Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 245 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 13 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
AUSTEN BED QUEEN SIZE
 from High Desert of So. California,  Nov 8, 2007

This was and still retails in some places for about 500 bucks in my area. It is probably the BEST purchase I ever made at Overstock. The bed is just as pictured, a beautiful dark chocolate metal that is easy to clean with a slightly damp cloth. It looks so GREAT, anchors the room and can be adapted to go with traditional or more modern decor. I LOVE the fact that it has a great middle support bar with 2 extra support legs. I noticed that it supported my box springs better and thus my mattress and provided a better nights sleep. In other words, it's STURDY, STRONG/ HAS GOOD LOOKS and is EASY to assemble. I have had the bed for about 3 years now. This is a GREAT deal, I was timid about buying a bed online but this proved my reservations wrong. I put it together myself in a very short period of time, The hardware never loosened up from the metal the way that cheaper metal beds do. You will be amazed at the quality of this bed and not sorry about purchasing it. Plus, you get the great Oveerstock low delivery price and can quit shopping for the perfect bed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed
 from Houston, TX,  Nov 20, 2007

This bed arrived quickly and was very well packaged. I purchased it for a guest room and it appears to be a sturdy quality with lots of nice features. I especially like all the extra support braces for under the boxspring. The description states the color is matte black. All the packaging has matte black printed on it. It is actually a chocolate/fudge type color. I like the chocolate color better. Just know that you're not receiving a black bed if that's what you're looking for. My husband assembled the bed very quickly and was very happy with the quality. Thanks Overstock.com I'll be ordering from you again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Austin Bed
 from Ky.,  May 10, 2011

We received the bed last week and it was packaged well. It took about an hour to put together, was no problem and all parts were there! It is a sturdy bed, even my husband was impressed with it! The color is like others have said, more of a deep deep brown (which I really like) instead of the black in the description. I am very pleased with it all the way around, looks and sturdiness! First time buying from Overstock and very happy!!

  • How is the quality of the product? Good quaility!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice but too big!
 from Washington, DC,  Oct 11, 2012

I am extremely disappointed in this purchase. I was hesitant to buy a bed online without seeing it in person, but the price and all the glowing reviews of this bed made me take the plunge. I really regret that decision now. The bed was relatively easy to put together and all the pieces were included. However, I ordered the queen size bed and my queen mattress and boxspring are swimming in this bed. There is about six inches extra in length between the end of my mattress and the end of the headboard or footboard, and there extra are two inches on the sides. This means a)my mattress moves around way too much, b)pillows end up on the floor between my mattress and the headboard, and c)it's actually dangerous for my infant to be crawling around on it because she can easily end up between the mattress and the headboard or footboard. I wish I could return this product, but I don't see how I can put it all back in the box and there was no way of knowing it was way too big before putting it together. I'm not sure if I just got a dud because I haven't seen this issue come up in any of the other reviews. I don't think I'll ever be ordering furniture again from Overstock.com. Oh, and the product description also is inaccurate about the height of the siderails. There is only about 4.5 inches max clearance under the bed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate. As pictured.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems sturdy. Put together relatively easy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Too big!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful bed!
 from Easton,Md,  Jul 27, 2011

I looked for a long time at several beds. Read many reviews and since so many people had said that this bed was dark brown and not black I decided to purchase. I am so happy I did! It is a beautiful bed and a very good quality. Took about an hour to put together and as others have stated it is very sturdy. I am a loyal customer of OS and have made many purchases but this is the first one I have given a review for. That's how much I love it. It was well packed and did not have one scrape or nick. It looks great with my antique dressers. If your thinking of purchasing this bed I really don't think you will be disappointed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Not black but very deep brown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate picture except for color description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better than the picture!
 from Jefferson, NY,  Jul 24, 2011

I'm very happy with the Austen bed. It came in a few days and was very easy to assemble. My husband and I put it together within a half hour. It's very sturdy and made very well. It looks really good in our country house. I love the color and style of it. The only drawback that I can think of is the frame is lower to the floor so you can't slide anything under the bed. I had a tin linen box under the last bed I had but it doesn't fit anymore. It's going to be hard to clean under this bed. With the newer mattresses being so much deeper than they used to be the bed doesn't seem low to look at. Overall we're very happy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It wasn't a deep black, more of a chocolate brown. I expected that from other reviews.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very strong, good quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Austen
 from Waynesboro, PA,  Apr 20, 2011

This bed is solid as a rock! I was very impressed with the support bars that go between the rails, there are four and each one has a support leg! So instead of one center support leg there is 4 times the support. I had it together in an hour and there is not a shake, shimmy or squeak in it. Everything was packed tight and secure. Instructions and all parts were secured inside. I think It is advertised black but the color is a chocolate brown, which is what I wanted. I picked up on the color change from the other reviews. I was a little apprehensive about that but took a leap of faith. I am very happy I did. Great quality, better price.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? exceptional
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this!
 from San Francisco, CA,  Jun 18, 2009

This is my first bed frame I bought for myself and my boyfriend. We just moved into a new apartment and it was the perfect finish! I received the bed frame on time and took about a hour to assemble. It did take both of us to put together but very easy instructions to follow. I love this product!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Austen Queen-size bed
 from Iowa City, IA,  Jan 11, 2013

Nice solid bed. My only concern is that the frame appears to be 6 inches longer than the mattress. I don't think that is going to be a problem I'm curious on why it was made that way.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Pretty close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. amazingly solid when assembled. I had my doubts when first starting out
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bed
 from Winnemucca, NV,  Jul 19, 2012

We recently moved to a house built in 30's and the old oak king panel bed just ate up the room so we got the queen but after waking to the Rottweiler cuddling with my matelasse on several mornings, I decided to get this bed to contain my linens from falling to floor at night...still looking for that heirloom wrought iron bed but in the interim, this is a very nice little metal bed. The packing is insane but your bed arrives without a scratch and is so easy to assemble. All parts were there and construction is tight and sturdy, very good support bracing under box springs... Our mattress is very deep so the top of mattress is pretty level with top rail of foot board but looks nice. All fixtures in this room are oil rubbed bronze and this bed is a perfect match in finish...why it is described and labeled on box as black is beyond me...it is not black. Really nice metal bed for very little money and looks quite cool in a shabby chic setting. :-)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? not good...this bed is NOT black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate other than color
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Austen Queen-size Bed frame
 from Midland, TX,  Jan 25, 2012

Placed order, received within a week. But when I went to put it together found some missing bolts, called and was shipped by express and finished construction. Like the color, looks like older irion beds, metal is strong (not light weight as some beds). Looked great in my guest bedroom.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect!
 from Topeka, KS,  Nov 1, 2011

I relied heavily upon the reviews for this bed and after reading a lot of them decided to take the plunge. The one thing that I di dn't understand clearly is that this bed is much lower than my previous bed. I am 5'5" and have kind of short legs and I can sit on the side of the bed and my feet will be flat on the floor. There really isn't any room to store things underneath of the bed. I don't really want to so that isn't a problem for me. What I did do - which I did with my previous bed is to store my two leaves for my dining room table under it and then slip underheath fine from under the foot of the bed and not from the sides. The bed went together very easily and quickly. And then poof it was there. I think I'm going to get an extra fitted sheet to put on the box springs rather than a dust ruffle because there really isn't anything to hide under the bed and it gives it a "cleaner" look - in my view. It is rock solid after assembling but the box springs took a little adjusting to make sure it was in the right spot in between the left and right side and the head and the foot of the bed. I would highly recommend this bed and particularly for the price - it is a lot of bang for your buck.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? This is more of a dark aged bronze - brown rather than black which is what it said on the box. My knobs on my furniture in my bedroom are bronze and this bed matches them closely.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed
 from Colorado,  Aug 1, 2011

This is the third bed that my family has purchased from overstock. My sister has the audrey one and i have the rosette one. When my sister moved out my mom bought this one to replace hers that she took with her. We are very pleased with it although I like the finish on the rosette and audrey ones better, they are more shiney with black and brown color. This one is more of a matt black finish. I do like the look of the headboard. It is taller than other and looks nice. I can't believe the quality of these beds for the price. I don't think you can beat it anywhere else. Assembly is easy too. It look me less than an our to take apart my sisters bed and put this on up. I made sure all the bolts were nice and tight. I would recomend this bed and the other metal beds from overstock. Very satisfied!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent product - quality and assembly
 from Buena Vista, CO,  Jul 5, 2011

I was very pleased and satisfied with the product. It was good quality with excellent overall color. I could see no defects and/or color variation. The price was good too. The instructions for assembly were clear and easy to follow. It took me a little longer to assemble than previous purchasers reviews because I was working by myself. I would recommend this product and Overstock.com to all my friends.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Site said black but it was actually a deep chocolate brown which was just fine with me.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality - I could see no defects.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate except for the variance of color.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this bed
 from Illinois,  Apr 12, 2011

What a fantastic bed for a great price. I was a little un-sure about how the quality was going to be on such a low price bed frame. I was very suprised at how good it came out. It is absolutly beautiful. My only problem was with the directions, they are a little confusing and not much detail. Just make sure you have someone to help put it togehter. Took me and another person about an hour. The bottom rail support is fantastic, the bed does not move or squeek at all. THe color is great and so is the workmanship. Would highly

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worth It
 from Texas,  Nov 4, 2010

I purchased the king bed approximately a month ago. I love the bed, which is sturdy and great looking. The only negative comment I have is that the foot board is approximately four inches beyond the end of the mattress. I do recommend this bed as it's a bargain for the price and has a high quality look.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed!
 from Cumming, GA,  Nov 5, 2008

This is a great bed for the price. My main concern was how sturdy it would be and it is VERY sturdy! The look is fabulous with any decor. Don't hesitate to by this bed on-line.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love metal beds? Love this one.
 from Memphis, TN,  May 29, 2014

Simple style, great price. It looks more hefty with a taller mattress on it than in the pictures on the website. Because it comes with the rails and support, you cannot beat the price. I love it!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Attractive | Sturdy | Great Value
 from Minneapolis,  Apr 8, 2014

Very attractive and sturdy. Easily compares to similar beds from pricey stores. Reasonably simple assembly.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, Sturdy Metal Bed
 from Bremen, AL,  Apr 2, 2014

I have always wanted a metal bed but was afraid of getting one that is flimsy or shaky. Ordering a metal bed online was a little scary, but this bed got such good reviews that I ordered it and I am very glad I did. It was easy to assemble. I put it together by myself in about an hour, taking my time. Everything worked out great, no missing parts, and no leftover parts. The only two tools you need are provided. This bed is very sturdy and very pretty. The picture does not do it justice. As others have stated, it IS more of a dark brown finish which I prefer over black anyway. I did not experience having any extra inches between my mattress and the footboard or headboard, just enough to tuck my comforter between the footboard and mattress. It is about an inch lower than my other wooden bed but I don't mind that at all. I highly recommend this bed for it's beauty and function.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 245 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 13 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Stanley Queen-size Bed
Today $294.99
Compare $459.00
Save 36%
(313)
Cooper Queen-size Bed
Sale $161.99
Was $179.99
(45)
Fenton Queen-size Bed
Sale $220.39
Was $244.88
Compare $359.00
Save 39%
(132)
Winslow Queen-size Bed
Sale $239.39
Was $265.99
Compare $297.02
Save 19%
(8)
Back to top