Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 21 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good Solid Construction
 from Massachusetts,  May 7, 2013

This is a great dutch oven, the perfect size for a big stew or roast. Seasoning was a breeze - very little smoke and no byproducts from the iron (which I've smelled from other ovens in the past) when you bring it up to 450. My only complaint is really minor, but when the handle is down, it's just a little too short, so you have to move it out of the way in order to get the lid on or off. Other than that, it has really solid construction, and I look forward to using it for many years to come! P.S. for those who are getting one, and need to season it, there's a lot of (faulty) information available. The included instructions are insufficient to get a really good seasoned pan. I promise I'm not affiliated with this person at all, here's the link that I found that has given me the best seasons ever: http://sherylcanter.com/wordpress/2010/01/a-science-based-technique-for-seasoning-cast-iron/

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bayou classis dutch oven
 from No. MN,  Mar 13, 2013

This cooker seems very nice and perfect for frying fish over and outdoor cooker, the basket however, is aluminum so we will NOT be using that as we don't like the fact that aluminum leaves deposits in our food and then the brain, will use a stainless steel basket we had that just fits! I can see it would be great for use at the shack too, making beans or stew.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It's cast iron, only one thing to expect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice product
 from Northern California,  Mar 20, 2013

Nice, heavy duty dutch oven, not cheaply made. Will work for many different meals!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality, not cheap looking or feeling
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect size for large family
 from Pittsburg, CA,  Dec 23, 2011

This dutch oven was just what our large family was looking for. Very well crafted and heavy cast iron. Would have been nice if it was pretreated, but on the other hand my husband is having a lot of fun treating it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Nice craftsmenship, very heavy duty cast iron.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurtate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from Pagosa Springs, CO,  Nov 15, 2011

I have another one and love it and got this one to have a much bigger Dutch oven. Made cobbler last night and it was awesome! Chicken wrapped in foil came out really good, too, using coals on the top and bottom. Suggest buying the book 101 Things To Do With A Dutch Oven (Overstock has it) to really understand all that you can do with a Dutch oven.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Heavy duty!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect over hot fires
 from VA,  Jan 28, 2014

It claims to be preseasoned; however, it didn't seem that seasoned. A few trips through the oven with some canola, all is well. A perfect cast iron for use on the Big Green Egg!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I,bought this for a freind for the Holidays ,He love it,the best Cast Iron oven he could ever have..He all so has the Pans he loves them.He said its the best gift he could ever have.I recremend .

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for feeding a crowd!
 from California,  Jan 17, 2014

I plan to use this for camping over an open fire! It is heavier than expected, so I will need a strong person to lift it when full of food! I am very pleased with this huge Dutch oven I have purchased many things from Overstock and saved money doing so! Before making any purchase, check out Overstock first!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Pan
 from SC,  Feb 6, 2013

This is a great pan if you need something huge. It is very heavy. It is also very rough. It is perfect for soups, stews, chicken & dumplins or anything else you need to make for a crowd.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality, but rough.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was fair
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE THIS
 Aug 22, 2015

BORN & RAISED IN NOLA, THIS PRICE WAS AWESOME & I LOVE IT 10 STARS **********

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Good for everything, soup, stew and especially chicken wings!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for Outdoors
 Apr 21, 2015

This cast iron cooker is great for outdoors cooking and was seasoned very well.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it
 Apr 4, 2015

Wonderful cast iron Dutch oven. Great quality.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great dutch oven
 from Austin, TX,  Dec 29, 2014

Very large and reasonably priced dutch oven which is what I was looking for to cook stews and soups. The handle seems in the way and not necessary, but I can work around it. I cooked a large soup in it and the flavor was great. My husband felt it needed some extra seasoning, because the seasoning layer was thin and not very effective. He went ahead and seasoned it more after our first use. Overall, though, we really like it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I like it. I like it fine.
 from Suburban Chicago,  Aug 12, 2014

Just given My own, to date, cursory inspection of the merchandise, it certainly does appear as if I have received full and fair market value (and then some) within the context of Free Market economics for the sum of money that I paid in order to secure custody of this item. That is ALL that I EVER require from any merchant, from whom I purchase anything on this planet especially by virtue of the fact that I have NO right t expect ANYTHING more than that on this planet OR ELSE "there will be NO '(REAL) Peace'" on this planet.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from Fort Worth, Tx,  May 20, 2014

I am enjoying using this pot. It is the perfect size. I look for something else to cook so that I can use it again. Absolutely love this!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good value and quality
 from Chicago suburb,  Oct 16, 2013

bayou classic is a good name rather than so many with a store name. Unique quality and size. Thanks

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice Basket
 from Reno, NV,  Dec 22, 2012

Very nice product for the price. Quick delivery...

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot on.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very durable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
She's Beautiful!
 from Ogdensburg, NY,  Nov 19, 2012

Aside from almost breaking my back bringing the box into my house I am elated. This pot is beautiful. Heats evenly, I don't have to fear scrubbing the bottom too hard when I clean it. It's a dream.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is exactly as pictured.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Site description was accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Deal
 from Philadelphia,  Mar 2, 2012

If you look in the kitchen stores these are selling for $400.00 It is a great deal for the money!!!!!!!!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 21 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought