Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 148 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Beautiful bed - Pain to assemble!
 from Washington, DC,  Dec 5, 2006

I loved this bed from the moment I saw it online (and what a great deal) and now I love it my room. The wood is very true to the color shown, almost black. The bed is of very high quality and all pieces arrived in perfect condition. Assembly was a pain - the instructions have you screw in 16 screws via an awkward little canal with just a hex wrench, 1/4 turn by 1/4 turn. We found that using needle-nose pliers made this step much faster and more bearable! Also the instructions want you to glue everything together meaning this bed can never be moved! We chose to only glue the headboard together and use the screws only on everything else.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Bed Excellent Value
 from CA,  Jun 30, 2007

The bed was delivered to my front porch within one week in three boxes. The largest box which includes the head board was falling apart when arrived. I was very worry that if there was any piece missing or dammaged, but it turned out every piece was there in perfect condition. Since the box was falling apart and extremely heavy, I had to open the box right there at my front door and bring the parts in piece by piece. Assembly was a pain. It took me a whole afternoon by myself to put it together. If you have 2 persons working together, it might take less time. On top of many wooden dowls and different kind of screws to connect the pieces of boards, the bed came with 16 longs screws that are extremly difficult to screw them into the bed because you have to do it in a very wierd angle unless you have some special tool that will work in that condition. I think this is major design flaw becasue the manufacturer needs to think about that it is the general consumer who is trying to put the bed together not some professional with special tools in the shop. Other than difficulty of assembly, the bed is great. It looks great. It is solid wood and very heavy. I love it after it's put together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Elegant!
 from Jacksonville FL,  Dec 24, 2011

Contrary to what other reviewers had said, we did not find it particularly difficult to assemble this bed. We are a retired couple and we were not overwhelmed. It was very time consuming - agreed. But a great deal of thought seems to have gone into the construction of this bed and so there are many parts to deal with. Like many other recviewers, we agree you do NOT need to use the glue that is recommended - - the bed is built like a fortrress without it! We can't even figure out what purpose it would serve. Instructions are quite clear but we recommend you read through all of them to get a feel for the overall construction. There are extras fo all the screws, etc. We bought the matching night stand and also found it to be extremely well constructed. The end result is a very strong, beautiful bed! (A personal suggestion: I am putting a large piece of cardboard on the slats at the foot end of the bed to prevent the tucked in sheets from falling into the spaces betwen slats! Otherwise, any bedding that may fall between the slats will show since the bed is off the floor!!!! )

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as i expected.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
High Quality Bed, Excellent Price
 from Wisconsin,  Apr 19, 2011

The bed is just as pictured and is beautiful. Ordered on a Tuesday, shipped across country and received on a Monday. It took me 3.5 hours to assemble on my own, with the help of a 4 yr old and my 2 cats. It was very easy to understand how to put together. We actually had about twice as many hardware bits and pieces as we needed. The only thing to look out for is the boards that support the bed; as they aren't as finished as the rest of the wood, I wound up with 3 slivers and my 4 yr old with one. The wood was extremely sturdy and thick; for the price I was afraid the headboard would be flimsy, but not at all. The bed is extremely sturdy. We are using our pillowtop mattress; probably 18" thick and still have plenty of headboard showing. Also, I have never owned a platform bed before; I didn't want to feel like we were on the floor and it doesn't. Sitting on the bed, my feet touch the floor but is not "on the floor". There is enough clearance to put under the bed boxes under the bed. Really, we couldn't be happier with the purchase and highly recommend.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes, very dark espresso, just as pictured
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent Quality, more than I expected for the price
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Exactly
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The worst bed in the world to assemble
 from Chicago, IL,  Dec 5, 2007

When you finally get the bed built, I guess its o.k. But their build system and tools used to do so is complete junk. They use a pivot tool to install the screws in some very difficult access areas, and while you use it, it¿s slowly eating itself alive, as it¿s an angled fit, that eats up both the tool and the screws you¿re trying to tighten. Once you install the bed, don¿t expect to ever uninstall it, because the tool is pretty much shot after the build process. This is complete junk; I wouldn¿t have wasted my money on it, had I known. Spend a few dollars more and get something better engineered

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awful design for assembly
 from San Francisco, CA,  Nov 12, 2007

This bed looks great once assembled, but it is ridiculously difficult to put together. I was actually amazed at how hard it was to assemble (and I consider myself fairly adept at putting together these types of products). I would recommend purchasing another bed that is easier to assemble.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
What quality!!
 from Atlanta,  Oct 11, 2007

Ok, yes, it took a long time to put together. I did it by myself with frequent interruptions from my daughter and it took me 5 hours. Having said that, I did not find it difficult to put together provided you are CAREFUL about assembling the headboard, everything else is easy. All pieces are solid wood, even the slats the mattress sits on are stained and all pieces fit together seamlessly. The bed looks and feels high quality and now I'm trying to talk my husband into letting me get the matching dressers. Shipping was quick and the pieces were well packed with no damage. Put this together right where you want it, it is heavy!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Design is awesome, but middle braces dont stay put
 from Omaha, NE.,  Jan 3, 2012

All about this bed is great except the two middle braces underneath. Dont screw in straight or stay that way on hardwoods. It may do better on carpet, though.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE THIS BED!
 from Bronx, New York,  Jul 20, 2011

This bed is amazing; not only does it perfectly match our bedroom furniture it's made of solid wood and just feels sturdy. I was shocked at how low we paid because this bed should be priced at least three times what we paid. The assembly took 4 hours, there were some hard aspects, BUT the instructions were very clear with all the bed parts and screws, etc clearly labeled, that was huge. You will need a power screw driver or similar power tool. The bed also rises higher than our previous *** bed. I really hope to have this bed for the rest of my life. It feels like we're sleeping in a tree that was carved out and built from the trunk, it's that good.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Better in real life
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality, it's all soild wood, the assemply parts are durable not skimpy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Undersold the value and Overdelivered with unexpected quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great sturdy bed
 from Silver Spring MD,  Feb 6, 2011

After moving this weekend, I had to write a review. I bought this bed in May 2010. It showed up at the door in a million pieces. I was reluctant to put it together. It took me maybe 3 hours by myself but I very pleased with the results. It's very sturdy and sits at a good height with my 11-inch foam mattress, also from overstock. There are about 12 slats that go across the frame that I never bolted down since I knew I'd be moving soon. Occasionally I hear some rattling which is just the loose boards clanking together. I just moved this past weekend. MAKE SURE YOU HAVE THE ALAN WRENCH THAT CAME WITH THE BED! It has a little round hexi-tip that works well with screwing in screws at an angle. I tried to pick up one at Home Depot but they didn't have it. Neither did my movers so I had to search through boxes for it. When I found it the bed was easily disassembled. I just reassembled it this morning in about 20 minutes. I'm very happy with the purchase. I believe I might have been able to find a similar bed for less but it probably wouldn't be of the same quality. One of the short support legs under the bed was slightly damaged but it's under the bed. Who cares? It had several print marks or indentations on the side, I suppose from packaging. Headboard shines up nicely with a little Pledge. I'm happy :) Also, thank you to everyone that writes reviews! Keep doing it--you've helped me make some good decisions on big purchases. I vow to always give reviews from here on...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great bed
 from Florida,  Aug 15, 2010

Before I bought this bed, I carefully perused the reviews. I was considering a platform bed but wasn't sure that my mattress (about 8 inches thick) was thick enough to provide comfort without the box spring....and I didn't want to have to buy one of the new, thicker ones. in addition to buying a new bed. What attracted me to this bed in addition to its great look was the fact that it could be used with or without a box spring. Problem solved! I couldn't go wrong. First night I slept on the bed with just the mattress and found it much too hard. Second night I returned to my accustomed box spring under mattress. Of course that worked well. And the mattress is not too high off the ground. The bed is versatile enough to accommodate any size mattress or combination of mattress and box spring.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Customer Service
 from Littleton, CO,  Feb 26, 2008

I ordered the bed, 6 drawer dresser and the nightstand. When I placed my order the quantity of the item was limited and sold out shortly after I placed my order. When the bed arrived, there was a large crack in the head board. I was concerned being that the status was sold out. I called customer service and had a replacement head board in just a few days. The quality is top notch. My friends who spent much more at a big box store on their bedroom set where surprised that it was an assemble at home type bed. NOW...the problem is that the instructions are not that clear, and could be made more user friendly. You really need to pay close attention to what goes where. It's not difficult just time consuming as a result of the below average instructions. The side rails have some dowles that should be glued in, if you do that I don't have any idea how you would ever get it apart. Good thing is that I didn't glue them in and it is incredibly solid. Over all the entire set exceeded my expectations. The only thing I would change is the instructions. Great buy, great customer service!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lots of pros, few cons
 from Alexandria, VA,  Dec 24, 2007

As others have said - beautiful finish. Some additional comments. Pros: height is perfect for putting additional storage under bed and for our Roomba vacuum to get under there. Cons: has chemical smell when it first arrives; requires use of super glue (included) that adds additional odor and will disassembly very hard when moving. Summary: GREAT value

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Dec 13, 2007

I purchased this bed after shopping around for a while. It's really beautiful and I'm happy I bought it. Like many of the reviews say, it's a little difficult to put together. I put it together myself and it took some time, but I liked the challenge.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Would exchange it if I had any more energy left!
 from Dallas, TX,  Dec 2, 2007

We truely appricate the great customer service we received from Overstock. However the bed not worth the money, and the time we spent for assembly. The bed is VERY average.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great looking bed
 from Chicago, IL,  May 7, 2007

I managed to assemble it myself but it was a little cumbersome. lots of screws and dowels to insert. But in the end, all the effort makes for a very sturdy bed. And very nice looking as well! Does not accommodate a box spring.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I really like the bed but....
 from Oxnard,  Jan 18, 2007

This bed is a great color, true to the web-site. I really like the bed but the assembly and craftsmanship made it a frustrating purchase. Some of the hardware (like screws etc..) were missing. It took my husband and his friend to build the bed due to the fact they could not get the wood pegs in to connect the bed together and with them trying to get them in the bed cracked! Also in some places the bed did not align right to connect in some areas, so with that we had to leave a couple of screws out. I had read all the other reviews before I purchased the bed and all the other reviews stars on workmanship and ease of assembly were not high but I thought I would take a chance because I have purchased other items even furniture on Overstock and I have had no problems before.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Furniture
 from Cincinnati, OH,  Sep 29, 2013

I recently purchased this bedroom suit for my home. Last year I purchased the same furniture for my vacation home in Florida. I absolutely love the styling of this furniture, though the previous version was so much better made. It was the identical brand and everything, but the product is clearly different. I bought the bed, and the dressers, and the hardware is so cheap that all of the cam locks broke with even the slightest pressure tightening them. Now I'm having drawers fall off because the cam locks have broken in the past month just from regular use of the furniture. When we screwed the backing to the dressers, the heads of the screws popped right off. This set also does not have the soft close drawers which the previous version did. So I've had to put some felt pads on the drawers to minimize the clanking of when you close them. This would have been a 5 across the board if the manufacturers wouldn't have cheaped out and spent an additional $** to upgrade the hardware. It's unbelievable and very disappointing.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy but cracked
 from nyc,  Nov 3, 2012

This is a study bed, real wood. Two of us put it together an it took about 3 hours. The instructions were very straight forward but, as other reviewers have stated, some areas were really difficult to tighten the screws (the headboard). For the most part, the holes fit with the dowels... some were too tight, some were loose, but we made it work. The 2 legs beneath the slots of the bed were difficult to line up with the existing screw holes. In the end, we were able to force it. The major flaw is the crack in the headboard. It's a hairline crack and we didn't see it until we were finished building the bed. We didn't want to take the bed apart and wait for overstock to send a replacement so we just kept it. But with time (since july 2012) the crack looks to have grown.... slightly and slowly but it is indeed more noticeable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Platform Bed - Terrible Assembly Directions
 from Albuquerque, NM,  Apr 9, 2012

Check your email from O.co on delivery estimate and make sure to take a day off work to put this thing together, because you'll need some time. It requires two people or one person with extra arms for assembly. However...once you get it all put together, you will LOVE it. Lots of these platform beds have had mediocre ratings for lack of sturdiness and stability. This bed is solid as a rock. It's beautiful. Feels very Zen....now I'm looking for the perfect platform bed comforter or coverlet. This is worth the money.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Dead On
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 148 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 8 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought