Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 48 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Big, beautiful skillet
 from USA,  Dec 13, 2011

This cast iron skillet is a good buy for the price. It's dimensions are accurate to what is described on the website. It's weight confirms it is what it says it is: bare cast iron. The handle is sturdy and the pan is well-balanced, so it should be stable on a stove top. However, a couple of things prospective buyers need to know: firstly, this pan is not preseasoned. There are instructions in the box on how to season the pan before use. Secondly: the box comes emblazoned with the pan's picture and logo all across the front of it. So if you are trying to surprise someone with a gift, that's kind of an impediment. Overall though, still a very good buy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Cast iron skillet is huge, however not preseasoned.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Skillet
 from Miami, FL,  Aug 3, 2012

We purchased this skillet because we needed one in this size which is a little larger than usual. My husband does the cooking and he prefers using cast iron. It is easy to clean and we don't have to worry about whether a non-stick coating is bad for our health. It is heavy so ladies should be aware. I cannot lift with one hand but since he does the cooking that is not a problem for us.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of this product met all our expectations. I believe that some of the problems others have had have to do with them not seasoning the pan correctly before use. Once this is done the surface is smooth and there is no sticking.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Decription was accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great skillet - big!
 from Iowa,  Jan 18, 2013

I use cast-iron pans all the time, and this size is exactly what I needed for four beef tenderloins or three NY strips. Gives a fabulous pan-sear and then goes right into a hot oven, no worries. I love it for so many things - from skillet cornbread, to pan-roasted potatoes, to steaks/chicken...pretty much anything that needs a good crust or requires even heat on the bottom.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. heavy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great big heavy pan
 from Idaho,  Mar 20, 2012

A 14 inch cast pan is really much larger and heavier than a 12 inch. I expected this, but was still surprised. The weight is excellent for keeping it in place on the stove as you move things around. The weight is also a very positive attribute because it holds heat much better than a smaller or lighter pan. The actual flat cooking surface is a bit rough, which is true of all new cast iron pans. I have started the seasoning process using lard and intend to cook bacon and other fatty items in it for awhile to build up a nice low stick surface.It is a nice flat bottom, so it does not wiggle on my gas range. One key to frying food, like chicken for example, is not letting the fat cool off too much when adding food. This pan can will really help with keeping the fat hot to avoid greasy food.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It is black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good casting.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not worth the try
 from Charles Town, WV,  Mar 13, 2014

arrived cracked without the crack it would have taken some significant time to sand smooth the casting to get it ready for seasoning

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not preseasoned!
 from Vermont,  May 14, 2013

This pan is not preseasoned which is a pain, but I do know to season a cast iron pan and did so. The problem is that the surface of the pan is uneven and the finish is so rough and unpolished that the pan will never work well for things like pancakes. If i am going to store a monster like this, I expect it to be a workhorse. I guess it will do well enough for deep frying, but I will probably give it away to some dudes who go fishing.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Black is black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Lousy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT SKILLET!
 from NY,  May 6, 2013

BETTER then I expected for the price... I've used it a couple of times and I have no complaints.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? EXACT
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. GREAT QUALITY
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good buy
 from cape coral florida,  Apr 24, 2013

haven't yet had the opportunity to get it ready for use. looking forward to the chance to put it in use.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very heavy and solid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Heavy Cast Iron
 from Seattle area,  Mar 29, 2013

This skillet is very heavy and heats up beautifully. Great for browning and cooking whole meals too. Retains the heat after turning the burner off, so either undercook or remove from the skillet immediately after food is done. I would have given it 5 stars except that the finish is a little rough. I have another skillet that is very old and well used that has a much smoother surface. Maybe this one will get smoother in time, but right now it is a little rough.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. A-
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cast iron overhyped
 from Vancouver,  Mar 7, 2013

This is a nice cast iron skillet. It has a rough finish but that helps it condition and hold oil which helps it be non stick. I got this for hightemp cooking because its thick and won't warp.but i learned that cast iron needs slots of oil to be non stick and at high temp it still sticks. Cast iron pans used to cheap and were great value but now that they are popular again they are overpriced. Teflon isway better at nonstick . Don't be fooled into the hype like i was... There is a reason people abandoned castiron for teflon. I still like my cast iron pan but not becauseof howitcooks.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great price and quality!
 from Clackamas, Oregon,  Feb 17, 2013

Wow, did not know how heavy this would be. Will take a bit of time to season it and get used to cooking with it. I'm sure when I do, it will be my "go to skillet.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Better than expected.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Top notch cast Iron skillet
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? better than expected
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this Skillet
 from Encino, CA,  Feb 13, 2013

This Skillet is amazing. Seasoned, it provides non stick properties and works well whether you are cooking chicken or searing a steak and if you want you can take it straight from the stovetop to the oven. I have always wanted one of these and am so glad I finally got one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I LOVE this cast iron frying pan.
 from Bowie, MD,  Jan 24, 2013

What a deal. This cast iron skillet is SO heavy that you can hardly lift it!! Have been waiting a while to get something of this quality. I even looked on e-bay; no luck. Thanks for the belated Xmas present to me!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellant
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100%
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great skillet
 from Houston, TX,  Jan 9, 2013

This is a very sturdy skillet...it is too heavy for me to pick up with one hand which is a great thing... I haven't used it yet...but have seasoned it and it is ready to go (soon)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy cast iron
 from Buffalo, NY,  Jan 8, 2013

The pan is very sturdy but, now that I know more about cast iron, am not so pleased with it. The surface is a bit rough and the top edges are sharp. I've seen other cast iron and they are very smooth on the cooking surface. I also wish it had the carrying handle across from the handle as it's so heavy to lift with one hand.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly the same color.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The pan is very sturdy but is a bit bumpy on the surface and the edges of the top are sharp.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
satisfied
 from new york,  Dec 21, 2012

like very much, good quality. a little work required to season. extremely heavy pan, almost too heavy to lift. need two hands to lift which i do not like. the reviews I read before my purchase warmed that pan was heavy but I never expected this heavy

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good value
 from Brigantine,NJ,  Nov 1, 2012

I bought this for my son who was in need of cast iron skillet. He loves it, said it is nice and heavy. He has used it several times and has even sent me pics of the food he has cooked. (he is in CA and I am in NJ) I know he uses the pan alot and he thanks his mom for her insistance that every cook needs a good cast iron skillet! would recommend this product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on target
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value
 from SF CA,  Sep 26, 2012

Excellent value -- heavy duty and large capacity! My new favorite pan!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It's a little off, looks like drips when the lead was dipped, but does not effect quality!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent value -- heavy and big
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lodge cast iron skillet
 from Roanoke, Alabama,  Sep 4, 2012

Was very pleased with the product and the shipping was very quick.. Thank you!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Product Needs Preseasoning
 from Frederick, MD,  May 13, 2014

I would only recommend this product to a friend who was aware of how to pre-season a cast iron skillet. First of all the cooking surface of this cast iron skillet is pitted & will take many years to get it smooth unless of course you own a sander. I have cast iron from another company that came pre seasoned & the surface is very smooth. With this said trying to cook anything needing a smooth surface such as pancakes will be a problem. This 14" cast iron skillet is quite heavy which is to be expected for cast iron & I would much rather cook on cast iron than nonstick for health reasons. I'm sure over time this skillet will find good use in my kitchen for large casseroles, bake sweeat potatoes w/onions & olive oil & will will become seasoned through use.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 48 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top