For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 230 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 12 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good Buy
 from Seattle, Wa,  Aug 27, 2009

This buffet is beautiful. Made of quality materials. I read the other reviews prior to buying so was aware of the assembly concerns going in. We were able to get everything assembled relatively easy, except as other reviewers put the instructions are not clear on how to put the drawers on. In fact, the directions actually show putting the drawer brackets on the interior walls of the buffet backward. So, if you buy this buffet I would suggest mounting the brackets for one drawer completely, to make sure you have them the correct way and then do the rest. This should save the headache that most others experienced. The brackets attached to the drawers should have the wheels at the back-end of the drawer. The brackets mounted on the interior side-walls of the buffet should have the wheels at the front, open-end of the buffet and the wheel should be on the bottom. So, when you put the drawer in it will rest on top of the wheel mounted in the buffet.Overall I am very pleased with this purchase and hope that the explanation on mounting the drawers helps.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
4 Hours
 from Peoria, AZ,  Oct 3, 2010

I have previously ordered the matching end tables, so I knew it would be quality. I timed myself and it was slightly over 4 hours( includes the time spent organizing the parts). I only used a manual screwdriver ,could save time with a drill. Love the look of this, very contemporary. I am using it as a TV stand, liquor cabinet. Like the drawers for holding my WII parts. I am a 60 year old female.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Product is much darker than shown.
 from Atlanta, Ga,  Oct 16, 2011

I ordered this product, it arrived after about 8 days or so - which was acceptable. I was VERY excited to buy this product and thought it would meet my needs perfectly (looked like it would work with my very dark brown dining room table). However, when I opened the package, I was thoroughly disappointed to see that the wood was most definitely black, with no bit of brown in it at all. I contacted customer service regarding returning this product, and I did know it wouldn't be free to return it, but I was told it would cost $$$ to ship the product back. I bought the buffet for $$$. The return price on the return just seems absurd - it's 40% of the purchase price. I just received this product - so there is no restocking fee or anything added. I'm now trying to sell the buffet on *** to hopefully not loose as much money. Overall, I'm very disapointed with overstock.com and thiswhole experience.. I am not going out of my way to shop here again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Much darker in person.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality appears ok - wood is thin, product was heavy. I did not take much of it out of the box.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Other than color, not sure.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect as a TV Stand
 from Holiday, Florida,  May 16, 2011

I've had this product for 6 months now, and I'm very happy with it. Using it as a TV stand, since most pieces made for that purpose are only about two feet high, and that looks stupid with a huge flat screen. It came quickly and undamaged and boyfriend put it together in an afternoon. It is lovely, the espresso color wood has a visible grain and the finish is perfect. The cable boxes and stuff fit in the "shelf" with room to spare. The drawers slide easily and the storage is a real bonus. One thing, if you intend to put some considerable weight on the top, like a TV, you will need to make a small "brace" to keep the top from sagging. Boyfriend put a little stick of wood, painted dark brown, behind one of the cable boxes, so it's not really visible and it still keeps the top from bowing in the middle from the weight of the TV. Don't hesitate to purchase this piece if you want a contemporary piece of grand scale and contemporary design.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful but a pain
 from PA,  Aug 6, 2012

This piece was perfect to put in our formal living room. The right color, the right length and height, pretty modern... but it was an absolute nightmare to put together. I will probably never buy a piece of furniture I have to put together myself based on this piece. There were 15 steps but one "step" would include five additional steps within it, making one step instructions a complete paragraph that was really confusing with all of the 15 different screws, bolts, etc . Some pieces we didn't even use like the little wooden dowels because they wouldn't fit in the pre-made holes or made it even harder to put together. With my husband and I doing it together it took probably 5+ hours. Everything came in 3 separate boxes too. So once we finally found the instructions and laid everything out we were able to start. It's very sturdy and stable and looks great but such a pain putting together. Our electric drill wouldn't screw the screws all the way down either. For whatever reason, we had to hand screw on everything.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beware
 from San Francisco, CA,  Nov 16, 2009

I am very experienced at putting furniture together. This one was impossible. The pictures in the directions were wrong, the directions were not clear, and predrilled holes were not present. It looks good, but is not very sturdy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid and Beautiful
 from Atlanta, GA,  Dec 2, 2010

I bought this piece after a long search for a buffet to match my black/brown dining room table from xxxxxxx. This piece is such a dark color, I would call it black/brown, so don't be misled by the description. It looks great with our contemporary dining set. It took my husband and I 2 1/ 2 hours to put it together, using a drill. We had a little confusion with the directions pointing to the 'front' which led to us putting one piece in backwards that had to be taken apart and reassembled. In general, the instructions were good, though. There were plenty of parts and extras of most hardware. Once tightened up, everything fit well--although we were never able to tighten down the top piece. Once the top was on, we couldn't get the screws to turn to tighten it, and we couldn't get it back off, either, so we decided it was fine. We carried it from the living room to the dining room by the top, and it stayed securely in place. It's larger than I would have guessed from the pictures (it does have dimensions, to be fair), but we bought it for storage, so I'm glad to have all the room. My only complaint would be that the doors don't fit quite right. With lots of adjusting, they are still slightly crooked (maybe I'm a perfectionist), but it's not noticable in the dining room, next to the table. We like it enough that we plan to buy an end table and the tv stand to have matching pieces. I wish there was a coffee table, too. We really like this style and it's a pretty good price. The shipping was faster than I expected, too. It's a sharp, sturdy, heavy piece of furniture that I am eager to show off.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Buffet
 from Woodland, California,  Nov 3, 2009

I waited for over two years to buy this piece. I kept missing it and it would go out of stock. If you had reservations like I did - DON'T. This piece is beautiful and well worth the price. Just plan a little time to put together. My husband did the actual putting together while I read the directions aloud. It was a concerted effort and took an evening of about 3-4 hours, but well worth it and is just a beautiful piece! Head the other review warnings about the drawer assembly - regarding the rails and wheels. If you pay attention, you'll do just fine. Sort of map it out before you actually attach anything. Look at the directions and then look again. Just go slow but sure so you don't have to take anything apart and re-do like we did. But it was minor and only took a few minutes.I love Overstock and purchase quite a lot from them and haven't been disappointed yet.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE
 from Bay Area, CA,  Aug 15, 2009

Although this piece is listed as a buffet, we purchased it with the intention of using it as a TV stand. Our vcr/dvd/cable boxes all fit neatly below the main shelf with room to spare. Delivery was timely and it comes in 3 heavy boxes. At first all the parts appeared a bit daunting, but once you begin it goes smoothly. Our son put it together using a cordless drill with a phillips head screwdriver adaptor set it to a slow speed. It made the assembly easier. The rubberwood is a deep dark brown slightly shiny finish and the overall piece quite heavy. At first a bit skeptical about quality because of the lower price, but we were most pleasantly surprised. This looks far more expensive than it is and if you are on the fence, purchase it......you will be happy too!!! Thanks Overstock.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I am very pleased with the purchase and will have it for a long time. I put it together by myself on top of a king sized bed. 2 hours for drawers, dowels, knobs and hinges. 4 hours for assembly. It would have gone quicker but I missed the screws that go in at an angle which were vital for holding the center together. If you are looking for a redish hue to the expresso, this is not for you. It arrived in 3 boxes with no damage. Finished, it weighs at or over 200lbs. I can slide it and push it but not lift it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot On
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Good Piece
 from Salt Lake City,  Dec 5, 2012

LIke most others have said, the assembly of this product is definitely an ordeal. My very building-savvy husband spent 1/2 hour just unpacking and organizing all the parts and then about 1 1/2 hours assembling them. He didn't have any trouble with the instructions or anything, and it all turned out perfect--doors aligned correctly and drawers sliding in and out smoothly. From the front (all I ever saw) it looks wonderful. I would have said it was a fine piece of furniture, heirloom quality. But my husband assured me it was not, as the back and some of the inside parts are particle board or pressed wood or something other than solid wood. So maybe it won't hold up to generations of use, but for us it looks great, feels very sturdy, and has plenty of storage space inside for my large platters, seasonal serving dishes, fancy silver, etc. The color is a very dark brown, but it is definitely not black. I have a dining set from Ikea called "brown black" which looks as close to black as it gets w/o being solid black. I was hoping this would match it, but it's definitely dark brown, not black. Not as reddish as mahogany, but that dark. It's lovely, just not quite a match to my dining set. Still, after all the assembly, we decided to keep it. It's so stylish and the right size (and price!) No one at any local store had anything modern like this for under $700 and for high quality like this, everything was over $1000. So I consider this a good deal, even with the assembly required.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? About as I expeted, very dark brown.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good on the front and sides. Back and some inside pieces are chipboard/pressed wood.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just What I Wanted!
 from Phoenix, Arizona,  Jun 15, 2011

Buffet is just as pictured. Sturdy, well constructed and color is beautiful. Took my husband and I only an hour and a half to assemble. Very happy with this purchase.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Item
 Jan 5, 2011

This is a heavy and solid piece of furniture. Almost 100% solid wood except for the drawers and backing of the unit. Great buy and I'm thinking of buying some of the other pieces that match. Just one little issue I had was with the little circular connectors that tighten the pieces together. I had about 5 or 6 of them just crumble under the pressure of the screw driver tightening them. Not a big deal but they could have been of a better quality alloy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product , Great value
 from Georgia,  Mar 17, 2008

My wife and I searched high and low for the perfect piece of furniture for our new 42 inch flat screen HDTV. We wanted something modern while not looking like a furturistic microwave station like most of the proposed "modern media centers" that are out there right now. We received the buffet in three boxes and it went together without too much drama. The quality of the wood and hardward is high considering the price. The interior cabinets are extremely roomy and are perfect for our plethera of components with room to spare. The buffet is fairly long however this actually creates a nice spatial balance for the large HDTV (and shelf speakers if have them). I would highly recommend this product. The only challenge may be in the receiving the buffet in delivery as it is quite heavy (three 70 lbs. boxes) and the construction was a little time consuming with around 200 pieces to essemble.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful piece
 from central florida,  Aug 12, 2014

i'm a 78 year old widow...put this together by myself in one day ..that includes coffee breaks etc,,,looks fantastic and storage is exactly what i wanted...i had purchased the matching tall cabinet last year and wanted a match... .i may later replace the solid doors with glass inserts.....but for now ..perfect! ************

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love my buffet
 from Md,  Feb 13, 2014

I have had this product for a few yrs now and it still looks like the day I bought it . Beautiful , great quality

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A gorgeous piece of furniture
 from Landover Md,  Dec 7, 2013

had this piece of furniture for almost a year now and I still love it. All my guess compliment me on this piece of furniture. this item was surely stand the test of time

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A beast to put together!
 from Chicago, IL,  Dec 4, 2013

Okay, this is a beautiful piece once put together. But my goodness, it is a BEAST, to put together. I'm so glad I read the reviews about the directions of the drawer wheels. This was EXTREMELY helpful. It's not 100% solid wood, but the outer portions are. It's the inner parts that are particle board. If you're a carpenter or know one, you could always use the inner parts as a pattern and buy some pine or other inexpensive solid wood and remake and stain these. This would make the piece significantly heavier, but sturdier and more long lasting.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful piece of furniture!
 from Palisades New York,  Dec 4, 2013

Color is a very dark cherry almost black but you can see the wood grain. Looks and feels like an expensive piece of furniture. It is mostly real wood with some being pressed wood in the drawers. It was shipped in 3 Large boxes and quite heavy. It does take a long time to put together but my husband did it in about 2.5 hours.It has very spacious cabinets. It was worth the price, get lots of compliments and looks more expensive than what I paid for it. You won't be disappointed with this piece. I love it!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It is a beautiful piece of furniture.
 from California,  Oct 7, 2013

I purchased this piece as a television stand. It works beautifully. If was easy to put together on my own. It took a few weekends, but it was worth the time.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 230 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 12 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Hartford Buffet
Today $429.99
(107)
Axium Buffet
Sale $539.99
Was $599.99
(152)
Back to top