Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Not worth the money
 from Oshkosh, WI,  Apr 12, 2012

I was supprised to see 4 large boxes arrive when I thought the assembly would be to attach the desk to the hutch top! They were all very heavy and the top of the desk was damage on 3 sides as if it were dropped on the ends. It took 10 hours to put this desk and hutch together! Instructions were good but there were pages and pages and 4 large boxes of parts. Not including the screws and bolts, there must have been at lease 50 wood pieces to assemble. It took two people to carry the boxes in the house and two people for parts of the assembly. I would expect something like this to be sold at Walmart for about $300. I have been more than pleased with all the things I bought at Overstock, and there have been many, up to now. I would not suggest you buy this desk. I wish there was a review when I was looking at it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Redder than the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality not comparable with the price. Did not expect to have to assemble everything!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very little Oak, and that was thin...mostly composite and veneers.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Assembly took HOURS but worth the money & time.
 from Cedar Point, NC,  Sep 3, 2012

My husband spent a whole afternoon putting the desk together. Nothing, and I mean nothing, was assembled beforehand. The description tells you that it needs to be assembled, but it would be better if some of the pieces were already assembled. You definitely need to be a handyman to be able to put this desk together, and be sure to have your drills handy! The quality of the wood is great and the color shown is what you will get when you buy this item. I'm pleased with how the desk looks and believe it is a great choice for someone that likes the Arts & Crafts style. If you were to buy this desk already assembled, you would pay much more!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Mostly Solid Oak
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Desk is wonderful, Hutch a disaster to assemble
 from Florence Oregon,  Dec 14, 2013

If I had a chance to do it again I would have just bought the dest. Having put together ready to assemble cabinets and furniture it was no surprise and although very time consuming and several minot adjustments to make the drawers even looked great and was well worth the money. As to the hutch it had 2 broken pieces ( glued them and restained to match, rather than try to deal with customer service) Absolutely nothing lined up and the cam lock fasteners all broke trying to hold it together while assembling. I finally resorted to my cabinet clamps, Gorilla Glue and braid nailer to get it together. Also the space for the monitor was too low for my computer monitor after I finished it so had to make a new stand for it to make it fit. What a waste. Altogether I spent about 12 hours assembling the desk and hutch, good thing I am retired and have done woodworking all my life or it would have been a complete disaster.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Oak desk
 from Noth carolina,  Sep 28, 2014

Although the desk is nice it is not oak the picture does not show it the way we received it. more of a cherry color , small pieces of oak to put it together but not made of oak...

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Been Waiting for this One...
 from North Carolina,  Apr 30, 2014

This desk is absolutely beautiful. We bought it after seeing a similar one at my uncle's home. The color and mission styling are just gorgeous! Thanks again Overstock! I haven't bought a product from you that I haven't liked.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice desk for the $$
 from New York,  Apr 11, 2014

I read all the reviews regarding weight and lengthy set up time...I asked my hubby what he thought and he said no problem..it is very heavy (oak is) and it does take a bit to assemble BUT it is a lovely piece of furniture and we are pleased with it. GREAT VALUE FOR THE PRICE.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful desk but cracked in two places
 from Maryland,  Mar 18, 2014

Had a handyman put my desk together. After he put it together he showed me 2 large cracks in the wood. Wish I had of seen them before he put the desk together. This was pricey to have two large cracks. It is a beautiful desk but.............I am so disappointed.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A lot of assembly but not that bad
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jan 27, 2014

I read the other reviews of this product and was scared of this desk - the assembly sounded like a nightmare. I was a bit intimidated and not sure how this would work, but the price of the desk was reasonable and it had the drawers/hutch I needed so I was willing to give it a try. Yes, the desk was completely disassembled and arrived in 4 huge boxes, but it wasn't as bad as I thought. It was pretty straightforward and with patience it was easy enough to assemble by myself (the directions are fairly simple but I'd recommend you read the assembly on all 4 sections before beginning - I put a panel upside down because I didn't realize how the hutch attached to the desk, but it wasn't a big deal). I agree with the other reviewers and would recommend you inspect each of the pieces - I had several that were damaged (Including a huge gouge in the desk top itself). I contacted Overstock customer service about the damage and they were great. I had new replacement parts in a couple of days.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent quality.
 from Nolensville, TN,  Jan 27, 2014

Beautiful piece of furniture and matches well with our floors.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value and a Beautiful Desk
 from St Louis, Mo.,  Nov 12, 2013

My desk arrived in record time, and in four huge boxes. I was so thankful for our UPS man!!...When I started assembling I was very pleased that it was solid wood, not laminate, and how nice the joint work and fit and finish were. It took several hours to assemble, but the end product is well worth it. The color has a bit more red tone than oak, but it blends nicely with my other furniture. I had read several of the previous reviews, so I was very skeptical. My only complaint, is that there aren't more pieces you can purchase to match it. Very, Very pleased!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Great desk, well-engineered, attractive and solid. Only reason it didn't get five stars is one of the base units had a few quality control issues (missing parts, holes not drilled). Rest of the desk was perfect. And the manufacturer promptly shipped all missing pieces. I would buy again and recommend to others.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor Quality
 from Northbridge, MA,  Jul 23, 2013

As far as assembly goes, 25% of the screw holes didn't match up. 1 runner on the draws had to be moved so that the drawer would go in. The directions were easy enough, but the labels on the pieces didn't always tell you what side to attach to the next piece. I had to turn the piece around to match up with the holes which didn't always work. It made assembly difficult and I still have the hutch to go.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice buy
 from ohio,  Jun 17, 2013

not easy to assemble, however very worth the price. hutch a little smaller than we thought but love it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. nice wood
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Do NOT order this item!
 from Ohio,  May 10, 2013

Do NOT order this desk. While the picture looks great, the item is not as advertised. The pieces were not drilled correctly, 2 pieces were broken, and 2 of the boxes looked damaged upon arrival. It took over 4 hours to attempt to assemble this item. Some of the pieces were particle board, flimsy, not at all well made, and this was a huge disappointment. On the plus side Overstock has excellent customer service and issued return UPS labels and arranged for pick up at my home since the item came in 4 large boxes. They were very helpful but this desk was a big waste of time.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? lighter
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor, cheap
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wrong color
 from Florida,  Jan 24, 2013

If you are looking for a product that is finished with a light oak stain DO NOT buy this desk. The actual color was at least 4 shades darker than the picture on the site. I do not understand why Overstock did not use the actual color. I now know that it is impossible to obtain the color from the picture - it isn't even close!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Product is 4 shades darker than the picture on the site. I picked the produce for its light oak finish - the actual finish was dark oak!!!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Except for the color it was accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top