Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 22 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
company service to product is almost non-existant!
 from Beaverton, Oregon,  Apr 9, 2013

I bought this heater one year ago. After just this one year the heat output started going WAY down - barely putting out any heat at all. I tried to contact the parent company FOUR TIMES because I have a complete 3 year parts and labor warranty. They NEVER answered my e-mails - AT ALL! When I called, they said the heater could only be fixed under warranty if I mailed it 25 lb. heater back to them AT MY COST, and they'd take a look at it. BUT, they said they'd have to get back to me before I attempted anything. They never got back and never answered any more e-mails. So, after I bought ANOTHER heater of a different brand, of course, I decided to take the damn thing apart myself, considering it a total loss anyway. When I took it apart, I found FOUR of the six infrared tubes were burned out (with a 40,000 hr life - each!). But they hadn't JUST burned out. They had actually melted the connecting wires that led to the tubes, telling me that it could have actually started a house fire. The manufacturer claimed that they are a great "American family business" and proud of what they build and sell - yet would not stand behind the heater when I had the problems. I've subsecuently given the heater to my brother who likes to dabble in electronics to see if he can fix it. But I'll NEVER, EVER buy one of these CRAPPY heaters OR deal with the Bear Heater Manufacturing Company EVER again!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color matched well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality of heater was fine - for ONE YEAR ONLY!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? site description was fine
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So far so good!!
 from Southwestern, Montana,  Nov 1, 2011

Seems to work really well. We have not had the super cold weather yet. So, the true test will be when the sub zero temps hit. We had it on last night and it got too hot in our poorly insulated bedroom (I think it was 32 last night). We have a very large bedroom with electric wall heaters; we don't like them very much. Satisfied overall with the appearance , sound and out put of this heater. Not so much with the built in thermostat; doesn't seem to work like other thermostats I have used. Satisfied with the cost as we are renters and can take it will us when we move. Wondering what our power bill will look like this month.....

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Darker.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Looked cheap at first. Maybe because wooden heater is unexpected (in general). I knew what I had purchased; I did my research before buying.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Expeced more heat
 from Texas,  Jan 21, 2012

With six heating elements inside, I really expeced more than luke warm air coming out even on high heat setting. I own other brands of these same kind of heaters, all with better heat output.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Heavy enough
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't buy this
 from Chicago, IL,  Jan 28, 2013

I bought this unit Jan 2012 used it a few nights. This year the weather in Chicago quite warm till last couple of weeks ago. I turned on the unit and it gave me error. When I called Bear, they told me to try some of the steps but none work. The unit is under warranty but they told me I have to ship the unit back to them on my own expense which will cost me another $50. I would think Bear will take responsibility on their defective unit. This turn out to be more expensive than I bought a heater from local store.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very poor
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bear Infrared Heater
 from Pittsburgh, pa,  Jan 25, 2012

This little heater really keeps our back room and bathroom warm & cozy. We are using it to replace a natural gas heater. Our first gas nill and electric bill will be interesting.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Comfortable and affordable heat!
 from Newbury, NH,  Jan 3, 2012

We received the Bear Infrared Heater and used it to heat a single bedroom for our last daughter. This allows us to keep the other two bedrooms cold as all are on the same zone. Our daughter likes the heat from the infrared heater more than the central baseboard heat. We couldn't be happier!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very well built with quick heating of rooms. Looks and feels good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great little device
 from Southern California,  Dec 3, 2011

We are very happy with this purchase. It heats up our 400 square foot park model quickly and keeps it warm in our So Cal cool nights.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy and quiet and very nice looking.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Heating elements went bad
 from Nashville, TN,  Jan 1, 2013

We have had the heater for almost a year. Last week I noticed it was not heating as much as it used to. I took it apart and did an inspection. It is wired with three sets of two elements chained together. Two of the 6 heating elements had broken. This left the unit heating with only two elements. The case looks nice and everything else has worked fine, but our cheap little ceramic heaters produce just as much heat, are several years older and cost a lot less.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bear Heater
 from 47905,  Oct 4, 2014

Still running great Great buy!!!!!!!! I plan on getting another heater this year.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it, makes the room nice & toasty quick!
 from Acushnet, MA,  Oct 14, 2013

I love this heater. It makes the room nice and toasty within minutes. I have not turned my furnace on yet. I would recommend this to anyone that wants to save on oil or gas. It also never gets really hot to touch. I would recommend this feature to anyone that has pets or children. It is also very quiet. It has a remote which is very nice and a built in thermostat so you can set the temperature. This heater is awesome!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bear Heaters Infrared Heater
 from Washington State,  Aug 8, 2013

Use it as main heat in the winter. Usually on the lowest watt usage. Works great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Same
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
radiant space heater
 from buckingham, va.,  Apr 26, 2013

problem with the manufacturer and warranty. just over a year old and they want me to pay to ship it back,$$ and insure it $$ and that is almost what i paid for it. not happy with the service at all, weak... trying to trouble shoot it and fix it myself.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. weak fan
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fair
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bear Heaters
 from Michigan,  Nov 23, 2012

Very happy with this heater. This is the third one I have bought! First one last year for Florida home where my daughter stays. Tile floors so is needed in winter months. I did a lot of research on these before ordering that one. I feel the Bear name is very trusted and made in the US. Other one for other daughter last year at Christmas. Both of those are in the black - which is a very nice looking piece of furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Nice
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Haven't read lately.. but a quality product!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bear heater
 from Shelbyville IL,  Nov 3, 2012

Great looking cabinet and very quiet. Hasn't been too cold yet, but the few times we've used it it's worked as it should. Very satisfied.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor performance
 from Grants Pass, Oregon,  May 25, 2012

Either the instructions are wrong to set the thermostat or the unit will not meet the setting parameters. Tried to set the temperature at 76 degrees for a well insulated living area of about 800 square feet but for one, when the attempt was made to lock the unit in at the desired temperature and have it hold, the indicator would drop down to room temperature and starting at a 65 degree temp the room never exceeded 72 degrees. Additionally, the unit will not turn off by using the on/off switch; the unit must be unplugged. It is going to be banished to a small, downstairs bedroom for occasional use and another brand tried in the living area. Wasted money.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It didn't. Site shows oak, received cherry.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Furniture quality case and casters. Poor controls and performance.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Did not perform as described and the case color was differenct.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bear Heaters Infared Heater
 from Rancho Palos Verdes, CA,  Mar 24, 2012

Does a nice job heating the dining area which is on the north side of the house. Easy to move it to the adjacent family room. The two story townhome needed more heat downstairs since heat from the furnace rises to the second level.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love This Heater
 from Fresno, CA,  Mar 23, 2012

I have been using this heater for a couple months. I love being able to heat just the room I'm in, instead of the whole house. It works great and looks like a piece of furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is the same.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. So far, so good!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice!!!
 from plain city ohio,  Mar 13, 2012

highly recommend this heater to any one looking to have a nice piece of furniture that is functional

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. some of the best i have sean
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? spot on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic Heater, Buying a Second One!
 from January in Michigan,  Jan 9, 2012

Since our home is cement block with siding and drywall coverage, it tends to hold moisture and dampness, so this little heater, with its infrared technology is awesome for keeping specific areas incredibly cozy, since it takes the warm air from the interior walls and converts it to warmer air circulating it onto the exterior walls. Major Bonus: We have two very small children, 15 months and 3yrs, which bump it, lean on it and even push it without a single burn or any kind of damage to the product! I've yet to see a current electric bill, but I must say the furnace doesn't even budge when the heater is on, so if we come out on the positive end between the Electric bill and Gas, we have decided we're going to purchase a second unit, that's how much we adore this item! The only reason for 4 stars over 5 is the fact that for it to function the most efficiently, the directions state it should be backed to an interior wall facing an exterior wall. This of course is difficult to do without rearranging some things, so that it can be in a very central area of the home, at least for the layout of our home. However, That is so minimal in comparison to the benefits of this item!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent-Love that it is REAL wood, instead of plastic like most we researched
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works well
 from PA,  Jan 3, 2012

Works well, and costs much less than the other big name brand. It's the same technology, just minus the big brand name. Seriously they are just infrared light bulbs wrapped in copper tubes with a thermostat and a fan. Not a huge technological miracle, they would lead you to believe it is however. I have it in a large "great room" if you will, large living room with vaulted ceilings and a dining room. It does keep the room warm, but I can't see turning the thermostat for the whole house down. I can see my electric bill going up so I think I will give this back to my mom. For use in a bedroom, or any small/medium sized room I think it will work great! Just in my particular application, I think I'll stick with my wood burning fireplace. Great product tho, don't buy the Schmeden Schmure, get the Bear!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 22 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought