Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 64 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Finally: THE bay window rod
 from NJ,  Oct 3, 2010

Spent too much time browsing Lowe's, Home Depot etc for a solution to hang our curtains at a bay window. Stumbled across this product at Overstock and thougt it was worth the try. The package came complete with all needed hardware at a competitive price (when buying all pieces separately in a hardware store). We followed the instructions, and were at first a bit nervous when the instructions started with "unless you understand this, the installation will be incorrect" - or something like those words. It was as easy as slicing bread. It took me (double-left-handed) about 1 hour to put up the rod with the associated hardware. Since you are supposed to install the curtains while you put up the rod sections, we were completely done after that 1 hour. We used curtains with gammon rings, but are pretty sure it would work as easy with the clip rings. The rod looks neutral (we bought the antique brown), and the rod edges at the side windows are nicely turned to the wall - they form another anchor point witha single screw providing extra stability. We used relatively light curtains, and would not recommend this for heavy curtains since the "bump" (where the rod extends and jumps from the smaller to the larger diameter) may be harder to take. We however experience no difficulty, just have to guide the curtain gently. We had seen similar solutions at other stores, but this one was the best deal, looks and proves solid and comes with all hardware included. Buy this one if you need a bay window rod.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This rod enabled me to hang drapes from a bay window with uneven spacing. It is easy to adjust as you mount it and not too difficult to install if you are handy and experienced at hanging shades and rods. I would not recommend this for a 'first timer'. The rod is sturdy and the only problem was one screw hole that was too small and needed enlargement.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheap quality
 from Clovis, CA,  Jul 3, 2013

Had hoped this would work. If you have a bay window then this likely will work but it's not very attractive or high quality.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wasted my money on this....
 from Kansas City, MO,  Aug 3, 2014

Let me start off by saying that this is the first time I've ever rated something this low. I received this curtain rod very quickly (as is usual for Overstock). It seems pretty sturdy and would work for my bay window. Well, I got the back rod installed with relative ease. When I went to install the side arms, that's when I ran into problems. The extensions on the side arms are jammed in so tight, I can't extend them. And this is on both side arms! If it was just one I would think it was a fluke, but it's both. That makes this pretty much unusable. Besides that, the box it came in was so mangled by the delivery service that I can't even use it to return this. So, unless I can find another box, I can't even return it. That's *** down the drain. I'm completely disappointed by this transaction. I'm getting to the point where I don't want to do anything online because it becomes such a hassle when it goes wrong.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly what we needed
 from Spring, TX,  Mar 11, 2014

My husband just hung this in our nursery bay window this weekend. We have 13 ft. ceilings so we needed a sturdy rod to hold 4 very heavy drapery panels. This rod was a perfect fit. He kept saying what good quality it was as he installed it. It took him a little longer than normal to install, but it was exactly what we needed in such a weird window.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bay Window Rod
 from Nashville, TN,  Jul 23, 2013

This thing took a while to hang and get just right. It took two of us and my husband is pretty handy with a drill & level. We were able to mount this over bamboo shades in bay window. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the supports from the wall are adjustable - big help. We hung 4 grommet style drapes from the rod. Looks and works great. Thanks!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ok
 from CT,  Jul 7, 2013

Only downfall is that you have to take the rod down to get the curtains off to wash.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Junk
 from Dallas, Texas,  Jun 26, 2013

So poorly made, this was a waste of time and return postage.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I'm in LOVE!
 from NC,  Mar 20, 2013

I bought this rod to put in my recently remodeled kitchen breakfast nook. I previously had heavy woven shades and just wanted a fresh updated look but didn't want to block the view and natural light from the windows. I saw this rod system on Overstock and then thought, I'll shop for it in the store and won't have to wait for shipping. WRONG! I went to every home store around and nobody had anything for bay windows. I ordered it and it came within just a few days. I put grommet top curtains on this rod and they make a perfect team. The curtains fold back into a very narrow profile when open and do not block the windows at all. They hang perfectly in the few inches between the windows and yet at night they are easily pulled shut for privacy. I couldn't be more happy with my purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very heavy, well made and sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bay Window 1-inch adjustable rod set
 from Chicago,  Dec 4, 2011

This product was cheap. The gold tone I selected was scratched. I wish I had inspected the product upon immediately receiving the package. Unfortunately, I looked at the product 30 days after receiving. I'm deeply disappointed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? No.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the product is cheap.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description is deceptive.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bay Window 1-inch Adjustable Rod Set
 from Tucson, AZ,  Jul 30, 2014

the endcaps came off easy and needed to be glued. the overall piece was very nice.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect fix
 from Birmingham, AL,  Jun 15, 2014

This was the perfect solution to our problem. We needed a curtain rod to go on the bay window in our preschooler's room so we could keep out the early morning light. It was easy to install and looks great!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is perfect for my bay window!
 from Wichita, KS,  Apr 1, 2014

I struggled to find the right bay window rod and this is it! I love the color as it is exactly what I thought it would be. It fits the space just right and looks amazing!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product!
 from New York,  Feb 8, 2014

This is a really great product! It's often difficult to window dress a bay window, but this rod makes it seemless. The instructions were very good, and although I had to make several adjustments before I got it just right (geometry was never my strongsuite:)), it looks great. Besides aesthetics, it is a thick, quality rod and handles my heavy draperies with ease.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good adjustable rod but needs more directions
 from Houston,  Jan 8, 2014

having limited choices for adjustable bay window rods, I thought this rod was a good purchase and thumbs for having all the color options. Usually for a bay window you would need to get extra rods and combine with a bay window adapter but this is not necessary for this. I thought it was pricey considering it is a straight rod with 1 inch dimension and the inner third piece is not a heavy metal like the other two pieces that go on the sides. Also make sure you read the directions correctly the round pieces on either side are also to be drilled in. I thought it would just be tightened somewhat like a shower rod is but that is not the case. Once up though, it is nice provided the curtains do all the work of looking nice.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from Glendale, CA,  Dec 22, 2013

If you have a bay window and want curtains, this is the thing to buy. Works great and pretty easy to install.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to install.
 from Leland, N.C,,  Dec 14, 2013

Curtain rod was excellent. Easy to install, easy instructions. Need at least 2 people but that makes it simple. Adjustable to the size we needed and easily adjusted. The only bad thing the plastic anchors provided did not have lips and could be pushed into the wall very easily. Need lips to grab wall to prevent this.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
YES this works great!
 from Tri cities, wa,  Dec 5, 2013

Affordable, attractive, and easy to install. This is a good value for a bay window system which typically are very pricey. We have 4 bay windows in the house and I ordered 2 sets of this rod system. I'm back to order another.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good quality
 from Buffalo, NY,  Oct 30, 2013

Product is very high quality, comes with all the supplies except tools - drill and drill bit, screwdrivers, pencil. Most important tool would be a spare pair of hands - or two. The design works wonders on a bay window - adjusts to different widths of main window and side windows. However, because you need to work it in all assembled to make your placement decision, it would be best to do this with a couple of other tall people! I was able to go it alone, but it was awkward and a little more time consuming. Can be installed on the frame or in the wall. Priced is a bargain - have seen it elsewhere for more. this is not cheaply made or flimsy.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what the window ordered!
 from Houston, Texas,  Sep 27, 2013

Another someone in our neighborhood has the same bay window we do, and we DID recommend this to them. It is a nice looking set and works just as it should.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 64 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top