Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 29 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great Value, Comfortable Firm Mattress
 from Charleston, SC,  Aug 22, 2011

The mattress arrived in 4 business days using the included standard shipping option. The mattress feels different than a standard mattress because it is not a standard mattress. As in the picture, the mattress is not completely flat, there are indentations which are part of the design (I assume this is part of the scaffolding that holds the cotton in place). Things you should know: The mattress did not come vacuum packed. It arrived wrapped in plastic wrap. It takes two people to carry the mattress. I decided to give this mattress 5 Stars because it is a good product for a fair price. That said, I think most people would prefer a standard mattress for regular sleeping. I would not suggest using this as your everyday mattress unless you like the feel of a cotton mattress as opposed to a standard mattress.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? White
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product appears to be of high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The site description was very accurate. Exception: The mattress did not arrive "Vacuum Packed" as stated in the review.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE LOVE LOVE
 from Nashville, TN,  Nov 27, 2012

As I had figured, this mattress is actually more like 5-6 inches. I have no problem with that in the least. It's still very comfortable, plush, and I haven't slept better in years. I have this mattress directly on the floor, like most other reviewers. It is VERY heavy. You really need 2 people moving this thing. I was able to slowly drag it in the box all by myself to my bedroom after the FexEx driver wouldn't step foot in my house, due to liablity issues, apparently. The mattress is every bit of the 100lbs the listing states. It comes rolled up like a taquito and there are plastic straps holding it in place. Then it's covered in stinky plastic wrapping. And then there's the outer box... also wraped with plastic strapping. The box was beat up when it arrived, but the mattress was completely unharmed. I can't imagine the trip the dang thing had across the country being that heavy and huge. Oh and it was delivered exactly 4 days after my order, and I didn't even choose expedited shipping. That was awesome. Anyway, once out of the packaging and unrolled I immediately regretted not rolling it out exactly where I wanted it to be. When it's all sprawled out, moving it again seriously does require two people just because it's awkward, and did I mention... HEAVY! Oh and the smell. I expected that too based on other reviewers. The smell lingered for maybe 2-3 days and then it was just fine. It smelled chemical-like and almost cedar-like, it was weird. But no smell in the least now. Oh and I actually haven't gotten out the tape measure to see exactly how big it is, but a standard king fitted sheet doesn't fit. I'm going to end up getting a flat sheet and sewing some elastic on it to make do with what I've got. In spite of all this, I wouldn't have any other bed. This is the ultimate. I no longer have back pain, it's extremely comfortable (firm, for sure, but supportive), and looks great. I highly recommend it. For the price, it just cannot be beat!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is a shade shy of white. Just like the photo on the product page.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. As expected. All materials used serve their purpose. It isn't especially high quality, but is still great.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It isn't 8 inches thick. The material may be sewn to hold 8 inches of thickness, but because the fill is loose fibers, it isn't square and doesn't stack up that high.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It works--so far!
 from Santa Monica, CA,  Oct 4, 2012

I have been sleeping on the floor using a futon mattress for 25 years. Recently, I decided to upgrade from Queen to King size. I saw this futon advertised through Overstock and the price was reasonable--especially when you factor in SHIPPING!!! Although the futon appears well made, I am not sure how long it will keep its structural integrity because the cotton doesn't feel packed very tight. So for those using it on a futon frame this will be fine. I'm not sure how many king sized futon frames there are in the world though. I also ordered a 4inch memory foam pad for the futon, which makes the whole setup extremely comfortable and will probably keep the futon from packing down. I will try to remember to update this review in a year or so to see if the futon keeps its shape. As of right now, I'm sleeping wonderfully!

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is not an especially high quality, firm futon
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This futon is terrible
 from Rhode Island,  Jun 6, 2013

We purchased this item and it is not as described. It states that is is 8 inches thick when in fact it is 5. It also states that it is 78x80 inches but it is 76x78 inches. This is the most uncomfortable thing in the world. We have had it for less than a week and it is terrible. I do have a photos of it with a tape measure so you can see the exact size. I have never had a problem with Overstock but his really was a big waste of money.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very thin and incorrect size
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very poor
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for Back...
 from Florida,  Sep 22, 2012

Great especially for those who sleep on their back. My wife complains about "waxy" smell though. My nose isn't that sensitive.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? cotton - it compares well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality, heavy, it's a two person job to move
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Using this as a regular mattress,excellent product
 from Dallas, Texas,  Feb 11, 2014

Using this as a regular mattress for past year, because most mattresses are way to soft for my back. The price however has gone up by almost XX% in the last 1.5 yrs

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Very Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent quality
 from Moultrie, GA,  Jan 27, 2014

I bought this mattress after looking into several others for a firm tone. I have horrible facet issues in my back. I was concerned with buying an expensive actual mattress set so decided to go this route. I am very happy with the quality. My husband does not have back issues and I was hoping it would not be to stiff for him. He loves it as well. When the item arrived in the time frame given at check out I was happy. It came in a box that was very long and of course heavy. It had been rolled up and was easy to free from the plastic strips. This bed is extremely heavy and very difficult to move by yourself. Once laid on the bed it fit perfect. I have not had to sleep on the floor and found this to be the comfortable firmness for my back. We did place a 2.5in memory foam on the top to take away from the style of the bed we bought that was a platform and had wooden slats that I could feel with just the futon mattress over it. For the price and the fact that this bed did not have a horrible foul odor once unpackaged I could not have found a better deal. We slept on it right out the box. We both get a better nights sleep with this mattress.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Very Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice!
 from Mt Vernon, WA,  Nov 29, 2013

We ordered this to use as a base between a cheap memory foam mattress we got stuck with (NOT from Overstock) and the box spring because the memory foam was compressing so badly that we were quite literally sleeping on the box springs Ouch! The futon mattress is just the right size, thickness and firmness to provide a great base and now we are sleeping comfortably every night! It is very heavy and bulky so you will definitely need two people to move and set it up but it's worth it!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Very Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good for Asian Indian people
 from Cincinnati, Ohio,  Nov 9, 2013

I am from India and did not like the spring mattress used here in America, I was desperately looking for simple cotton filled mattress. I am lucky to find it here. Its just like the mattress we sleep on in India. Very firm at the same time soft. My wife just loves it. All my friends also liked it, they told me they also plan to buy it.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Very Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As expected.
 from Sunnyvale, CA,  Oct 11, 2013

The mattress is very comfortable. I can't feel the uneven surface at all. It is very very heavy though. I can hardly move it at all.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Very Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome !
 from Frisco ,TX,  Aug 19, 2013

If you're looking for a Mattress filled with cotton,firm feel ,this is it ! It's pretty heavy .We love it .

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Very Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
If you like very firm, youll love this.
 from Kansas City, Ks,  Jul 11, 2013

I read the other reviews, and they mentioned an odor from the mattress, and yes, it does have one from the packaging process, but that does go away, and it isnt that bad. The mattress is very firm, so if you dont like sleeping on futons and couch type beds, then this is not for you. I love the mattress, first style like this I have owned, and I have it laying directly on the floor, and it is perfect amount of padding for me. I have no back pain or any other types of pain from sleeping on something so firm. It is perfect for me, but definitely not for everyone.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Very Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent old school mattress
 from LA,  May 20, 2013

Best move ever. Keeping it simple at its very best. We paired this no nonsense mattress with a feather bed and it is heaven. We get the "no pressure points" benefit of the feather bed while retaining the firm support of this cotton mattress. We both look forward to sinking into our bed after a long day. So far, so good. No need for foam, latex, coil, or gel.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed
 from Colorado,  May 5, 2013

I have been sleeping on a futon mattress for a long time but decided to get a bigger size. The price of this was so good and the thickness I thought it was a great deal. Long story short - I have a platform bed. I could barely sleep the first night. It felt like I was sleeping on the platform - no cushion. I had to buy 3" of foam the next day to put UNDER the mattress . Problem still not solved. I will need a serious topper for this mattress. By the time I finish padding this mattress, I'm going to have outspent the mattress :-(

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's good to sleep well
 from Evansville IN,  Apr 26, 2013

Great mattress. Just what the Dr. ordered. I added a topper to it. Now it feels just like the expensive brand name mattresses. It works best on a platform frame with sides. Remember, you get what you pay for. I made it into a high end mattress with just a few add ons. Great bed for the buck.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was just as the description said it was.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Pretty good quality bed for the buck.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The product description was right on.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

There is some smell (I don't know what the smell is of exactly) but after a while it goes away. The futon itself is awesome. I love it. Also just beware that this is very heavy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close to the actual thing
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Top Grade
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
wonderful mattress!
 from Orem, UT,  Apr 9, 2013

We are very pleased with this mattress. My husband has had trouble sleeping for most of our 22 year marriage. He changes from sleeping on the floor to whatever bed we have at the time. His back has bothered him most of the time. He had an occasion to sleep on a futon about a year ago and ever since then he has always wanted one but we needed a king size to share our bed at times with scared children. I was so excited to find this mattress!! We waited excitedly the 5 days it took to ship and we are so happy with the result. I was afraid it was going to be too firm for me but I've slept great and my husband wakes up every morning rested and free of back pain! What an inexpensive solution to his problem. We are thrilled!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? looks yellower than in the picture but not much different
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality seems just fine for a futon. I didn't expect much different.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Seemed accurate enough
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this mattress
 from henderson, nv,  Mar 19, 2013

Wasn't real sure about ordering this off of Overstock. We have never even slept on one, we weren't even sure if we would like it as much as we liked the idea of it. Anyhow, I don't remember the last time we have slept this well, super dooper comfortable, very firm. Other reviews mentioned a smell, it did have a fresh manufactured odor, but that was gone by the time we got back from the store with new sheets. Love it

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent and better than expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Natural King Sized Futon
 from Seattle, WA,  Mar 13, 2013

As other reviewers have noted this is a fairly bare bones futon but really does the job well if you're looking for a basic mattress without foam or other fancy filling and like a fairly hard bed. We bought a basic wooden slat bed base for ours. So far we've been sleeping on it a couple of weeks and my husband is reporting his back feels much better. I was worried that the indents in the mattress where it is stitched would be bothersome but so far they haven't and we are not using a mattress cover of any sort. Overall it seems well worth the money.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality seems good so far
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mattress
 from edison, nj,  Feb 17, 2013

ok, but was expecting 8" thickness as said in the description. The firmness is good though.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. ok
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It is less than 8"
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 29 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top