Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 186 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
High End Dresser at Low End Price ! !
 from Dallas, TX,  Oct 12, 2007

I've been looking for a dark brown/expresso dresser for the longest time and all the high end stores were selling them for an arm & a leg. I saw this on Overstock and read the reviews and thought I go ahead and try it out. When I received the boxes and opened it I was impressed with how it was packaged. Everything was wrapped/separated by styrafoam sheets and protected the contents very well. I thought the instruction were pretty good and was able to put the dresser together in about 3hrs. The only advice I would give when assembling this dresser is the part where you install the sliding draw rails to both the dresser and drawers to use the screws that are flat on the top and not the round ones the instruction tells you. You want to make sure the flat screws are flush as much as possible. The round screws rub against each other causing the drawer to not open smoothly. Once I used the flat screws for the sliding draw rails on both the dresser & drawers, I could open and close with ease. Besides that assembly was easy. The color of the dresser was spot on perfect and matched my bed exactly like if it came in a bedroom set. I like it so much I bought two of the matching night stands. TOTALLY worth it ! ! !

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
wood splits
 Feb 25, 2009

At first, I loved this dresser! I had purchased a similar bedframe that was much more expesive from a different company and was looking to complete the set without spending a lot. I bought the entire set : both dressers and two night stands. I put it together myself and it was a LONG process, but do-able. The drawers are tricky to set. It looked great for about two months, then the top of each piece began splitting exactly at the point of connection to the side panel. I am talking huge splits that actually made a sound when they occured! I will have to try to repair with wood putty and restain. I love the look, but would not purchase any item in the set again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good value great look
 from Macon, GA,  Jan 7, 2007

The dresser came in three well packaged boxes, all arrived undamaged. It took me close to 5 hours to assemble it myself, a skinny girl with power tool. It was not difficult, the directions were very good, and the overall results are very good too. Because I did not have a helper the dresser feels solid but will not hold up to moving. Another thing, the fume of the paint was so strong I had to evacuate from my bedroom and sleep on the couch for a week to aerate it, I also placed packages of baking soda in each drawer; they seemed to have gotten rid of fume. The fumes literally gave me horrendous headaches. Also, make sure you use the correct size wood dowels to attach the two back support pieces to the top, I almost broke thru the surface becaue I used the longer dowel and as you fasten the screws. I took the wood dowels out and just left it with the screws, and you can't see much the damage on the surface. I think the price is good but not great. I expect this piece to last 3 years or so, so it is ok.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Axium Espresso Dresser
 from Chicago, IL,  Nov 29, 2006

This dresser is beautiful; however, assembly was tedious and very time-consuming. I would have been better off paying double for a sturdier already-assembled dresser. However, again, it does look good. We also got the nightstand. The nightstand was worth the money, because assembly was much easier.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dresser
 from Pennsylvania,  Jul 29, 2009

This dresser looks very nice after you assemble it...but it took me a while to finish this...for the price its not worth spending hours and hours assembling this item...also this item is very very heavy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Assembly is a pain, but that's the only downside
 from Dallas, TX,  Mar 24, 2010

This piece is a beautiful, dark espresso, and every piece is real wood (not of that composite ***** wood). It's all straight lines and strength, except for the drawer handles which are nicely curved and provide an excellent visual contrast. I assembled it myself, but I'm a young, strong guy, and I definitely echo the instructions which call for two people to perform the assembly. The assembly took quite a long time, not from being necessarily difficult, just involved. So be prepared to devote a lot of time to the project. My only complaint about the assembly itself were the screws used to affix the backing to the dresser. Other pieces use small nails to affix this backing, but this piece, being overall just a higher quality piece of furniture, uses tiny screws. Unfortunately, there are no guide holes in the wood for this job, and with 64 of these screws to place, that's 64 repetitions of fumbling with little screws, trying not to strip them, as you press and hope for the wood on the other side to eventually give. It's tedious, irritating, and time-consuming. Similarly, though not as bad, affixing the rails to the drawers requires inserting screws into base wood without pre-drilled holes, although for this the screws are larger and easier to get going. Overall, I quite like the dresser, it's heavy and solid and is terrific quality for money. But it is a pain to assemble, so if that's a deal-breaker for you, look elsewhere (and be prepared to pay a lot more).

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid product, Not for a Beginner
 from Henderson, NV,  Jan 6, 2010

I placed my order for this product and had it delivered to my door in about 4 days! This was using standard delivery! Major kudos to Overstock for their prompt delivery.As for the product, I did read all of the reviews and was somewhat reluctant at first. My biggest concern was the comments about how difficult it was to put together. I have a lot of do-it-yourself experience so I told myself why not. After putting to boxes in the area closest to where it was to be located, I unpacked all the pieces to make sure everything was there. Everything came very well packed and was easy to remove. The entire dresser is made of real wood! None of that particle board stuff in many of the dressers in this price range. The only "flimsy" part of this item is the backer board for the back of the dresser that is never seen. Even the bottoms of the drawers are solid. The directions are not as thorough as one would expect, but my experience with projects allowed me to follow them without difficulty. This is why I would suggest this dresser for someone who does have some experience doing projects.As I was assembling each step, I noticed all guide holes and hardware were in perfect alignment and went together easily. I did use wood glue on all wooden dowel holes to make sure it was put together more secure than with just the hardware. Overall it took about 3 hours to put the entire dresser together by myself. I only required assistance from my 16 year old son one time when both sides needed to be put together. I did see one review that stated the drawers were off alignment when they put them together... I was worried about this, but when I put mine in they were perfect!! The hardware is very stylish and the sturdiness of this piece is excellent!This was purchased for my 16 year old so he will have a piece of furniture that will last him hopefully through college and based on the quality of this piece, I think it will last him much longer!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stylish and solid
 from Laredo, TX,  Apr 1, 2009

I was surprised by the amount of assembly, but was able to do it in about three hours. The instructions were not the clearest, but slowing down and trying to insure proper assembly made the process easier. If you are in a rush to assemble the instructions will be frustrating to read. It has a great dark look that goes with most modern decor. I ended up adding some small round felt pads on the corners of the drawers to prevent slamming, because the rollers it has are quite smooth and if you are not careful you will slam them shut. The only complaint I have is that when we put some clothes in the drawers, the ones on the bottom got stained with some oil like substance from the particle board bottoms. Easy fix, was to put a cloth and then a plastic divider between the clothes and the bottom of the drawer. I love the look of the dresser.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
One Happy Ending!!!
 from CA,  Sep 26, 2008

As I usually do, I read as many of these ratings and what other customers comment on the products I purchase to give me some sort of awareness of what might be in store for me to assemble and see when the product is completed. I've been an active shopper with "Overstock" for a few years and just recently joined as a Club "O" Member to save additional dollars on items purchased and shipping. So far to date and even when I've read in some reviews that the assebly process was difficult or that some parts are missing, I have not had the unfortunate of those happening to me. This product was put together with my nephew and myself in about 1 1/2 hours with really no difficulty at all. We both are mechanically inclined and even though some instructions aren't as clear at times, if you look at the overall scheme of things being put together, you can get a good feel for how they work and should fit. Best things to do it not rush and be careful in applying what is instructed at all times and the end results should be fine. To date, I'm very happy with this purchase and the cost. I wasn't and still not sure what Rubber Wood is, but its finish looks great!!! Good Luck to all who venture into this same dresser.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value for the price
 from Dallas, TX,  Jan 4, 2008

I'd seen very similar dressers (looks & quality) for almost double the price. This piece is very sturdy, great finishing, contemporary-looking and exactly as pictured. Took about 4hours to assemble but it's worth the time and efforts.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great piece of furniture
 from Los Angeles, Ca,  Jan 4, 2008

The dresser is absolutely beautiful. It's extremely sturdy and looks like a solid piece of furniture. It looks exactly as it does in the picture. I love this dresser. It takes some time to put it together, but the instructions are easy to understand. I definitely recommend this to anyone that is looking for a sleek, modern, solid piece of furniture.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This is a great-looking dresser. Elegant design makes it a good fit for a variety of rooms. Solid wood and great espresso finish. Sturdy after it's put together. It's pretty big but that's what I wanted. Drawers are deep and roomy and they slide open and closed smoothly. The fully-assembled product looks like it's a quality piece that would sell for hundreds more in other furniture stores. Definitely a great buy! This is a bit more difficult to put together due to the large number of pieces and the weight of the finished product. The manual is very light - not much in the way of worded steps and explanation. I've put together a lot of furniture before so I was able to figure things out myself, but less-experienced buyers may find it a bit challenging. It took me about 4 hours to put together with a little help from my daughter. Don't let that stop you from purchasing this, though. The end product is definitely worth the effort.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color matches picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality wood and finish
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
High end Look and durable
 from midwest/ kansas city,  Nov 29, 2011

We love the storage in the drawer. It's very sturdy and clean looking. It's been over a year and it still looks new.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. easy to assemble, very sturdy, modern clean look
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great dresser for the price!
 from Indianapolis, IN,  Oct 16, 2011

I read all the prior reviews and printed off the pointers before our assembly. My husband and son-in-law put together in record time! The biggest help/pointer was using wood glue for reinforcement. I am quite confident that it will hold together for years! I had shopped around quite a bit and have purchased many furniture items through the years but am very pleased with this product for the price paid.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Better than expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great quality for the price
 from San Francisco,  Jun 16, 2011

I had bought a different make dresser before and it was pretty good, but wanted something for my living room and decided on this particular dresser based on it's looks, functionality and great reviews. I am glad I spent the extra $200 and bought this dresser. It arrived in perfection condition in only 3 days! It took about 3 hours to assemble. NO missing parts, VERY easy to assemble, and the finished product is extremely sturdy and looks a lot more expensive than it really is. I am extremely satisfied with this purchase and would highly recommend it. Like all types of "assembly-at-home" products such as this, your most invaluable tool is an electric screwdriver.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Great
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from Chicago, Illinois,  Sep 27, 2007

I purchased this dresser after purchasing the queen bed and two night stands. Overall, I am very happy with the entire set. It should be noted that all items were packaged expertly and arrived in great condition. Assembly does require some time and I would highly encourage an electric screwdriver. Key points to note: while all exposed surfaces are solid wood, the inside of the drawers are made of a sturdy particleboard. Also, the top of the dresser is not a long seamless piece of wood, but rather the dresser was designed as though there are two dressers put side-by-side. This is illustrated by the middle leg in the picture, but I missed that in the online view and was surprised when putting it together. This isn┐t meant to be a disclaimer, but rather a point that I wasn┐t aware of prior to my purchase. I would recommend the entire set.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great dresser!
 from chicago, IL,  May 2, 2007

beautiful color and looks great. time consuming to put together, but with the use of a power tool, i was fine. highly recommended.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This was the third piece in this collection that I purchased. We assembled the two matching 4 drawer dressers prior to assembling this one. By then we were pros.........use extra glue and a powertool for sure! This is not a project for an impatient person to work on. My husband loves these kinds of things so it worked for us. The quality is wonderful, except for the bottom of the drawers and the cardboard piece of the back. But who really sees than anyway. I did not have any problem with fumes as indicated in another review.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice, large dresser
 from Little Rock AR,  Dec 8, 2006

My boyfriend and I assembled this dresser in about 2.5 hours. All the pieces went together well and there was extra hardware included. The dresser is well constructed and solid - much nicer than compareably priced dressers at local furniture stores. The drawer pulls are heavy and elegant. Overall I am extremely pleased with this piece and think its a great value for the price. Drawer bottoms are pressboard, but the dowel and screw lock construction result in a very nice dresser that should last for years.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great looking and well built
 from Manchester, NH,  Dec 6, 2006

I spent quite along time searching for a dresser that fit the style I wanted, and finally I found this one. I was impressed with the wood quality (Rubber wood, same family of maple) and that the whole unit is all solid wood pieces except the drawers insides. The Color is a very dark espresso, an almost black deep brown. Assembly, well that was less than fun. It took about 4 hours but that is ok considering the size. Overall, I think it looks great, with good quality and workmanship. Its exactly what I wanted.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 186 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Axium Espresso 1-drawer Nightstand
Sale $101.69
Was $112.99
(217)
Sonax Willow 6-drawer Dresser
Today $329.00
Compare $425.50
Save 23%
(7)
Washed Black Hudson 6-Drawer Dresser
Today $289.99
Compare $339.99
Save 15%
(1)
Axium Buffet
Sale $561.59
Was $623.99
(152)
Back to top