Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 52 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Stylish and solid
 from Georgia,  Apr 21, 2011

I've looked at armoires for years before finally deciding on this one. It is tall (approximately 6 feet), the finish is a rich espresso color, there are architectural details to the piece, and it has a lot of storage. I opted to use the armoire as an entertainment center and the piece houses my 32' older "tube" TV with a large back easily. The armoire also comes with a pole to hang clothes on if you want to use it as a closet. There are internal cubbies for storage (where I have put my Wii, cable box, and DVD player). This is definitely a quality piece (it is super heavy). It does come unassembled in multiple boxes. My biggest complaint is that the piece is extremely difficult to assemble. I definitely needed a strong male friend with a power drill to put this together for me. The most diffcult part of assembly was hanging the doors. If they aren't just right, there will either be an overlap or a gap in the middle where the two doors meet. Now that it is together, it is beautiful. Like with all dark wood, it shows dust. Another bad thing is one of the drawers on the bottom got scratched when it was being put together. I feel certain I can put some putty or a stain over it in the future, but it really did scratch easily. Something of this quality and size would easily cost over a thousand dollars from another retailer. I saw comparable pieces that shipped for several hundred dollars but from here, the shipping was less than $3!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Good, but scratches easily
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, but be careful with measurements
 from MI,  May 14, 2010

Measurements for the interior cabinet are not well specified in the item description. Because I had read another review that addressed this, I contacted Overstock's customer service to confirm that the interior cabinet was 41 inches wide before purchasing the armoire. They confirmed it was 41 and what a surprise it was when I opened the 4 boxes, started assembling and it seemed like my TV would never fit in there. The width is actually a little over 39 inches. Thankfully my TV fit, although with no space to the sides whatsoever. It would have been a really bad experience if I had to disassemble everything and fit in the boxes again to ship back.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the Aristo Armoire
 from Bloomington, IL,  Nov 23, 2008

We recently purchased the Aristo four-drawer armoire and love it! It is very nice quality - as other reviews have said, it is actual wood and not particle board. It is defnitely a great purchase for the price. We looked at several similar armoires at furniture stores and they were over $1000. My husband put it together and it did take several evenings to get it put together but he had no problems. The directions were very well layed out.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Absolutely GORGEOUS!! But directions are lacking
 from New York, NY,  Oct 5, 2010

This piece is absolutely stunning - a HUGE, gorgeous piece that really can hold a lot and hold its own as a centerpiece. The piece is solidly built and made of actual wood! Including the back panels & drawer bottoms that most armoires in this price range skimp out on and instead use a thin piece of particle board. The one difficulty with this piece is that it does take quite a bit of time to put together and definitely needs two people for construction. However, if you have TWO drills/electric screwdrivers, it would cut your time by at least half. The instructions call for just a phillips head screwdriver and it is impossible to construct this piece properly with just a manual screwdriver, it needs power behind it. Once we got our drill charged, the pace sped up very quickly! And if we'd had two drills/electronic screwdrivers we would have been flying through the set-up. A couple of the pieces were mislabeled but we were able to figure it out using some common sense and double checking our visual cues to make sure everything would fit together correctly at the end. Make sure you are diligent when it comes to aligning screws/hinges and you can fit it together perfectly with even doors that don't catch or drag at all. We had to redo one hinge in order to get this accomplished but I am a little OCD when it comes to crooked doors/drawers on furniture and this turned out PERFECTLY. I could not be happier!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Armoire
 Jan 21, 2015

Have been looking for an armoire for our bedroom for years. Nervous about buying furniture on line as well as having to put it together. It took us 5 hours to put this piece together, after putting together the matching night stand and dresser. So it may have taken us longer if we didn't have the experience of building the other furniture. We used a racheted screw driver, which made the job a lot easier and saved us a ton of time. The quality of the furniture is great. The style and color we love and it looks just like the picture. A main piece of the furniture was broken upon arrival and Overstock customer service sent us a new piece within 3 days. It does take 2 people to put this piece together. Overall I would recommend this to anyone that doesn't mind spending the time to put the furniture together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
loved it, but
 Apr 29, 2016

my husband had a difficult time to assemble this piece. After it was assemble I loved that their was two pieces and easy to take each piece to finalize the assemble in our bedroom.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful piece of furniture
 from Miami, FL,  Oct 31, 2014

This armoire is a beautiful piece of furniture. It is of high quality wood and solid once it is constructed. I have been shopping for armoires for a while now and decided to purchase this one because most of those that I looked at were twice the price, especially once all the discounts and free shipping were applied. I read the previous reviews and agree with most of them. However, the time to put this together was much longer than stated. It took approximately 6-7 hours following the instructions and putting in all the screws and various other pins etc. Nothing is pre-assembled and it is a big job to put this together. You do need a power screw driver and someone who really knows how to do something like this. I had to hire someone or this would never have been constructed. It is like building a piece of furniture from scratch with heavy parts and lots of little screw, etc. I will say in its favor that every part was marked and numbered well which mad it easier to construct. It does look great and is just what I needed for extra storage space. I am not using I for media equipment but it does come equipped for that. I do recommend this armoire if you are looking for a sturdy piece of furniture.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the size
 from Lexington, KY,  Jun 4, 2014

I finally assembled my armoire. I have to say I purchased this based a lot on the photo. However my armoire is a lighter shade of brown and is not a rich glossy look and I am really disappointed in this aspect. My other furniture is a dark espresso and this armoire looks a little rustic compared to my nightstand. I do love the overall size and design. I will eventually probably try and sand down and stain a darker brown espresso color. It took me and a male friend the better part of a Saturday to put together. You really have to study the illustrations and if you get stuck sometimes it helps to look at next page to figure it out. Overall I think the lighter color will grow on me but when I saw the color when opening boxes, I should have repacked and sent back. I wish they let you submit photos.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Magnificent Product - High quality - Real Wood
 from Baltimore, MD,  May 7, 2014

Magnificent - Made in Malaysia not China like most big box furniture stores -- a big plus for me This product is reasonably priced. I also had a coupon that knocked off about $50. I believe there are coupon codes on the internet that may give 10% off for new overstock customers. You just have to search for them. I was able to build this within a 4-5 hour time frame by myself (Male-44-280lbs-realitivly strong). It may take some to have 2 people to complete. It really depends on you. It comes in 4 separate boxes nicely wrapped no defects at all. Each box weights about 70lb’s. I would build this on location. It is heavy to move. I rolled each box up one flight of stairs to a spare bedroom. I had to redo the bottom cabinet because the 2 horizontal pieces that separate the drawers were facing the wrong way. You may want to have good lighting, to see which side has the right painted side since both sides have a smooth surface. This cost me about 30 minutes to fix the issue. The rest of the pieces are easier to fit since you can tell by the pre-drilled holes if a piece will fit or not. The instructions are OK, but could be a little better. For instance, the drawer rails are difficult to see in the document. The rails are bent at the end making it difficult to see how to position them on the drawers. For reference, the end of the rails that are bent should be pointed toward the floor and not toward the ceiling. If you are doing this yourself, I would pre-insert the hardware for the top half then I would wait to piece together the top half until the bottom half is completed. I would carefully build the top half while sitting it on top of the bottom half. This takes a bit of coordination, so that the side panels don’t fall, but I did it, so it can be done. Also, be careful when tightening the camlocks to not over tighten. They will bend out of shape if you tighten them too much. Overall, this product is well worth the money removing the middle man if you have the time and patience to build it. Lastly, you will need a power drill to tighten screws. A hand screw driver just won’t do. It will take you 3 weeks to do it with a hand screwdriver, and it will probably be crocked when it is done. There was extra hardware nicely packaged, except one package was short two screws. I had extra in my tool chest, so not a big issue. Be careful when drilling in the screws for the drawer rails since the screw size changes depending on which piece is getting the rail.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BEAUTIFUL PIECE OF FURNITURE
 from Indiana,  Feb 8, 2014

Months of searching for an armoire in the color, size and style desired for a reasonable price was exhausting. Although the Aristo wasn't the color of choice, the depth was the next important feature. I am very pleased with this purchase. I put it together by myself and took most of my Saturday. The instructions were easy to follow except for a few of the details in pictures were not clear (drawer slides and pieces L & M). Just took extra time to figure out. Also a few of the pre-drilled holes for the wooden dowels were not drilled deep enough and holes for the camlock screws were not drilled all the way through in step 8 when attaching top B to side panels. If using a power drill be cautious with the screws, go slow- the heads will break off with speed. I am using this armoire for clothing and all hangs freely without touching the doors. Love the doors, they fold back against the sides of the armoire. There is not room to use the shelves when using the clothing rod. Shelves will be utilized best if using for a TV or smaller childlike clothing. This armoire is very solid and the drawer bottoms are well made, not flimsy. The drawers slide easily and smoothly. Four stars because of assembly issues, but love this piece.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid & Fashionable
 from Northern New Jersey,  Jul 29, 2010

I read the reviews left by others before purchasing this piece and was impressed with its' heritage of comments about the quality and look. I received the item in about 2 weeks and it lived up to all comments - including the weight. It went together as expected taking the timeframes described by others ( 4-5 hours ) but the piece is magnificent and the quality is superb - looks and feels like an Ethan Allen piece to me as we own several of these items from previous purchases at that retailer. I would highly recommend this piece to anyone who would ask, it is truly a jewel to find.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Piece
 from Charleson, SC,  Dec 1, 2009

This is a beautiful piece and was so excited when I ordered it. However, the dimensions given are not correct. The upper cabinet states it's 42" wide, but is only 39" and would not fit my 41" TV. Overstock handled the return promptly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks good/Works Well.
 Jun 13, 2016

Does the job and looks good doing it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful piece of furniture.
 May 21, 2016

This was quite the project to put together and took probably close to four hours for two of us with a drill. I could not imagine doing it without the drill. The finish is rich and glossy. The drawers are roomy. I am using it for my TV and my 32" flat screen fits nicely with quite a bit of room to spare.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Strurdy and beautiful
 Mar 21, 2016

I ordered this armoire for my home. It looks beautiful.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Piece
 Mar 13, 2016

This armoire has been a saving grace to my linen storage needs. It looks beautiful in our bedroom. I am completely happy with our purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mrs
 Feb 27, 2016

Great but just hard to put together. Instructions were not great

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Difficult to Assemble
 Feb 24, 2016

Sturdy piece and looks pretty good--I do really like the option for either a hanging bar or shelves--or even media. The assembly was a pain and the piece is super heavy. Probably took three of us three hours and power tools to complete and we may have ended up with some parts backwards.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Heavy, tall, imposing wood armoire
 Feb 22, 2016

The four boxes it came in had footprints all over them--one bottom side piece was slightly cracked despite being well-packed but I used it anyway. I assembled it by myself a little at a time over a full week. The instructions can be kind of confusing because it isn't organized logically by section--top, bottom, drawers, and doors. There are a few extra screws--at least one of every type but I was missing all 4 locking washers. Luckily I had some on hand. Overall--tedious assembly, HEAVY (300 lbs?) to lift when assembled, and reasonable functionality.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
armoire
 Feb 20, 2016

Nice real wood. The drawer sides were not as good as the rest of the armoire but ok. Very heavy piece of furniture and the finish nice.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 52 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought