroom which we converted into a TV room after he movied away. My girlfriend and put it together in about 2 1/2 hours but it's definitely a 2 person job since the heavy duty mattress weighs over 50 lbs.and one person must hold parts together while the 2nd person screws them in. All the parts that were supposed to be in the bag were there and the instructions were easy to understand. It is very comfortable and well built. We're using it as a couch for the TV room and it's also very comfortable when converted to a bed so I have nothing but positive things to say about my purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It was very well contstructed and meets all our needs
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It was completely accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 32 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top