Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good Grinder Good Price
 from NJ,  Sep 9, 2014

This grinder does a substantial job grinding the beans. In the price range it does a good job although there are more deluxe models at higher pricing. This grinder is a powerhouse and does its job.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great, consistent grind
 from South Texas,  Aug 19, 2014

Great product! Forget the cheap (***) grinders. This one is far superior and will outlast the others.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better than I expected
 from Western North Carolina,  Apr 29, 2014

When I opened the box I saw there was a knob missing to turn the machine off or on. I said to myself "Oh Boy, now I have to deal with a return." But then I saw a large red label on the grounds bin that said "OPEN", so I did and there was the knob! Great! I installed the knob and a quick read of the instruction manual and I was ready to grind some beans. Large, easy to fill hopper, large grounds bin. I set the machine to 8, as recommended to start off for espresso grind and away it went. Much quieter than my other blade grinder. The pitch of the machine changed so I knew all the beans had been ground. I stopped it and I looked at the grind and said "Wow! These grounds look better than the grind at the store". I believe the bin must be anti-static because there was very little flying around of the grounds and they came out from the bin easily. The only tricky part was inserting the bin but after a few trials all went well. It's a little pricey but I'm happy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic grind every time.
 from Houston, TX,  Mar 12, 2014

Simple grinder that produces an excellent quality grind every time I use it. I wore out a ********** **** grinder after about 5 years, and a friend suggested this one. I love it! The controls are simple, and the fineness adjustments available make this adaptable to a wide range of types of drinks. My local coffee shop (which roasts their beans onsite) uses this very machine to make all their coffee. One thing, though - the manual says to wash the ground coffee bin by hand...I realized that means *with your hands*, not a sponge with that abrasive stuff on one side. You'll scuff the nice, smooth inside of the bin, which will cause the fresh grounds to stick to it. Other than that, this machine was worth every penny I spent on it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Burr Grinder for the price
 from Orcas, WA,  Jan 4, 2014

We are very pleased with performance so far. Grinds very fine, doesn't get stuck, easy to clean. Ceramic burr is key. Good value.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Coffee Grinder
 from San Diego,  Oct 6, 2013

Excellent grinder for the price. Even grind that is great for drip/espresso/press. Seems well built so far.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value for money
 from Wisconsin,  Jul 24, 2013

My friend who knows more than me about coffee than me, and recommended this. Apparently other comparable grinders like this start from $300. At over $100, it was over my price range for a home grinder, but since using this, I wish I had decided sooner. I use this mainly to make an espresso with my Delonghi espresso maker. There is an article I came across that provide more details on type of grinds you can get from an espresso to a coarser grind: http://www.squidoo.com/baratza-encore-grinder-review-let-s-spill-the-beans "Get me a good cup of coffee to clear the cobwebs off my brain; and I am ready for whatever the day brings!" Ensure you get the right cup, it'll set you up for the day...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Entry Level Conical Burr Grinder
 from Overland Park, KS,  Jul 17, 2013

Spent lots of time looking for a inexpensive but quality conical burr grinder so I could grind my own coffee beans and make pour over coffee at home. After months of research doing comparisons on quality and cost, I decided to purchase the Baratza Encore Grinder. Have been using for the past 3 weeks and couldn't be happier. Have only used for pour over and have found that setting 12 or 13 works best. The beans are properly ground every time and I have no issues with beans getting stuck in the hopper. I only get a small amount of "dust" when I grind my beans and the removable plastic bin that the grinds fall into is easy to detach and re-attach. The grinder is so easy to use. I would strongly recommend it. But note that I have not used for drip coffee or espresso settings. Final note: I would disregard the instructions that talk about "pulling up" from the bean hopper when taking the unit out of the box for the 1st time. I read another review where the person pulled up and the plastic broke. I could definitely see this happening due to the weight of the unit. I laid the box/unit on it's side and slowly slid the unit out of the box.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Baratza burr coffee grinder
 from Powell, Ohio,  Feb 16, 2013

Initially worked well, grounds did not spray all over counter when grinding..then inexplicably stopped bring coffee beans. Cleaned machine per manufacturer instructions, still non functioning ..returned for refund

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Lasted less then a month
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great grinder! Skimped on design, though.
 from Roanoke, IL,  Feb 7, 2013

Prior reviews have stated that this is one of the cheapest conical burr grinders -- it is not. Far from it, actually, it is one of the more expensive grinders (that is suitable for grinding beans for drip/french press/all non-espresso needs). We've got Krups, DeLonghi, Capresso, Breville, Saeco...all these lower-priced ones. So why did I choose this one? In my opinion, Baratza grinders & the Capresso Infinity grinder are the only cheaper conical burr grinders worth messing with. The price of the heavier weight, metal body Capresso jumped up from $80 to $100. So I decided to buck up a little more cash for this unit. I'm glad I did! I've only spent a day with the Encore, and I am already very pleased with its grind quality! Its output is very consistent, and there is little to no static build-up in the grounds chamber (even less than the Capresso Infinity!). I am VERY impressed. A quick look at video reviews shows that it can even grind to espresso-fine with surprisingly good results. Although it can grind espresso, I feel that espresso-inclined people should look into getting at least a Baratza Virtuoso or a Rancilio Rocky instead of this Encore. But hey, if you're strapped for cash...apparently this machine will do the trick. The only reason I rated this product 4 stars is a rather petty one - they neglected to put a ground on this unit. Seriously? That is unacceptable. The Capresso Infinity has a ground on their units. It gives the plug-in a more secure connection, the unit some (basic) surge protection, and costs very little to put on the units. But for whatever reason, they decided to not put one on. This isn't the 1960s....ground wiring has been around for literally half a century. When purchasing an AC powered unit of any substantial value, a ground wire is to be expected, if not required. Thanks to Baratza, I am forced to plug this thing into a surge protector strip to ensure its safety.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It does one thing, and does it well: grind coffee beans
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent product
 from Livingston New Jersey,  Jan 15, 2013

I never had a coffee grinder before. I red multiple reviews and guides and in my conclusion this was the model to buy. Even though I cannot give you comparison to other products I can tell you that this one is easy to use and it does an excellent job.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I have this for a couple of weeks with daily use. Espresso and regular coffee.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does the job, does it simply.
 from LA California,  Dec 27, 2012

This grinder is one of the lowest priced conical burr grinders around. It operates relatively clean, in that there's hardly any ground coffee outside of the container after grinding. IT doesn't have a timer, but that's not a needed feature for me. There are two switches; a momentaryt button on the front, and a knob switch that you can turn and leave the grinder running until there's enough coffee ground. I grind enough to 4 cups in 20 seconds with a relatively fine grind for a paper filter, and close to the same for espresso. This unit has had positive reviews elsewhere on the web, so I felt safe deciding to purchase it. It's a bit noisy, but it is a solid, heavy unit. It sits on my counter and doesn't budge. Adding coffee beans is very easy and clean. I'm very happy with this purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality. Reliable consistent operation.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on as far as I can tell.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great grinder at a great price!
 from Boston, MA,  Dec 5, 2012

This grinder arrived quickly and in perfect condition. All parts were included, as well as the manual. Works very well. Make sure you use the brush and clean it thoroughly to prevent jamming on the beans.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color of product was exactly the same as it was on the site.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is great.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was completely accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it!
 from Nebraska,  Nov 3, 2012

a huge improvement over my previous (non-burr) grinder.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought