Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 36 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 

I bought this along with 2 side tables which I use for bedside tables. (The nightstands were sold out by the time I ordered.) We were not ready to assemble this unit until just last week. It sat in boxes for a couple of months actually. It was packaged perfectly. No damage or missing parts. In fact, there were extra parts in the hardware kit which is rare. It was easy to assemble. I did most of the assembly myself until I needed extra hands to put big pieces together. The doors feel sturdy as do the drawers. No pressed wood at all, which is great! It's a beautiful dark brown too.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I had read other reviews and knew that this piece would take a while to assemble so I was prepared for that, but it was still more difficult than I had anticipated. It took about 12 hours or so total I would guess - my husband and I worked on it for a few hours every evening and it took about a week. The directions weren't clear at times and we had to go back and take apart and reconstruct a few pieces. We also had a couple of pieces mislabeled, but luckily was able to figure it out relatively easily. A few of my drawers still stick, and one scratched pretty badly during assembly as another reviewer had mentioned. One more thing - this piece comes with SO MUCH packing. I filled 5 garbage bags with the styrofoam alone, not to mention all of the boxes I had to break down for recycling. At the end of the day, yes it looks nice and for the price will serve it's purpose just fine. Would I do it all again? Probably not.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Armoire
 Jan 21, 2015

Have been looking for an armoire for our bedroom for years. Nervous about buying furniture on line as well as having to put it together. It took us 5 hours to put this piece together, after putting together the matching night stand and dresser. So it may have taken us longer if we didn't have the experience of building the other furniture. We used a racheted screw driver, which made the job a lot easier and saved us a ton of time. The quality of the furniture is great. The style and color we love and it looks just like the picture. A main piece of the furniture was broken upon arrival and Overstock customer service sent us a new piece within 3 days. It does take 2 people to put this piece together. Overall I would recommend this to anyone that doesn't mind spending the time to put the furniture together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful piece of furniture
 from Miami, FL,  Oct 31, 2014

This armoire is a beautiful piece of furniture. It is of high quality wood and solid once it is constructed. I have been shopping for armoires for a while now and decided to purchase this one because most of those that I looked at were twice the price, especially once all the discounts and free shipping were applied. I read the previous reviews and agree with most of them. However, the time to put this together was much longer than stated. It took approximately 6-7 hours following the instructions and putting in all the screws and various other pins etc. Nothing is pre-assembled and it is a big job to put this together. You do need a power screw driver and someone who really knows how to do something like this. I had to hire someone or this would never have been constructed. It is like building a piece of furniture from scratch with heavy parts and lots of little screw, etc. I will say in its favor that every part was marked and numbered well which mad it easier to construct. It does look great and is just what I needed for extra storage space. I am not using I for media equipment but it does come equipped for that. I do recommend this armoire if you are looking for a sturdy piece of furniture.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice armoire
 from LA,  Aug 16, 2014

It's nice but took a long time to put together. Need tools and lots of patience!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the size
 from Lexington, KY,  Jun 4, 2014

I finally assembled my armoire. I have to say I purchased this based a lot on the photo. However my armoire is a lighter shade of brown and is not a rich glossy look and I am really disappointed in this aspect. My other furniture is a dark espresso and this armoire looks a little rustic compared to my nightstand. I do love the overall size and design. I will eventually probably try and sand down and stain a darker brown espresso color. It took me and a male friend the better part of a Saturday to put together. You really have to study the illustrations and if you get stuck sometimes it helps to look at next page to figure it out. Overall I think the lighter color will grow on me but when I saw the color when opening boxes, I should have repacked and sent back. I wish they let you submit photos.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Magnificent Product - High quality - Real Wood
 from Baltimore, MD,  May 7, 2014

Magnificent - Made in Malaysia not China like most big box furniture stores -- a big plus for me This product is reasonably priced. I also had a coupon that knocked off about $50. I believe there are coupon codes on the internet that may give 10% off for new overstock customers. You just have to search for them. I was able to build this within a 4-5 hour time frame by myself (Male-44-280lbs-realitivly strong). It may take some to have 2 people to complete. It really depends on you. It comes in 4 separate boxes nicely wrapped no defects at all. Each box weights about 70lb’s. I would build this on location. It is heavy to move. I rolled each box up one flight of stairs to a spare bedroom. I had to redo the bottom cabinet because the 2 horizontal pieces that separate the drawers were facing the wrong way. You may want to have good lighting, to see which side has the right painted side since both sides have a smooth surface. This cost me about 30 minutes to fix the issue. The rest of the pieces are easier to fit since you can tell by the pre-drilled holes if a piece will fit or not. The instructions are OK, but could be a little better. For instance, the drawer rails are difficult to see in the document. The rails are bent at the end making it difficult to see how to position them on the drawers. For reference, the end of the rails that are bent should be pointed toward the floor and not toward the ceiling. If you are doing this yourself, I would pre-insert the hardware for the top half then I would wait to piece together the top half until the bottom half is completed. I would carefully build the top half while sitting it on top of the bottom half. This takes a bit of coordination, so that the side panels don’t fall, but I did it, so it can be done. Also, be careful when tightening the camlocks to not over tighten. They will bend out of shape if you tighten them too much. Overall, this product is well worth the money removing the middle man if you have the time and patience to build it. Lastly, you will need a power drill to tighten screws. A hand screw driver just won’t do. It will take you 3 weeks to do it with a hand screwdriver, and it will probably be crocked when it is done. There was extra hardware nicely packaged, except one package was short two screws. I had extra in my tool chest, so not a big issue. Be careful when drilling in the screws for the drawer rails since the screw size changes depending on which piece is getting the rail.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good, solid, nice looking armoire
 from Rochester, NY,  May 2, 2014

This is a nice looking armoire of good quality. This is a large piece of furniture, so plan on some frustration and about half a day for assembly if you're not well versed in assembling things. If you know someone who could put it together for $50-$100 I would consider that money well spent. Looks great and worth the purchase when it's all said and done.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BEAUTIFUL PIECE OF FURNITURE
 from Indiana,  Feb 8, 2014

Months of searching for an armoire in the color, size and style desired for a reasonable price was exhausting. Although the Aristo wasn't the color of choice, the depth was the next important feature. I am very pleased with this purchase. I put it together by myself and took most of my Saturday. The instructions were easy to follow except for a few of the details in pictures were not clear (drawer slides and pieces L & M). Just took extra time to figure out. Also a few of the pre-drilled holes for the wooden dowels were not drilled deep enough and holes for the camlock screws were not drilled all the way through in step 8 when attaching top B to side panels. If using a power drill be cautious with the screws, go slow- the heads will break off with speed. I am using this armoire for clothing and all hangs freely without touching the doors. Love the doors, they fold back against the sides of the armoire. There is not room to use the shelves when using the clothing rod. Shelves will be utilized best if using for a TV or smaller childlike clothing. This armoire is very solid and the drawer bottoms are well made, not flimsy. The drawers slide easily and smoothly. Four stars because of assembly issues, but love this piece.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality and beautiful
 from Canton, OH,  Jun 24, 2013

I ordered this armoire to use as a closet in our bedroom. It is beautiful and sturdy. My husband and a friend put it together in 3 hours. I was able to hang a reasonable amount of clothing in it, and the closet rod seems sturdy and is able to hold the weight. I also purchased 2 of the Aristo dressers, and the matched set looks great in our bedroom. I would have paid significantly more had I purchased a piece this large and of the same quality pre-built. Assembly of all 3 pieces took some time, but it was well worth it for the finished product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Jan 17, 2013

I couldn't be happier with this product. Extremely high quality and very good assembly instructions. Definitely need 2 people and 3-4 hours to assemble, but the end product is amazing. It comes in 4 boxes that are between 50-80 lbs a piece. This is definitely a 5 star product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality, heavy piece of furniture
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful and fabulous value for the price
 from Marlborough, MA,  Nov 9, 2012

This armoire is stunning! It looks just like the picture. Assembly takes a while so plan on having some help. I'm extremely happy with this purchase and would recommend it to a friend. I receive compliments by everyone who enters the room!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True to life
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stylish and solid
 from Georgia,  Apr 21, 2011

I've looked at armoires for years before finally deciding on this one. It is tall (approximately 6 feet), the finish is a rich espresso color, there are architectural details to the piece, and it has a lot of storage. I opted to use the armoire as an entertainment center and the piece houses my 32' older "tube" TV with a large back easily. The armoire also comes with a pole to hang clothes on if you want to use it as a closet. There are internal cubbies for storage (where I have put my Wii, cable box, and DVD player). This is definitely a quality piece (it is super heavy). It does come unassembled in multiple boxes. My biggest complaint is that the piece is extremely difficult to assemble. I definitely needed a strong male friend with a power drill to put this together for me. The most diffcult part of assembly was hanging the doors. If they aren't just right, there will either be an overlap or a gap in the middle where the two doors meet. Now that it is together, it is beautiful. Like with all dark wood, it shows dust. Another bad thing is one of the drawers on the bottom got scratched when it was being put together. I feel certain I can put some putty or a stain over it in the future, but it really did scratch easily. Something of this quality and size would easily cost over a thousand dollars from another retailer. I saw comparable pieces that shipped for several hundred dollars but from here, the shipping was less than $3!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Good, but scratches easily
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Absolutely GORGEOUS!! But directions are lacking
 from New York, NY,  Oct 5, 2010

This piece is absolutely stunning - a HUGE, gorgeous piece that really can hold a lot and hold its own as a centerpiece. The piece is solidly built and made of actual wood! Including the back panels & drawer bottoms that most armoires in this price range skimp out on and instead use a thin piece of particle board. The one difficulty with this piece is that it does take quite a bit of time to put together and definitely needs two people for construction. However, if you have TWO drills/electric screwdrivers, it would cut your time by at least half. The instructions call for just a phillips head screwdriver and it is impossible to construct this piece properly with just a manual screwdriver, it needs power behind it. Once we got our drill charged, the pace sped up very quickly! And if we'd had two drills/electronic screwdrivers we would have been flying through the set-up. A couple of the pieces were mislabeled but we were able to figure it out using some common sense and double checking our visual cues to make sure everything would fit together correctly at the end. Make sure you are diligent when it comes to aligning screws/hinges and you can fit it together perfectly with even doors that don't catch or drag at all. We had to redo one hinge in order to get this accomplished but I am a little OCD when it comes to crooked doors/drawers on furniture and this turned out PERFECTLY. I could not be happier!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I had no doubt I would love this piece of furniture. It is everything I expected...but if I did not have a patient friend to put it together it would still be sitting around in pieces, everywhere! It seemed to be a lot of work and actually took more than a day to put together. One piece was broken, however, it did not effect the final product. The end product is definitely worth the money, as it looks and feels very rich. I would recommend being aware of the measurements and where you will put it in your room as it seemed to be larger than what I imagined and I did have a moment where I just thought it was too big and I had no room for it...but as I said, the end product is beautiful and it appears to be high quality and the best thing is that my TV is hidden and I have extra room in my closet since the bottom drawers actually fit quite a bit. . It really completed my bedroom.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well worth the money
 from San Francisco, CA,  Aug 3, 2010

Gorgeous piece of furniture that looks much more expensive than it really is. The stain is a beautiful expresso. It is definitely quite heavy, so be nice to your UPS driver or plan to have a couple friends around to help you lug the packages inside! I'm very happy with this purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid & Fashionable
 from Northern New Jersey,  Jul 29, 2010

I read the reviews left by others before purchasing this piece and was impressed with its' heritage of comments about the quality and look. I received the item in about 2 weeks and it lived up to all comments - including the weight. It went together as expected taking the timeframes described by others ( 4-5 hours ) but the piece is magnificent and the quality is superb - looks and feels like an Ethan Allen piece to me as we own several of these items from previous purchases at that retailer. I would highly recommend this piece to anyone who would ask, it is truly a jewel to find.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks expensive
 from Nashville, TN,  Jul 15, 2010

This armoire is a massive, heavy, solid piece of furniture that looks just as good as a $2000 armoire. It's packaged well, and the directions are straightforward and clear. It took me less than 5 hours to put it together alone, although my husband helped briefly at a few points - to lift it, hold the doors while I attached them, and move it into place. The drawers fit perfectly and open smoothly. No odd gaps that often are telltale signs of self-assembled furniture. I love it so much I just purchased the matching Aristo dresser.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Piece
 from New York, NY,  May 25, 2010

This piece is awesome - sturdy and great quality. The size is just what I was looking for - HUUUGE in every way- tall, deep, wide. So if you are looking for something small, this is not the piece for you. My only gripe is the doors are not perfectly aligned. One sits higher than the other - the holes for the doors were pre-drilled so Im not sure how the error could be mine. Anyways its not that noticable and I've just learned to live with it. Also, I use this piece as an armoire without the clothes rod. Since its so big, I had to buy more shelving/drawers to make it work for my needs. Othewise there would be a mess of piled clothes that would not be esily accessible. So, I bought two elfa dressers from the container store and sat them on the shelves that came with this piece. These dressers fit PERFECTLY within the armoire as if they were made just for it! However it did add over 300 bucks to the entire piece in order to make it function the way I needed it to. Hope this helps!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from New York, NY,  May 16, 2010

The armoire is beautiful. Just like it looks in the picture. It was a pain to assemble though. You definitely need two people because it's heavy. Some of the holes were also too shallow so we had to drill them and we had to use wood glue for the washers otherwise the thing wouldn't hold together. But all in all, it looks so much more expensive than the price and it does the job.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 36 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought