Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 48 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Looks Nice
 from Dallas, TX,  May 31, 2011

The chairs look nice and are fairly comfortable for the price. They are quick to assemble too, though I would note that the lever on one of the chairs was not capable of adjusting the height of the seat post. Fortunately, a quick torque was enough to bend the lever into shape and render it functional. I will simply chalk that up to possible shipping damage and conveniently look the other way. The one inexcusable structural flaw in the design is how the backrest/arm bar is attached to the chair. Since the chairs are high up, people naturally tend to use the arm bar to help hoist themselves up into the seat. Paired with the foot bar, the arm bar is charged with supporting about half the person's weight while mounting or dismounting the chair. Rather than being bolted to something secure - like the metal plate which bolts the seat to the seat post - the arm bar is simply screwed into the particle board that constitutes the bottom of the seat cushion. Consequently, as people get in and out of chair they gradually strip the screws from the cheap wood. If you have small children, this can mean random bolts on the floor for them to pick up and curiously ingest. If you have guests, this can mean an impromptu visit to the floor while announcing the arrival of gravity as your social's guest of honor. If you happen to have access to a metal fabrication facility - which who doesn't nowadays? - you can quite simply cut, drill, and tap a metal plate to meet the structural needs of the chair. If you plan on actually using these chairs - i.e. they will not just sit in the corner and look pretty - I would highly recommend this route as it will transform them from the overly cheap chairs you did not realize you were buying, into the standard fair, cheap chairs you thought you spent your money on. Even simpler would be to just buy a different make. Matisse Company, I thumb my nose at you for inexcusable structural designs. Local metal fabricator, I applaud your assistance in rendering my chairs structurally sound for the mere added cost of $8.00 per chair. Matisse, if a fabricator can interrupt production and upgrade my chairs for $16.00, I would wager that you could simply implement this fix for a negligible cost.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Look good. But pretty small.
 from Dallas,  Feb 15, 2011

These look REALLY good and are fine for smaller sized adults and kids, but not big enough for really big boys, athletes. Seem to be sturdy, but don't feel sturdy when your sitting in them.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bad wrapping
 from Sarasota,FL,  Jan 20, 2011

We ordered the stools after having searched for a long time. First box arrived damaged with both stools dirty, the stains did not come off and the metal had glue on it. We tried to disassemble the stools but gave up after several attempts and send them back assembled. Seems that you can only assemble them once. The set was replaced without problems. New box arrived after 3 days, box damaged, everything as poorly wrapped as the first shipping with just one tiny layer of bubble foil laid around the parts. One stool was dirty and the upholstery was dented. I was able to clean the backrest but the dent is still there. I like the look and they are quite comfortable to sit on, but it does not seem to be easy to send a 100% perfect set. I would rather buy in a store than orering a comparable item again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for the price
 from eastern WA state,  Jul 19, 2010

I ordered 2 sets of these stools and they were delivered in just a few days (3 or 4). My husband put them together relatively quickly; the first one took the longest to complete. You know what to expect and what to do with the next ones. The instructions were written and pictured. There was, of course, one screw missing from one box. Easily remedied with a trip to the hardware store (special short screws--don't ya know, not just the run of the mill screw!). Very comfortable; the back is low and actually supports your low back. I wanted an adjustable stool due to height differences between a table and bartop in the same room. These work perfectly for that situation. Easy to adjust and lightweight enough for me to move easily. They won't be used constantly so I think they'll last. I'm not sure how they'd hold up to really heavy folks or active little kids. I would have given them a 5 star if not for the missing hardware.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Groovy!
 from Forked River, NJ,  Aug 9, 2012

The chairs are perfect. They are fun colors, lightweight and comfortable. THe ability to adjust the height is a big hit at my kitchen island.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color match is exactly as shown on webiste.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Chairs are light and sturdy. One of the chairs have a small tear in the material already, but I'm not blaming the product (lots of 20somethings in this house)!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? extremely accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looking good for less
 from San Diego, CA,  Feb 8, 2014

These chairs arrived much faster than I thought they would. They were easy to assemble, but I was watching TV and not really paying attention. When I finished, one chair worked and one didn't. I was really upset. Then I noticed a little black cap on the floor that had a sticker that read, "Remove Before Assembly." It was a little plastic cap that had protected the hydraulic trigger during shipment. Oops! I could find only one cap, and the chairs come as a set. So I disassembled the faulty chair, and found the little cap wedged into the hydraulic mechanism. Using a hammer and screwdriver, I got it out and reassembled the chair -- it worked fine! As for comfort, they are fine. The cushion is thick, the chrome looks good, and the leather material looks nice and will probably wear well. The chairs are not heavy so I was worried that they would be top heavy. But, because the base is fairly wide, I don't think this is a problem. We really like our new chairs and use them everyday. One feature I really like is that they rise high enough to fit our kitchen bar/counter which is built very high. Great value for the money.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Chairs!
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jun 12, 2012

These chairs look just like they do in the picture. One came without the corresponding hardware but the company immediately sent out new hardware when contacted.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Best BarSools
 from Hector, New York,  Mar 10, 2012

Love these Stools. No issuse with them and I have had them over a year and we sit in them for every meal. Family of four. My husband is tall 250lb man, and my son is 6 now and the Stools fit each of them perfectly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great product
 from Naperville, IL,  Jan 17, 2012

Great product, easy to assemble, very comfortable cushioning too

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality, easy to assemble
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love these barstools
 from Houston, TX,  Dec 15, 2011

I purchased these barstools in white after redecorating my breakfast area. I was a little hesitant but purchased them anyway. I have to say they are better than expected. The material is very durable, easy to assemble and wipe clean with no effort. A "large" relative was visiting and sat on the barstool with no problems. My grandkids love them as well. I'd definitely recommend them.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Sep 19, 2011

I order two sets of these chairs - four total. I got two chairs. They sold out of the original color I got so now I have to send the two I got back because I wont get the four in the same color. Very disappointed - after reading the reviews of other shipping issues, I should have known better. Also, the quality isnt very good. The deal was clearly too good to be true.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
adjustable barstools
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Aug 30, 2011

Easy to assemble but still haven't figured out the "adjustable" factor yet. The directions in the box are extremely vague. It will work for us as they are the perfect height without adjusting.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best Order Ever
 from Alaska,  Jul 1, 2010

First I want to state that one of the pair of stools had several small tears in the white vinyl on the top back of the back rest. Will have to get a kit to repair those, too much bother to send back and wait for another chair. But in spite of the tears, and this is how great these things are, this is my most happy and best order yet from Overstock. Even my very grouchy elderly Pop loves them. I expected him to throw a fit and say why he can't sit in them. They are super easy to assemble, light to move around, yet very sturdy and no fear of them tipping over. They are very soft and comfy for sitting too.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
High quality, dead simple assembly
 from Las Cruces, NM,  Dec 11, 2014

I bought the purple version of these and they are just very slightly lighter than they appeared on my monitor. Not enough to detract from their beauty. I received the large box late one night from UPS and just pushed it into the dining room and left it, thinking of the eight pieces I'd have to put together. I woke an hour early the next morning unexpectedly so got up, got out my screw gun and opened the boxes. Firstly, they're wrapped like your grandma packed them; the chrome pieces are wrapped in paper, then in buble wrap, and sometimes then in cardboard and the whole box packed with sheets of foam. When I got everything unpacked it's literally five pieces. You screw the lifing mechanism to the bottom of the pre-assembled chair, pop the gas raising part of the pole (the bottom) into the base and cover ring, and then attach the two pieces. Be sure and remove the cap from the gas lifter before assembly or the seat won't work!! They're perfect! I wish everything I had to assemble went like this.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Axis Adjustable Chrome bar stools
 from New York,N.Y,  Nov 25, 2014

l like my stools! Easy to put together. Great color

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stylish barstools
 from Roscommon MI,  Sep 3, 2014

Love the stools, they are perfect for my kitchen/office. The seat and back are padded for comfort.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
These barstools are fun and comfortable in lemon
 from Santa Barbara, Calif,  Apr 10, 2014

I purchased 2 sets of lemon yellow bar stools for a game room. The color is very nice and not too over the top yellow. Chrome is a nice finish. The bar stools are best used at the mid to low hydraulic level because when extended to the highest and sat in, they wobble. Very comfortable swivel seats.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great looking barstools
 from Austin Texas,  Mar 5, 2014

I am not a fan of sitting on barstools, probably because I am short, but we just moved into a house with a bar height counter. I wanted modern style and bright colors. My orange barstools took minutes to assemble and are quite comfortable. I looked in several local stores before ordering and I am pleased with the quality, price and comfort.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great looking stools!
 from Lititz, PA,  Jan 29, 2014

Although we haven't sat in the chairs yet, we are happy with the way they are constructed. The colors are the feature that really sold me, they are bright and really draw your eye. We are adding a breakfast bar to our kitchen and we purchased 2 lime green and 2 purple chairs as a color accent. I can't wait to actually use them!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love them!
 from Florida,  Jan 13, 2014

We got these in lime green and they are awesome. They are comfortable and stylish at the same time!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 48 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought