Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 149 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great looking bed
 from Nevada,  Mar 17, 2012

Love the bed once it was put together.....However, I have put together many pieces of furniture over the years and this was definitely the most challenging! It took me about 3 hours. I didn't think the instructions were as well written as they could be and there are about 16 screws that have to be placed using a hex wrench that does not actually conform to the place you are trying to get to. Very time consuming but worth it once the bed is put together.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Product seems well made, solid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
All I could hope for
 from 92101,  Oct 28, 2010

I was a bit nervous about the bed after reading some lower rated reviews but it looked to gorgeous and the positive reviews too good not to give the bed a try and I am so glad I did! Yep, assembly is a bit more complicated than an Ikea bed but really not less difficult to do. The bed itself is beautiful and sturdy and I love it! Yep, assembly isn't the most fun thing to do but I'm 5'4" and 110lbs and I put the whole thing together myself in about 4 lazy hours. Again, great looking and sturdy, I highly recommend it! One thing though - the mattress I bought has a warranty that's only good if slates are no more than 2" apart. The number of slates provided are for I think for a 3" gap between, thus I had to go to the local hardware store and get 2 extra slates made. Not an issue though. They were simple and easy to do.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent value, great quality
 from Boston, MA,  Aug 31, 2010

As others have mentioned, this bed looks fantastic. I assembled it by myself (moving the boxes from outside my building to inside my bedroom was the hardest part), and that took about 2 hours. My biggest complaint, same as everyone else, is the very tight clearance for tightening the allen-head screws. The manufacturer has made narrow cut-outs in the wood material so you can insert the long screws and tighten with the provided allen-key. Naturally, if you try to use the ball head of the allen-key as they suggest in the instructions, you will begin stripping the screws. So instead, I used the other end of the allen-key, which required constantly re-inserting, rotating a couple of degrees to tighten, removing the allen-key, and repeating. It was pretty frustrating but if you had a ratcheted hex wrench you could do the job much faster. In the end, because I was patient, I did not strip any of the screws, and the bed assembled to a very solid finished product. I don't think two people are necessary to get this done because you can prop up the long side rails, etc. with small boxes or other things around your home. My bedroom doorway is really small and there's a tight corner when you leave the room, so I will have to disassemble the bed if/when I move. That shouldn't be a problem since loosening screws is a lot easier than tightening, assuming you insert the allen-key or ratcheted hex tool all the way so you don't strip them on the way out. I coupled the bed with an 8" memory foam mattress and the outcome is awesome! Just be patient and you will be very happy with your purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome (when finished)
 from Los Angeles, CA,  May 18, 2008

I was in awe at the site of how many parts and pieces that required assembly. I live alone and it took me about three hours to put the entire bed together. Definitely recommend having someone help to speed things along. I don't understand why the individual boards that support the bed had to be individually (about 30 of them) screwed into the bed. That will make disassembly a nightmare if I move. It would have been much simpler to make the pieces like a ladder, stringed together and then you don't have to worry about screwing them into the frame. However, I'll tell you that the end result is a piece of quality furniture that looks awesome.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Axium Espresso Queen-size Bed
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Dec 20, 2007

This is a very nice bed, shipping was incredible fast. Workmanship was nice. But assembly is a pain in the rear. They definitely could have given you a longer allen wrench. It took me about 2 hours to put it together. There a few steps where you do need a second set of hands to help, but most of it, you can do yourself. Once it is all put together, it is very sturdy and beautiful looking. The color is dark, almost black, but looks so nice against earth tones.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice
 from Mill Creek,WA,  Dec 19, 2007

Great looking bed! I did have a problem with a broken headboard when i received everything. Overstock got out a new one within a week though! I didnt think it was very hard to put together, but does take some time.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the Axium
 from Illinois,  Nov 26, 2007

My guest bedroom looks great considering I purchased the Axium queen size bed and matching nightstands. Clean lines and the rich dark color is what I was expecting and is definitely what I received. I wish we had more space for the dresser or armoire. Sure wish they made a bench to match. If you purchase the bed, just know that you will probably not be able to use the box spring because of the height. Obviously you still can but you will then cover up most of the headboard. Otherwise it was money well spent.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Axiom Expresso Queen size bed
 from Florida,  May 31, 2007

This bed is even more attractive than it looks in the pictures. It is very sturdy. The bed comes in three boxes and takes two people to assemble, but if you follow the directions carefully everything fits together nicely. The rails are screwed to the frame, so be sure you have the bed where you want it when assembling because it would have to be disassembled to move to another room. Overall, a beautiful product and a great value.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
a little difficult
 from Illionois,  May 12, 2007

This bed is beautiful and just what I was looking for. Be warned though it is a bear to put together. My husband is a proffesional carpenter and even he encountered some problems. Also don't plan on using a box spring with this bed as you will need a stepladder to get into it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mary24
 from San Diego,  Jan 14, 2007

I was so surprised by the quality of this bed! It's solid and well made. It took some time to assemble, but was well worth it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not too mobile
 from Hampton , NH,  Dec 24, 2006

This product is excellent. Solid construction. Quality materials and finish. It takes a while to assemble, but assembly is not that difficult. The only major problem I had with this product is that if I were to move. It's near impossible to disassemble. It's seemed like it was designed to be assembled in your room of choice and left in that room.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Axium platform bed
 from W. Bloomfield, MI,  Dec 17, 2006

I was really pleased with this bed. The quality is very good for the price as is the construction. It came within 3 days with no damage. It took a little while to put together, but it was worth it. The color and sturdiness are very good.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Absolutely Beautiful!
 from Washington State,  Dec 16, 2006

This was my first furniture purchase from Overstock and I'm more than pleased. This bed is exactly what I was looking for. The color is a deep, rich, black/brown. It looks wonderful with almost any color bedding and adds a touch of class to any room! Assembly is a bit of a pain, but it was all worth it in the end.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good looking, good quality
 from Richmond, VA,  Dec 15, 2006

I saw this bed on verstock.com and went to a local modern furniture store and found a bed there with exactly same look for about $800. I decided to get one from overstock.com and I'm happy with it, very good quality. The assembly is reasonable. There are screws that you need to screw in an awkward position but the hex wrench that come with the bed is design for this awkward screwing (look at the long end of the wrench). I'm actually impressed with the design. I like the look, like the quality. So, overall, I'm very happy with it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sent the wrong leg
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Dec 14, 2006

The bed is beautiful but very hard to put together. Overstock also sent two right legs, so we had to wait two weeks to receive the left leg and had the bed in pieces all over our bedroom. Besides that trouble, the bed is nice.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I purchased this frame years ago for my adult grandson and we are very pleased with the quality, price, assembly and construction of this piece of bedroom furniture.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Elegant, Sturdy Bed
 from New Orleans, LA,  Sep 18, 2014

This frame is very high quality and study, and is also elegant. The product that arrives looks just like the online photos. There is considerable assembly required. It isn't complicated but does take a couple hours. There are a lot of slats, so there is plenty of support for the mattress without a box spring. I highly recommend it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fine Rubberwood Bed - Terrible Design And Instruct
 from South of Thule,  Sep 15, 2014

This Axium rubberwood bed is the second bed I bought from Overstock in the past three months. The first, the Kota Queen-size, went out of stock or I would have bought it again. The Kota was pretty easy to put together but tedious to screw in the slats. The Axxium is a whole other ball of wax, bad instructions and a terrible do-it-yourself construction procedure. The key detail in putting together this bed is to align the metal bolts to the metal screw in sleeves in headboard. That detail is put in a small box at the bottom of one instruction page. A whole page of the instructions just shows the slats on the bed frame. To screw in the bolts , I found that using a allen key hex driver in an extender that you have in a multi-head screwdriver is the best way to tighten the bolt until the very end, when the allen wrench with the bed works best to tighten the bolt. IMHO, Overstock is clearing out the Axium bed because there were too many customer complaints about the difficulty in putting the bed together. My Kota bed has the headboard in one piece, pre-assembled with legs. You have to attach the Axium legs to the headboard. With the Kota, front or back, the headboard looks fine, unlike the Axium with its holes in the back where you insert the bolts. The Kota Queen-size is now back in stock, its base price $** more than I paid for it over two months ago. Even at its higher price now, the Kota is a better buy than the Axium if you factor in aggravation and sweat. By the way, if the dowels you have wiggle in the slots where you attach the side railing, instead of glue you can use masking tape around the dowel and pressure fit the #10 dowel into the slot. The cam locks that come with the Axium are junk, so be care when tightening them. My bed came with one broken center rail and the CSR at Overstock did an fine job taking my replacement request down and arranging for a replacement center rail. From the other comments of most customers describing how putting this bed together was pretty easy, I now realize that Overstock must have many Mensa members with the construction abilities of master contractor Michael Holmes. I think this Axium bed has a terribly flawed design that makes it a very hard DIY assembly project. The Axium bed has good rubberwood components and bad everything else.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worth the assembly!
 from Raleigh, NC,  Jun 19, 2014

As with the other reviews, assembly was a challenge, but well worth it. It took my son and me 2 hours to put together, but it is a solid, beautiful bed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As Expected!
 from Merrimack, NH,  May 8, 2014

Everything arrived promptly and in good condition. As other reviewers have mentioned, it definitely takes two people to assemble it. I got a small sliver while we were putting the bed together, but I did want a bed frame that was made out of wood! The bed slats, being unseen after assembly, are not finished south like the exposed pieces are.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 149 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought