Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 31 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Love the size
 from Lexington, KY,  Jun 4, 2014

I finally assembled my armoire. I have to say I purchased this based a lot on the photo. However my armoire is a lighter shade of brown and is not a rich glossy look and I am really disappointed in this aspect. My other furniture is a dark espresso and this armoire looks a little rustic compared to my nightstand. I do love the overall size and design. I will eventually probably try and sand down and stain a darker brown espresso color. It took me and a male friend the better part of a Saturday to put together. You really have to study the illustrations and if you get stuck sometimes it helps to look at next page to figure it out. Overall I think the lighter color will grow on me but when I saw the color when opening boxes, I should have repacked and sent back. I wish they let you submit photos.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Magnificent Product - High quality - Real Wood
 from Baltimore, MD,  May 7, 2014

Magnificent - Made in Malaysia not China like most big box furniture stores -- a big plus for me This product is reasonably priced. I also had a coupon that knocked off about $50. I believe there are coupon codes on the internet that may give 10% off for new overstock customers. You just have to search for them. I was able to build this within a 4-5 hour time frame by myself (Male-44-280lbs-realitivly strong). It may take some to have 2 people to complete. It really depends on you. It comes in 4 separate boxes nicely wrapped no defects at all. Each box weights about 70lbís. I would build this on location. It is heavy to move. I rolled each box up one flight of stairs to a spare bedroom. I had to redo the bottom cabinet because the 2 horizontal pieces that separate the drawers were facing the wrong way. You may want to have good lighting, to see which side has the right painted side since both sides have a smooth surface. This cost me about 30 minutes to fix the issue. The rest of the pieces are easier to fit since you can tell by the pre-drilled holes if a piece will fit or not. The instructions are OK, but could be a little better. For instance, the drawer rails are difficult to see in the document. The rails are bent at the end making it difficult to see how to position them on the drawers. For reference, the end of the rails that are bent should be pointed toward the floor and not toward the ceiling. If you are doing this yourself, I would pre-insert the hardware for the top half then I would wait to piece together the top half until the bottom half is completed. I would carefully build the top half while sitting it on top of the bottom half. This takes a bit of coordination, so that the side panels donít fall, but I did it, so it can be done. Also, be careful when tightening the camlocks to not over tighten. They will bend out of shape if you tighten them too much. Overall, this product is well worth the money removing the middle man if you have the time and patience to build it. Lastly, you will need a power drill to tighten screws. A hand screw driver just wonít do. It will take you 3 weeks to do it with a hand screwdriver, and it will probably be crocked when it is done. There was extra hardware nicely packaged, except one package was short two screws. I had extra in my tool chest, so not a big issue. Be careful when drilling in the screws for the drawer rails since the screw size changes depending on which piece is getting the rail.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good, solid, nice looking armoire
 from Rochester, NY,  May 2, 2014

This is a nice looking armoire of good quality. This is a large piece of furniture, so plan on some frustration and about half a day for assembly if you're not well versed in assembling things. If you know someone who could put it together for $50-$100 I would consider that money well spent. Looks great and worth the purchase when it's all said and done.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BEAUTIFUL PIECE OF FURNITURE
 from Indiana,  Feb 8, 2014

Months of searching for an armoire in the color, size and style desired for a reasonable price was exhausting. Although the Aristo wasn't the color of choice, the depth was the next important feature. I am very pleased with this purchase. I put it together by myself and took most of my Saturday. The instructions were easy to follow except for a few of the details in pictures were not clear (drawer slides and pieces L & M). Just took extra time to figure out. Also a few of the pre-drilled holes for the wooden dowels were not drilled deep enough and holes for the camlock screws were not drilled all the way through in step 8 when attaching top B to side panels. If using a power drill be cautious with the screws, go slow- the heads will break off with speed. I am using this armoire for clothing and all hangs freely without touching the doors. Love the doors, they fold back against the sides of the armoire. There is not room to use the shelves when using the clothing rod. Shelves will be utilized best if using for a TV or smaller childlike clothing. This armoire is very solid and the drawer bottoms are well made, not flimsy. The drawers slide easily and smoothly. Four stars because of assembly issues, but love this piece.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality and beautiful
 from Canton, OH,  Jun 24, 2013

I ordered this armoire to use as a closet in our bedroom. It is beautiful and sturdy. My husband and a friend put it together in 3 hours. I was able to hang a reasonable amount of clothing in it, and the closet rod seems sturdy and is able to hold the weight. I also purchased 2 of the Aristo dressers, and the matched set looks great in our bedroom. I would have paid significantly more had I purchased a piece this large and of the same quality pre-built. Assembly of all 3 pieces took some time, but it was well worth it for the finished product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Jan 17, 2013

I couldn't be happier with this product. Extremely high quality and very good assembly instructions. Definitely need 2 people and 3-4 hours to assemble, but the end product is amazing. It comes in 4 boxes that are between 50-80 lbs a piece. This is definitely a 5 star product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality, heavy piece of furniture
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful and fabulous value for the price
 from Marlborough, MA,  Nov 9, 2012

This armoire is stunning! It looks just like the picture. Assembly takes a while so plan on having some help. I'm extremely happy with this purchase and would recommend it to a friend. I receive compliments by everyone who enters the room!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True to life
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stylish and solid
 from Georgia,  Apr 21, 2011

I've looked at armoires for years before finally deciding on this one. It is tall (approximately 6 feet), the finish is a rich espresso color, there are architectural details to the piece, and it has a lot of storage. I opted to use the armoire as an entertainment center and the piece houses my 32' older "tube" TV with a large back easily. The armoire also comes with a pole to hang clothes on if you want to use it as a closet. There are internal cubbies for storage (where I have put my Wii, cable box, and DVD player). This is definitely a quality piece (it is super heavy). It does come unassembled in multiple boxes. My biggest complaint is that the piece is extremely difficult to assemble. I definitely needed a strong male friend with a power drill to put this together for me. The most diffcult part of assembly was hanging the doors. If they aren't just right, there will either be an overlap or a gap in the middle where the two doors meet. Now that it is together, it is beautiful. Like with all dark wood, it shows dust. Another bad thing is one of the drawers on the bottom got scratched when it was being put together. I feel certain I can put some putty or a stain over it in the future, but it really did scratch easily. Something of this quality and size would easily cost over a thousand dollars from another retailer. I saw comparable pieces that shipped for several hundred dollars but from here, the shipping was less than $3!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Good, but scratches easily
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Absolutely GORGEOUS!! But directions are lacking
 from New York, NY,  Oct 5, 2010

This piece is absolutely stunning - a HUGE, gorgeous piece that really can hold a lot and hold its own as a centerpiece. The piece is solidly built and made of actual wood! Including the back panels & drawer bottoms that most armoires in this price range skimp out on and instead use a thin piece of particle board. The one difficulty with this piece is that it does take quite a bit of time to put together and definitely needs two people for construction. However, if you have TWO drills/electric screwdrivers, it would cut your time by at least half. The instructions call for just a phillips head screwdriver and it is impossible to construct this piece properly with just a manual screwdriver, it needs power behind it. Once we got our drill charged, the pace sped up very quickly! And if we'd had two drills/electronic screwdrivers we would have been flying through the set-up. A couple of the pieces were mislabeled but we were able to figure it out using some common sense and double checking our visual cues to make sure everything would fit together correctly at the end. Make sure you are diligent when it comes to aligning screws/hinges and you can fit it together perfectly with even doors that don't catch or drag at all. We had to redo one hinge in order to get this accomplished but I am a little OCD when it comes to crooked doors/drawers on furniture and this turned out PERFECTLY. I could not be happier!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I had no doubt I would love this piece of furniture. It is everything I expected...but if I did not have a patient friend to put it together it would still be sitting around in pieces, everywhere! It seemed to be a lot of work and actually took more than a day to put together. One piece was broken, however, it did not effect the final product. The end product is definitely worth the money, as it looks and feels very rich. I would recommend being aware of the measurements and where you will put it in your room as it seemed to be larger than what I imagined and I did have a moment where I just thought it was too big and I had no room for it...but as I said, the end product is beautiful and it appears to be high quality and the best thing is that my TV is hidden and I have extra room in my closet since the bottom drawers actually fit quite a bit. . It really completed my bedroom.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well worth the money
 from San Francisco, CA,  Aug 3, 2010

Gorgeous piece of furniture that looks much more expensive than it really is. The stain is a beautiful expresso. It is definitely quite heavy, so be nice to your UPS driver or plan to have a couple friends around to help you lug the packages inside! I'm very happy with this purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid & Fashionable
 from Northern New Jersey,  Jul 29, 2010

I read the reviews left by others before purchasing this piece and was impressed with its' heritage of comments about the quality and look. I received the item in about 2 weeks and it lived up to all comments - including the weight. It went together as expected taking the timeframes described by others ( 4-5 hours ) but the piece is magnificent and the quality is superb - looks and feels like an Ethan Allen piece to me as we own several of these items from previous purchases at that retailer. I would highly recommend this piece to anyone who would ask, it is truly a jewel to find.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks expensive
 from Nashville, TN,  Jul 15, 2010

This armoire is a massive, heavy, solid piece of furniture that looks just as good as a $2000 armoire. It's packaged well, and the directions are straightforward and clear. It took me less than 5 hours to put it together alone, although my husband helped briefly at a few points - to lift it, hold the doors while I attached them, and move it into place. The drawers fit perfectly and open smoothly. No odd gaps that often are telltale signs of self-assembled furniture. I love it so much I just purchased the matching Aristo dresser.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Piece
 from New York, NY,  May 25, 2010

This piece is awesome - sturdy and great quality. The size is just what I was looking for - HUUUGE in every way- tall, deep, wide. So if you are looking for something small, this is not the piece for you. My only gripe is the doors are not perfectly aligned. One sits higher than the other - the holes for the doors were pre-drilled so Im not sure how the error could be mine. Anyways its not that noticable and I've just learned to live with it. Also, I use this piece as an armoire without the clothes rod. Since its so big, I had to buy more shelving/drawers to make it work for my needs. Othewise there would be a mess of piled clothes that would not be esily accessible. So, I bought two elfa dressers from the container store and sat them on the shelves that came with this piece. These dressers fit PERFECTLY within the armoire as if they were made just for it! However it did add over 300 bucks to the entire piece in order to make it function the way I needed it to. Hope this helps!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from New York, NY,  May 16, 2010

The armoire is beautiful. Just like it looks in the picture. It was a pain to assemble though. You definitely need two people because it's heavy. Some of the holes were also too shallow so we had to drill them and we had to use wood glue for the washers otherwise the thing wouldn't hold together. But all in all, it looks so much more expensive than the price and it does the job.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Measurements for the interior cabinet are not well specified in the item description. Because I had read another review that addressed this, I contacted Overstock's customer service to confirm that the interior cabinet was 41 inches wide before purchasing the armoire. They confirmed it was 41 and what a surprise it was when I opened the 4 boxes, started assembling and it seemed like my TV would never fit in there. The width is actually a little over 39 inches. Thankfully my TV fit, although with no space to the sides whatsoever. It would have been a really bad experience if I had to disassemble everything and fit in the boxes again to ship back.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Armoire is beautiful
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Dec 7, 2009

This Armoire is beautiful once put together. It took us over 5.5 hours to put the whole thing together. Everything comes separate. It came in 4 big boxes and requires multiple people to help. It is beautiful like I said once you have everything put together. It is the focus piece in our living room and have gotten rave reviews about it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Four-drawer Armoire
 from Cary, NC,  Dec 1, 2009

I LOVE this piece!!! It took forever to put it together, but it is definitely worth it!!! It looks so classy and upscale!!! The color is a beautiful dark brown... almost espresso ... Do not hesitate on this ... if you are thinking about purchasing this item GET IT !!! YOU WILL LOVE IT ... The delivery process was awesome ... It came exactly a week after I made the purchase, everything was wrapped properly - the UPS guy was awesome - he called to schedule the delivery at a time that was convenient for me... I LOVE OVERSTOCK :-)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Piece
 from Charleson, SC,  Dec 1, 2009

This is a beautiful piece and was so excited when I ordered it. However, the dimensions given are not correct. The upper cabinet states it's 42" wide, but is only 39" and would not fit my 41" TV. Overstock handled the return promptly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bummed
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Nov 28, 2009

I was thrilled with Overstock's turnaround. I ordered this on a Saturday night and it arrived the next Wednesday! The 4 large boxes were delivered inside my home and in perfect shape. I've assembled my fair share of flat pack furniture, this one was a time consuming affair. The company includes plenty of extra hardware which is nice. However, the drawers are flimsy and don't roll on the tract well no matter how much I tinker with them. Also the left door is completely whacked. The pre-drilled holes are off and the door sits about an eighth inch too low. This not only looks terrible, it also rubs on the bottom of the unit and sticks when opening. I would not buy this product again or anything else in this line.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 31 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Jake 2-door Wardrobe
Today $329.99
(27)
Sonoma Armoire (2 Finishes)
Today $259.99
Compare $275.41
Save 6%
(45)
Back to top