Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 41-55 of 55 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Kitchen beautiful
 from Chicago, IL,  Apr 30, 2010

I renov my kitchen and on a very tight budget. One of the much needed items to be replaced was the light fixture. I have this light fixture hanging over the table and not only is it an ideal place for it but the light it gives off is perfect. In addition, EVERYONE comments on how pretty it is. I am thrilled w/ the price & the simplicity of the fixture. I would recommend this to anyone who needs a fixture that is simple yet a beautifully domineering fixture to any room.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Lamp
 from Chicago, IL,  Apr 24, 2010

I purchased this chandelier for over my kitchen table which has vaulted ceilings. The chandelier was received quickly (within 5 business days) and came in perfect condition. The shade is definitely ivory not white. It comes assembled and was extremely easy to install (my husband and I are not handy). Great purchase and it looks great!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good for the price
 from Denver, CO,  Apr 18, 2010

We just installed the light fixture yesterday. It came well-packaged and clean. The installation was a simple 2-person job. The most time consuming part was threading the electrical through the chain once we decided how many links we needed to get it to the right overall height. The style is versatile. We are reworking a 1950s home w/ mod & contemporary finishes. The simple neutral fabric is good looking as are the chrome accents. The chain length was sufficient and we were able to swag the fixture to get it centered in the dining space. My only complaint is the lens. It is cheap looking and not well cut. One half of the lens hangs out of the bottom by about a 1/4 of an inch and the other half is tucked nicely inside. It is very distracting. We will have to rig something up to snug it up inside the edge. For the price, I would be hard-pressed to find another drum fixture of that diameter, depth and level of finish. With a little adjustment, it will look better.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good looking lamp
 from San Jose, CA,  Apr 13, 2010

I love how this looks in my kitchen over my dark table. Gives it a retro yet modern look. However, when we hung it, then took off the plastic wrap over the shade, I noticed a dent in it. (Ugh) Decided to just leave it and not return ... no one notices it, but I will probably change out the shade later.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
For the Guest Room
 Apr 10, 2010

I purchased this light for a guest room. The color of the shade is a light beige and a nice size for a bedroom with 8' ceiling. The quality is very good. We added a 17" ceiling medalion and it looks terrific. My husband said it was easy to install.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
just what we were looking for
 from SF, CA,  Apr 8, 2010

. . . but half the price! The drum chandelier was just as pictured (but definitely I'd say it's more cream than beige) and described by others in reviews. It's the perfect size for our square shaped dining room and not too casual, not too formal. it's pretty basic and simple looking, so it doesn't draw much attention. It's got a small wall mount and the chain adds a bit of texture but not too attention grabbing. The wiring and chain were super long for our regular height ceiling, so should work great if you have higher ceilings, but were easy to cut and take out a bunch of rings. We've got it wired to a dial dimmer and it works great with that too. we looked at similar versions at C&B and the like and they were about 2x the price, so very happy to have this one!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
For the Price
 from Santa Barbara, CA,  Apr 6, 2010

I really like the look of this retro-style "chandelier" but it is not high quality. The one we received had some small defects: the fabric has a small crimp on one edge and the diffuser has a few small dark spots on the edge, which we managed to hide. However, I love the color of the shade which is more of yellowed white than beige (matches our antique white walls). I also like the size, not too big or small. It makes a nice mellow light and is understated elegance, if you like the style.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Oustanding Value
 from Boston, Ma,  Apr 6, 2010

This retro light fixtures added a whole new fresh look to my dining room. I love the simplicity and how the shade picks up the colors in the room. I've received many compliments on it and would highly recommend it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fabric Chandelier
 from Utica, MI,  Mar 28, 2010

We bought this light for our spare bedroom. We found a similar fixture in a lighting store for about 3 times the price. Easy to install, delivered promptly, we couldn't be happier. We have since ordered two more lights from overstock and are equally pleased.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Quality, Bad Color.
 from Chicago, IL,  Mar 24, 2010

I love the light except for the color. It is off white, not a natural tan as I was hoping. The light seems to be good quality with a difuser and ring accent on the bottom. I have 3 60 watt bulbs and it provides a somewhat dim moodly lighting.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
light fixture
 Mar 18, 2010

The fixture arrived very quickly, but as one reviewer remarked, the installation directions were nearly non-existent. However, if you have previously installed a hanging light fixture, you should be able to figure it out. The shade itself was covered in cellophane which I left on until the fixture was in place to protect it; however, this was a mistake because when I took the protective covering off, the shade was slightly dished in in two places. I was VERY disappointed and didn't want to ask my husband to take it down so I am living with it. For the reasonable price, I guess I got what I paid for. If you buy this product, or any light fixture with a soft shade, take off the cellophane in order to inspect the condition of the shade before you install it is my advice.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Modern Retro
 from Key West, FL,  Mar 11, 2010

This lamp is perfect for us. We wanted a "retro" look over our dining table, but not a '70s or '80s thrift-shop look. What makes this piece retro is the swag chain and the lampshade. What makes it modern is the combination of the two; plus, the chain is updated to chrome with smaller, more delicate links than the old-fashioned swag chains. The light is beautifully diffused and perfect for hanging over a dining table. We put ours on a dimmer which works especially well. The only negative thing about the lamp is that it comes wired, but the cord and the ground wire are simply run alongside the chain from the lamp to the ceiling cap. To avoid rewiring the electrics, we had to pull apart the links of the chain to thread the cord and ground wire through, then put the links back together. This is a pain and could damage the chain. But ours came out looking wonderful and we love it. It's also not a problem if you plan to cover the chain

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 from New York, NY,  Mar 2, 2010

This light was just the right size for my foyer. Adjustable chain, shiny hardware. Hard shiny plastic clear white diffuser (you don't see the light bulbs when standing underneath). The shade is actually what I would call Ivory, and very classy. Nice pinkish glow when light is on. I would buy again. Nicely priced. Similar fixture found locally costs over $250.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
has the special things
 Feb 13, 2010

Really love this chandelier! Has all the special things I was looking for such as chrome (not gold) chain links to be able to swag over the table plus the fabric shade along with having a defuser on the bottom. This chandelier is a very nice fixture and as always Overstock had the best price for all the special things I was looking for in a chandelier.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE IT!!
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Nov 7, 2009

We had been looking for a drum shade light fixture on a chain for above our kitchen table for a while now and couldn't find anything we liked until I spotted this one - and it was just under our budget. We were pleasantly suprised when the light arrived with a diffuser (we didn't see any mention of it in the description, and were told by customer service that it didn't have one, so we decided that wasn't a deal breaker for us). It came nearly fully assembled and was really easy to hang. I would say the color is more cream than beige, but it works perfectly with our decor - definitely makes the room more modern. In our kitchen area it swags to a hook, and the only downside is that the chain is just a link or two short to make it look like a more natural swag, but we adjusted by hanging the light a little higher. The round finial at the bottom arrived with a bit of sticky tape-type gunk on it and needed some minor cleaning, but nothing significant. The round finial also looks a bit more of a 'hammered' metal than a smooth metal; however, it's not anything that you would readily notice as it is fairly minor. We love it so much that now I'm searching for another one just like it, but larger, for over our dining room table.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 41-55 of 55 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top