Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
Get Ready For Memorial Day
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Assembly Required
 May 11, 2016

I purchased this for my husband whose new hobby is home brewing beer. This Kettle is excellent quality- thick stainless steel. The only issue was that the thermometer and spigot had to be inserted. I would recommend, after installing the thermometer and spigot, test for leaks with water in the pot. We started to brew only to have to empty the pot and reseal the spigot.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? n/a
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OK for the price, not all the pieces work
 Nov 18, 2015

The pot is of decent construction. The metal is thinner than some of the competition out there, but this pot is also often sold much cheaper and includes more options. My pot arrived nicely double boxed. It had one small dent that did not alter the function in any way that did not bother me. But the false bottom does not fit the pot. The handles extend too far past the edge of the false bottom preventing it from sitting level in the pot. It will work if you remove the handles. It appears to be a bayou classic mfr problem as they attempted to send me a replacement false bottom and it suffered from the same problem. Other items to note that others mention. Yes everything is covered in a thick machining oil that needs to be removed. I cleaned this pot with oxyclean and a scrubbing pad and had no problem removing the grease. The handles are welded on, but it they did cut a grove into the handles so that the weld would penetrate better. So the handles may not be as strong as riveted handles, but they do have tried to make the weld strong. The thermometer, screen, valve are nice. The pot bend when opening and closing the valve. I would consider buying this again without the false bottom and a lower price. At the end of the day the quality is lower than much of the competition...but the price is also much lower. If you buy this pot expect to throw out the false bottom, or modify the handles or replace them with fishing line. I attempted to communicate with Bayou Classic and they were unresponsive. Overstock customer support was great through. It took about a week to resolve my issues, but they kept in contact. I ended up keeping the pot and I will eventually attempt to modify the handles of the false bottom or remove them.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great brew kettle for the money!
 from New Jersey,  Jun 13, 2014

I have been upgrading my equipment since getting into home brewing. While I've done all grain, I am focusing on extract brewing. This pot allows me to keep everything in one place and eliminates all lifting or moving of the wort. Plus, the thermometer allows me to keep an eye on things easily. After dropping in the wort chiller and cooling, I can add the required water and use the spigot to drain to a fermenter. Simple as can be. The pot is much heavier than my prior one and has a solid, 5mm thick aluminum plate which helps distribute heat evenly. Very well made!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Larry R.
 Mar 2, 2016

just right size for me to make homebrew

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Brew Kettle
 Dec 24, 2015

Just right for a full 5 gal boil...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great brew kettle for grain-only brewing
 Sep 7, 2015

Got this for my husband for his birthday. He loves it. The false bottom and integrated thermometer make this setup perfect for all-grain brewing. Good quality kettle at fifty dollars less than I could find it anywhere else. Highly recommend.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best value for your $$$
 from Beerville, TX,  Jan 12, 2015

I don't think you can find a better brew kettle for the money. I was expecting something a bit thinner, but this is a very nice quality pot, especially considering that it comes with the 1/2 ball valve, thermometer, bazooka screen, and false bottom. It feels sturdy, even when full. The description didn't mention it, but the bottom is also a welded on triclad which is perfectly flat, so it should work with induction stoves and should help prevent scorching. The weldless fittings worked well and I had it waterproof after a few minor adjustments to the seals. I recommend filling it to near the top with water to test and ensure you have them adjusted properly so you don't waste any wort. I know there are better kettles out there, but not for under $200 bucks. The ball valve does reek of some type of grease, but after a good soaking in hot water and then running two pots worth of hot water and soap through it with it cracked half way open, it seems to have gotten all of the machining/packing grease out of it (you must do this before cooking with it or your wort will get contaminated!!!!).

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Problem with the ball valve and losuy assembly ins
 from DC,  Nov 11, 2014

Have to agree with james5786, the ball valve had to be replaced. Could not get the greasy smell out and was afraid to brew with it. The assembly instructions are just a sheet of pictures. Googled how to assemble the spigot, finally got it tight. Good product otherwise but as they say, "some assembly required". Bobby

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great brew Kettle
 from Oregon,  Nov 30, 2013

I finally got to brew some beer with it and it worked great

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't use the ball valve
 from OH,  Oct 14, 2013

DONT USE THE BALL VALVE included in this product. It has some sort of grease in it that will ruin your beer. No matter what I do i cannot get the valve to stop reeking of grease. The rest of the product seems to work fine, but you need to get yourselves a food grade valve on your own.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it so far
 from Morris County, NJ,  Mar 8, 2013

I had originally bought another brew kettle from a different vendor, but they didn't see fit to actually protect the kettle for shipping so it arrived damaged. Ordered this one instead. Firstly, it was double-boxed and arrived safe and sound. It was also much more strongly made than the other (non Overstock) item. Brewed my first all-grain batch 2 weeks ago. Worked great - my only complaint is that the thermometer did not seem to change when I added 200 degree water to increase the mash temp even though a second thermometer did. It worked fine during a test boil and the boiling of the wort. so we'll see. I just wish the box was big enough that I could store the pot in it, but once you install the spigot, it won't fit.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Um, silver like stainless steel should be
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems like nice sturdy construction
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought