Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 89 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 

I am so happy that I found this chair on Overstock! It is a true modernist classic and is fairly well-known in interior design circles. For an easy and quick way to upgrade the style of your home, this replica is a good, affordable option. They look great in my minimally decorated living room, and although the smooth tubular frame is rather light, it is designed in such a brilliant way that it affords tremendous support and comfort.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

This is a faithful reproduction of the famous “Wassily chair,” AKA the Model B3 chair, designed by the famous Jewish-Hungarian modernist architect and designer Marcel Breuer in 1925 while he was the head of the cabinet-making workshop at the famed Bauhaus Workshop, in Dessau, Germany. It is as “iconic Bauhaus/Euro-modern” as you can get -- a chair that has graced the homes of many a member of the elite class. If you like modern design, you’d be TOTAL FOOL for not picking up one or two of these, esp. at this price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Perfect 10
 from Hudson, NY,  Aug 25, 2010

These Wassily chairs are almost too good to be true. They are terrific reproductions, sturdy and well made, incredibly comfortable and great looking. They arrived within a few days of my order, well-packed and in perfect condition. A great value for the price. They look and feel much, much more expensive.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
style out the "O"
 from sc,  Sep 26, 2010

I've always wanted one of these, it's perfect, and now I want more of them. Pictures do not do it justice - it is a piece of art history that will never go out of style.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great chair
 from nashville, tn,  Dec 26, 2013

i have always admired the wassily chair. when my favorite antique chair fell apart, i decided it was time to let it go and add more modern into the mix. i decided on two wassily chairs. vintage ones can be found on ebay and 1stdibs. but i worried about cracking leather and heavy guests. an authentic reproduction can be found at dwr. but, with young children and lots of entertaining, i didn't want to buy anything too precious. when i found these on overstock, i was thrilled with the price but held out judgement until they arrived. they were delivered fully assembled. just unbox and sit!! they are equal in comfort and size to the authentic versions. i do believe these are real leather; but it is either bonded or just not top quality. also, the stitching is not 100% perfect (on close inspection). BUT for the price, the chairs are perfect. many guests have walked in and gasped at how gorgeous they are and couldn't believe that they were not licensed reproductions. they look like $XXXX chairs. i am very happy with this purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Chair, but clearly 2nds!
 from Washington State,  Aug 20, 2013

Ok, this is very hard to review. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the chair, but these are CLEARLY seconds from the manufacturer. If you choose to purchase the chair, do so at your own risk of having to deal with returns. Check to ensure that all screws which hold the chair together are not broken off, and check to ensure any scratches in the leather are acceptable to you. BOTH of the chairs that I had ordered had screws broken off and one chair had a very large scratch in the leather. Sad, as it was clear that the manufacturer had "tried" to fix the scratch with some black shoe polish or the like. The scratches certainly didn't come as part of the shipping process, as they were on the chair seat, and the box the chair was shipped in was pristine. So, I called up Overstock to have them ship me a new chair. I had McGyvered the two chairs into one semi-acceptable chair by taking screws from one chair to fix the other. But that gouge in the seat was too much for me. They had agreed to ship me a new one, but the Overstock person on the phone had planted a seed in my head - perhaps, just send back the "seat" and get a replacement. So after thinking about this, I called back overstock to have them just ship me the seat, and I'd replace that myself. Well, they needed to check to see if the chair parts were available. By the time they figured out that they didn't have any parts to send, the black chair was no longer available. Miraculously, they did end up finding one and shipped it out. Thank you Overstock! Now, the new chair has arrived. No broken screws (yeah!), but the seat of the chair has a scratch. But, acceptable enough - not too big, and certainly not the gouge of the first chair. Now, I'm just waiting for UPS to come and pick up the broken chair and ship it back! The chair itself is again gorgeous! The leather is thick and looks fabulous. I would recommend the chair, and Overstock, but again, these chairs are clearly seconds. Check to ensure you are not missing those screws!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fit in perfectly
 from TRENTON, NJ,  Jan 14, 2013

My living room is adjacent to the island in my kitchen. This chair (the legs mainly) matched with my bar stools perfectly. The chair reminds me of one of those machines at the gym, but t is very comfortable to sit on. I had no issues putting it together and I am not handy at all. I wish the arms were padded, but the chair is great overall.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great chair
 from Harrisburg, PA,  Jan 12, 2013

Bought this chair to match the black furniture in my den. The chair looks more like a bench than a chair, but that's the great thing about it/ It's relaxing and even though I'm a pretty tall guy, the chair isn't uncomfortable to sit on.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from Woodland Hills, CA,  Dec 18, 2012

Great reproduction. NOTE TO FUTURE BUYERS THOUGH: The stitching on the chair is tan. You'll have these forever, the quality is so good.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? There is tan stitching on the chair. That was not mentioned in the description. It's really important to tell us this.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I have ordered this Marcel Black Leather Accent Chair although it is absolutely not my taste. It is too complicated, modern and too much in design for myself but my daughter loves it. I tried it out and I can say now I love this chair. It is comfortable and it looks perfect in the modern living room. I am thinking of buying one for myself too.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Findings
 from ATL, GA,  Dec 2, 2010

The chair arrived very quickly, as usual with Overstock. The build quality is quite good, especially given the price. The chair is comfortable and provides good support. Aesthetically it is pleasing. However, there is one issue: the description is that the chair is leather. I believe the chair is actually pleather, not leather. Smell it - doesn't smell like leather. Do the fingernal scratch test - is there a scratch left? Nope, not one, not after several attempts. Unlike all real leather products that I own, this "leather" is virtually flawless in appearance, supporting my suspicion. It really isn't a big deal, but if you must have real leather, keep this in mind.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great leatter Chair
 from California,  Sep 6, 2012

We brought two of this chair and put them at our living room. Every one sits on it was surprise how comfortable it is. Classic chairs!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well-made
 from Lexington, KY,  Aug 23, 2012

You actually get what you're expecting. Good product at a good price. Came fully assembled as well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Classic
 from Atlanta, GA,  Apr 26, 2012

An awesome reproduction at a amazing price. It's one of those pieces you will have for years. Just gives that sexy sophisticated vibe. Move it from room to room. I have it by a chesterfield sofa at the moment and it compliments well. Classic pieces are that for a reason. Enjoy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive review title
 from NJ,  Apr 3, 2012

great chair! worth it! Accurate description. Great value and 2.95 shipping. Can't beat that!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Made my designer happy
 from Little,  Feb 14, 2012

a very good copy of a classic chair makes decorating on a budget possible

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? black could be blacker
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. overall very good feet could fit tighter
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality chair at an amazing price
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Dec 14, 2011

I have a friend who has the original designer version of this chair and these seem every bit as good to me. I am amazed that they appear to be a high quality thick leather for the seats and nearly impossible to tell from the very high priced originals. This is one of the best bargains I have ever gotten on Overstock. Are the chairs cozy and comfortable - no - but I bought them for the appearance and for extra seating not to curl up and read a book in. If you want a comfy lounge chair buy something different, if you want a high style yet very low key chair this is the one. We specifically wanted something attractive, yet "airy" since they are to go in front of a sliding glass door with a beautiful view we didn't want to block. These are perfect for that, and so stylish they really "dissappear" into the room without blocking light or view. We love them!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Much higher quality than I would have expected for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate - and the great reviews are all true!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
looks good. Not comfortable
 from Okeechobee Florida,  Aug 3, 2011

I have to put a pillow at my back for proper posture and I put a soft throw over it because the arm rests hurt my elbows, but it does look good

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. seems to be made well but it is not comfortable.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well represented
 from Washington, D.C.,  Sep 20, 2010

Nice chair -- well represented by the description. I'll be curious to see how well it holds up. I give it four instead of five due to quality of craftsmanship.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
picture of chair not accurate
 from reston, va,  Feb 21, 2009

I received this chair and really liked the look of it even though the leather is not of the highest quality. However, when I looked at it closely I noticed that the two chrome legs are not continuous but joined in the middle with about a three inch plastic tubing covering the place where the legs are joined together. I was told it was for extra support but it is very unattractive and quite noticeable -- not neat or unobtrusive. The picture should show the tube or the description should mention that the legs are joined in the middle with plastic tube for support where it joins.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 89 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought