Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 69 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Fabulous Value
 from Utah,  Feb 22, 2011

I have to give this five stars, not because it's a five star piece, but because the combination of quality, looks, and price make it an incredible value. I often prefer other more pricey retailers for overall build quality, but the Andaman pieces can't be beat for self-assembled furniture. The material is very heavy and solid (this is our second piece of rubberwood furniture with walnut veneer), and the instructions have improved significantly over similar pieces with drawers. But take heed! if the drawer slides don't roll onto the tracks immediately, try swapping them for alternate sides of the drawer. The detailed guidance for the tracks has improved, but it could still be better. Also check to make sure that you haven't accidentally bent the desk track (we had, and a needle nose plier solved the problem). As for scale.... I'm a 5'2" woman and the keyboard tray is the perfect height for ideal ergonomics (elbows 90 degrees, feet flat on the floor). The cross brace at foot level is just out of reach to be a tempting foot rest--I think a taller person may be tempted to stretch their legs and rest their heels. The slightly asian styling is perfect for traditional or transitional style. If you want modern, get a Parson's table or a saw-horse style desk. Best feature in my opinion: the top is 28" deep -- perfect for laptop and/or large flatscreen monitor. Most stylish desks were too shallow to be really functional. There's a cutout for keyboard and mouse cables (or better yet, go bluetooth!). A couple of storage compartments in the side and back of the drawer would be good for storing rarely used things like a jump drive or stapler or extra ink cartridges. I also purchased the Andaman console for a complete "office ensemble" -- I didn't want an L-shaped desk, but I did want a cohesive set for peripherals, paper, charging station, etc (I prefer an empty desktop). Definitely a good buy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Desk
 from Pennsylvania,  Oct 25, 2009

I purchased this desk because I didn't want the typical "computer desk" look. The Arts & Craft styling and Asian flair made this desk very appealing. I've had this desk for about a month now and I love it! The size and space are wonderful, and there's a pull out keyboard tray with a decent amount of storage space. The instructions were easy to follow and assembly was relatively painless. The hardware was packaged separately and clearly marked. My only complaint is that two holes weren't drilled properly, but it wasn't a big deal. I had read other reviews on another web site so I felt comfortable ordering this product. The product description states, "light Halifax brown finish". Well, if light Halifax is DARK WALNUT then this is an accurate description. The color of the finish on this desk is a very dark brown. This is a beautiful piece of furniture. It's very sturdy, well made, and nice quality.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk!
 from Newport Beach, CA,  Jul 13, 2012

Really great desk for small home office. Front of drawer folds down and can be used as extra desk space and the drawer come with several organizational pockets built in. I put it together by myself without too much sweat or cursewords.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk
 from virginia,  Jan 19, 2013

Solid desk...one suggestion when assembling....at the end, before putting on the top, mount the drawer. You can see everything very clearly to get it in the tracks and mounted correctly. to screw in the top you just end out the drawer. Cant see how anyone assembled this solo. It was clear and easy but heavy. Recommend you get some baskets for your paper and pens since if you use the drawer for a keyboard the cords are too short to effectively use the compartments - at least for daily use. Love the size ...although the cat thinks we bought it so she can nap between us and the monitor when we are working. HIghly recommend it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid excellent quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks good and is solid
 from Mill Valley, CA,  Jun 21, 2012

This is an attractive piece that we are using as a computer desk. I've assembled dozens of pieces of furniture in my life, many of which use cam bolts. This is unit is among the best in terms of the solidity of the unit. The only complaint I have, and is a rather significant one, is that the drawer's front fascia strikes the top of the desk, making it difficult to close and extremely likely that the finish will get worn off in short order. If the drawer shut as designed, this would get five stars. I am considering drilling my own holes to lower the roller guide that the drawer slides in, but have not yet had the time and am concerned with how close my new holes will be to the pre fab holes provided.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? favorably
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Product is attractive and one of the better "cam bolt" pieces of furniture I've assembled; a good value.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great!
 from Texas,  May 14, 2012

We bought two of these desks to use in a home office. The color in the picture is accurate, and the quality of the desk is good. We like that the front of the drawer folds down such that it doubles as a keyboard tray. Our main complaint is that there should be an option to place the dividers at the back of desk drawer up closer to the front to ease access to pens, etc. But that is a minor complaint. Overall, a great purchase for the low price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking bur it does not
 from Canton, MI,  Apr 9, 2012

It is nice looking desk but the basic problem is the overall fit is not good. There is some space left between the top and the rest of the structure. And it does not feel strong, I have put together many Ikea furniture so I know how to do this and I have try several times with this one but it just not fit right.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk... for the price.
 from San Diego, California,  Aug 12, 2011

Great product. I am very happy with the purchase. Hope that it lasts a long time. The desk top reminds me of chocolate for some reason. Don't get this desk if you're on a diet.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color matched well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The table top is a solid piece of wood. The legs and some of the wood pieces that support the desk are a bit flimsy. One of the legs was cracked upon reciept, but Overstock shipped out 2 new legs within a week.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate. Assembly was a hassle, but worth it.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works well as family computer table
 from Delaware,  Sep 29, 2013

This table is being used as a computer table for the family (so we can monitor computer use by the kids) off of our breakfast/great room area and it works perfectly. It's not as deep as a regular computer/office table so it doesn't take up too much space but provides enough space for laptop, printer and wireless mouse and keyboard. The tray is nicely constructed, provides good storage and folds down for an optimal ergonomic keyboard tray. The pieces came intact but one of the rails for the drawer was bent so it wasn't catching, we were able to bend it out and was an easy fix. This took about an hour for the two of us to assemble. The color matches the picture and the tabletop has a nice decorative inlay cut out.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice
 from Laguna Niguel, CA,  Sep 25, 2013

This is a great sturdy, high quality looking desk. Very happy with this purchase.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk for the Money
 from Ellwood City, PA,  Sep 23, 2013

I needed two desks and this desk was perfect for my budget. The desks are a little darker than the picture and one is slightly darker than the other. Not a big deal but having them in an L shape makes the color difference more noticeable. My husband and I worked together putting them together and it took about 2 hours for the first one and an hour and a half for the second one. The cams are are a soft metal so you need to be careful when locking them on. Those were the only poor quality item and even after we put the desks together that still bothers me because it seems senseless to use such a cheap material for the bones of what holds the desk together. The desks look great, the style was exactly what I wanted and I love that you can close up your laptop and slide it into the desk drawer when work is over for the day. Because I am short working on my laptop in the drawer works perfectly for me. My husband, being taller, uses the desktop. The drawer is huge whichis really nice.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid Desk But Poorly Packaged
 from San Jose, CA,  Jul 20, 2013

I have been using this desk in my home office for a couple days now. I am very pleased with the overall quality (solid rubberwood, no cheap/veneer look anywhere) and the dimensions of this desk (can fit a laptop docking station and 2 LCD screens and still has place left). The drawer bar area is a bit uncomfortable for me because my legs are touching it as I am a 5'' person and needed to elevate my office chair. But it's workable (I considered taking out the drawer completely to gain space but didn't want to go through the hassle of building the desk again). I would give this desk 5 stars but it was very very poorly packaged. The desk arrived in dents in multiple locations (including big ones on two corners). I considered replacing it but, honestly, I didn't feel like the new one would arrive in any better condition since it is pretty obvious that the company who ships this is very cheap when it comes to packaging!

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality, solid construction
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Desk
 from Orlando, Fl,  Jun 29, 2013

I just finished putting this desk together by myself (30'ish medium athletic tone female). It took me two hours, but I took my time making sure I did it right the first time. The hardest part was putting on the top, but I was by myself and it is super heavy. I ended up putting the top upside down on the floor and putting the legs on and then flipping it over since the legs are lighter (I put down a large beach towel to protect the top). I put the drawer on last and it was one of the easiest parts (I was worried bc so may people said it was the hardest part for them). I love the drawer, there is a perfect amount of space in the front that I can store my laptop to keep the desk surface clean. The front folds down and they have put two magnets on each side now so it feels sturdier than some have explained in the past but time will tell! This desk is an excellent purchase, it is inexpensive but doesn't look that way at all. It is solid wood! After purchasing a different desk from another website and having it delivered broken and non-refundable I swore I would never buy furniture online again, however, a friend told me to try Overstock and I must same I am happily surprised by the quality, customer service and quick delivery! Now I'm off to put together two other pieces I bought from Overstock!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect! Not as dark as some reviewers made it sound
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy, real wood, heavy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive review
 from North Carolina,  May 17, 2013

Just put together this desk this week..like previous reviewers, it took about 1-1/2 hours to put together. The suggestion from someone to put in the drawer before putting the top of the desk on was a great help and saved us some time! Love the look of the desk and the shelf at the bottom legs is very convenient for keeping my modem and router. The desk top is very nice size...large space! The only complaint I have is the drawer (someone else mentioned this too!) is hard to close once you pull it down and so I am a little worried that it will begin to wear the finish off the edge of the desk but since it's only me using it I will know to be cautious. Overall though, I love the desk in my newly redecorated bedroom/office and I just love going in that room now!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good looking sturdy desk
 from NY,  May 1, 2013

Solid, heavy, good quality desk. Nice paint. Would recommend to anyone.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. solid wood, heavy furniture, good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well done
 from Beverly Hills CA,  Apr 6, 2013

This is not a do it yourself put together but once together a fabulous producer and exactly what I wanted

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Darker than noted but still within color range
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? On point
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Desk
 from Indio, CA,  Apr 2, 2013

We are very pleased with this purchase. Super fast shipping. Comes in two boxes that are easy to handle. Assembly instructions clear and easy to follow. Extra of each fastener supplied. Finished product looks great!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was a good match.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid construction. Good fit and finish.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I purchased this desk a couple of years ago for my office along with the matching cabinet. Both looked beautiful. It took 2 people some time to assemble. I've enjoyed using the desk for several months. Then the desk started developing a crack in the top panel. I have not damaged it in any way. The handyman I asked to look at it said that it probably happened due to the fact that the wood had not been properly dried and conditioned. The crack kept growing to the point where the desk was not usable. I called Overstock, and they said that there was no warranty on the furniture from this manufacturer, but after several long discussions they agreed to give me some credit towards the purchase of a new identical desk. The same exact thing happened to the second desk. Looked OK for several months but as the heat came up in my office building during the winter, the crack started developing and growing in the top panel. Overstock would not stand but the product, saying they went out of their way by giving me some credit for the first purchase. Had to throw away the second desk as well and am now looking for a new one in a furniture store that can offer warranty.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is darker than on the screen
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The wood is very nice. The desk is a bit wobbly, but not to bad. The front of the drawer is held to the sides with magnets. This is a very poor design. The magnets dont hold so I had to screw corner brackets to keep it shut. Overall its not a bad desk. The wood has a nice finish and is very solid.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good and bad
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Absolutely love this desk!
 from Indiana,  Jan 14, 2013

Absolutely love this desk! Looks very nice in our small home study! Easily assembled and the wood is lovely!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very solid!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 69 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Linon Anna Collection Wood Black Desk
Today $133.58
Compare $184.00
Save 27%
Frederic Desk
Today $317.99
Landis Desk
Today $482.99
Back to top