Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 446 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 23 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Read Reviews
 from TN,  Oct 3, 2008

Yes, it is easier to put together with 2 people. Yes, the "antiquing" is cheesy, but is easily fixable and not too noticable. Yes, the directions are poorly written, but it was not too difficult to put together in maybe 45 min-1 hour with good gluing (used my own wood glue, the little container they send is very small) and 2 people. After that it is fairly sturdy, it is cute next to the door to hold shoes and pocket junk in a bowl I set on top. I don't think that the measurements they have posted on here are right, but luckily it fits the space even better than I thought it would. The actual measurements once assembled are 32 1/8in tall, 34 1/4in wide, 15in deep, and the top shelf panel is 9 3/4in deep x 34 1/4in wide.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
solid wood piece
 from Las Vegas,  Sep 26, 2006

I was looking for solid wood furniture, and this is exactly what this is. The bookshelf is exactly as pictured. I'm so sick of particle board furntiure and so I was very pleased when I could see the wood grains through the paint. It was a little annoying putting it together. The directions give you one big picture for all the steps at once and so it was a confusing, but I figured it out.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The assembly isn't THAT bad.
 from Grand Junction, Colorado,  May 24, 2009

After reading the reviews I was a bit worried about the assembly. The booklet even says that you need 2 people to put it together (I'm pretty sure they didn't mean an adult and a 2 year old). I put it together without another adult though and did not find it necessary to have any assistance. It only took me about 30 minutes to put this together, and that time would have been less if my 2 year old had not "helped" me. It is sturdy and attractive.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bookcase
 from florida,  Nov 2, 2006

This bookcase is NOT all wood......it's mostly made of MDF(medium density fiberboard)..........VERY DISAPPOINTING and the price is too high. Overstock this is a bummer..................

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Little Black Bookcase!
 from California,  Jan 15, 2007

I love this bookcase! The design is interesting and assembly was NOT as difficult as others have stated - no more so than any ready to assemble furniture. The "antiquing" is the only thing that MAY be a bit disappointing...I thought it would be more obvious and it is truly quite subtle. The quality of this piece is as good if not better than some ready to assemble pieces that I have purchased from national brand stores. Overall...I am VERY happy with this fabulous bookcase!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
the perfect accent of elegance
 from Columbus, Oh,  Apr 7, 2008

We put this bookshelf right in the front foyer, where you walk into our house with a tiffany lamp and a basket for mail on it, it is absolutely beautiful! We have four kids so we have our favorite books on the middle shelf and our everyday shoes on the bottom, it functions very well and brings a great beauty to the home. I love it and I think it was definitely worth the money!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great!
 from Oak Park, IL,  Mar 2, 2008

A little complicated to assemble at first glance. Does not really require two people as stated in instructions. Had difficulty getting the top to go on at the end. Once together, it looks really good. Some of the finish chipped a little during assembly. A word of advice: buy your own wood glue--the little vial included in the kit isn't really enough.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Piece
 from Kodak, TN,  Oct 26, 2007

Love it! As stated in many of the reviews, the assembly instructions aren't great. However, I was able to put it together by myself without too much trouble. Now I'm thrilled with the product. Looks great!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well worth the money and time
 from Pasadena, CA,  Feb 17, 2007

I am not mechanically inclined, but I put the shelf together (90% myself) with the help of my 10 and 7 year old boys (10% them). The instructions are not bad, but there are quite a number of parts and you have to have some common sense. It probably took longer than normal (2 hrs.) but we enjoyed the experience and I LOVE the finished product. It is just what I hoped for. Not solid wood? I don't know and don't care. It is solid, looks great and would cost at least $300-$350 out here in Pasadena. Super great deal.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Alot of trouble......but sooooooooo worth it.
 from Colusa, CA,  Feb 15, 2007

I bought this shelf. It arrived in only a few days. The box wasn't damaged due to shipping. The shelf took more than one person to put together because of trying to line up the all the holes with the pegs. You need to put this together in a well lit room. It isn't solid wood. It is really sturdy once put together. The little color differences on the edges is what they mean by antique. This is a great little shelf. I would recommend it to anyone. The measurements are off from the description as listed. Read all the reviews and the correct measurements are on some of them. I just can't have any bad feelings about this shelf. I am actually thinking about getting another one. So basically it is just up to you and how much patience you have. It is a beautiful shelf

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Needs better packaging
 from New Orleans, LA,  Jan 28, 2007

I ordered two of these and both arrived with the tops damaged and corners nicked. The paint was chipped off on both of the angled shelves as well. ONLY the sides are solid wood - the rest of the piece is mdf. The directions are pretty bad, but that being said I was able to put it together myself with a regular screwdriver just fine. The first one took about 45 minutes, the second about 25. It wasn't nearly as bad as other reviews led me to believe it might be. The bottom shelf doesn't really allow for enough room to stand books upright, but coffee-table type books stack nicely. In spite of the damage I still like the lines of the piece. They both are holding the books just fine (and I have a lot!) For the price I haven't seen anything in the stores with as much design interest. Just wish it had been packed better.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
solid display shelf
 from New Mexico,  Oct 10, 2006

My SO and I put this together in about an hour - not the easiest assembly I've ever attempted, but reasonably straightforward. The finished product is solid and looks great - very retro cool. As usual, service from Overstock was outstanding - the item was promptly shipped and delivered in good shape.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
won't last
 Mar 10, 2008

I bought this bookshelf for it's unique appearance. However, it is not a very useable bookshelf and is very cheaply made. It is definitely not going to stand the test of time. I guess you get what you pay for sometimes.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid wood is misleading
 from Sarasota, FL,  Dec 13, 2007

Purchased this hoping for an antiqued look but it doesn't have the rubbed edges shown in the picture. Also the "solid wood" listing is a little misleading as it is a solid slab of pressed wood, not a solid slab of wood. Due to the pressed wood, one of the screws split the wood on the bottom shelf during assembly. My husband was able to fix it so you wouldn't notice unless we pointed it out. Overall it looks nice. My biggest complaint is the solid wood as that is what convinced me to buy it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product; Not that hard to put together
 from South Jordan, UT,  Mar 7, 2007

I had read some other reviews about how people liked the quality of the product but thought putting it together was unbearable. While I agree that the instructions and pictures weren't the best in the world, it wasn't that hard to put together. It says you need two people to put it together. I ended up putting it together by myself in less than an hour. Yes, it would be easier with two people but you can put it together by yourself without much trouble. I'd recommend this product to my friends.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor quality
 from birmingham, al,  Feb 26, 2007

I did not have any difficulty putting this together but once I loaded it with my accounting reference texts at work, the shelf broke and all of my books fell the the bottom shelf. I cannot see how it can be repaired and now I've wasted my money on a useless piece of furniture for the office. Be careful if you really plan to use it to hold books!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not the advertised size
 from Logan, UT,  Jan 25, 2007

I really like the bookshelf, but the dimensions that are advertised are incorrect. It says it is 36 inches tall, when in reality it is only 32 inches tall. It looks like doll furniture on the wall I bought it for. I used in another room, and it works great there. Also, be careful when installing the top shelf. My husband gets a little overzealous with a rubber mallet and burred out the top a bit. Nice quality, fast shipping, just way too small.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from Santa Clara, CA,  Jan 22, 2007

Putting it together is not the nightmare that some have portrayed--use the instructions as a guide, but more importantly, use common sense and patience when assembling. A helper is nice to have, but most of the 30-45 minute job can be done solo. The finished piece looks nice and whether it's "solid wood" or MDF (I can't tell), it looks very nice--can't beat the design, quality for the money. One thing not mentioned: mine had a very strong aroma of paint/lacquer that lingered for about 3-4 days.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not as Tall as Described-Very Nice Otherwise
 from Seattle, Washington,  Jan 15, 2007

I really like the styling of this table and it has quality feel to it. I am disappointed because the size is not as outlined at; 38 in. H x 34 in. W. It is really only 32 in high and 32" wide when assembled. It isn't going to work in our entryway like planned because too short. The Six inches makes all the difference in our tall family with small children. I will find a place for it and keep shopping.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Bookcase
 from Big Canoe, GA,  Jan 5, 2007

This is a solid real wood bookcase. This is not composite wood. I love the looks and I think it looks more expense than it actual cost. To assemble, the bookcase took two people, one to hold in place and one to screw the screws. The bookcase is solid because of the many screws used to assemble and it is made of real wood, which is all good. I use the bookcase for telphone books and magazines in my computer room. It is a nice addition to the room.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 446 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 23 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought