Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 66 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great Engineering
 from Seattle, WA,  Aug 11, 2010

We installed this toilet a couple of days ago and we love it. It took me about 3 hours, including removing the old own. Installing this toilet does take a small amount of mechanical aptitude; about the only thing that looks like a typical U.S. toilet is the wax ring. Be sure to measure carefully. If you don't know how to find the center line of the drain/flange, measure from the edge to a wall, then again 90 degrees to that. Measure the flange diameter, divide by two, and add that to the wall measurements - that's the center of the hole. Now, subtract the dimensions given from the center of the hole to the screw holes from the wall number, and you have your hole positions. Another suggestion - attach the water line to the back of the tank before setting the toilet in place. If like ours, it's close to the wall, it's awkward to attach then. One last comment; if you go the bathroom, you may hear water drips. That's because as you add volume to the bowl, it forces water over the air trap and causes a dripping sound; nothing to be concerned about.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
You will eventually be disappointed
 from San Diego, CA,  Dec 22, 2013

We purchased the Ariel Hermes dual-flush toilet from Overstock a couple years ago for one of the bathrooms we remodeled. We loved the look of it and it seemed like a good value. After about 1 year of use, the toilet was not flushing properly, requiring multiple flushes to get things down. I tried contacting Ariel and after some digging, finally got in touch with a distributor in NJ that carried parts for the toilet. I placed an order for a replacement flush valve. After a month or two, I received a valve that didn't fit. I contacted them again and was told that they needed to get an older model of the valve and that it usually takes months because it comes from Europe and they wait until they have enough orders to fill an entire container to ship to the US. About 9 months after I first made contact, I finally received the valve that fits. I installed it and it didn't help. RIght now, it takes about 3 to 4 full flushes to get everything down. So much for efficient, effective low-flow. We are now so frustrated that we've decided to pull it out and replace it with a TOTO model. We have purchased many things from Overstock and have generally been very happy which the merchandise we get. This is the one big exception. Save yourself the aggravation and stick with the more reliable brands. Also, please keep in mind that many of these reviews are written days or weeks after a purchase during the "honeymoon period". Look for reviews like this one written at least a year or two after the purchase to get a better sense of reliability. This particular toilet model has very poor reliability and poor followup customer service. A bad combination.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cool toilet
 from York, PA,  Dec 17, 2010

This is soooo cool looking in our newly remodeled 1/2 bath. The auto closing is a nice bonus. My husband was very impressed with the ease of installation. He did use an extra thick wax ring. It removes waste without problems. Because is works a bit differently than a standard toilet - it does have a different sound after the flush but only noticable to anal people like us. One note of caution, since it's a Euro product obtaining repair parts might be an issue. We knew that going in.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ariel Platinum 'The Hermes' Dual Flush Toilet
 from St. Louis, MO,  Aug 19, 2011

IT's been a year since I purchased the toilet and I wanna to give it a try before writing a review! Great product for the $$!!!! I was looking at several places prior deciding to purchase it from Overstock and don't regret about it!!! Thanks you, Overstock!!! THe seat doesn't drop when close the top - it slowly gets down! One piece looks great and so easy to clean. Can't be happier. The price on one piece toilets is way higher at all other places i looked at! I'm happy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. super
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I purchased two of these because I was sick of having toilets with terrible flush capabilities and a lousy flapper design. Once installed, these are great with outstanding flushes both half and full. The seat sizing looks like it would be small compared to standard elongated seats, but they're actually quite good and measure within 1/2 inch of the last elongated toilet I owned. Installation was a bit of a bear: you'll need masonry drill bits if you're installing to a concrete floor. I borrowed a hammer drill which made the six hole drilling process a breeze. What wasn't a breeze was that the toilet design will butt up very close to the wall, and most housing contractors put the inlet valve wherever they feel like it. I ended up having to cut the wall open and do some plumbing to move the valve so the toilet wouldn't interfere. The actual mechanism attaching the toilet to the floor is a pair of plastic brackets, so caulking is a must. I'm very pleased with them now that I've got both of them installed. Superb flushes and comfortable seat design.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
After installation, Great
 from Iowa,  Jun 27, 2011

I really like the look of this toilet and it seems to work well. My one issue was that we had to move the water supply because this toilet has a very different footprint from the standard american toilet, so the porcelain had to stand exactly where my water supply line came out of the floor. Thankfully this was not a big issue in our particular setting.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking and flushes well
 from Bristow, VA,  Nov 12, 2010

I was looking for new toilets to replace my old ones. This toilet is not real bold but neat looking and the price is pretty decent on overstock.com (if you ever compare it with other sellers). The installation is quite simple and straightforward, too. Since it's a dual flush, it can save a lot water if you have a big group in the house! Overall, it's a quiet and powerful toilet. So far I have no complaint!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Watch the Instructions!
 from Boston, MA,  Nov 5, 2010

We love the toilet. The biggest issue we had was with installation. The installation template on the English version of the instructions is incorrect! the holes to be drilled in the floor for the side anchors are placed incorrectly on the template. Follow the french template or else you'll have some unattractive holes in your bathroom floor! That said, the toilet went in very easily, and works great. There is a plastic component which is installed over the flange first, and then the toilet slips on that. Really slick.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Form and Function
 from Denver,  Aug 5, 2010

As beautiful as a toilet can get! My husband and I installed this in a couple of hours (and that included a run to the hardware store to buy a deeper wax ring - our flange was recessed). Installation was a little different, but actually easier than the old fashioned toilets. The wax ring is placed on a plastic base which is then mounted to the floor (after carefully measuring in centimeters). The toilet then fits on top of the plastic base and is secured from the sides. Overall, easy to clean, flushes well (see note below), and is down-right attractive! Great Overstock price, too!!! Note for the previous reviewer having difficulties flushing... Check under the lid and make sure the small diameter tube that the water fills from is filling into the larger diameter plastic pipe (sorry, I don't know the correct terminology). I initially had poor flush volume until I checked this. Good luck!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Los Anegeles, CA,  Aug 13, 2011

A beautiful and elegant toilet. I purchased one for the guest bathroom and another for the master. Everyone comments how nice they are. I was hoping to get a water saving rebate (dual flush) on those but unfortunately found out that they are not qualified only after I purchased. Also, my contractor had some issues when installing those because they are not standard size. Other than that I would recommend this product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Everyone should have one
 from Big Sky, MT,  Mar 23, 2012

I live in NZ half the, and have gotten to love the dual flush toilets. When remodeling my bathroom, I did heaps of research, and after looking at multitudes of reviews, this one definitely seemed to have the best of everything. My father helped me install this, and when we first pulled it out of the box, he gave it a very 'discriminating' look of, 'this isn't any simple American toilet'. Although different to install, it was very easy. It actually worked very well that we placed the plastic flange onto the floor, and the clips to hold the toilet down, and the we tiled around them. It worked amazingly well. Now he wants to buy one for their house. We've also only had to use the .8g flush for everything- it does a great job. The toilet seat that comes with it seems like chintzy plastic, and we're thinking of replacing it, but it does the job. People who give negative reviews either dont install it right, or are probably just too passionate about their 3 gallon flushers. This thing is wonderful. I tell all my friends to come over and give it a try.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality; no problems with anything whatsoever
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

we love our new toilet...everyone who comes visit us compliments us on that piece...good flushing syetem and just looks great...

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? 100%
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100%
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love this toilet; love the customer service
 from Bellingham, WA,  May 11, 2011

This toilet is wonderful and I would buy it again. The first one I got had a manufacturing defect and overstock.com couldn't have done a better job rectifying the problem. Unlike the $500 toilet I bought from xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx After the plumber installed it I realized that the toilet seat doesn't cover the rim of the toilet. I wrote a negative review after they told me it was "the first design of it's kind" and wouldn't do anything to fix the problem. xxxxxxxxx had the nerve to call me to say that they were going to sue me for libel and slander for posting the above review! My plumber told me that the way the seat fits ISN'T EVEN CODE!. Overstock takes care of their customers....don't be nervous making online purchases here!!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sleek, Dual Flush Toilet
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Nov 23, 2010

I recently purchased my first home and did a complete remodel. I ordered 2 of these toilets; one for my master bath and the other for my guest bath. My father is my contractor and he had no problem installing these toilets. It was extremely easy for him but he has had lots of experience. I'm more than satisfied with my purchase. Ordering was easy and shipping was quick. I have no regrets with my purchase. These toilets look great in my bathrooms. I like the shape of the bowl and tank for easy wipe downs for cleaning. A+

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Toilet. Few "but"s.
 from Kansas City,  Mar 6, 2010

This is an excellent looking toilet and it works great. Beware if you have stone or concrete under your bathroom tile. This toilet requires six additional holes in the floor to install and you will need a professional concrete drill to install this. My biggest concern is that it doesn't really give you information about the manufacturer so there's no one to contact if you have any questions down the road. Hopefully the toilet lasts.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellet service
 from Nevada,  Jul 15, 2008

I have to say I was so impressed with this product, if it wasn't sold out, I would get another one. It took a little work to get it in, however I was able to do all the work myself. I was also impressed, as well as the delivery man, on how well the item was packed. You all did a terrific job. Thank you. Will be doing more business with you in the future. Mick

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beatiful
 May 9, 2015

Love this toilet. It is so chic. Narrow so if you have a small space, this will be perfect! Love Overstock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sleek European Beauty and Efficiency
 from Fort Lauderdale, FL,  Nov 16, 2014

This single-piece porcelain European-style toilet is strikingly beautiful in appearance. The oval column-like tank contrasts artistically with the rounder shape of the toilet seat, making it almost a piece of sculpture. It is easier to clean than most two-section toilets which have tanks separate from and bolted to the bowl. The double-flush button makes for greater efficiency in water usage. Installation is standard both as to outlet size and floor-bolt placement. Shipping required only five days (California to Florida) and packaging couldn't have been more professional.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ariel Platinum 'The Hermes' Dual Flush Toilet
 from Denver, CO,  May 14, 2014

You won't be disappointed, and you won't ever go back to the standard American toilet design. This is so stylish, easy to clean, and conserves water.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice design, working flaws
 from Washington DC,  Feb 17, 2013

the product looks are great and is comfortable, however the flushing mechanism is made of plastic and not well designed. It does not always work correctly and needs some fiddling when the mechanism gets stuck. You pay less that in other brands and the looks are great, but once the equipment is installed you wished you have bought some other brand.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 66 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought