Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 38 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Not worth the money
 from Oshkosh, WI,  Apr 12, 2012

I was supprised to see 4 large boxes arrive when I thought the assembly would be to attach the desk to the hutch top! They were all very heavy and the top of the desk was damage on 3 sides as if it were dropped on the ends. It took 10 hours to put this desk and hutch together! Instructions were good but there were pages and pages and 4 large boxes of parts. Not including the screws and bolts, there must have been at lease 50 wood pieces to assemble. It took two people to carry the boxes in the house and two people for parts of the assembly. I would expect something like this to be sold at Walmart for about $300. I have been more than pleased with all the things I bought at Overstock, and there have been many, up to now. I would not suggest you buy this desk. I wish there was a review when I was looking at it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Redder than the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality not comparable with the price. Did not expect to have to assemble everything!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very little Oak, and that was thin...mostly composite and veneers.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Assembly took HOURS but worth the money & time.
 from Cedar Point, NC,  Sep 3, 2012

My husband spent a whole afternoon putting the desk together. Nothing, and I mean nothing, was assembled beforehand. The description tells you that it needs to be assembled, but it would be better if some of the pieces were already assembled. You definitely need to be a handyman to be able to put this desk together, and be sure to have your drills handy! The quality of the wood is great and the color shown is what you will get when you buy this item. I'm pleased with how the desk looks and believe it is a great choice for someone that likes the Arts & Crafts style. If you were to buy this desk already assembled, you would pay much more!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Mostly Solid Oak
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Desk is wonderful, Hutch a disaster to assemble
 from Florence Oregon,  Dec 14, 2013

If I had a chance to do it again I would have just bought the dest. Having put together ready to assemble cabinets and furniture it was no surprise and although very time consuming and several minot adjustments to make the drawers even looked great and was well worth the money. As to the hutch it had 2 broken pieces ( glued them and restained to match, rather than try to deal with customer service) Absolutely nothing lined up and the cam lock fasteners all broke trying to hold it together while assembling. I finally resorted to my cabinet clamps, Gorilla Glue and braid nailer to get it together. Also the space for the monitor was too low for my computer monitor after I finished it so had to make a new stand for it to make it fit. What a waste. Altogether I spent about 12 hours assembling the desk and hutch, good thing I am retired and have done woodworking all my life or it would have been a complete disaster.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice desk for the $$
 from New York,  Apr 11, 2014

I read all the reviews regarding weight and lengthy set up time...I asked my hubby what he thought and he said no problem..it is very heavy (oak is) and it does take a bit to assemble BUT it is a lovely piece of furniture and we are pleased with it. GREAT VALUE FOR THE PRICE.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful desk but cracked in two places
 from Maryland,  Mar 18, 2014

Had a handyman put my desk together. After he put it together he showed me 2 large cracks in the wood. Wish I had of seen them before he put the desk together. This was pricey to have two large cracks. It is a beautiful desk but.............I am so disappointed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice
 Dec 10, 2015

There are a lot of parts, but the directions are very good. Hardware, like drawer slides are already installed, so pretty much all you have to do is bolt and screw it together, but it does take some time, but I did it by myself (everything lined up nicely). Quality is very nice, worth the money for sure. I love it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Been Waiting for this One...
 from North Carolina,  Apr 30, 2014

This desk is absolutely beautiful. We bought it after seeing a similar one at my uncle's home. The color and mission styling are just gorgeous! Thanks again Overstock! I haven't bought a product from you that I haven't liked.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A lot of assembly but not that bad
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jan 27, 2014

I read the other reviews of this product and was scared of this desk - the assembly sounded like a nightmare. I was a bit intimidated and not sure how this would work, but the price of the desk was reasonable and it had the drawers/hutch I needed so I was willing to give it a try. Yes, the desk was completely disassembled and arrived in 4 huge boxes, but it wasn't as bad as I thought. It was pretty straightforward and with patience it was easy enough to assemble by myself (the directions are fairly simple but I'd recommend you read the assembly on all 4 sections before beginning - I put a panel upside down because I didn't realize how the hutch attached to the desk, but it wasn't a big deal). I agree with the other reviewers and would recommend you inspect each of the pieces - I had several that were damaged (Including a huge gouge in the desk top itself). I contacted Overstock customer service about the damage and they were great. I had new replacement parts in a couple of days.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent quality.
 from Nolensville, TN,  Jan 27, 2014

Beautiful piece of furniture and matches well with our floors.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value and a Beautiful Desk
 from St Louis, Mo.,  Nov 12, 2013

My desk arrived in record time, and in four huge boxes. I was so thankful for our UPS man!!...When I started assembling I was very pleased that it was solid wood, not laminate, and how nice the joint work and fit and finish were. It took several hours to assemble, but the end product is well worth it. The color has a bit more red tone than oak, but it blends nicely with my other furniture. I had read several of the previous reviews, so I was very skeptical. My only complaint, is that there aren't more pieces you can purchase to match it. Very, Very pleased!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well-made, attractive desk, solid wood w/ QC issue
 from Texas,  Nov 1, 2013

Great desk, well-engineered, attractive and solid. Only reason it didn't get five stars is one of the base units had a few quality control issues (missing parts, holes not drilled). Rest of the desk was perfect. And the manufacturer promptly shipped all missing pieces. I would buy again and recommend to others.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor Quality
 from Northbridge, MA,  Jul 23, 2013

As far as assembly goes, 25% of the screw holes didn't match up. 1 runner on the draws had to be moved so that the drawer would go in. The directions were easy enough, but the labels on the pieces didn't always tell you what side to attach to the next piece. I had to turn the piece around to match up with the holes which didn't always work. It made assembly difficult and I still have the hutch to go.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice buy
 from ohio,  Jun 17, 2013

not easy to assemble, however very worth the price. hutch a little smaller than we thought but love it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. nice wood
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Do NOT order this item!
 from Ohio,  May 10, 2013

Do NOT order this desk. While the picture looks great, the item is not as advertised. The pieces were not drilled correctly, 2 pieces were broken, and 2 of the boxes looked damaged upon arrival. It took over 4 hours to attempt to assemble this item. Some of the pieces were particle board, flimsy, not at all well made, and this was a huge disappointment. On the plus side Overstock has excellent customer service and issued return UPS labels and arranged for pick up at my home since the item came in 4 large boxes. They were very helpful but this desk was a big waste of time.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? lighter
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor, cheap
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well made solid piece of furniture!!
 Feb 6, 2016

When the desk arrived & I got it put together went to put the top on the desk it did not line up right therefore the top of the desk sat at an angle!! I measured the slats on the bottom and they were misalign.....I took pictures to show the defect and contacted "OVERSTOCK" they reached a solution right away and sent me a new desk top right away...I appreciate a company like this and I won't hesitate to order again!! Great quality furniture as well as Customer Service!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Design, Solid Wood
 Nov 30, 2015

Folks, I was a little worried reading some of the negative reviews posted, but when I received the Desk and back in four boxes and began assembly I was pleasantly surprised. It is ALL Solid Wood with an excellent design and strong construction there are a few cam locks used, but since they are in solid wood you don't have to worry about the easy tear out that happens on most assembled furniture of chip board. Assembly was easy for me but took quite a while you must follow the instructions carefully and look at the pictures to see in which directions pieces face with holes etc. One person can do it but there are a number of times a second pair of hands speeds the process, esp. the back piece. If you are not mechanically inclined get some one who is before you start. Once together I am sure you will be impressed with the construction and strength of the desk. I recommend this desk to all, and Overstock has the best price nearly $$$ less than the most popular internet site.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mrs
 Nov 20, 2015

desk arrived in great shape - put together easily and looks fantastic!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Diana Giles
 Nov 7, 2015

Purchased the Cottage desk and hutch set. I am very satisfied with the quality and appearance after desk was put together and sitting in the area of my home. Also...impressed how soon we received out desk after I placed the order. If anyone wants a country looking desk to go with their country decor in their home..this desk would fit in perfectley.....Diana Giles

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kris
 Oct 23, 2015

Great piece, Looks great, not that hard to put together, read the reviews and thought "Oh Boy" But seriously I put it together myself while my husband sat and watched. Not that difficult. Love the looks and quality

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
littlegirl1
 Oct 20, 2015

love it! took a lot of time to put together but it is really good quality. Would have paid more from a furniture store, quality was not equal.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 38 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought